Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Abercrombie and ****ing Fitch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭eth0

kceire wrote: »
    While in the mean time paying their staff who in turn go out and spend it in the domestic economy such as bars, shops, local retail etc.

It these kind of companies that are helping reduce unemployment (1000 less in October alone).

By your logic we shouldn't allow Foreign companies set up here as they take their profits home such as apple, dell, intel etc etc etc

I for one, welcome the store.

Apple, dell, intel export quite a bit of stuff and bring money into the place. Abercrombie are only here to empty the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

While in the mean time paying their staff who in turn go out and spend it in the domestic economy such as bars, shops, local retail etc.

It these kind of companies that are helping reduce unemployment (1000 less in October alone).

By your logic we shouldn't allow Foreign companies set up here as they take their profits home such as apple, dell, intel etc etc etc

I for one, welcome the store.

Don't get the posters wrong. We welcome the money and employment.

What we don't welcome are amercanized, posh twats, wannabes and supposed "beautiful people" freezing they're sad holes off on a bitterly cold morning to buy overpriced shoite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,181 ✭✭✭✭bnt

File under Conspicuous Consumption. The thing that surprises me is that the shop is in central Dublin, and not out at UCD, where A&F has ruled for at least 5 years now. :rolleyes:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,154 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Only in begrudery Ireland & Boards.ie can a company open, create 200-300 jobs and still be labelled as tools :confused:

The mind really does boggle at times.........

One shop 300 jobs? I doubt that very much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

eth0 wrote: »

300 jobs helping to flog Chinese made shoite over here and bringing money out of Ireland to the big parent company.

Nothx.

Can you name a shop that doesn't? Dunnes are the only ones that partly qualify and they keep all their profit within one family, have all of their stores at a critically understaffed level, get all of their stock from Asia and turkey, and are notoriously known as terrible employers to boot. 300 jobs is great news, end of. It will also encourage footfall on the Southside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

Cienciano wrote: »
    300 full and part time positions.

Must be a huge store.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Cienciano wrote: »

If it is big enough and they are anticipating a busy Christmas, then yes quite easily. Numbers will probably go down in January, some are probably Christmas contracts. But Penneys Mary Street currently has 700 staff..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭heffo500

I heard people were picked in nightclubs in town coppers being one for sure based on their looks and were invited to an interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭geetar

They have some terrible ethics. Were sued hard a few years ago too for having absolutely no minorities hired, having only white models also. They were also only hiring people under the age of 25.

ah here, in fairness they do hire thousands of chinese :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭Barlett

Lads it's just a clothes shop, Abercrombie have stores in pretty much every major city in the western world...there's no point giving out about its American culture, we as a society were Americanised a long time ago. The more shops that open here the better.

Can you name a shop that doesn't? Dunnes are the only ones that partly qualify and they keep all their profit within one family, have all of their stores at a critically understaffed level, get all of their stock from Asia and turkey, and are notoriously known as terrible employers to boot. 300 jobs is great news, end of. It will also encourage footfall on the Southside.

Yea we have mostly 'sold out' to China and left in all the big UK stores to milk the country for what it's worth but doesn't mean its a good thing or should be encouraged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

The_B_Man wrote: »
    Its a pity we dont have any Irish clothing company that has the pull to make people queue outside and spend loadsa money on them like that.

Well we already kinda do that have. Look at the tourists flocking to our Irish shores and purchasing 'I'm Irish' merchandise and their Aran clothing. They would be queuing in some doors over the Summer periods thinking the stores would run out of said merchandise.

Not quite the same as the A&F, but not all that different either :)

F*ck sake, their clothes and fragrances are actually alright. Certainly beats having to buy online but maybe takes away the novelty of US shopping trips. :)

Get over yourselves people I doubt many here have a perfect fashion sense at all. Goons yourselves :eek:

Jay D wrote: »
    F*ck sake, their clothes and fragrances are actually alright. Certainly beats having to buy online but maybe takes away the novelty of US shopping trips. :)

US Shopping trips? Thinly veiled 'the celtic tiger is alive and well for me' post.

eth0 wrote: »
    US Shopping trips? Thinly veiled 'the celtic tiger is alive and well for me' post.

Thinly veiled - your ma ;)

I'm not the ponse trying to make a statement here and fyi, I've never actually been to America.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

I think you may be lost

ignore that post. It's spam :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

Thinly veiled - your ma ;)

I'm not the ponse trying to make a statement here and fyi, I've never actually been to America.
    Lucky Americans

You'd know wouldn't you?

You're not missing out. Particularly if it's the 'shopping trip' regions of america you're planning to go to.

Right well I'm glad I bumped into such cultured people.

All I'm saying is it's another shop and so what if it's getting that attention, get over it because it's not getting it for no reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Cill94

Hidalgo wrote: »
    If someone wants to spend 40, 80 or 200 euro on a t shirt, more power to them. Whatever floats ones boat.

Yep... I still believe they're eejits overly concerned with branding :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Do they sell socks?

I have an awful hangering for splashing out on a pair of €50 socks....with a monogram.

Cill94 wrote: »
    Yep... I still believe they're eejits overly concerned with branding :D

Comes out of the same sweat shop in China as the unbranded stuff, using the same materials. All thats different is the label and maybe some of the shoite they print onto it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,161 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

benwavner wrote: »
    Do they sell socks?

I have an awful hangering for splashing out on a pair of €50 socks....with a monogram.

Like this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

^^^

oooh yeah, just like those....except nicer! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 l_f

So many people with chips on their shoulders......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭wilkie2006

sink wrote: »
    They have some weird staff hiring practices, they sack people for putting on weight. There was a lawsuit in the States taken out by a girl who lost her job at A&F because she lost her arm in an accident. It's not that she couldn't function in her job it's that she no longer looked the part.

No, it was London

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/england/london/8116231.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

Only in begrudery Ireland & Boards.ie can a company open, create 200-300 jobs and still be labelled as tools :confused:

The mind really does boggle at times.........

It's not the store i would have a problem with. It's the idea that people would want to queue outside any type of retail store:confused:.....it's sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

l_f wrote: »
    So many people with chips on their shoulders......

Examples please?

What do they have chips on their shoulders about?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 26 Jaded Jester

Sorry op but you're just jealous. You couldn't model there, you couldn't work there and you can't afford to shop there. You hate it because it shows you where you are on the social ladder and you don't like it.