Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nexus 4 ordering process

• Registered Users Posts: 19 joshhbk

LTE was not included because of carrier disputes, nothing to do with cost cutting. Storage is also not really anything to do with it either. 8GB iPhone 4 is still sold by Apple for €399. 16GB Nexus is €349...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭maggy_thatcher

TheDoc wrote: »
    It has everything to do with the country,

Heres from a friend who is in this sort of business

The licencing of content is up to the content-providers, not the country. If Universal or Sony or whoever wanted to provide a country-specific licence or EU-wide licence, it's up to them to decide what they want to do.

There's no way the Irish government could come out and say "if you sell your product in the UK you must make the licence available to Irish people as well" - it's purely an internal matter between the content provider and the content distributor.

For something like that to be introduced would require introducing some law at the EU level that forces content-providers to provide pan-EU licencing. I can't see that happening any time soon, as it would mean old-fashioned distributors such as RTÉ would suddenly find their licencing costs sky-rocket (as they'd be negotiating for rights for transmission all over Europe, not just the little spot around here.). It's certainly not up to the local Irish government to control things like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

joshhbk wrote: »
    LTE was not included because of carrier disputes, nothing to do with cost cutting. Storage is also not really anything to do with it either. 8GB iPhone 4 is still sold by Apple for €399. 16GB Nexus is €349...

Not sure what you're getting at comparing the iPhone 4 to the Nexus 4.

• Registered Users Posts: 19 joshhbk

Not sure what you're getting at comparing the iPhone 4 to the Nexus 4.

It was claimed that the Nexus was so cheap not because Google was running at a very low or non-existant profit margin because (a) they didn't include LTE and (b) had skimped on storage to save money. I was making the point that LTE was left out in order to avoid hassle with carriers and storage is hardly that much of a difference maker when the 16GB version of the device is still cheaper than the 8GB iPhone 4, which is also a much less powerful device.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,372 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Those checking every hour for stock should also remember it will be a while.

There are people who got to order a phone when it was on sale that were put on a back log, google have to sort those people out 1st before putting it up for sale again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭Nolimits

Those checking every hour for stock should also remember it will be a while.

There are people who got to order a phone when it was on sale that were put on a back log, google have to sort those people out 1st before putting it up for sale again

Though for all we know a huge order could be about to come in, there's nothing to say the people waiting won't be getting the same batch as people who have yet to order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,843 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Does anyone in Ireland actually have one of these?

• Registered Users Posts: 442 ✭✭Incompetent

Does anyone in Ireland actually have one of these?

Someone a few pages back. And I've heard of a few who bought them abroad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭pmsurveys

Someone a few pages back. And I've heard of a few who bought them abroad

One for sale on adverts.ie €515 !!

Just got email saying phone will be shipped this week and will get a refund on shipping costs for the delay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Austin1

Just got email saying phone will be shipped this week and will get a refund on shipping costs for the delay

Ditto!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭lafors

Austin1 wrote: »
    Ditto!

Dittoditto :)
    Great. Still think I should get the bumper free too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Hopefully the restock comes soon! And it isn't a repeat of the first launch :P

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Is there a work around for getting this phone? I live in Malta and it's not going on sale here. Is my only option to ask a friend in the UK to get it?

Will there be an announcement when more stock comes in, or will it just appear randomly?

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭Walnutsink

Will there be an announcement when more stock comes in, or will it just appear randomly?

My guess is random, although there are a lot of rumours floating around that it'll be next week. I'm trying to ignore them but I can't help hoping!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭Closov

Walnutsink wrote: »

My guess is random, although there are a lot of rumours floating around that it'll be next week. I'm trying to ignore them but I can't help hoping!
    The big German shops like Saturn and medi-markt are listing them for restock in mid December.
    Actually just re-checked and they're saying more than 4 weeks now, which means they don't really know.

Edit: another look and they say both >4 weeks and December 19th

http://www.saturn.de/mcs/product/LG-Nexus-4-16-GB,48352,365082,523287.html

• Registered Users Posts: 46 bren32

Just got a mail from Google saying it will be back in stock in the US at 12:00 pst today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,265 ✭✭✭MiCr0

I just got an email from Google play saying that the n4 16gb was back in stock today.
    US store ONLY

• Registered Users Posts: 23 darrenkenny

MiCr0 wrote: »
    I just got an email from Google play saying that the n4 16gb was back in stock today.
    US store ONLY

Did ye register to be notified via a US proxy? Just curious...

Think if I start refreshing now I might be in with a chance!

Have the GF at the ready. Hopefully they'll last an hour or so this time.

Mines has been shipped so should have it soon :)

Apparently it was there and gone within a minute this time. Fecking shambles.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭OmegaRed

a joke

had it in my cart and then couldn't buy it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭blobbie

OmegaRed wrote: »
    had it in my cart and then couldn't buy it!

From US?

An hour of refreshing, get it in cart every second time or so but then just get a error due to high demand then gone from cart! Already on my second mouse :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

My Mam just tried buy from USA but it said sold out

From US?

yup. really poor service. I know many people are trying to buy at the same time but the play store infrastructure obviously can't handle the traffic!

OmegaRed wrote: »
    yup. really poor service. I know many people are trying to buy at the same time but the play store infrastructure obviously can't handle the traffic!

What about customs? Can you get caught out?I want one but was waiting till the UK stock

Yes, you'd need someone to carry it home in hand luggage, shipping it is always a risk as customs will just pick a figure and add a paper fee.

PogMoThoin wrote: »
    Yes, you'd need someone to carry it home in hand luggage, shipping it is always a risk as customs will just pick a figure and add a paper fee.

Thought that alright, I'll hang on for UK. Hoping they'll follow US with stock soon. Although if it's when I'm sleeping I'll set grand canal dock ablaze

It now says, Google Play is currently experiencing very high traffic. Nexus 4 is not sold out and will still be available for purchase. Please try again shortly. Thank you for your patience.

PogMoThoin wrote: »
    It now says, Google Play is currently experiencing very high traffic. Nexus 4 is not sold out and will still be available for purchase. Please try again shortly. Thank you for your patience.

Aand it's gone. In the UK store anyway

It wasn't supposed to be available in the UK, just the US?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,856 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Google really making a fúck of this whole launch. I'd love to see figures of how many handsets where actually made available. They must really have lowballed the amount I'd say.

It wasn't supposed to be available in the UK, just the US?

The nexus yes. They put the banner up saying they had stock in every country though (well the uk, us, germany anyway, so I assume every one).

Using a US proxy, it's coming up as available to me.

My Mam has it in her cart but it's saying 4-5 weeks, that's too long, wanted it for xmas. Gonna give it a miss

Have the GFs head wrecked with this thing. She'll try again later and if thats no good then im fecked :P

• Registered Users Posts: 23 darrenkenny

Looks like they are still available at the moment in the US store.... From what I've heard it's just been too much demand on the web site rather than little stock today, so try again.

Here's hoping the UK store gets some stock soon.

Just keep mashing the proceed button and it will work! Just worked for me there!! Lets hope it doesn't fall through now, won't be a happy bunny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Dublinstiofán

Im not buying one of these on principal at this stage, never seen such a ****-UP of a release.

That means more for you guys, provided you have great patience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭tylerdurden94

Ship the Nexus 4, cousin in Vegas finally got one after a few problems trying earlier in the day, sweet :cool:

Yup, the GF got one eventually. 2-3 weeks shipping, she's heading here on the 21st. Cutting it fine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Not a person

This is a unbelievably bad joke of a phone launch...I know its a good phone but is it worth the hassle.

Just get the Galaxy s3.. http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=galaxy+s3

Only £80 more [cause there will be free shipping] .. and you get a better camera, SD card slot so can add 64GB memory to it. removable battery in case your away from power for a while. AND YOU CAN ORDER IT NOW AND HAVE IT IN A FEW DAYS!!

Still considered the number one phone in the world. http://www.techradar.com/news/phone-and-communications/mobile-phones/20-best-mobile-phones-in-the-world-today-645440

Nexus 4 is...fourth best phone at the moment!!

This is a unbelievably bad joke of a phone launch.

Just get the Galaxy s3.. http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=galaxy+s3

Only £80 more [cause there will be free shipping] .. and you get a better camera, SD card slot so can add 64GB memory to it. removable battery in case your away from power for a while.

Still considered the number one phone in the world.

I already have an S3 which I'll be selling, I just want the Nexus experience and updates straight from Google