If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

'N for novice' plate in new learner driver laws

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭It BeeMee

the points for the offences are being increased for these drivers also.

They are being increased for everybody, I thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

Why should these rules only apply to new drivers? Experienced drivers are quite capable for being bad drivers too.

You would hope after two years of careful driving and sticking to the speed limit those drivers would keep up these good habits unlike drivers who have picked up bad habits over years of not been monitored.

In time we will have better drivers.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,204 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

the points for the offences are being increased for these drivers also.

Where is this mentioned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,642 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

emul8ter25 wrote: »
    ... but the fact they will receive double penalty points ...
    Source?

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭emul8ter25

I'd rather see continuing improvements to the actual roads we drive on rather than efforts like this.

There is only so far you can squeeze people. We are all human and make mistakes.

A lot of the infrastructure around this country is truly appalling and could stand to be modernized.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭WanabeOlympian

How about a sticker on the back of your car for how many penalty points you have... 2 /4/6/ 8.... 8? ok stay well back!!

It would be like an eejit alert sticker.. The higher the number the bigger the eejit. 'I'm above the law and can speed and tailgate cause I'm a 'good' driver.'

Pass your roadcraft test first, then say you're a good driver. Otherwise, I hate to break it to you but you're as average as the rest of us despite your delusions of grandeur/ capability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

emul8ter25 wrote: »
    I'd rather see continuing improvements to the actual roads we drive on rather than efforts like this.

There is only so far you can squeeze people. We are all human and make mistakes.

A lot of the infrastructure around this country is truly appalling and could stand to be modernized.

What we need is a National Roads Test. Each road should be certified safe at least every 6 months. Its bs that a sign can be put up saying "dangerous bends" or "accident blackspot", and nothing done about the problem.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 95,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Bullsh*t, they were only granted licences for the catagory in which they held their provisional licence, but sure dont let the facts get in the way of a bit hype!
    True

But it was common knowledge that an amnesty was likely , so people ticked extra boxes and got truck licenses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

Bullsh*t, they were only granted licences for the catagory in which they held their provisional licence, but sure dont let the facts get in the way of a bit hype!

My own brother born august 1961, got one of these licences with all the boxes ticked. He was only on a first provisional with category C & W. In recent years, many of these free categories have been clawed back with the requirement for medicals and eyesight tests on renewal. If someone wasn't using the categories they didn't need the hassle.
    Edit. Category C was the old car licence. Covered a vehicle upto 4 ton net weight iirc.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 95,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

You would hope after two years of careful driving and sticking to the speed limit those drivers would keep up these good habits unlike drivers who have picked up bad habits over years of not been monitored.
    In the UK you can get an app for your smartphone that monitors GPS and reports back to the insurance company for cheaper insurance.

Here that would get abused

How about a sticker on the back of your car for how many penalty points you have... 2 /4/6/ 8.... 8? ok stay well back!!
    How about one that says how many points you have left

12 10 8 6 4 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

What about people who got the full driving license and then chose not to drive for the next two years? Would they be free to drive without the N sticker?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭eth0

This law is a load of shoite, after you pass your test you should be left alone and no more restrictions or silly stickers on the window saying what kind of a driver you are.

but people love new laws, particularly people with nothing to do. makes them feel like they 'belong' to society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

In the UK you can get an app for your smartphone that monitors GPS and reports back to the insurance company for cheaper insurance.

Here that would get abused

That's a good idea.

I don't think insurance companies here are interested in rewarding good driver behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Furious_George

Glad that law wont apply to people who passed test before it is introduced. Passed mine today woohoo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Furious_George

Glad that law wont apply to people who passed test before it is introduced. Passed mine today woohoo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

Driving test every three or five years ? Advanced - intermediate lessons - full licence ? Stickers and f*cking driver IQ badges ?

Do some of you just sit there all day and make this bollox up to annoy people who have lives to lead ?

A 40 question theory test, 12 lessons over six months and a long arduous wait for a test(which has a high first time failure rate) is more than enough to prove road worthiness.

Of course worrying about intervals of driving tests, costs involved and a risk of having your licence revoked depending on an instructor every few years, makes a vast improvement to drivers who've already proved they're road worthy. :rolleyes:

There's a lovely little nanny state developing in Britain If some of you are interested.

What about people who got the full driving license and then chose not to drive for the next two years? Would they be free to drive without the N sticker?
    I'd imagine they would be just as free as people who used to be able to drive alone when they got their second provisional despite never driving on the first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Zipppy

Any idea when the N plate is being introduced??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

If we could just get all these car drivers off the road, then us bikers would be perfectly safe.

:P

Still needs a "I'm a selfish git who drives at half the speed limit and won't gtfo the way" or a "I like to hog the overtaking lane" sticker
    No wait - E for "I'm ENTITLED"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

What they should do is make everyone with points display the number of points on a sticker in the back window! They are the ones that need avoiding.

Along with those who display two upside down and backward facing "L" plates on the back winda.....:rolleyes:

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,888 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

If you have a full driving licence for one category and then add another to your licence are you then stuck with a plate again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

MaxSteele wrote: »
    Driving test every three or five years ? Advanced - intermediate lessons - full licence ? Stickers and f*cking driver IQ badges ?

Do some of you just sit there all day and make this bollox up to annoy people who have lives to lead ?

A 40 question theory test, 12 lessons over six months and a long arduous wait for a test(which has a high first time failure rate) is more than enough to prove road worthiness.

Of course worrying about intervals of driving tests, costs involved and a risk of having your licence revoked depending on an instructor every few years, makes a vast improvement to drivers who've already proved they're road worthy. :rolleyes:

There's a lovely little nanny state developing in Britain If some of you are interested.

Its basically an extention of the Taxi administration circus,which has been a massive success for Plastic Sticker manufacturers worldwide.

Acres of stickers,badges and colouredy bits affixed to vacant space on the car,two languages for every bit of officialeze and assurances of a first-aid kit,fire extinguisher and baby seat in every Taxi.......superb sez you,until you enter a Taxi driven by a lad with little actual knowledge of where you want to be taken.

Administration for its own sake,with very few of the new elite of Irish Super Administrators actually having much interest in their areas of influence at all.

Just look at what the RSA's influence is leading to.....the replacement of a 10 year Driving Licence costing €25 with a 5 Year Licence costing €55 and we are supposed to welcome that giant leap forward ???

The problem is that all these bodies are now at arms length from the State,so therefore under the mantle of the new improved Commercial Focus .....just as with Go-Safe....nice little earner for young Captains of Irish Industry !!

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,302 ✭✭✭Wompa1

What kind of f'in idiots are proposing these laws!?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Wompa1 wrote: »
    What kind of f'in idiots are proposing these laws!?!

Why do you disagree with the laws being proposed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,302 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Sergeant wrote: »
    Why do you disagree with the laws being proposed?

Because people needing to have an N plate on their car will not prevent any accidents. What could the possible reason be? So Gardai can hassle those people, if they see somebody cut somebody off and they have an N plate they'll go after them but if it's somebody who doesn't have an N plate they won't? it's BS.

Or just like with the L plates a$$holes will know who they can have fun with on the road and tailgate and flash etc. to try and intimidate them. My guess would be that there's money in this somehow.

It wouldn't have any impact on me. I got my license a long time ago but still, what a lump of sh!t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭blackwave

I dislike it as insurance companies will probably use it as another reason to charge a higher premium for newly qualified drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 kellstar

Does this law affect people who already have their licence. I've had mine for 7 months.. and I really don't want to have to display an 'N' plate

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Putting an N on a car doesn't affect peoples driving,maybe proper enforcing of the rules of the road might actually be progressive.Typical Irish copycat shite