Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

children??

• 18-10-2012 7:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭

would you discipline/give out to other people's children?
    my cuz has 2 lunatic kids who proceed to dismantle my house every time they arrive...7 and 4 yrs
    my cousin and partner dont bat an eye lid.. just continue to chat as normal while we are up and down asking the kids to mind X, put down Y...they pull at our dog which i fear could bite as he is not used to kids, dont say thank you when we give them a treat in fact refuse anything to drink but coke which we dont have, also some toilet accidents even with the 7 yr old.... the parents are oblivious, just ignore them, often stay until 11pm visiting on a school night
    the very minute adults start to talk they start to scream, shout , pull at ornaments..anything to get attention
    am i being mean.. i dont have kids- am i out of touch? when i was their age i was made behave in another persons house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

tldr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Tell them to fcuk off out of your house until they can control their children, and learn some respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,301 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

biko wrote: »
    tldr

no paragraphs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

If my 7 year old behaved like that she'd get a clip round the ear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

nope. and i wouldnt accept anyone telling my child off either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

I feel your pain. Got the same issue with the sister in law's 3 year old kid. Patents acts like there's nothing untoward happening as the kid runs through our house like a feckin whirlwind. His favourite pastime is banging stuff off other stuff. We'd be in the kitchen having a coffee while 'Damien' runs upstairs. All you can hear is (our) things being whacked off other things. Usually my sister in law will just throw her eyes up and go 'there's Damien again'. I just look at her and wonder if she plans on going up to see what damage he's doing. He treats the house like a giant playground.
    I've bit my tongue for the sake of 'in-law harmony' but I've taken to locking all the doors in the house other than the living room whenever they call around.
    Drives me mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

my cuz has 2 lunatic kids who proceed to dismantle my house every time they arrive...7 and 4 yrs

give them something to play with, like a knife and a toaster ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

nope. and i wouldnt accept anyone telling my child off either

Thats fair enough if your child has manners and the person telling them off is just being unreasonable.

If the child has no manners and is behaving like a little gob****e then I'd be telling the parent off. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Nodster

Your house/Your rules

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭girl in the striped socks

I have asked Parents to stop their kids wrecking my house or they wouldn't be welcome again. I was left with no other choice because it was just say it straight out or watch my house get wrecked. I don't particularly care if they were insulted, it's my house & I'd like to think if kids are going to wreck it then they will at least be my own.
    I can't stand parents who sit back & let their kids run riot. They are complete dickheads in my book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Teach the dog to bite small people.

They won't come back.

deccurley wrote: »
    Thats fair enough if your child has manners and the person telling them off is just being unreasonable.

If the child has no manners and is behaving like a little gob****e then I'd be telling the parent off. :D

i would mind my own business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

I avoid these kind of tricky situations by keeping the curtains closed and ignoring the doorbell.

I literally never answer the door, unless I am expecting someone.

Also useful for survey, charity and marketing parasites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,464 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Outside the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

So if some brats were trashing your house you'd just sit there and let them?

Insanity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

It's his house they're wrecking, it is his business..
    and the dog's of course.

phasers wrote: »
    So if some brats were trashing your house you'd just sit there and let them?

Insanity.

i would ask the parents to get them to stop but i wouldnt tell the children off myself, as per the op

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,826 ✭✭✭scwazrh

biko wrote: »
    tldr

It's only 10 lines! You have serious concentration issues :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Your prerogative, though if feral kids are impacting upon you and yours, I'd imagine their behaviour may prove difficult to ignore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,654 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I know a couple who are the exact opposite with their children. The kid is just over a year old and they have him trained so that if food spills, they have him clean it with a napkin. That kid is going to be a nervous wreck.

Honestly OP, I don't know what you could do. If you mention their children or parenting skills to any parent, they'll probably take it really badly. I can't think of any parents I know who wouldn't take it as an insult. maybe you could get them to read this and

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭samina

My youngest aged 6 has 1 friend like this. He comes into the house and run riot. I throw him out tell him he doesn't behave like that in my house and he will usually apologise. He does it every time he comes round so he clearly learns nothing but he know she won't get away with it here. I won't have my kids thinking it acceptable behaviour. So in short yes I would say something to both parents and child if the need arose. Not in a nasty way though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭lennyloulou

thanks for all the advice..... it puts me off having kids!!! haha!
    poor dog was taken by the 2 of then out near the road yesterday , they ran out the door quietly( both kids and dog not used to road) the Dad remained chatting relaxed to my partner- not a bother!!!i am a nervous wreck calling them
    yep i am biting my tongue- i think the dad likes the change of scenery and sees his visit as time to relax and chat.
    might take up the idea of not answering the doorbell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Satts

Life is too short. The next time they come to the door tell them to fcuk off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

Go to your cousins house and wreck the f*cking place! Especially the kids rooms and their toys.
    Next time they come to visit, say you will only entertain them in your garden. They are not allowed inside the house.
    That kinda sh1t sickens my hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭up for anything

Got the same issue with the sister in law's 3 year old kid. Patents acts like there's nothing untoward happening as the kid runs through our house like a feckin whirlwind...........

I've bit my tongue for the sake of 'in-law harmony' but I've taken to locking all the doors in the house other than the living room whenever they call around.
    Drives me mental.

Why don't you get your partner to say something to his/her sister to avoid disturbing in-law harmony.
    my cousin and partner dont bat an eye lid.. just continue to chat as normal while we are up and down asking the kids to mind X, put down Y...they pull at our dog which i fear could bite as he is not used to kids, dont say thank you when we give them a treat in fact refuse anything to drink but coke which we dont have, also some toilet accidents even with the 7 yr old.... the parents are oblivious, just ignore them, often stay until 11pm visiting on a school night
    the very minute adults start to talk they start to scream, shout , pull at ornaments..anything to get attention
    am i being mean.. i dont have kids- am i out of touch? when i was their age i was made behave in another persons house

Yes, I do tell off other people's children if they are in my house. I treat them the same as I treat mine.

Why don't you put the dog in another room when they are there and make it strictly out of bounds for the dog's sake? Tell them that if they go in to him or let him out they will have to go home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

No - just no. Not happening. I decided several years ago to be honest and forthright when dealing with people. I tell it like it is, pretty much. In this case, it's sit them down and stfu or get out. My house, my rules. I don't mind kids playing, but being rude and destructive is not on. I also expect a thank you when appropriate, or else I'm getting sniffy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Yes I do. My house, my rules....

and Im a dad of two.....

It can be done politely and tactfully...but if that doesnt work... I havent encountered this scenario yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

I'd try just to say it to the parents, but if it came to it I'd tell the kids to behave. I know it's not on most of the time to discipline other people's children, but there's a line - and the kids in the OP have crossed it. It's unrealistic to state you'd never ever tell someone else's kid to behave. What about if minding them? I called my babysitter a bitch when I was six :o and she gave out sh1t to me, and rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,385 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

OP you just need to tell them that they need to control their kids and that you don't want them calling around so late. Sure it will be awkward but fuk it, it's your house/your rules. It'll be better in the long run if you tell them how it is straight up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 38 TeresaDarling

I take my 7 or 13 year old to 1 side and warn them that I am going to tell them off because the other kids are being bold and I am not allowed to shout at them

Then I yell at my kids with all the bold behaviour of the others and the parents can say feck all, it has the advantage of if this carrys on no one is getting ice cream/ biscuits, it works, all the kids become little angels, and mine feel special lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

I take my 7 or 13 year old to 1 side and warn them that I am going to tell them off because the other kids are being bold and I am not allowed to shout at them

Then I yell at my kids with all the bold behaviour of the others and the parents can say feck all, it has the advantage of if this carrys on no one is getting ice cream/ biscuits, it works, all the kids become little angels, and mine feel special lol
    My missus does this and it works! I'm just rude anyway, so no need for subtelty. Funnily enough, after a while, people just assume if they act the maggot you'll bawl them out, so they don't. It's like they are so used to me being a grumpy bossy git they almost expect it and act accordingly. Somtimes you have to demand respect, it's not always automatically given, sadly. The OP also said it, they were "made behave". Someone has to do the making, in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

If the child was tearing your house apart, wouldn't it be your business??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭MaxyJazz

OP it's your home & your rules...it's not the children's fault they don't have manners and are not disciplined but you need to let the children what your rules are in your home,then have a word with their parents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

TBH, if your kid has good manners & is socially good, well....

It's better than any University Education.

My opinion & it could be wrong, but I don't think so.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 cfc1888

Gongoozler wrote: »
    Tell them to fcuk off out of your house until they can control their children, and learn some respect.
    Idiotic response of a thanks whore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭barbiegirl

My first concern is the dog. If they pull at the dog and he bites they will insist he is put to sleep. :-( For me kids messing with my dogs is a no no. They either do what I say relevant to the dogs or I remove the dogs from the situation. It's my job to protect my dogs.
    Yep in my house, it's my rules, kids can play, I love kids and have boxes of toys for visitors but bad, disruptive behaviour will be corrected. I'd expect, whenever I have some, others to treat them the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Cathyht

MadYaker wrote: »
    no paragraphs

And a moderator wrote OP, was TOO LONG?

Surely 7 lines is not too difficult to get through. What is your attention span, how do you read instructions, documents, voting cards even, if you think 7 lines is too long? What sort of books do you read, picture ones? My 12 year old read the original post, laughing at some of the things written, in less than ONE minute.

Even though there are no double spaces, the content is well separated.

Cathyht wrote: »
    And a moderator wrote OP, was TOO LONG?

Surely 7 lines is not too difficult to get through. What is your attention span, how do you read instructions, documents, voting cards even, if you think 7 lines is too long? What sort of books do you read, picture ones? My 12 year old read the original post, laughing at some of the things written, in less than ONE minute.

Even though there are no double spaces, the content is well separated.
    How did you come to the decision to just drag up a random thread that's a few months old and talk about something not even relevant to the topic?

Madam_X wrote: »
    How did you come to the decision to just drag up a random thread that's a few months old and talk about something not even relevant to the topic?

Hang on there now till I excuse my whole life to you. Is this a joke.

Cathyht wrote: »
    Hang on there now till I excuse my whole life to you.
    Oh no need to go to that much trouble at all. :D
    Is this a joke.
    No. What you've done is weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

all kids are cnuts.

no exceptions.

a good boot in the hole is perfectly acceptable

Ah here now, time for you to go to the naughty corner. Madam_X is on my ignore list now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Shivers26

I wouldn't allow my kids to misbehave in someone elses house. I would give out to my own nieces or nephews but I wouldn't give out to my husbands nieces or nephews. We are much closer to mine than we are to his and mind them often so would be more comfortable around them. I wouldn't hesitate to tell them to stop messing or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

I tell kids off if they annoy my dog, inside and outside of my house, though I usually start politely.

When kids are in my home, I treat them as I would my own child. I offer them food and drinks, if you don't like what is on offer (Healthy-ish but tasty) then tough, if you look like your going to damage mine or my childs belongings, I will say something to the adult in charge of them and if they do nothing, I say something to the children myself and guess what, were I somewhere with my son and the person we were visiting said something to him I would back them up unless they are being insane, because it is their home, and I respect it is their home.

On an occasion I would go to the bathroom and I have heard the person who's house I am in telling my son to get out of a certain room or to not touch a certain thing and I have no problem with it.

I go to a woman's house where there are no shoes permitted indoors, as a result I get my son to respect her wishes as do I. If a person does not want to accept the rules of another's home, don't fricken go there!

The OP should tell off the cousins and after that, tell them and their monsters they are not welcome if they act that way again.

Oh and my son says please and thank you for everything, otherwise he gets nothing. And he is only three. Even in Tesco's when we are leaving the till he knows the say thank you and bye bye. Manners in children are essential as far as I am concerned.

(Will we whisper, it seems almost illegal to post on this thread now?)

Anyway I had a lovely ornament broken today by some boys who came visiting. I actually did reprimand them several times, and asked their mother to get them to calm down.

But while I was saying goodbye to her, they went into my front room throwing a ball to each other, fast and roughly of course. (This was mild after the wrestling, pulling my daughter to the ground and nearly choking her earlier - which had resulted in me intervening fairly sharply). Needless to say, the ball knocked something down and broke it. The mother is absolutely skint so what can she do really? It is amazing though the lack of acceptance of blame. It was like, oh well, let's get out of here now fast before she says anything.

Interesting to see what others do in a similar situation. I'm only sorry I didn't cut the mother's goodbye short and go immediately to shift those two badly behaved children out of my home BEFORE they broke the ornament.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

I never stop listening to my three lads when visiting someones house. They are generally well behaved but things will get out of hand if i don't make regular visits to them. Just to remind them that i haven't gone away! And i remove footballs from them once they touch one indoors. In fact, their imagination knows no bounds when it comes to knocking lumps off one another! I once caught them playing football with a giant gym ball! Can you imagine how much damage that would do? Bleedin lunatics.
    Anyway, those parents in the OP are lazy feckers and do not give f flying fiddlers about what their kids break. "Sure, they're only having a bit of craic!" is what you'll hear when they break something. And then get thick when you tell them off. That kind of thing needs to be nipped in the bud. Although i like the idea of going to their house and returning the favour!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

As my grandmother used to say, "They are all mad for the bull, yet they won't rear the calf".
    Of course its not just the fault of mothers but the old lady had a point. I hate lazy parents.
    It shouldn't be stressful having visitors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

Simple - the next time your cousin calls to come over, tell them you have an appointment to go get a haircut. Rinse and repeat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

I would have a serious word with the parents as well. If that doesn't work, my door would be closed