Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***Motors Chat Thread Round 2***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

OSI wrote: »
    225/40/18 - In Fast Fit Donnybrook. They were €165 each if I remember correctly, which is very similar to what they were on EireTyres/Camskill at the time.

Yea that size is after postage €151 a corner from camskill, not fitted/balanced obviously :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

i was driving out of town earlier and there were some lads stopped by the gardai. (dont know what for)

but i had my window open as they had theirs too and i head one of the lads saying "Feck it, sure i'll give tomo a few euro to take the points for me"

i know this could be done for the likes of speeds cameras etc, but can this be done if your actually pulled over ? even when the guard takes the license ?

I'm of the opinion that when you factor in fitting and balancing, you're just as well off to get your tyres locally than to get them from camskill. Often times it can even work out cheaper to get them locally and you don't have to worry about "who'll fit them for me" or anything like that.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Too many back roads around here. A heavy foot and front wheel drive on soft tyres does not a long life make.

What do you mean by soft tyres? Do you have them at a lower than recommended pressure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Stheno wrote: »
    What do you mean by soft tyres? Do you have them at a lower than recommended pressure?

Soft compound

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Soft compound

Ah ok, thanks

advantage of the soft compound being greater grip etc than harder compound?

Soft compound

i.e. not chinese ditch-finders ;)

Generally speaking, yes. The softer the compound, the more grip the tyre has, and as a consequence, a higher wear rate.

Thank you!

How do you know what type of compound tyres are if you don't mind me annoying you?

Thank you!

How do you know what type of compound tyres are if you don't mind me annoying you?

Rule of thumb - the more you pay, the softer the compound.

This isn't necessarily always true though.

Rule of thumb - the more you pay, the softer the compound.

This isn't necessarily always true though.

Ah ok, I've continentals on the front of mine and goodyears on the back, but my driving is either 30kph in the city centre or motorway, probably fifty fifty at the moment so it seems I'm getting decent wear out of them.

Changing them all in the next few weeks.

Those are 2 premium brands so you're fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Gonna need 2 225/40/18 soon, ball park figures for kumho/hankook new and top part worns?

Those are 2 premium brands so you're fine.

Tread is starting to get low in them though, not dangerously low, but low enough that I want to replace them.

Don't fancy driving around winter time on low treads :)
    Gonna need 2 225/40/18 soon, ball park figures for kumho/hankook new and top part worns?

I got quoted €50 per tyre for Continentals in tyreland for 215/45/17 part worn iirc, didn't get them done yet.

New I think it was about €125 - 150.

I'm getting sick of the run flats, the ride is very bouncy and the steering wheel can often jump out of my fecken hands.

I'll be going with Michelin PilotSport PS3s front and back as recommended by diesel boy :)

I'm getting sick of the run flats, the ride is very bouncy and the steering wheel can often jump out of my fecken hands.

I'll be going with Michelin PilotSport PS3s front and back as recommended by diesel boy :)

Are you going to inform your insurance company of this modification?

Are the run flat seriously hard (not compound wise, more in terms of stiffness driving?)

Are you going to inform your insurance company of this modification?

Are the run flat seriously hard (not compound wise, more in terms of stiffness driving?)

I will indeed. I see where they're coming from too by having this as a mod so I'll definitely be telling them.

The drive is very stiff because the side walls are reinforced so much. One good thing is that the cornering is great with them but I doubt that change much with normal tyres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

I'm of the opinion that when you factor in fitting and balancing, you're just as well off to get your tyres locally than to get them from camskill. Often times it can even work out cheaper to get them locally and you don't have to worry about "who'll fit them for me" or anything like that.

Try getting Goodyear premium tyres in Galway for €165 though :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

I will indeed. I see where they're coming from too by having this as a mod so I'll definitely be telling them.

The drive is very stiff because the side walls are reinforced so much. One good thing is that the cornering is great with them but I doubt that change much with normal tyres.

You could get a lower profile and the difference would be even less noticeable :)

Ah always wondered why that was so, they are so reinforced to prevent blowouts?

I remember someone last year telling me of tyres made with some strange webbing system can't remember what it was, must look it up.

edit it was Bridgestone airless tyres

http://www.gizmag.com/bridgestone-airless-tires/20710/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Time for a bit of a rant....

The local townland of Navan seems to be littered with all sorts of dimwit. What am I saying, seems to be, ha I must be going soft in the head! Everywhere I turn, I see evidence of stupidity. I get dizzy turning

Such an example would be recently, outside An Garda Síochana, as I proceded to the VEC (to clear up yet more stupidity) a young lady was walking her mutt (or was it the other way around?) and the canine in question proceeded to do his duty, as nature called. The look of impatience on her face, yanking the chain, coaxing the poor dog who was humped over an busy defecating to defecate quicker for fear of a member of An Garda Síochana asking her why she deemed it appropriate her dog was using the entrance of their establishment as a public toilet (probably for tax and NCT for the dog too). While this act was going on, a sore, sour and surly gentleman, ignorance enjendered into his face (probably in his forties, probably lived on a farm, probably hadn't washed in years and spoke in a gruff grunting manner to everyone he met) was charging towards the young lady and her dog like a train (probably emitting some odorous emissions and thinking of grudges he held for no reason), with a look of sheer disgust, his face twisting with temper, almost frothing (you know the look, when someone else takes his seat in mass). He was so busy giving the thousand yard stare when he failed to observe where the poor mutt was defecating and proceeded to stamp his ignorant clubfoot into the faeces and pull shapes by sliding on it. The look on both faces in question were priceless :cool:

Now, enough of blondie and the beast. You get the picture of the fine people that dwell and rendezvous around this little town.

This particular act is a regular occurance at the towns busiest (probably busiest) district:
    Image2422.jpg

This saddens me to say the least. People are so lazy that they want to park on the ground floor, race in to do the shopping and end up yapping to Biddy and Mary about the bingo, obituaries on LMFM and the court cases in Chronicle, all while standing infront of the feckin fridge as I try to fill it with cheese, ham and yoghurt, then proceed to move in my way as I try to keep out of theirs because they smell and talk depressing crap....

Whoops, back on topic. This was a special effort today. Well done, they single handedly managed to block traffic from both directions! See that nonce in the Golf? Sat like a rabbit caught in headlights on the other side of the road, or should I say half on one side half on the other. Why should I suffer on my own waiting to get into this awful car park when I can make everyone else minding their own business suffer too. Then their business will be my business! Totally jammed up everything. Brilliant. You deserve that mention in the Chronicle you've been talking about! You even managed to bamboozle several people trying to cross the miserable entrance, which way to go around? Will I get ran over by another old biddy trying to park in the ground floor? Will I appear in the Chronicle if they do?

Lets come back 5 minutes later....
    Image2421.jpg

Yep, no difference. It's almost like their posing for a painting or a photo. Oh wait, they are :rolleyes: I went off to use a toilet (no, not in front of the Gardaí) get a beverage and lo and behold, still there! They must have been in pain waiting for me, joint's locking up, fear I might not return, ringing LMFM asking listeners if a young chap in a black hoodie was still around to take photos of them....

So all the time they are there, the food they are going to buy is slowly festering away, the cars are suffering, people are genuinely getting confused how to cross by them and I'm here having a good snigger at their laziness. All to avoid the other multi storey car parks (yes, there is another entrance to the upper floors and there is even a multi storey car park that will drop you straight into Tesco!!!). I haven't a facepalm stupidly big enough to justify that little performance

Navan logic eh.... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Too many back roads around here. A heavy foot and front wheel drive on soft tyres does not a long life make.
    I did similar mileage on the tyres on my dc2, flat through bends costs money

dgt wrote: »

The local townland of Navan seems to be littered with all sorts of dimwit. What am I saying, seems to be, ha I must be going soft in the head! Everywhere I turn, I see evidence of stupidity. I get dizzy turning

Such an example would be recently, outside An Garda Síochana, as I proceded to the VEC (to clear up yet more stupidity) a young lady was walking her mutt (or was it the other way around?) and the canine in question proceeded to do his duty, as nature called. The look of impatience on her face, yanking the chain, coaxing the poor dog who was humped over an busy defecating to defecate quicker for fear of a member of An Garda Síochana asking her why she deemed it appropriate her dog was using the entrance of their establishment as a public toilet (probably for tax and NCT for the dog too). While this act was going on, a sore, sour and surly gentleman, ignorance enjendered into his face (probably in his forties, probably lived on a farm, probably hadn't washed in years and spoke in a gruff grunting manner to everyone he met) was charging towards the young lady and her dog like a train (probably emitting some odorous emissions and thinking of grudges he held for no reason), with a look of sheer disgust, his face twisting with temper, almost frothing (you know the look, when someone else takes his seat in mass). He was so busy giving the thousand yard stare when he failed to observe where the poor mutt was defecating and proceeded to stamp his ignorant clubfoot into the faeces and pull shapes by sliding on it. The look on both faces in question were priceless :cool:

Now, enough of blondie and the beast. You get the picture of the fine people that dwell and rendezvous around this little town.

This particular act is a regular occurance at the towns busiest (probably busiest) district:

This saddens me to say the least. People are so lazy that they want to park on the ground floor, race in to do the shopping and end up yapping to Biddy and Mary about the bingo, obituaries on LMFM and the court cases in Chronicle, all while standing infront of the feckin fridge as I try to fill it with cheese, ham and yoghurt, then proceed to move in my way as I try to keep out of theirs because they smell and talk depressing crap....

Whoops, back on topic. This was a special effort today. Well done, they single handedly managed to block traffic from both directions! See that nonce in the Golf? Sat like a rabbit caught in headlights on the other side of the road, or should I say half on one side half on the other. Why should I suffer on my own waiting to get into this awful car park when I can make everyone else minding their own business suffer too. Then their business will be my business! Totally jammed up everything. Brilliant. You deserve that mention in the Chronicle you've been talking about! You even managed to bamboozle several people trying to cross the miserable entrance, which way to go around? Will I get ran over by another old biddy trying to park in the ground floor? Will I appear in the Chronicle if they do?

Yep, no difference. It's almost like their posing for a painting or a photo. Oh wait, they are :rolleyes: I went off to use a toilet (no, not in front of the Gardaí) get a beverage and lo and behold, still there! They must have been in pain waiting for me, joint's locking up, fear I might not return, ringing LMFM asking listeners if a young chap in a black hoodie was still around to take photos of them....

So all the time they are there, the food they are going to buy is slowly festering away, the cars are suffering, people are genuinely getting confused how to cross by them and I'm here having a good snigger at their laziness. All to avoid the other multi storey car parks (yes, there is another entrance to the upper floors and there is even a multi storey car park that will drop you straight into Tesco!!!). I haven't a facepalm stupidly big enough to justify that little performance

Fine rant there dg

That the shopping centre in Navan with the Easons?

Fine rant there dg

That the shopping centre in Navan with the Easons?

That's the one! That's the very carpark in question too...

Ah yes young man.

May I suggest a solution to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Image2422.jpg

Image2421.jpg

I have little or feck all notion about what you are talking about :pac:

I do actually and I can empathise with him, but do not put myself in the chaos of that scenario.

This is a shopping centre where the traffic coming out of the car park regularly block both lanes, and the lights/junction ahead is very slow.

So the traffic gets backed up, people lose the plot, and general rage ensues.

It's highly entertaining.

My solution is to park far away, enjoy a stroll through what is one of the few non generic high streets close to Dublin, have a coffee, a nice browse through the shops, and then leisurely walk back, checking out the several lovely shop and bookshops on the way, all the time cackling at the road rage.

Ah yes young man.

May I suggest a solution to you?

Suggest away....

read back, already did :)

A very good solution indeed :)

Problem is I work in Tesco, where they bring their driving habits into and make even worse :(

A very good solution indeed :)

Problem is I work in Tesco, where they bring their driving habits into and make even worse :(

Ah right.

You have my sympathies so!

Those Navan drivers are a weird shower.

They are a bit like Cork drivers, I blame it on the bizarre one way systems both towns have.

Have yet to find anything to beat the three sided double roundabouts in Portlaoise though!