Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Speed checks in temp speed limit area (Sarsfield rndbout)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

kub wrote: »
    Lads can someone please confirm for me whether its Go Safe (marked van) or Gatso (unmarked white transit) that is out there.

Unmarked white Garda Gatso van.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Flesh Gorden

Haven't been out on roundabout, so haven't seen these vans

But the normal gosafe vans can be spotted a mile away with the batttenburg

the gosafe observation vans would have either a KK or KY reg, and normally a single camera decal on the rear door

the big difference being they observe traffic speeds but don't issue fines

the garda ones are normally D reg and are totally unmarked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

bogman wrote: »
    If its a revenue generating van ill get a photo and post it here, thanks for the warning

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Did-you-see-a-speed-camera-Ireland/168014059897337?ref=ts&fref=ts

i don't think it is revenue generating, i drive that way (unless i hear on the radio its gridlocked) in the mornings and in the afternoons,

a few times i have been coming from wilton -> Kinsale road roundabout, a van/car/other vehicle have stopped suddenly in the area where the speed van was located and hopped out moved the cones and drove into the works area.

im taking a wild guess and saying thats why the 60km speed limit is enforced as far as the togher exit on the side coming away from the works.

and im taking a guess thats why they are trying to catch people speeding there rather than the other side where its the temporary barriers you'll hit.

by the way the speed van i saw was the big white van with the garda logo on the sides and rear.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

Maybe it wasn't a speed camera at all. Could have been a paddy wagon parked there to slow people down. Gone now as needed for drunk students t weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,403 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

well on the large information screen just before the van it displayed the message "Caution, speed checks now!" so it's either what it says it is or they are trying to give us a fright...worked for me, I've slowed down:)

If it was a speed check around what timeframe should I expect a letter?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭murphym7

johnayo wrote: »
    Unmarked white Garda Gatso van.

Pass it everyday on the way home, it has a Garda sticker accross the back door now. Sticker wasnt there the first day, but they added it for the last two days.

On a side note, be careful coming from the west heading towards the Sarsfield road roundabout, they have changed the lane layout again. No joke figuring it out in the dark early in this morning.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,936 ✭✭✭mik_da_man

While I am against shooting fish in a barrel type exercises, I think this speed check is not a bad idea overall.
    I drove that road a few times and NOBODY is anywhere near the correct limit.
    I'll fully admit to speeding along that stretch a few times, but I have thought about the safety of the workers there and how people are flouting the limit.

In fairness a few new huge signs went up recently to advise of random speed checks and I'd say they didn't have much other options than putting a van there to reduce the speeds.

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭familystand

The rear facing camera detects vehicles traveling in BOTH directions, so it catches everything that is over the speed limit in that area.
    There were public notices printed in the papers and online re special speed limits in the area of the 2 new flyovers so there arent any loopholes im afraid, It was announced 2 weeks ago in the papers/ facebook and radio that the Gardai will be strictly enforcing the 60kph limit in that area, so it is not any excuse to say we were not warned !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

I saw the van today, it is a white transit with garda sticker on the back and a camera symbol, it was just beyond the first togher flyover heading west, it was in between the two lanes,
    This is just after where it goes from 100 down to 60km/h for the roadworks,

• Registered Users Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

Were stone mad for speed :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,533 ✭✭✭kub

mikeym wrote: »
    Were stone mad for speed :D

;) The Gardai in these vans are no longer attached to the Traffic Corp, they now work for a specialist unit called IMF

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭familystand

RTA is a term no longer in use, Internationaly it is known as a Road Traffic Collision RTC

question saw a guy in a jeep there, looking out the back window with what looked to be a speed gun,

it looked like he had hopped into one of the builders jeeps to hide himself.

is this allowed?

*not that im worried as i was doing the speed limit, im hoping the guy who was driving up my ass and who then tried to overtake me got caught

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭segaBOY

Ludo wrote: »
    Is it enforcable? According to this map on the Garda website, the N25 (N40 as it is now) is not to be covered by these vans.

Yes, that website means nothing. Got clocked by a Garda Transit van in Roscommon that wasn't on the map. It is only a guide.

The temporary speed signs should have had the new limit posted in Iris Oifigiúil AFAIK for them to be enforcable. I can only find a notice which is effective until 31 March 2012. However, it may have been updated in the mean time and my search is just not yielding results.

http://www.irisoifigiuil.ie/currentissues/Ir110311-1pdf.pdf

Sit tight and drive safely kids!

• Registered Users Posts: 139 ✭✭rebelden

How long would one be waiting for the gardai to issued these penalties fines/points? Any further news/devlopments on how enforcable these fines are?

rebelden wrote: »
    How long would one be waiting for the gardai to issued these penalties fines/points? Any further news/devlopments on how enforcable these fines are?

been 2.5 weeks now and nothing yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 14 twebber

been 2.5 weeks now and nothing yet.

Received a speeding notice in the post last tuesday, clocked on Friday 29/9/12 @6pm.

twebber wrote: »
    Received a speeding notice in the post last tuesday, clocked on Friday 29/9/12 @6pm.

were you clocked at the area discussed in this thread? I have not seen the Garda speed van at the spot in over a week now.
    As i crawl along at 60kmph i notice so many cars zooming past me:)

• Registered Users Posts: 14 twebber

were you clocked at the area discussed in this thread? I have not seen the Garda speed van at the spot in over a week now.

Yup, first day I'd say too. Van hidden between machinery.
    Agree about being passed by so many cars while crawling along there (on both sides) too.
    No issue about safety of the workers at all but there were no signs up at all for the first few days.

Anyone else receive a speed fine form the area discussed in the post?

rebelden wrote: »
    Anyone else receive a speed fine form the area discussed in the post?

still received nothing yet, been over a month now.

Either have I.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,018 ✭✭✭blindsider

This. I love the way they look at you as they zoom past - you can almost hear them thinking "Why are you slowing everyone else with your foolish driving?"

blindsider wrote: »
    This. I love the way they look at you as they zoom past - you can almost hear them thinking "Why are you slowing everyone else with your foolish driving?"

^ that and when you are in the left lane and they are beeping behind you (i was doing 60km/h exactly)

the right lane was clear if you want to be caught speeding take it! :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,423 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

the same people who curse immensely for getting caught "guards have nothing better to do"...........

Its like the bypass in Bandon or the Mallow road where the van is always parked, there are notorious spots for speeding.........

TheDriver wrote: »
    the same people who curse immensely for getting caught "guards have nothing better to do"...........

but in fairness I would probably have been saying the same thing if I was caught but luckily I wasn't and haven't gone past 60kmph around there since.

Very little construction around there these days, they seem to have moved onto another area, I'm not sure where.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,614 ✭✭✭Cape Clear

construction seems to have as good as stopped! rumours about

I have to commend the latest and insistent patrol of the middle lane approaching the Sarsfield roundabout west bound by the Gardai. It's great to see chancers be told in no uncertain terms to drive straight on and not to turn right towards Wilton.
    I saw one Gard going absolutely nuts with one dopey driver who was either too thick to understand the instructions or was trying to get him/herself taken into the station, after about 3 minutes of the Gard furiously waving his hand and shouting at the driver to continue on straight he/she finally did...it brightened up my evening commute:D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

I have to commend the latest and insistent patrol of the middle lane approaching the Sarsfield roundabout west bound by the Gardai. It's great to see chancers be told in no uncertain terms to drive straight on and not to turn right towards Wilton.
    I saw one Gard going absolutely nuts with one dopey driver who was either too thick to understand the instructions or was trying to get him/herself taken into the station, after about 3 minutes of the Gard furiously waving his hand and shouting at the driver to continue on straight he/she finally did...it brightened up my evening commute:D

Ha ha....saw this exact same argument between a woman and a garda last sunday afternoon there...was hilarious and made my day when she was forced in no uncertain terms to proceed straight on towards the Bandon road roundabout rather than turning towards wilton.

i too am glad they are finaly putting a stop to that practice but i have to say the queue to wilton is getting longer each day they are there! :pac:

i would love to see how many drivers they forced (rightfully) out west as i drive through twice a day (dropping daughter to school and collecting her) and i always see them flag at least two cars each trip!