Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭styron

Joe Molloy had a piece in the Independent in the 'Off the Ball' column yesterday criticising Darren Clarke for being rude to him.
    The overwhelming reaction in the comments section were negative towards Molloy. The article has now been taken down.
    Which is pathetic. I don't listen to the radio show any more so I don't know if has been mentioned.I actually find Joe Molloy to be an insincere, insufferable bore. His only real interest seems to be golf. Not a journalist.

http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:http://www.independent.ie/sport/off-the-ball/off-the-ball-of-the-many-sports-people-ive-interviewed-rude-darren-clarke-is-bottom-of-the-list-35085209.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Jesus, thats a bit much.

Joe's the best anchor the show has these days, is this just angry golf people getting all excited?

Ironically, it's when Joe starts talking about golf that I usually turn it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,207 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

pc7 wrote: »
    €175 to go to rds event if kimmage does step in. Can't get over the price.

They'd want to be having a fist fight on top of the interview to make it worth that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

That's fair enough but the article came across as petty and precious and it's strange that's it's been removed.
    Joe probably wasn't expecting the criticism I guess.

"Precious" is the word, yosser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Jesus, thats a bit much.

Joe's the best anchor the show has these days, is this just angry golf people getting all excited?

i think it's getting to the stage where he's the best of a bad lot. the amount of time they devote to certain things is getting tiresome, whether it be martin o'neill's comments before the euros, or the amount of time spent nitpicking certain premier league games.
    there's a dedicated hour of football after 9, but almost 90mins of the previous 2 hours on most nights is spent talking about it.
    is there really that little else going on, on AI final replay week, with the Pro 12 back up, that they need to go through Sam Allardyces travails so much and then again on the football show?

Joe does spend way too long going on about golf though. he'll be like Ryan Tubridy asking american guests about Irish cousins, where he asks people about their golf handicap.

on another note, has anyone listened to wooly's new podcast since he left?

edit: probably being too harsh on nathan murphy or adrian barry. in a competition between Joe and Ger, Joe wins hands down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Yeah its ok, bit too long most weeks I've listened when theres only 1 game to review or preview. Gets some good guests in fairness but needs to get rid of Senan Connell

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭Muff Richardson

Ol' Donie wrote: »

more so when Joe starts talking about himself playing golf, which is quite a bit

Has Ger been dared to say "sh*t" as many times as he can this evening?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭passremarkable

yea listening to wooly mostly now, think its very good. his contributors are good..
    completely agree with him on ciaran kilkenny,its been going on since leinster championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,595 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Joe Molloy had a piece in the Independent in the 'Off the Ball' column yesterday criticising Darren Clarke for being rude to him.

He wouldn't be alone in holding that opinion. Clarke thinks fans are beneath him most of the time, in stark contrast to most pros.
    I don't listen to the radio show any more so I don't know if has been mentioned.I actually find Joe Molloy to be an insincere, insufferable bore. His only real interest seems to be golf. Not a journalist.

That's way over the top. He is a golf nut but they have a separate podcast to indulge that. His OTB contributions are always well researched and informative. He is the least insincere member of that team.

Jesus, John, they have agents because kid footballers aren't equipped to negotiate with guys like Daniel Levy.

This is a bit mad.

Newstalk has gone into to some kind of broadcast radio free fall with their reshuffle but what in f*ck is this sh*te. that 'tech' yoke is clueless at the best of times and now shes got some kind of tech sport slot? because she got the chop from Hooks gig?

"so uhhhhmmmmmmm Garmin are, like, really famous for......ummm...technology and stuff...so we got this golf device, like"

And thanks for the tip on the Ryder Cup app, never thought of that for updates, "only if you're, like, really into nerdy stuff like that...like".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,017 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Read the Joe Molloy article, struggling to see the point of it. Just seems a bit petty of him. The again, The Independent isn't renowned for it's high quality journalism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

siblers wrote: »
    Read the Joe Molloy article, struggling to see the point of it. Just seems a bit petty of him. The again, The Independent isn't renowned for it's high quality journalism.

Yeah I read it too. It was more like a letter to the letters page, giving out about some RTE person, than a proper article. I didn't think that it was well written and felt it was too brief and could have fleshed it out more. I think the story was obviously written for the week that was in it, so maybe it was put together quickly.

I've never liked Darren Clarke, and got that same impression of him - that the big smile was only there if you were of any use to him. But I can't believe they pulled the article. It was a simple honest reflection of the two bad experiences that Molloy had with Clarke. It was hardly on the level of what Kimmage was writing about Lance Armstrong. And if it's an honest account (which I presume it was), then it should have been left online.

You would have to wonder what stories are they refusing to publish, if that is the sort of article that they are afraid to leave online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,525 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

siblers wrote:

I actually like to see articles like that which go beyond the banal comments we see so often. I don't think he was exaggerating or making it up so why not write an article of what his experience was.
    He didn't make it too personal or fawn over a different golfer who he compared Clarke to.
    So often the media drive a narrative which is rose tinted. I like to see a bit of honesty.

siblers wrote:

I actually like to see articles like that which go beyond the banal comments we see so often. I don't think he was exaggerating or making it up so why not write an article of what his experience was. So often the media drive a narrative which is rose tinted. I like to see a bit of honesty.

I absolutely agree on this. I think everybody has heard enough of those Jim Gavin-type GAA interviews... "THEY are a great team, and we knew that we would get a hard battle from them. We were lucky today... etc etc". I actually think it's got to the point that there is actually NO point in interviewing GAA players.

That's why people LOVE listening to Kimmage, and Roy Keane, and (in an OTB context) Wooly. So refreshing to hear an actual opinion, as opposed to what some media training company told you to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,017 ✭✭✭✭siblers

I actually like to see articles like that which go beyond the banal comments we see so often. I don't think he was exaggerating or making it up so why not write an article of what his experience was.
    He didn't make it too personal or fawn over a different golfer who he compared Clarke to.
    So often the media drive a narrative which is rose tinted. I like to see a bit of honesty.

My problem with it is that it lacked any depth or purpose, there doesn't seem to be any motive as to why he wrote it or what he is trying to achieve by this article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,525 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

siblers wrote:
    My problem with it is that it lacked any depth or purpose, there doesn't seem to be any motive as to why he wrote it or what he is trying to achieve by this article.

Don't think he was trying to achieve anything other than just saying "this was my experience". For this reason I think it's better that there wasn't depth as that would have essentially been trying to apply objective analysis to a subjective topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭ashdale5

Clarke didn't do much outrageously wrong though did he? Certainly not enough to warrant an article in the Independent about it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I absolutely agree on this. I think everybody has heard enough of those Jim Gavin-type GAA interviews... "THEY are a great team, and we knew that we would get a hard battle from them. We were lucky today... etc etc". I actually think it's got to the point that there is actually NO point in interviewing GAA players.

That's why people LOVE listening to Kimmage, and Roy Keane, and (in an OTB context) Wooly. So refreshing to hear an actual opinion, as opposed to what some media training company told you to say.

Spot on.

KISSY?

I thought his palsy nicknames couldnt get any more outrageous.

KISSY?

twice in the same sentence at one point, what an arseh*le

KISSY?

I was listening in the car. When I heard that I turned the radio off before he finished the sentence.

Is there no paper review when they cover a live game?

I watched that The Program film that they were talking about during the week. I'd heard people talking about it before so I thought it would be good, but my god what a whistle stop tour of the events it was. Absolutely no depth to it, it could have been written from Lance's Wikipedia page.

Very interesting podcast from a while back where Joe Molloy gives the whole story of the times that he met with Darren Clarke. Also Dave McIntyre gives his Clarke experiences.

http://www.newstalk.com/podcasts/Off_The_Ball/Golf_Weekly/79125/

Is there no paper review when they cover a live game?

I watched that The Program film that they were talking about during the week. I'd heard people talking about it before so I thought it would be good, but my god what a whistle stop tour of the events it was. Absolutely no depth to it, it could have been written from Lance's Wikipedia page.

That's disappointing. It was on my list but you've saved me 90 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭splendid101

Very interesting podcast from a while back where Joe Molloy gives the whole story of the times that he met with Darren Clarke. Also Dave McIntyre gives his Clarke experiences.

That link just sent me to all the Golf Weeklys. When was the show you're referring to released? I'd like a listen.

The link should have started to play automatically on the page where the podcasts are. It worked for me earlier on pc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭splendid101

The link should have started to play automatically on the page where the podcasts are. It worked for me earlier on pc.

Whoops, yeah, had the computer muted and didn't see it playing up at the top. Episode is from February 2015.

Thanks a lot.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,471 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Golf is such a funny sport in that I don't really care for it but it's usually a good segment on OTB or Second Captains.