Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

styron wrote: »
    Would have thought accommodation & flights are long booked. Surely easier to make him work out his notice (if any was given). Paid Newstalk Gardening Leave is more a vehicle for exercising public displeasure at behaviour deemed intolerable.

As for becoming a guest GAA analyst ... maybe on Matt Cooper in three years time.

Was the Paris venue switched to a pub because tickets failed to sell for the Culturel Irlandais?

Must have thought it had a licence:D

Are still using it though, as a "studio" for interviews with idols Hunter, Kuper etc. A non-refundable deposit may have changed hands.

I would have never thought of it as being a negative term either. More of just an abbreviation instead of having to say "the G A A" every time you make a reference.
    wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Fair enough, I stand corrected.

Vast majority of the times I hear it it's negative, but that probably has more to do with my group of friends than anything else.

Ah come on, I agree with wnolan, it's usually used in a derogatory fashion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Not at all. If it is, there's a lot of people, probably everyone in fact, over the decades using a derogatory term about themselves and their sport. Gah club, gah pitches, gah match the weekend.

Do you honestly think that everyone involved in GAA say I'll meet you at 10 at the G A A club, or training is at 8 at the far G A A pitch.

It's nonsense.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Not at all. If it is, there's a lot of people, probably everyone in fact, over the decades using a derogatory term about themselves and their sport. Gah club, gah pitches, gah match the weekend.

Do you honestly think that everyone involved in GAA say I'll meet you at 10 at the G A A club, or training is at 8 at the far G A A pitch.

It's nonsense.

I'm just saying, I personally don't encounter anyone who plays or coaches GAA calling it GAH, that's all. And when it is used by others it's usually mildly negative in connotation, nothing to get upset about but not neutral.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

When I was involved in the 80s/90s everywhere that "GAA" was mentioned it was pronounced gah, by players, management, supporters. And it was probably done so long before I was ever born.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    When I was involved in the 80s/90s everywhere that "GAA" was mentioned it was pronounced gah, by players, management, supporters. And it was probably done so long before I was ever born.
    It was always pronounced gah by everyone all the time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

I haven't regretted using a word this much since I was 4 and used to pronounce iron as "i-run".

:(:o

Seriously, could we maybe agree that the word might be used by different people to mean different things, and context is key? :P

Deedsie wrote: »
    Surely tone is everything. I'm a GAA fan and I sometimes say gah.

I think when someone says gah-head with a sneer on their face you can assume it was intended to be derogatory.

Of course this is true, it's just wnolan claims everyone who watched, played and coached at every GAA game he participated in for 2 decades always pronounced it as GAH and it never has any negative connotations :confused:

Last post on this, honestly I'm actually more of a rugby fan :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭Muff Richardson

Last post on this, honestly I'm actually more of a rugby fan :D

ye mean 'rugger head'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,208 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    A month's notice the week the Euros starts.

Bet the other lads are delighted with him for that.

Not to mention just as the GAA championship is warming up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Not to mention just as the GAA championship is warming up.

The gah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Listening back to some of the podcasts from the last few days and have caught bits and bobs on the radio...

Everyone sounds so samey and anodyne...Ger and Joe are virtual voice doubles and Dave McIntyre is waaaaaaaaaaay too conservative for this type of show, always sounds like he's on the verge of moral outrage too about everything.

I'm no fan of Parkinson but at least he was different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,696 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I listened to a few of the football show pods from earlier in the week: pretty boring talk. They all sound like they're trying to out-dull each other. I was never really that gone on Parkinson, his helium voice annoyed my ears, but I can see the point of his role on the show, now that it's not there. Three men not saying much of interest and always agreeing with each other doesn't make for riveting radio.

Talking about the "queer" remark for fifteen minutes and then re-hashing what they had said earlier - almost word for word - without saying anything new, that was painful radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

The "queer" thing was pure media driven story.

Joe responded to a txt complaint about the whole being too PC by taking about how "we"(offtheball?) had agreed that this was unacceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

Just looking at what Woolly tweeted the other day.
    Thanks for all the nice messages everyone, they are really appreciated. For those asking, I won't be in OTB again. I'm on gardening leave

So it appears that he's serving out the last month of his contract at home, cos they dont want him on air. I spose this is the same as most jobs. I'm sure he's comfortable enough on the bench :pac:

Just thinking, Hook gone shortly, Yates gone shortly, Woolly gone. Pretty soon there wont be a single dissenting voice in Newstalk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

every show will be an offshoot of global village, and dil wickremasinghe's takeover is almost complete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,696 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

The "queer" thing was pure media driven story.

Joe responded to a txt complaint about the whole being too PC by taking about how "we"(offtheball?) had agreed that this was unacceptable.

I think the media was right to draw attention to it. You can't have the manager of the national football team cracking jokes about "queers" and expect everyone to just say, alright, alright nothing to see here... It was a joke, but it was also an example of derogatory homophobia.

To be fair to O'Neill he apologised and I think that's enough in this case, but it left the media in a bit of an unusual position. On one hand they had to report on it and to be seen to take a position on it. But then again, nobody really wanted O'Neill to get hung drawn and quartered right before their biggest few weeks of the year. It wouldn't have suited anyone. So instead we got lots of mealy mouthed talk about how serious it all was AND equally loads of chat about the sincerity of his apology.

Dancin around, sayin nothing really.

Jaysus, it's all fairly tame without parkinson there isnt it. I'm beginning to get flashbacks of Joe Molloy at the World Cup in Brazil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

They were even asking John Giles about the Martin O'Neill comments, they just can't let it rest. If only the interrogative powers of Newstalk journalists extended to the findings of the Moriarty Tribunal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

I've started to listened to Talksport for first time in years, it's not bad in comparison. There really isn't a big difference between Game On and OTB now.

They were even asking John Giles about the Martin O'Neill comments, they just can't let it rest. If only the interrogative powers of Newstalk journalists extended to the findings of the Moriarty Tribunal.

I'm sure Giles and Bremner said FAR worse in the dressing room in their days. And you can take that statement on it's merits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,707 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Ger spent half the pat nevin slot the other evening talking about Brexit. Cos that's what we tune in to otb for

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Mick Murdock

I have lived in Ardee. Why does DOD sound like he's trying to mask a Dublin accent that he doesn't actually have.

Of all accents to adapt..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,845 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

lads, I'm only a once in a while listener but could someone tell me why this show completely ignores motor sports in all its guises yet insists on getting into the minutia of sports that surely have a much smaller following in Ireland

I mean this week, we have the Isle of Man TT, one of the craziest weeks in the sporting calendar and yet not a word on Otb about it, F1 all season ignored, Irish tarmac rally championship, not a sausage ?

Why ?

RobAMerc wrote: »
    lads, I'm only a once in a while listener but could someone tell me why this show completely ignores motor sports in all its guises yet insists on getting into the minutia of sports that surely have a much smaller following in Ireland

I mean this week, we have the Isle of Man TT, one of the craziest weeks in the sporting calendar and yet not a word on Otb about it, F1 all season ignored, Irish tarmac rally championship, not a sausage ?

Why ?

Needs a ball like UFC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

I'm predicting an outraged Una Mullaly article in the Irish Times before the week is out. Loike.

http://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/una-mullally-why-we-can-t-just-get-over-martin-o-neill-s-queer-joke-1.2678342

Boom ! :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭Muff Richardson

jeeeeyaysus....gilroy talking some absolute pony at the moment. put the glass down, absolute ****e talk.

O'Neill sounds just fine. They are just picking holes in things that don't exist.

RobAMerc wrote: »

Why ?

Woah. Good question.

Maybe if the were caught doing doping?