Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭Muff Richardson

Wonder if the ink is dry yet on that OTB tat he got done a few months back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Ridiculous in what way.They didn't want to get tested immediately after the game in order to watch the show and it turns out the head of the anti doping unit said it could have been arranged so the players could have watched the show.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/players-should-not-have-missed-croker-laochra-show-because-of-drug-tests-sports-council-34659269.html

Imagine an athlete being tested in another sport saying "can you wait an hour I want to watch X" and the reaction to that?

This "ah shure" attitude is galling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Imagine an athlete being tested in another sport saying "can you wait an hour I want to watch X" and the reaction to that?

This "ah shure" attitude is galling.

Fair enough.It is odd I admit. I doubt it would happen in any other sport, but the players are not professionals so I think so degree of human consideration could be put in place compared to professional sportsmen.

I don't think there was anything dodgy going on on the players behalf as if you were up to something dodgy the last thing you would want to do is to draw attention to yourself in the media and the anti doping head said that an arrangement could be made to have a tester with them during that time to make sure everything was above board.

The GAA should be encouraging testing to help prove the games are clean and use it as a way of promoting the sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Presenter Colm leaves for Joe.ie

Parkinson? edit: Yip, I see the subsequent posts. He wasn't every ones cup of tea but I liked him on the show, it needs someone in that role. I won't be listening to any Joe.ie podcasts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Mick Murdock

Ah nooo! Sad to see Wooly go. He was one of the highlights of OTB.

Gilroy I can take or leave. Joe is a much better lead for the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Parkinson was the biggest barrier to me in listening to new-OTB. I just could never warm to him at all. He always just came across as the typical type of gah-head that I just can't stand.

I genuinely wish him the best though, as I realise this is purely just my issue. I probably will be listening in more from here on though because I know I won't hear him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

It doesn't say much for the quality of sports journalism in this country if Parkinson is regarded as a broadcasting commodity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

He's on a months "gardening leave", so it doesn't appear to have been an amicable split.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

foxtrot101 wrote: »
    He's on a months "gardening leave", so it doesn't appear to have been an amicable split.

can imagine the scene.

"i've been approached by joe.ie"

cue hilarious laughter and ridicule

"well screw you guys, i'm going home."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

can imagine the scene.

"i've been approached by joe.ie"

cue hilarious laughter and ridicule

"well screw you guys, i'm going home."

Isn't that what always happens?

Woolly says any words...

Cue hilarious laughter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Even though I know exactly what Parkinson looks like, every time i hear him I get a mental image of Howard from the Big Bang Theory.

Haven't listened to OTB on the radio much recently tbh, although do download the Football and OTB Highlights podcasts. Interestingly, Parkinson never features on the highlights show :pac:

Will be interesting to see how he gets on i guess....can't imagine himself and Dion Fanning getting on too well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 IllBeGrand

There goes the only bit of fun... Joe and Ger are so earnest and so in awe of everyone they interview.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I like how they're all leaving for terrible sites. Joe Molloy is going to end up on Lovin Dublin next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭boggerman1

Found wooly enjoyable on the programme.what is the attraction of these sites like joe.ie,balls etc.don't get it myself.have only clicked on them an odd time and don't find myself going back regularly

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭Muff Richardson

boggerman1 wrote: »
    Found wooly enjoyable on the programme.what is the attraction of these sites like joe.ie,balls etc.don't get it myself.have only clicked on them an odd time and don't find myself going back regularly

Exactly, how these two sites are in any way revenue generating or profitable is a mystery. I've only ever gone on joe.ie as a result of someone sending a link to some stupid video which has gone 'viral'...á la that Stephanie Roche bollöcks, as for balls.ie I've never been sent a link nor have I ever heard anyone mention of it in any conversation or forum other than this when Paul kimmage said it was a load of shįte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

Woolly gone for good. Dave McIntyre in to replace him tonight. I feel the show will be rather colourless without him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Mick Murdock

Bloody Twitter took 7 years to turn a profit. It's hard to believe a site like that can pay more than a radio station with 100k listeners nightly.

Dave McIntyre is a bit pedestrian. They definitely need a bit of colour to replaced Parkinson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Missed the intro this evening. Did They mention much about woolly's departure ?

lads are going a bit overboard on this martin o'neill comment. it was a bad joke. they've apologised. move on.

sometimes people just aren't happy with an apology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,567 ✭✭✭JoeA3

lads are going a bit overboard on this martin o'neill comment. it was a bad joke. they've apologised. move on.

sometimes people just aren't happy with an apology.

There's a lot of people out there waiting to be offended / outraged.

You'd have to laugh at OTB having their own little political correctness showtrial of Martin O'Neill. O'Neill simply misspoke when trying to make a joke and they drag him across the coals. AND he's already apologised. They were complaining last week about how little access they have to players for interviews and how bland their comments are. But you really couldnt fault any footballer for not risking a joke or funny remark, lest they themselves be thrown in from of the Off The Ball kangaroo court.

Yeah, Ger said that they had a "bit of business to discuss" and he said that Colm is going to work for SportsJoe to "try out something". He said that he enjoyed working with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

just a quick mention and a thank you for his 3 years. made a joke about them not wearing socks and turning up their jeans this week in honour of him. that was basically it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

You'd have to laugh at OTB having their own little political correctness showtrial of Martin O'Neill. O'Neill simply misspoke when trying to make a joke and they drag him across the coals. AND he's already apologised. They were complaining last week about how little access they have to players for interviews and how bland their comments are. But you really couldnt fault any footballer for not risking a joke or funny remark, lest they themselves be thrown in from of the Off The Ball kangaroo court.

Christ , they're going to talk about it again in the football show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Parkinson was the biggest barrier to me in listening to new-OTB. I just could never warm to him at all. He always just came across as the typical type of gah-head that I just can't stand.

I genuinely wish him the best though, as I realise this is purely just my issue. I probably will be listening in more from here on though because I know I won't hear him.

What's a typical type of gah head exactly? What's gah anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,056 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Bloody Twitter took 7 years to turn a profit. It's hard to believe a site like that can pay more than a radio station with 100k listeners nightly.

Ah here! Completely believable!

they didn't read out my text asking them to drop the subject and move on. although i did sign it from Colm in Portlaoise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

just a quick mention and a thank you for his 3 years. made a joke about them not wearing socks and turning up their jeans this week in honour of him. that was basically it.

Will miss Wooly. Found him funny and he worked well with Joe.

It seems like there is absolutely zero tolerance or benefit of the doubt for somebody who phrases something badly or makes a stupid remark. A few years ago people would have said "Ah, Martin is a decent guy, it was a bit silly what he said, but we know he didnt mean any harm". But now there is a huge appetite in this country for particular lobby groups and "rights" organisations to use such a situation to try to further their own agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Yeah, Ger said that they had a "bit of business to discuss" and he said that Colm is going to work for SportsJoe to "try out something". He said that he enjoyed working with him.

Twas Joe.

And to be honest, you didn't get the feeling he was drying tears off the mic as he said it.