Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,503 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I suppose its hard to get an unbiased opinion on Celtic and Rangers from a Scotsman.

They are all either green or blue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,483 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Joe seemed to gloss over the statement by the Mayo Ladies GAA team today that says there were no player welfare issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

BPKS wrote: »
    Joe seemed to gloss over the statement by the Mayo Ladies GAA team today that says there were no player welfare issues.

Couldn't be upsetting Queen Cora.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

Richie reads out the statement from the Mayo Ladies team "We believe that no player welfare issues exist or have ever existed under the current management and categorically disagree with the statement issued in July by the individuals that departed the Mayo senior ladies panel regarding the welfare issues raised".

it goes to Joe - "Well we really now need to know what exactly went on, it's not enough to just keep releasing statements, we need to know what went on". Hang on Joe, you've been speaking in full support of Cora Staunton and her merry band of (apparent) mutineers since this happened. It's not them who made any mistake, you're the one who jumped the gun without knowing the full story.

No doubt if you look at his Twitter feed from a few days ago you will see something like "Poor Roxanne Pallet, she could have died. Will people join me to protest against Ryan Thomas on O'Connell Street tomorrow at 10am".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Richie reads out the statement from the Mayo Ladies team "We believe that no player welfare issues exist or have ever existed under the current management and categorically disagree with the statement issued in July by the individuals that departed the Mayo senior ladies panel regarding the welfare issues raised".

Cora is starting to seem like a bit of a self-publicist rather then a guardian of player welfare/women's ladies football?

Would Joe not just quiz her directly on it, get her to answer the question using his journalistic powers of persuasion?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,995 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

When you take a side or have an agenda on a particular issue, then you are not a journalist. You become partisan, an interested party. Effectively an activist.

Sadly this is the way a lot of Irish 'journalists' have gone now. Not just bottom of the barrel sports journos. I blame the training they get in journalism colleges such as DCU, Griffith etc. The teaching staff are dominated by middle class,superannuated, left wing, 'idealists' incredibly well insulated from the issues the effect most people today.

Joe Molloy and his buddies have long since strayed from journalism on their show.
    They're just a bunch of lads,sharing whatever comes in to their head.. Not much individual thinking going on.usually safe, politically correct doctrine too. It's badly informed a lot of the time. Which makes you wonder, what is the point of them at all?
    At least with Parkinson he was willing to go against the grain a bit,question the accepted pc view; like him or loathe him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,402 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

Staunton is on OTBam this morning. Interesting to see if Ger pushes her a bit more than the armchair ride she’s had with Joe.

Guess who they have on about the Mayo players statement this morning?

Now that the specific 'player welfare' was refuted in their statement, they'll surely have to push her to say exactly what they were.

Staunton is on OTBam this morning. Interesting to see if Ger pushes her a bit more than the armchair ride she’s had with Joe.

You know by the way Gilroy has just introduced the segment the way it's going to go. The evil empire vs Staunton and her merry band of heroes.

Cora Staunton on OTB AM after 8AM this morning to "break the Carnacon silence and respond to the Mayo Ladies statement yesterday afternoon". OTB have aligned themselves faaaaaar to close to one side of the argument.

It's getting really childish at this stage. - I wonder is it an argument over a boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,313 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

It's getting really childish at this stage. - I wonder is it an argument over a boy.

There's no fear of that.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Cora Staunton on OTB AM after 8AM this morning to "break the Carnacon silence and respond to the Mayo Ladies statement yesterday afternoon". OTB have aligned themselves faaaaaar to close to one side of the argument.

Remember listening to OTB when the ban was first imposed. It was really poor one sided uninformed stuff. No asking of questions no looking at both sides

I think he had the Mayo ladies crowned AI winners at one stage

It's on NOW people on the OTB AM youtube channel

This is absolutely ridiculous.

Edit - Jaysus, he asked! Joe will be straight on the phone.

I WISH I KNEW WHAT THE F*** ALL THIS WAS ABOUT

When she's throwing around stuff like 'not safe' and 'not healthy' it's dangerous to be hiding behind her not wanting to say.

Are these 12 girls just 12 clones of that girl from CBB who is getting abuse for making false claims?

Have they been caught out now, when their former team mates are saying there is no issue?

The more I hear it it seems like its

"I dont like this training we are doing this all wrong" Cora (AN Other)

Manager calls her out at the next meeting and says she is dropped and he wont take that shi*te

She might be supported by others so a load get dropped

Some players feel dropping a player such as Cora/others and take their ball and go home

Patww79 wrote: »
    When she's throwing around stuff like 'not safe' and 'not healthy' it's dangerous to be hiding behind her not wanting to say.

The more they keep doing that (and with such strong denials on the other side) the smaller and smaller the issue becomes in my mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭passremarkable

How this interview pan out this morning?
    Was Cora & co found out?
    Welfare issues me ar** d say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

naughtb4 wrote: »
    The more I hear it it seems like its

"I dont like this training we are doing this all wrong" Cora (AN Other)

Manager calls her out at the next meeting and says she is dropped and he wont take that shi*te

She might be supported by others so a load get dropped

Some players feel dropping a player such as Cora/others and take their ball and go home
    close enough to my understanding of the situation.

a Carnacon player was to be dropped from the first-team. personal friend of Staunton's. Staunton supposedly kicked up a fuss, got the rest of the Carnacon players together, and as they and the club will do everything to appease her, allegedly tried to stage a revolt against the county management.

Management held firm, the players/Carnacon apparently co-ordinated a withdrawl from the county set-up.
    County board knew exactly what they were up to, despite subsequent bollokcs about "player welfare", hence the initial decision against Carnacon, and now the decision to appeal the Connaught Council decision.
    The rest of the county panel have subsequently come out and rightly denied any "player welfare" issue.
    I know that there were a few players from other clubs who withdrew too, and I don't know what exactly was the unofficial reasons behind those, but given that they weren't sanctioned, it points even more to an attempted coup which originated and was pushed by those within Carnacon.

OTB being onboard with Staunton and her group is troubling, although understandable, as Staunton is the only "star", and the rest of the panel, no offence, are basically nobodies. they want their access.
    OTB are essentially calling the rest of the team a bunch of liars by sticking with Staunton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,402 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

If I was involved in a management or county board level I would be particularly concerned about the use of such language.

The stance/approach of the OTB team is disappointing. I found the manner in which they dismissed the statement issued by the players yesterday incredible. There’s obviously two very different opinions as to what sort of environment the Mayo Ladies Football Squad is and OTB have decided to publicly back the players who walked when there’s clearly more to it.

Using phrases like 'not safe', 'player welfare','not healthy' brings to mind possibilities like inappropriate sexual advances etc.

In today's world, terminology used needs to be very carefully considered. It can be dangerous.

In the absence of anyone really knowing what went on behind the scenes in this case, many probably made up stories in their head of what MIGHT have happened.

I know I have!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Colm Parkinson isn't impressed with their reasoning so far
    Colm Parkinson

Verified account

@Woolberto
    Follow Follow @Woolberto
    More
    Those Caarnacon players need to cop on and admit why they left the panel. Absolutely unfair on manager to cite player welfare issues but not say what they are. What are they?
    Their own teammates are saying there were no player welfare issues

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Colm Parkinson isn't impressed with their reasoning so far

Don’t think anyone is, they seem to have made some very grave accusations without fully understanding what citing “player welfare” as a reason could suggest and do to a persons reputation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Dick Pickle

sightband wrote: »
    Don’t think anyone is, they seem to have made some very grave accusations without fully understanding what citing “player welfare” as a reason could suggest and do to a persons reputation.

The way their going on you’d swear some lad was peeping at their baps in the showers or something.

They seem to be trying their best to make it sound like something like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Dick Pickle

They seem to be trying their best to make it sound like something like that.

Word on the Mayo bog is that Cora didn’t fancy sitting on the subs bench and led a clubmate rebellion that went a bit wrong

If that's the case she dug a right big hole for herself this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

Jeez that Joe Molloy really is one of Ireland's leading w*ankers

Blood is boiling after listening to the Mick McCarthy interview, annoyed with myself for the reaction actually.

"Mick, I put it clumsily before and i'll put it in a better way now, and I'm not just looking for cheap headlines, and i realise this would be in the headlines tomorrow, but would you go go back [to the Ireland job]?"

"You cant say something about not accusing players of faking injury and not elaborate, you're referring to Saipan, did you say it about him"

It was as if he thought he was conducting Mick's first interview since 2002.

Off for a lie down in a dark room.