Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New cartridges for new season

• 06-09-2012 11:38am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭

With the new season upon us I am soon going to go and buy a slab of shells.
    I have always favoured Eley, Alphamax No. 4s and Grand Prix No 6 & 7. However this brand is becoming increasingly expensive so I am looking at other brands and I was wondering if any of you lads had any recommendations.
    In the past I have also used Fiocchi (which I found dirty and recoil was excessive) and Express(which I can't seem to get anymore in the Midlands).

Any help wud be appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Theshooter2012

Nobel Speed cartridges 34g i find are nearly as good as eley and last time i bought them were from Ian Jameson in Mountnugent Cavan. I bought a few boxes for i think 6.50 or 7.00 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Invincible

Nobel Speed cartridges 34g i find are nearly as good as eley and last time i bought them were from Ian Jameson in Mountnugent Cavan (049 8540131) or (087 2538851). I bought a few boxes for i think 6.50 or 7.00 euro.

Just added his number.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭Dalken

hmmm... Nobel Speed are "nearly" as good as Eley, very reasonably priced no doubt of that but I'm a fussy man about things like this and nearly never bulled a cow.Thanks for that I might wait and see if any more suggestions come in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

Dalken wrote: »
    hmmm... Nobel Speed are "nearly" as good as Eley, very reasonably priced no doubt of that but I'm a fussy man about things like this and nearly never bulled a cow.Thanks for that I might wait and see if any more suggestions come in.

Nobel have been round for years and are everyday as good as eley, they can be sore on the shoulder, they are a very pokey cartridge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

well worth it gamebore black gold 32gr 5s or sipes 5s or 6s 32gr or eley vip game for the extra 10 quid its worth buying a quality cartridge more confidence and more clean kills if ya do go cheaper ya might regret it and end up losing confidence in the cartridge stick to what your used to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭staghunter

stick with your eley i never use anything else.you wont find a better cartridge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

I have always favoured Eley, Alphamax No. 4s and Grand Prix No 6 & 7. However this brand is becoming increasingly expensive so I am looking at other brands and I was wondering if any of you lads had any recommendations.
    In the past I have also used Fiocchi (which I found dirty and recoil was excessive) and Express(which I can't seem to get anymore in the Midlands).

I'd stick to what you like. Find a new dealer who'll do a better offer. Paul o'Halloran in drangan has a huge selection of shells and his prices will be hard to beat

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 268 ✭✭owelfisherman

staghunter wrote: »
    stick with your eley i never use anything else.you wont find a better cartridge

Everybody is to atatched to the name eley.remingtons.hull.gambore do the same

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

........ and Express(which I can't seem to get anymore in the Midlands)..
    Excellent cartridge. Use 36g 5's.

Jim McBride does them (in Athlone), but they are not cheap. So might not suit if you are looking to save a few quid.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

RC sipe number 6 32g , the best shell i have used in a long time.Dont like eley, You can pick up 1000 RC's in sports den for 235 euro.

Express are a good shell but can be hard to get.

Thanks all..

I want to stick with a British shell if at all possible. They are a shot size smaller than European shells and thats what I'm used to.
    Looking at the Sportsden website the RCs are a bit cheaper and the Remingtons the same price.
    I know Lakeland sell RCs cheaper than that but I think thats virtually all they stock.
    Anyone know a cheaper supplier for Eley at 11.50 for Alphamax and 9.00 for Gran Prix?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Invincible

Thanks all..

I want to stick with a British shell if at all possible. They are a shot size smaller than European shells and thats what I'm used to.
    Looking at the Sportsden website the RCs are a bit cheaper and the Remingtons the same price.
    I know Lakeland sell RCs cheaper than that but I think thats virtually all they stock.
    Anyone know a cheaper supplier for Eley at 11.50 for Alphamax and 9.00 for Gran Prix?

You have a PM ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭beretta686s

remingtons 36g the best ive ever used and i tried them all,the old 10 box of red win western they were good to

The old Red ten box of Winnies were fe*kin legend, what a pity they are gone:(Never tried Remington, they're just as pricey as the Eley, I go with what I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Hunter21

Think eleys are good? Try B&P and you won't be long changing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭kenneths

i use Express supreme 32g 5 & 6
    they are fantastic and the few driven shooters in our club wouldn't buy anything else.
    i get them off Pat Hayes who is A1 to deal with
    http://www.lyalvaleexpress.com/supreme-game-fibre-32-grams

i had 250 of those nobel sport and they where ****e. i got them for pigeon and there was always one cartridge per box that misfire.

and just got 1000 express high velocity 28g 7.5 for clays and am very impressed so far.
    http://www.lyalvaleexpress.com/high-velocity-28-grams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭sikahuntejack

The 10 box winchester those were the days expensive but savage to use a mate of mine who worked in a gun shop years ago had a fight with the owner and got himself sacked on the way out he took a whole case of these winchester with him we had savage shooting that season with them good times poor chap died 5 years ago only 28 he was nice to have those memorys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭johnny3

what in the name of god are you shooing with alfamax try rc sipe 32g 6 perfect if ur rough shooting and cuming across an odd duck but if u dont have duck in ur area the 32g 7 is more than enough for the tallest of pheasant woodcock or what ever try them and you,ll never change dont worry bout the price of them your not going to use that many be different if u were shooting pigeons :p

The 10 box winchester those were the days expensive but savage to use a mate of mine who worked in a gun shop years ago had a fight with the owner and got himself sacked on the way out he took a whole case of these winchester with him we had savage shooting that season with them good times poor chap died 5 years ago only 28 he was nice to have those memorys
    Very sorry to hear that.him taking the carts reminded me of a saying"if your going to hit someone hit them hard cause you get in introuble anyway"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 566 ✭✭✭Tikkat3

Some pattern better out of different guns and chokes but I have always had good results with Remington 7's in 34, they are great all rounders.

johnny3 wrote: »
    what in the name of god are you shooing with alfamax try rc sipe 32g 6 perfect if ur rough shooting and cuming across an odd duck but if u dont have duck in ur area the 32g 7 is more than enough for the tallest of pheasant woodcock or what ever try them and you,ll never change dont worry bout the price of them your not going to use that many be different if u were shooting pigeons :p

Try knockin weary Mallard on lakes with 32g 6 & 7 shot come December..they'll sneer down on you from a height if u fire that stuff at them. A walked up duck(unless it's a Teal) could be taken with a catapult, they rise that slow and ur usually almost on top of them so they dont get out that far... Im sure Sipe are very good for that sort of thing but this bucko needs the heavy artillary! !! Petition to Bring back the Winchester Western, they even looked like a good cartridge.:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭richiedel123

Petition to Bring back the Winchester Western, they even looked like a good cartridge.:pac::pac:
    I seen a lad using these last week. He said he got them in Stakelums in thurles

You serious, I thought they went off the market about 8 years ago?:eek:

they are selling universal cartridges it might of been those he had they are a red shell also , have used them a lot for crows and pigeons and think they are a very good cartridge they are 25 euro for a 100

Anyone tried the Eley Impax Shell, I believe they're a smooth shooting light shell ideal for snipe/woodcock, anyone know a stockist?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭rabbit assassin

Anyone tried the Eley Impax Shell, I believe they're a smooth shooting light shell ideal for snipe/woodcock, anyone know a stockist?

They are ideal for snipe and woodcock, I only ever had 1 box of them and havent seen them in a long time. I find it very hard to beat Eley Supergame 6's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

Try knockin weary Mallard on lakes with 32g 6 & 7 shot come December..

Try using eley 32G 7 VIP ,

Any way would u buy in bulk I can get a gud deal on eley if ya let me know what you want pm me and il get back to ya in the morning

TriggerPL wrote: »
    Try knockin weary Mallard on lakes with 32g 6 & 7 shot come December..

Try using eley 32G 7 VIP ,

Any way would u buy in bulk I can get a gud deal on eley if ya let me know what you want pm me and il get back to ya in the morning

I do buy in bulk, usually 2 or 3 slabs does myself and the shooting buddy a couple of seasons. I had the VIPs before, they were good but personally I didn't find them any better than the Grand Prix and Alphamax. I ask about the Impax cos I have an old sXs which is only chambered for the 2 1/2" shell, I use 32g Grand Prix in it but really I shouldn't and it ain't gettin any younger.

out of all the eleys i find the vips way ahead of the rest have had great success with em will be getting a few for coming season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

snipe02 wrote: »

out of all the eleys i find the vips way ahead of the rest have had great success with em will be getting a few for coming season

Are you using 6s I've 4 slabs of 7 coming from England ardee don't stock them and ordered them in for me

ye 6s right through the season and 5 in the bottom either a vip or black gold n ot a fan of 7s

Where do you get black golds ?:O been looking for them for ages!

kilkenny, ger smith had em last year havent checked in a while but they are very popular should get them in any good stockist

Great!thanks.i go after pheasant and duck and come across some woodcock..what shell should i use?

id use a six and make do but early in the season and if your expecting to meet woodcock a 32 or 36 gr 7 would be a better cartridge imo

And for ducks.ive been using 32 gr 5s.this year i want to get proper stuff as all the 5s are gone..

id only shoot flight ponds and small rivers so i only use sipe 5s for ducks and wouldnt be shooting at any real distance but if your looking to reach and touch those long ones then 36gr 4s with tight chokes or even bbs but some of the lads that do more ducks will put you right

Ye sure il get a slab of 36gr 6 and 7s thanks.

would ya really need a slab of each thats a lot of game shooting a few boxes of each would do or get your buddies to go halfs be cheaper and then if they dont suit your gun ya wont be stuck with em

Thats the plan there 3 of us.and they'l do for next year.i heard if you buy a big load and share you get em much cheaper.

This is true, regular game loads down a gun choked 3/4, 1/2 are ideal for flight ponds and rivers or a bit of walked up. However if your going out on lakes or estuarys at dawn decoying where you mightn't be certain what kinds of ranges ul be getting them at then 36g 4s what u want in ur chambers. The eley Alphamax has always been my favourite for this, but Im sure there are other makes out there that are just as good and better in some cases.
    Remember though that British shot is a size smaller than European shot, so Eley 4 is equal in shot size to RC 5...(the Brits always have to be different):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Sika98k

Thanks all..

Well as Eley are now made in Spain by UEA you had better start looking at Express,Gamebore,Hull,Caledonian.........etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭Mezamo

Sika98k wrote: »
    Well as Eley are now made in Spain by UEA you had better start looking at Express,Gamebore,Hull,Caledonian.........etc.

The components come from MAXAM alright but all the shells bar some trap are loaded in England!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13 anglerscurse

RC'S are a great cartridge and good value fo money also the FOBS we got them for our Pigeon shooting 32g 6's 7.00 per box the RC'S SIPE GREAT VALUE for money around 8.50 per box for 32g 5's 6's and 7's but our old reliable Eley 1.50 in the difference but still an outstanding shell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭stoeger2000

Thanks all..

i think i heard recently that eley are actually manufactured in spain. i used to swear by them, but after a problem last season, and some pretty shoddy customer service, as they say on dragons den, "i'm out"!! i use fiocchi for clays, and find them decent enough.

Sika98k wrote: »

Thats news to me, makes no odds to me, I shoot well with them. They used to be made in Galway at one time, nothings made where you thing anymore. I was looking a new Beretta there in England and I was informed it's made in Turkey, who'd of thought a staple of Italian gun making manufacured in Turkey. So long as Guinness is brewed in Dublin I'll be happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Theshooter2012

i think i heard recently that eley are actually manufactured in spain. i used to swear by them, but after a problem last season, and some pretty shoddy customer service, as they say on dragons den, "i'm out"!! i use fiocchi for clays, and find them decent enough.

I won fiocchi 5's last season after a competition i used them all but i will not buy them i find they burn slow and dirty. after one shot the barrel was peppered in dirt. I seen someone say before when you fire an eley the barrel comes out cleaner. :D Nobel Speed and Black Gold are as good if you ask me. Quick and clean burn recoil is slightly harder but is easy to get used to.

I had the same experience with Fiocchi, a man in Tullamore did me a great deal on them a few years ago but they left the barrels filthy, real oily sort of dirty and they're a tad heavy on the shoulder, personally I wouldn't get them again. Never saw Black Gold but I notice a lot of fellas on this forum recommending them..I might check them out, Anyone want to put up a bit of info??

I have always favoured Eley, Alphamax No. 4s and Grand Prix No 6 & 7. However this brand is becoming increasingly expensive so I am looking at other brands and I was wondering if any of you lads had any recommendations.t

Just got these hopefully il get to use them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭Vizzy

Just got these hopefully il get to use them!

Don't know what you were using before or what gun but the Grand Prix 6 is a great cartridge in SXS.
    Shot a pheasant last Saturday and a snipe on Sunday .:)