Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are women tougher to work with?

Options
  • 30-08-2012 11:03pm
    Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭

Ladies,

Do you enjoy working with other women?

I work in an office of 7 people, 6 girls and 1 man and Christ on a bike it's horrendous. I have 2 possibly 3 colleagues that are horrible humans and 2 that are the salt of the earth. Yet the nasty ones rule the roost, our male boss doesn’t get a look in. They are very negative people, have no confidence, are very b*tchy and love trying to make others feel bad - office bullies really.

My profession is mainly ruled by women so throughout my career I’ve worked with some very challenging women. I changed jobs a few years ago and worked in a male dominated team for a while and can honestly say that I preferred it. There was no cattiness, there was no nasty comments and it was just a much healthier work environment.

What do you think?

And why do you think that it's tougher to work with women?

Do you think that we compete with each other unnecessarily? Is jealousy a factor?

Would be interesting to see people's takes on it.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

I've worked with many men and many women, and on some male dominated and some female dominated teams.

Some women were difficult to work with.

Some men were also difficult to work with.

They're all just people.

There was never really a gender divide, or any tension attributable to gender really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

This post has been deleted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Ellsbells