Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rangers FC On Field Gossip & Rumour Thread 2017 Mod Note in OP(Updated 14/08)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,735 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

I take it none of you seem the dive then and I don't lie and I am not going to take that crap from anyone you know if you don't have like it put me on ignore.
    When did this "dive" happen. I didn't see the 1st half was at a local game myself. Have you a clip of this "dive". The dive of Dembers. He's worth a fortune pal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

TheCitizen wrote: »
    When did this "dive" happen. I didn't see the 1st half was at a local game myself. Have you a clip of this "dive". The dive of Dembers. He's worth a fortune pal.

Pretty sure it's easy enough to find he was next to Tav in our box. I am not your lackey I suggest you do your own work and I am not you pal

You have no evidence. As I thought. Carry on "pal".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

TheCitizen wrote: »

Why don't you watch the first half of the game before you start discussing it?

Berserker wrote: »
    Why don't you watch the first half of the game before you start discussing it?
    Why can't you show me this "dive" that animates you so? There must be gifs and clips out there from FollowFollow etc. C'mon let's see it.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,816 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I think this discussion has ran its course, people need to take a step back as it's clogging up/derailing the thread with a pointless back and forth.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Lads, what do you make of your new manager? Who do you think will be moved on/kept?

Also, how will you measure his success over the next season or two? Obviously the current situation is not good enough, how long will you give him to put a proper title challenge together?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

<double post>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

PauloMN wrote: »
    Lads, what do you make of your new manager? Who do you think will be moved on/kept?

Also, how will you measure his success over the next season or two? Obviously the current situation is not good enough, how long will you give him to put a proper title challenge together?

I honestly don't know.

From what I read it seems he often leaves after a year or two, hope that's not the case here if he turns out to be good.
    There's talk about how he will set up and train the team but it remains to be seen how this will work in Scotland.

As for players being moved/kept: A lot of them better start proving themselves under him or they'd be out the door, things have improved under Murty but I still think at least half of them aren't good enough. It does seem like his first big test will be to sort out the defense.

edit: As for a title challenge, I would love if it would happen within the next 2 years or so, but I doubt it will. Finances simply aren't good enough.

PauloMN wrote: »

He seems to believe in playing good football but winning first and foremost. Also led to believe he doesn't have an out and out set system but will change it to suit something MW couldn't or wouldn't do. As for changes in the playing staff I think he will be watching closely until the season ends before making any decisions. I agree with jelle though the defence has to be sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

I know new managers will come out with all sorts of ****e at the start, bigging up the club etc but claiming to have
    the best squad in Scotland
    :pac: FFS h'es only at the club a couple of days at this stage. His record is pretty poor but we'll wait and see, seems like a decent sort anyway.

I know new managers will come out with all sorts of ****e at the start, bigging up the club etc but claiming to have :pac: FFS h'es only at the club a couple of days at this stage. His record is pretty poor but we'll wait and see, seems like a decent sort anyway.

No he didn't what he actually said was along the lines of I have to get my players believing they are the best squad in Scotland. Totally different

Team for today v Hamilton

RANGERS: Foderingham, Tavernier, Hill, Wilson, Wallace; Holt, Toral, Hyndman, Waghorn, Miller, McKay

SUBS: Alnwick, Dodoo, Garner, Senderos, Hodson, Forrester, Windas

Hodson drops to the bench Tav goes to full back and Toral into midfield

Expected to see Hodson in the XI. Warburton interested in taking Tav to Forest in the summer, I see. Wonder if he fancies taking another few of his signings.

2-0 Hyndman and Hill. Playing very well so far.

Pen from Waghorn and goal from Wallace finishes the game 4-0. Good stuff

Good performance today. Played some really good stuff.

No he didn't what he actually said was along the lines of I have to get my players believing they are the best squad in Scotland. Totally different

No he didnt, he said they had the 'best squad in Scotland'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,100 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

'This is the squad we have for now and we really trust the players we have right now. For us, this is the best squad in Scotland. We just need to give them confidence.'

Deluded

'This is the squad we have for now and we really trust the players we have right now. For us, this is the best squad in Scotland. We just need to give them confidence.'

Deluded

He's and he qualified that by saying what I said he did. It seems a perfectly logical thing to say. He is hardly going to say we have some ****e players who will be out the door as soon as possible. Use the brains you were given ffs

No but he didnt have to make an eejit of himself either, he could have 'bigged up' the players without going that far. Still it probably plays well with the fans who have swallowed all sorts of nonsense these last number of years. Gullible beyond belief. The soap opera continues.

If you say so I love all you experts on all things Rangers :rolleyes:

Dont have to be an expert to know what he said as reported by all media outlets. No doubt you will have a direct quote for his 'clarification'??

He said it because to him they're the best squad just like any manager would say if they came to a new club. If you're really trying to use that quote to have a pop at him then I think he'll be alright, if that's the best you can come up with.

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    He said it because to him they're the best squad just like any manager would say if they came to a new club. If you're really trying to use that quote to have a pop at him then I think he'll be alright, if that's the best you can come up with.

Even McInnes would not come out with such a deluded line to the media and he is in charge of a squad better than Pedro's :pac:

Schoolboy error

You mean Derek McInnes, who said Celtic could be caught and his team were the one to do it ? That McInnes ?

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    You mean Derek McInnes, who said Celtic could be caught and his team were the one to do it ? That McInnes ?

Yes but he never once stated he has a better squad than Celtic, as I said deluded stuff from Pedro

Even McInnes would not come out with such a deluded line to the media and he is in charge of a squad better than Pedro's :pac:

Schoolboy error

What do you expect him to say? What would you say? He has to work with these players til the end of the season. He could hardly say that most of this squad are technically poor, below the standard that a club like Rangers needs and I am going to offload them as soon as I can.

He could have said they are a very good squad etc etc, easy to big them up without going completely ott like he did.

Say all that fantasy stuff in the dressing room and when asked by the media, he could have said 'we have a great squad. That would have avoided him coming across as deluded