Celtic FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014/15 Mod Warning post #6011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,916 ✭✭✭RoryMac

CSF wrote: »
    Yes I disagree about Malaga, Dortmund and Montpellier. All significantly better teams than Celtic.

Good for you, I guess we'll find out soon enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,032 ✭✭✭Soups123

Soups123 wrote: »
    I would want Arsenal to avoid Celtic over Gala & MontP for sure.

I would like Arsenal from Pot 1;)
    Nah you don't want us, apparently we're just waiting to click

Dempsey wrote: »
    I want Real Madrid, ManC & PSG. We'd get more revenue from the market pool payout that way.

Jesus Dempsey are you a sadist? I'm all for getting more money but at least give us a chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

Well done lads, enjoy it whoever you get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭TheBuilder

To be fair, outside Real and Barca I imagine most teams would want to avoid Celtic from pot 4. You might be more or less guaranteed three points off them at home, but going to Parkhead on a European night won't be comfortable for many teams. There's no doubting they're better sides, but that doesn't count for everything when it comes to a game at Parkhead.

Well done anyway, i'm sure the fans will enjoy it regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

RoryMac wrote: »
    Jesus Dempsey are you a sadist? I'm all for getting more money but at least give us a chance

If we learned alot from Udinese, Atletico Madrid & Rennes, imagine what we could learn from 3 of the biggest spending clubs on the face of the earth :pac:

Champions League winners 2014!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,217 ✭✭✭✭Jelle1880

Obviously you'd want a German team in there, for the massive tv-money they pay out.

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    Obviously you'd want a German team in there, for the massive tv-money they pay out.

Celtic would be getting enough out those 3, I'm not that greedy! :pac:

In terms of the market pool and broadcasters wanting matches, its hard to argue Schalke over ManC in Pot 2, Real Madrid just about trumps everyone in Pot 1 and there is no German club in Pot 3.

The transfer rumour of Del Piero to Celtic is starting to gather pace. I admit the idea of him in a Celtic shirt has me excited but I cant see it happening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Roger Sterling

I want Real Madrid, ManC & PSG. We'd get more revenue from the market pool payout that way.

Malaga? No chance, they've pawned off their best players this summer

Malaga are still a good side and still have some good players despite their Summer woes. The young fella Isco is going to be attracting bids from the very best clubs around this time next year. Class act.

Well done to the Celts though, was cheering them on tonight. The competitiom is enriched by their presence in the draw and no one will relish a trip to Glasgow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Ladjacket

Professional performance from Celtic last night and once we got the first 20 mins out the way, I thought the team were able to settle and play. Happened to praise Matthews for his flawless defending then the next second he got booked! But I do feel he is very underrated at times. Big Victor was immense again and it is hard to believe that the guy is only 21. Hopefully he will can the moving talk and keep focused on the job ahead.

And what of the Greek? Very good performance from him again last night - it is getting the consistency from him that is key. Lenny seems to have found a way of coaxing it out of Sammy on a frequent basis and hopefully this continues. As pointed out on TV last night, the way he glides when he is running with the ball is fantastic.

As for the groups, I think Celtic have only ever had one year where they have had a 'light' group, with Man U, Villarreal and Aalborg. The year we had AC and Barcelona in was hateful. Hoping to see us against a new team - the likes of a Real Madrid, a PSG, even a Man City. Milan, Barcelona, Shakthar, Benfica - been there, won that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭lubo_moravcik

PhFQl.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭lubo_moravcik

Another great trip and night at CP. You lads are missing out, I hope some of you will be up for a big CL day trip, guaranteed shivers down the spine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Ladjacket wrote: »
    Happened to praise Matthews for his flawless defending then the next second he got booked! But I do feel he is very underrated at times.

And what of the Greek? Very good performance from him again last night - it is getting the consistency from him that is key. Lenny seems to have found a way of coaxing it out of Sammy on a frequent basis and hopefully this continues. As pointed out on TV last night, the way he glides when he is running with the ball is fantastic.

Matthews waas immense again and is fast becoming one of my favourite players, I thought it was a great yellow card tbh, yes he got caught the wrong side and slightly misjudged the flight of the ball, but it was a great free to concede.

Samaras has been terrific now for 6 months IMO and has even won over the fans who really got on he's back, he is just so talented and a handfull for any defense when in the mood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

the draw is out today but when will the fixture list be drawn up?

PhFQl.png

Hooper is offside, his right leg is ahead of the ball as the ball is about to be played forward and he's between the last defender and the goalkeeper. Samaras's left leg being slightly ahead of Hooper when the ball is being played means nothing.

Adam Matthews is improving all the time and remember that he's only 20, James Forrest is older than him! Regular gametime this season and UCL football will only bring in on leaps and bounds.

Samaras has found his place in the team out wide left. Great player if he can maintain consistency.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Fenian Army

Any update on the Del Piero story?

I'd cry tears of joy if he signed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,438 ✭✭✭henke

Fantastic to be back amongst Europe's elite. I wouldn't bet against us springing a surprise or two at Paradise either :).

What is this on Del Piero? Haven't heard about that one. One of the best of his day I'd take him for a season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭markie29

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

The transfer rumour of Del Piero to Celtic is starting to gather pace. I admit the idea of him in a Celtic shirt has me excited but I cant see it happening.

Mixed feelings about it here. He's 38 this year, so obviously will be hanging up the boots soon. I just get a sense of Ljungberg, Keane, Gravesen etc. about these deals.

I'd be happy on two conditions:
    1) That a deal for him did not cost a lot i.e. did not take from the pot for other players.
    2) That a deal for him in no way would affect the real need for a long-term striker, and a long-term centre back.

If he was going to be in addition to planned players in, then I'm all for it.

PauloMN wrote: »
    Mixed feelings about it here. He's 38 this year, so obviously will be hanging up the boots soon. I just get a sense of Ljungberg, Keane, Gravesen etc. about these deals.

I'd be happy on two conditions:
    1) That a deal for him did not cost a lot i.e. did not take from the pot for other players.
    2) That a deal for him in no way would affect the real need for a long-term striker, and a long-term centre back.

If he was going to be in addition to planned players in, then I'm all for it.
    well hes a free agent so its not going to cost a lot and i heard hes not looking for mad wages. point number 2 is a concern though

Del Piero at 20k a week would be an absolute steal, and vital experience for the champions league (which will probably sway him more than the big wages at Sion).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭the realpigiron

https://twitter.com/#!/search/?q=%23Celtic&src=hash

We're in pole position to sign Juventus legend Del Piero according to Sky Sports on twitter. Don't know where the 20 grand a week story is coming from, I'd imagine Del Piero was on a hell of a lot more than 20 grand a week with Juve.

20k a week is reportedly what he wants/is being offered.

Its not like anyone is going to pay him the 60+ he was on at Juve, he's 38 years old.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭the realpigiron

Roy Keane was on 40K a week when he was here that time. Del Piero for 20k would be a steal, we'd make it back on shirt sales in no time

Maya Yoshida has signed for Southampton on a 3 year deal. He was a player Celtic had registered interest in with VVV

https://twitter.com/#!/search/?q=%23Celtic&src=hash

We're in pole position to sign Juventus legend Del Piero according to Sky Sports on twitter. Don't know where the 20 grand a week story is coming from, I'd imagine Del Piero was on a hell of a lot more than 20 grand a week with Juve.
    i have a feeling its more tokenistic i.e he only has 1 year or 2 max so he wants a club to end out his career with and also make an impact

Del Piero played 31 games for a strong Juventus team last year. He looks after himself and his game is not based around speed or strength. His age isnt a major factor for me. 1-2 seasons of a player thats done everything in the game is something our squad can benefit from.

please god let us get group E with the chelseac*nts