If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

London 2012 Megathread [Part 1]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Harting's celebration made me LOL.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Diego Maradona

darced wrote: »
    Doesn't matter how hard they are, you still only get 1 point for landing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭who what when

If only drinking was a olypmic sport.
    Or spelling for that matter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭risteard7

yea barnes 2moro i think, but he will have it tough unlikely to win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,258 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Where are we on the medal table now?

Watch out China!!:D

We haven't won any yet.

Guaranteed 3, but not yet won.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

The Algerian guy who didn't try in another race and was going to be kicked out won the 1500m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Cogito

darced wrote: »

It's amatuer boxing though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭risteard7

racso1975 wrote: »
    I want to the boys in the studio off camera.......id say kenny creamed himself
    Its kenneth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

The discus champion doing the hurdles - love it!
    Ha ? What are you on about ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Diego Maradona

Pherekydes wrote: »
    We haven't won any yet.

Guaranteed 3, but not yet won.
    Don't be so pedantic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Sea Filly

The reason there was little response is because it was a light hearted joke.

It was snide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

There were a lot of begrudgers in this thread about Ireland's overall Olympic performance, at times I was one of them.

But I think this will be Ireland's most successful games ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,592 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Selby in trouble here, 12-7 down. The Cuban is very cagey and picking him off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,585 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

flyswatter wrote: »
    The Algerian guy who didn't try in another race and was going to be kicked out won the 1500m.

Fully deserved too imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

Can't be accused of hometown officiating, giving the Cuban a far bigger lead than I saw coming.

Colmustard wrote: »
    There were a lot of begrudgers in this thread about Ireland's overall Olympic performance, at times I was one of them.

5 medals were won at the 1956 Olympics - 1 gold, 1 silver and 3 bronze. Hard to beat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

Ha ? What are you on about ?

The hurdles were set up for the final, during his lap of honour he decided to have a go himself..... a nice moment I thought :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Fully deserved too imo.

I don't think we've heard the end of it.

Apparently he was allowed compete after a doctor said he was injured in the first race.

Now he's after running a savage race. Questions might be asked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

Sea Filly wrote: »
    5 medals were won at the 1956 Olympics - 1 gold, 1 silver and 3 bronze. Hard to beat.

Didn't know that,

It will depend on the colour of the medals won at this Olympics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭Downlinz

Outside of the 4 boxers do we have any other serious medal prospects left?

Didn't know that,

In official medal ranking terms we got 3 golds 1 bronze at 96, that was presumably our highest finish. If you're looking at medal quality over quantity, would also be tough to beat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Have we a walker that has a chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,592 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Hot favourite Selby dumped out by a slick Cuban. Ramirez is going to be a very difficult fight for Conlon in the semi.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

The begrudgery on this site is unreal at times. Almost as if people want a massive failure so there'll be something to moan about. Well done Conlan, delighted for him :D

"The Frenchman landed the harder punches" is one of the most pathetic things i've seen on here for the two possible situations from which it was uttered:

1. It is amateur boxing. Get your facts straight and have a think before shooting your mouth off.
    2. If you knew that it was amateur and still made that comment then it shows you are simply a begrudging sad p***k that needs to happy up.

Fair play again Conlan, our amateur boxing scene is showing itself to be world class in terms of the talent being produced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,474 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Really excited about our boxers guys! Dare we dream that we could win 4 golds? Does Barnes have a good chance tomorrow against his opponent?

Didn't know that,

How many are we guaranteed so far?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,154 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Can't believe they didn't cut to even delayed coverage of the 1500m final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,474 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

keano_afc wrote: »
    Have we a walker that has a chance?

Rob Heffernan might do ok esp since I think one of the favourites was caught for doping and was disqualified (I think I read this on here today?)

Sea Filly wrote: »
    How many are we guaranteed so far?

3, a probable 4th from barnes. Don't think we'll get any more and Katie is the only one of the 4 who'd be favourite to win gold.