Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Keep Calm And Discuss Retro Generally!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

o1s1n wrote: »
    I just couldn't do it. Almost cringed myself to death. :pac:

I'm a bit scarleh' for them actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,027 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

Watching it now. Their no.1 gorey game is Mortal Kombat.

I know what you meant, but now I'm picturing two biddies standing at a bus-stop in Gorey centre going 'I like a bit of the auld Shao Kahn meself'.

In short, thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭TechnoFreek

RAM-D? More like ass ram-d

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

o1s1n wrote: »
    this stupid 5 minute section with a 'girl gamer' who looks something like Garth from Waynes world wearing a purple wig throwing out as many 'geeky' phrases as she can to a New Super Mario Bros Wii background. If I were a female gamer I'd be offended.
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQX4rJOXpZtrWfoj1EG6RWkV4AVLcE8lD04kc4i4QikByy3w8CD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭Nerdkiller1991

I'm a bit scarleh' for them actually.

Oh god. What was I doing when I was 12?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Jack burton

I would like to see what the games guru is up to at the moment though

Since he had no monetary value When Larry Bundy Jr. sued him, they took his shoes for the second series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭Sparks43

I wish fishing could be retro after another sorry blank tonight.

Going to cost about a tenner to buy fresh Mackerel in the morning before we go after
    Ray
    Ray-432x342.jpg

Smoothound
    fishing012.jpg

Bass(Which must be released as its closed season)

picsss003.jpg

And hopefully Tope Blue Shark Plaice and other bits and bobs

This fails and i give up :(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,614 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Is it on all next week or just until the end of this week?

Yeah, should be on through Thursday! Really awkward times though.

I'm off early on tuesday next week so might pop in and see it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

Sparks43 wrote: »
    Going to cost about a tenner to buy fresh Mackerel in the morning before we go after(
    Nicest fish I ever ate was fresh Mackerel (it's my favourite )

I got an email from amazon confirming an order. It read "your amazon order of "rise of..."

I immediately thought feck, I haven't ordered rise of the robots have I?

Thankfully I didn't.

Sera wrote: »
    Nicest fish I ever ate was fresh Mackerel (it's my favourite )
    I remember seeing a live flounder in the bathtub. Brought back when my brother was fishing.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,754 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Hey Sparks, we can say that your post was relative to the thread by saying you were putting in some practice for a session of Sega Bass Fishing later!
    I never saw a flounder in the bath tub, but spotted a brown trout in the jacks the other day!
    Wakka, Wakka!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I hate people off adverts(well the people I meet anyway) :mad: lucky I had some zelda to cheer my drooping spirits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭richymcdermott

are psp games region free ?

im looking to buy persona 1 and persona 2 off play-asia

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,614 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

are psp games region free ?

im looking to buy persona 1 and persona 2 off play-asia

Yep, region free.

Just be aware the first two Persona games are nowhere near as good as the latest ones.

Yep, region free.

Just be aware the first two Persona games are nowhere near as good as the latest ones.

thank you

i still willing to give them a chance and if i cant get into them it be nice to have all 4 persona games :D

then i must move on to getting digital saga, devil survivour series.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,320 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

They're still great, it's just that P3 and P4 are a hell of a lot more accessible while P1 and P2 are closer to the original series so you've got to be ready for dungeon crawling and random battles which can wpe you out if you aren't ready for them. You have to approach it differently and it can take some time to click and I freely admit it took me a while to get dungeon crawling.

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    They're still great, it's just that P3 and P4 are a hell of a lot more accessible while P1 and P2 are closer to the original series so you've got to be ready for dungeon crawling and random battles which can wpe you out if you aren't ready for them. You have to approach it differently and it can take some time to click and I freely admit it took me a while to get dungeon crawling.

You're using 'accessible' as a synonym for 'better designed' there ;) I know what you're saying, but accessibility is an admirable asset when you're honing or improving existing ideas.

Nah, there's things to like about the original games - the battle system does some interesting things the later games in the series do not - but they're also much clunkier, more one note gameplay-wise and far less interesting in terms of story and characters. Certainly worth a try, but I'd suggest something like Strange Journey does the dungeon crawling in a more rewarding way. Persona has without doubt aged pretty harshly, and while its rhythm might eventually click and its good ideas remain intriguing, I stand by the statement that it is nowhere near as good as 3 & 4.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,320 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Well it's just that P3 and 4 were massive departures from the usual SMT template. I'm definitely not saying they are bad but neither are P1 and 2, they are just very different games.

If you want the daddy of accessible dungeon crawling, nothing beats etrian odyssey. Accessible yet still utterly unforgiving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

It's already on the watch list :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    It's already on the watch list :P

The Gardai watch list I assume

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,754 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

A culture abhorring bestiality?
    Ha, japanese culture not only accepts it but makes games about it!
    Hey kids! Ever wanted to start a romantic relationship with something with a three chambered stomach? Now's your chance!
    OMG and WTF lads and lassies....

i wonder what if disney was japanese at times like these

emperorsnewgroovedvdcover.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

crazy_lama_going_to_eat_yuw_by_izzy12321-d3hpm9v.jpg

Ah, I can see the movie now....
    "Kronk infiltrates the Emperors New Groove"

And what if Japan was like Disney?

40545.jpg?v=1

Oh feck.
    The better half has decided that we, herself, my son, my nieces and I are all going to camp out in the back garden tonight....
    And I'm on duty at 8am....
    With a meeting on Monday to prepare for that's a big deal.
    And now I'll be doing it all after having slept outside.
    Feck!

I'll just have to make sure the 3DS and Vita are charged!

Speaking of the Vita, I'm really enjoying Wipeout, along with the HD and Fury packs, it's a amazing bit of software.
    Uncharted is a bit suck ass, as are the dreadful Uncharted 1 motion controls.
    Lumines plays a little too much like all the other Lumines games I own, and no longer play...