Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Haircut styles

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Sappa wrote: »
    It's a 13 euro difference,as I said I can't but laugh that people still buy into the fact that because your paying more you must be getting a better cut.
    Not true at all but if your happy to keep paying over tge odds for your haircut then keep on doing it,I have some magic beans on sale too if your interested.
    The fact that you're being so dismissive of others opinions on this thread makes it difficult to take yours seriously - especially when other posters have stated why they would consider paying that amount.

I have never paid €23 for a haircut - however my barber charges €15 which is still a high enough price - worth every penny and I will back up Awecs point - better cut.

I get a far better cut for the extra €7 - if you believe all hairdressers are the same and it makes no difference you'd be incorrect in my mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

The Panda - The buzzcut of the motoring world.

Cheep and functional but you will never pull a bird with it!!

• Registered Users Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Sappa

Don't be ridiculous I drive a 07 320D and I payed under 10 grand for her.
    I guess you guys seem to think your getting value for your cuts,why not try a 10 euro cut next time and honestly see if you notice a huge or any difference.

• Administrators Posts: 53,487 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I guess you guys seem to think your getting value for your cuts,why not try a 10 euro cut next time and honestly see if you notice a huge or any difference.

A buzzcut in a beemer eh....................:D

• Registered Users Posts: 524 ✭✭✭SdoowSirhc

frag420 wrote: »
    A buzzcut in a beemer eh....................:D
    What's the problem there? Let him drive what he wants, hair won'y affect it. I usually pay €15 for medium length hair every month and a half or so, I would pay €23 for a new style no bother. I tend to avoid those places that give you the full aould buzz for the fiver, €7 or €8 is grand for a buzz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

Forgot to mention that includes a cup of tea as well :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 524 ✭✭✭SdoowSirhc

Festy wrote: »
    Forgot to mention that includes a cup of tea as well :pac:
    VALUE

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 690 ✭✭✭puffishoes

The difference has nothing to do with the cost. It's the barber/stylist.

You're just more likley to find a good stylist working in an establishment that charges 23e instead of the midweek 6e-10e spots.

But paying 20e+ is no guarantee.

The answer is probably somewhere in the middle of the price range, try a few places out get to know a barber and stick with them.

• Registered Users Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Fentdog84

Why not just go the whole hog, and buy a razor and do it yourself. Thats what i do. Saves me 10-12 euro every month. I go blade 9mm at back, 6 at the sides and 12 on top with a little trim on the fringe. Then i go out and break some hearts. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭SirDelboy18

Barbers don't know half the techniques that their more skilled hairdressing counterparts do.

I find the barber cut is often very similar, as if they have one style and you are getting it no matter what.

Barbers are very poor with a scissors especially.

Properly can't believe someone is giving the rolleyes treatment to getting a €23 cut. They are far more skilled and the result is far better. There is simply no argument against getting the more expensive cut except ignorance and peoples insecurity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

I agree, there are some barbers who can actually style your hair instead of just giving you a 1 or 2 back and sides and short on top.
    There is a certain jarhead hairstyle you see in Ireland that you mainly only see on US marines. You would notice most young people in Ireland go for tight haircuts, not a whole lot with longer hair.
    But anyways, it's all well and good going to a hair dresser and getting your hair styled. But then you wake up the next day and realise you have to keep styling it and thing "feck that", I'll just get it shaved off.............

seachto7 wrote: »
    There is a certain jarhead hairstyle you see in Ireland that you mainly only see on US marines

Usually acompanied by a combed down fringe and a golden hoop earing and rolled up sleaves!!

• Registered Users Posts: 526 ✭✭✭OnTheCouch

I think 23 euros is too much for a haircut all right, but unless you are shaving the whole lot off there is a big difference in how conscientious some of the more expensive barbers are to getting everything right, not just the style. Have gone many a time to a cheaper place and been constantly irritated upon arriving home to notice many random stray hairs have been missed out by the barber.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 307 ✭✭CodyJarrett

MajorMax wrote: »
    STYLIST!?! Are ye fecking kidding me lads? Are ye men or what?

They said 'hair cut' not that they were getting a Brazilian.
    Buzzcut every 2 weeks whether I need it or not, my face stubble is often longer than my head stubble

Nobody is talking about paying €23 for a buzzcut that I can see, that would be nuts.

whiplashed wrote: »

They said 'hair cut' not that they were getting a Brazilian.
    Buzzcut every 2 weeks whether I need it or not, my face stubble is often longer than my head stubble

Nobody is talking about paying €23 for a buzzcut that I can see, that would be nuts.

No way would I spend 23 squids to buzz cut my nuts:)

• Registered Users Posts: 2 jeff80

This is the sort of response that makes me sick of so many Irish guys. Even a suggestion that you might be interested in your health, appearance or well-being provokes not just disinterest but a vaguely aggressive response as per above (capital letters, expletives etc.). It reminds me of the recent study in Cork:

"Swedish anthropologist Felicia Garcia, spent four years studying men in a Cork community affected by suicide, said such terms as “gay” and “homo” inhibit young men from expressing their feelings. She lived with a group of men for two years and said those expressions were used on a daily basis to mean everything from using an umbrella when it rains to eating a salad or anything that is nutritious. Such expressions are used to target heterosexual rather than gay people. “The boundaries of sexuality and homosexuality are being policed on a day-to-day basis. It helps socialise people into narrow identities which will further shape their lives,” she told a conference organised by the department of anthropology in NUI Maynooth. The term was used as a joke, she explained, but it served to inhibit young men from talking openly about their feelings. Ms Garcia told the conference that men from gangs she had interviewed in Venezuela were more open to talking about their feelings than the young Irish men she had talked to."

jeff80 wrote: »

This is the sort of response that makes me sick of so many Irish guys. Even a suggestion that you might be interested in your health, appearance or well-being provokes not just disinterest but a vaguely aggressive response as per above (capital letters, expletives etc.). It reminds me of the recent study in Cork:

"Swedish anthropologist Felicia Garcia, spent four years studying men in a Cork community affected by suicide, said such terms as “gay” and “homo” inhibit young men from expressing their feelings. She lived with a group of men for two years and said those expressions were used on a daily basis to mean everything from using an umbrella when it rains to eating a salad or anything that is nutritious. Such expressions are used to target heterosexual rather than gay people. “The boundaries of sexuality and homosexuality are being policed on a day-to-day basis. It helps socialise people into narrow identities which will further shape their lives,” she told a conference organised by the department of anthropology in NUI Maynooth. The term was used as a joke, she explained, but it served to inhibit young men from talking openly about their feelings. Ms Garcia told the conference that men from gangs she had interviewed in Venezuela were more open to talking about their feelings than the young Irish men she had talked to."
    Well she was fcuked from the start trying to psycho analyse a group of Irish men,were supervious to any type of analysis.

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭Board2Death

To all who are deriding the concept of €23 haircut for a man - go to a barber and pay €8 and ask for a simple short back and sides but just using scissors and don't use the clippers at any point (this is a classic mens haircut immune to trends and fashion, think of the type of haircut that actors like Ryan Reynolds or Ryan Gosling usually have), then go to peter mark or toni&guy or whatever and pay region €23 and ask for the same thing, and you will then see the difference.

Why would you even want to look like Ryan gosling or Reynolds,both overrated germs and gosling has to be the poster child for the metrosexuals,he is about as manly as a ken doll.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,799 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Why would you even want to look like Ryan gosling or Reynolds,both overrated germs and gosling has to be the poster child for the metrosexuals,he is about as manly as a ken doll.

You say that but those lads are drowning in clunge so they must be doing something right

DrumSteve wrote: »
    You say that but those lads are drowning in clunge so they must be doing something right

And a good hairstyle has been known to provide buoyancy thus enabling one to take advantage of the clunge!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,779 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

I came into this forum hoping for answers similiar to the OP's Questions.

I have 2 weddings coming up, Im best man at a friends and then getting married myself the month after.
    I had hoped someone would be able to give some help on finding a baber/stylist that would do a consultation and then cut, but having read some of the stupid replies in this thread I dont think I will find any answers here.

So instead I'll just rant a bit.

I cant believe the low level of comments directed at the OP following what seems like a fairly reasonable question, if I or imho the OP had wanted posts from idiots im sure we would have gone looking for answers in AH.

OP when i do get haircuts I go to the barbers room on college green and there was two lithuanian girls there who did exactly what you and I are asking for, in that they gave a quality haircut and advice on what would suit you if you asked.
    Sadly the last time I was there they were both gone having finished working after getting pregnant.
    All they have now is some books with styles which you can choose from and the barber will do that.
    Very good place and I can recomend it for a quality cut but I dont think it now offers the advice Im after.

Haircuts are not my thing so I do need advice on them im not really sure what suits my face shape all that lark and would really appreciate advice rather than abuse, but hey if its gay to want a good haircut maybe I should tell my future wife the wedding is off :rolleyes:

Maybe I will go into the bargain alert request forum (done) and request one of the better salons in town offer an offer on a consultation and cut/style. Even through in a coffee too!!

Good luck with the wedding too bro!!

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭Board2Death

Who said anything about looking like them? Hair is a very small part of the body.

Also if being called a metrosexual by internet commentators is the price to be paid to get between the sheets with the likes of Eva Mendes, well sounds like a good deal to me!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 4,991 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shane732

€23 is way too expensive for a haircut. What is special about their cut that gives them reason to charge so much? Sure you can wash your hair at home. You don't need to go to hairdressing college to learn how to do that.

You could probably go there for a once off, just to see what they say. If you like it then take a picture of the cut and try to write down a few specifics about it. Then find another, cheaper shop for your next cut and bring in the picture and tell them what you want done to it. No need to spend more than a tenner on it all.

What why is €23 too expensive? I spend about €55 on a cut.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

awec wrote: »
    There is a difference between a 23 euro haircut and a 10 euro haircut. It's a better cut.

theres a difference between a 6 euro cut and a 10 euro cut, and theres a difference between a 10 euro and a 15 euro cut, but after that it just seems to be wasted ,

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Shane732 wrote: »
    I spend about €55 on a cut.

mate if you ever need anything at all , and I mean anything give me a call, I can help you spend some serious cash on other things except haircuts

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 4,991 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shane732

mate if you ever need anything at all , and I mean anything give me a call, I can help you spend some serious cash on other things except haircuts

Don't worry I'm well capable of doing that myself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

the joey essex hairstyle looks good,longer hair at front and hairdryed and sprayed and combed back 50's teddy boy style looks very classy and slick..