Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Revenge of the Post Here When You Get Something New thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,463 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

You got stung with customs on a GBA SP?! That is mental :(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,328 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Still waiting on the Firemen from germany. Ordered it on the 22nd. Always wanted to own that game will be so annoyed if something is up :/

Master of the Universe

Is that another case of lots of PAL copies in Germany like Terranigma? Or did you just happen to find the game there for a decent price?

It's one I've been meaning to pick up for a long long time.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,328 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Just so happened to be a german seller I bought it from. There might be more copies in Germany, Nintendo was huge there and their european HQ is there. Just can't be sure about that game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

My fortune cookie last week said something like "next weekend will be the best" (I wanted geese can be troublesome)
    Anyway it must be right! Animal Crossing came this morning.
    IMG_20130614_1.png

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,763 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Wow,
    A rare triple post everybody!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,729 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

Oh I just though she was really really excited about Animal Crossing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

Sera wrote: »
    My fortune cookie last week said something like "next weekend will be the best" (I wanted geese can be troublesome)
    Anyway it must be right! Animal Crossing came this morning.

I was in gamestop at 9.30 this morning and then played it for an hour before work. Brought my ds to work so I can play it in my break :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Wow,
    A rare triple post everybody!
    Sorry about that, was trying to attach an image using my mobile and it kept coming up as new posts, tried to get rid of the extras but it mightn't have got em all (obvs gone now though)
    Oh I just though she was really really excited about Animal Crossing
    I am super excited though :3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭CosmicSmash

The search for a cab came to an end last month after a visit out to Pyongyangs place.:D I nearly missed out on it but due to transportation problems for a lad in the U.K. it became available again. I was not going to pass on it as it's in far better condition than I had hoped for and I only have space for the one cab. Oisin sorted me out with my first pcb Mr Driller 2 and I picked up a couple of stools from Neo Legend. The cab has a fresh cp, sticks and buttons along with a vga in. Pictures don't do it justice really, no burn in and very colourful also nabbed a N64 Resi game from Steve and a copy of Pink Bullets from the postman. Just be ready for all the stupid cab questions that are on the way.
    2ohy.jpg
    p1020669w.jpghfwp.jpg46ac.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,737 ✭✭✭unky chop chop

I wondered who bought that..Good man, Looks in very nice condition.

Vga input...So it has A tri-sync Chassis in it as well.
    Enjoy the "high resolution Graphics and Stereo of the art sound"
    WTF, I love that on the CP of Astro's

I wondered who bought that..Good man, Looks in very nice condition.

Vga input...So it has A tri-sync Chassis in it as well.
    Enjoy the "high resolution Graphics and Stereo of the art sound"
    WTF, I love that on the CP of Astro's

I don't no whether it's tri-sync or not, thought it was dual. I know feck all about cabs:o. Pyongyang told me it's possible to hook an xbox in a low res setting. I'm happy enough playing the older stuff, Dreamcast pad hack is on the want list, as I said wait for all the questions.

Original monitors on Astros are 15Hz.

But if there's a vga Input on the Monitor Chassis It's been converted to Tri-sync, meaning you can play 640x480 resolution.....Hello xbox360 and Dreamcast :)
    He could also have one of those CGA to VGA converters installed instead which do the job as well but come with their own problems

Looking at the pics it does look like a true 15hz monitor, those scan lines are quality.
    Any way congrats again man

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,763 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Does that mean can hook up my DC to the AWSD I have?
    I have the VGA box for it.
    Tell me more!!!

Master of the Universe

Tell me more!!!

Yes! But the controls will be the DC controls :(

yeah, you can get some product from ultimarc which does the job to convert any 640x480 siginal to 15hz
    Also for 360 there is those jamma timer boards that are meant to do the same.

There's others as well
    Remember reading post on some forum that compares them all with pros and cons, some cause screen tear which is the main issue
    I'll find it and get back to ya

Tell me more!!!

I will stick up a couple of pics of the adapter, it seems to be wired into the jamma harness. Pyongyang would know more about it. I think he told me you switch the monitor lead to a different connector when using it.
    kvig.jpgormf.jpg

o1s1n wrote: »
    Yes! But the controls will be the DC controls :(

Would a pad hack allow the use of the cab controls?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Original monitors on Astros are 15Hz.

But if there's a vga Input on the Monitor Chassis It's been converted to Tri-sync, meaning you can play 640x480 resolution.....Hello xbox360 and Dreamcast :)
    He could also have one of those CGA to VGA converters installed instead which do the job as well but come with their own problems

Looking at the pics it does look like a true 15hz monitor, those scan lines are quality.
    Any way congrats again man

Afaik it's a dual monitor and he got it with a VGA to CGA converter, something like this. Best to check with the man himself.

Monkeykube - well done man, she's a beauty. Delighted you finally got a candy. :)

Monkeykube wrote: »
    Would a pad hack allow the use of the cab controls?

Yes, HarumaN over on AO is top dog for them. He has a services thread for them in the Marketplace.

looks like one of those cga>vga adaptors.
    interested to see how they look
    Also yeah to play 360/Dc on cab get yourself padhacks.
    Do em yourself or buy em off HarumaN on arcadeotaku.com.
    I'm bogey at soldering and bought my 360 and dreamcast hacks off him...great work

Andrew76 wrote: »
    Afaik it's a dual monitor and he got it with a VGA to CGA converter, something like this. Best to check with the man himself.

Monkeykube - well done man, she's a beauty. Delighted you finally got a candy. :)

It worked out great in the end, less than 30 minutes to collect the cab and less than 15 for the pcb, also dodged the pricey shipping and the worry of it getting shipped over from abroad. When I set it up first I got a bad feeling but it worked out great in the end. The move went well, Pyongyang had it stripped down and labled everything. It came down two flights of stairs fairly handy when it was stripped down, the monitor was a fair weight and probably the worst part to carry down.

Yeah, I have a hacked open pad here, could be spliced into the existing controls, the plugged into the DC, no probs.....
    Oh, such plans!
    Really it's just the audio, and FrancoB is making me a set of leads for that!
    Let the good times roll!

Dreamcast was my first padhack and i have to say it's very easy to do, HaruMans work is good but expensive and dc is a perfect match for the astros. grats!

And so, with Fathers Day looming, my better half offered to buy me a game, or leave me unattended in Gamestop to buy one.
    Looked long and hard at The Last Of Us and Animal Crossing: New Leaf, also looked at Grid 2....
    So, what did I do?
    I realised that, given the length of time whatever I bought was going to be on my shelf, awaiting play, I'd be better off just spending a few euro on a few games I haven't owned yet.
    So, I got Assassins Creed II, Castlevania LoS and Battlefield:Bad Company 2, all for about €26....
    I'll probably go back and get Uncharted III tomorrow, it's only 21.99 at the mo.
    Ah, living on the edge....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

All I ever get on Father's Day are countless child support letters :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Los Lobos

I'm gettin a bonzai tree! Saw them in Aldi and dropped a not so subtle hint ;-) only 8.99, happy days, always wanted one!

Los Lobos wrote: »
    I'm gettin a bonzai tree! Saw them in Aldi and dropped a not so subtle hint ;-) only 8.99, happy days, always wanted one!

Lol the wife was looking at them for herself, til she remembered she's crap at looking after plants of any kind and they die pretty rapidly. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

I had a bonzai tree a few years ago. Seemed like a good idea at the time BUT they take a LOT of lookin after.

Mine died fairly quickly and went from green to brown. I left it like that for quite some time cause it looked like it was constantly in Autumn :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Los Lobos wrote: »

How long will Los Lobos' tree last?

A. less than one week
    B. 1 week - 2 weeks
    C. 2 weeks - 3 weeks
    D. more than 3 weeks

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSVChT7zC_WLbUeGXeRjTXDe-IuM9Zps1usdXhj2eR9UarJYA7-4g