Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

triangle tyres

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,209 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

langdang wrote: »
    Triangles on an expensive car are pure Paddy Prestige. All fur coat and no knickers. Get a flippin Suzuki Swift or something if you can't afford to put tyres on a car with big wheels.

Sedate driving + modern driving aids could certainly be masking the worst of cheapo tyres, but they are only "bending" the laws of physics slightly. I've seen cars without ESP/TC/EBD transformed by a set of decent tyres.

People assume that all these driving aids will mean they don't have to worry about having any physical control of the car, but, If the tyres don't grip the road, then none of these system can woprk properly.

They have to work overtime in an emergancy situation and, with poor grip, can obviously never be as effective as if you had better tyres.

Its nothing but ignorance to think that there is litte difference between tyres, and of course its based on the fact, that for your average motorist, having to spend money on their car is nothing but an inconvenience that they have to do begrudgingly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I wouldn't put them on a silage pit

lol:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,160 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

This is the usual guff being talked about tyres on this board.

If the motor enthusiasts on this were to be believed 90% of the cars in Ireland would be aquaplaning towards a ditch near you right now.

The truth is, these tyres are 100% acceptable for 99.999% of the situations a law abiding and reasonable driver will find himself in.

Admittedly if you want to feck your car into a corner on the Sally gap in the lashing rain at 160 k's you might start to notice a difference.

Go for the triangles. A grand tyre. Never a days hassle with them.

A little bit loud if I were to criticise them.

More like the usual guff from someone who knows nothing about decent tyres and is talking through his pocket,

it dismays me to see decent cars with this rubbish on them, and all too common occurance, they shouldnt really even be sold.

My wifes old alfa gt came with two of them on the front, a 150bhp diesel could spin the tyres in 2nd and 3rd gear on any sort of damp road, they were without a doubt the most dangerous tyres i have ever had the misfortune of driving on, i changed them to uniroyal rain sports after 2 weeks.

The only other such experience was a friends 530i with accelera phi on the rear, the back was out more often than not, his local tyre guy fitted them without asking when he couldnt be bothered to source the vredestein he was asked for, they came off after 1 month

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭shooter57

hi folks , to be honest I am new to bmw and cars really , when I went to the garage to ask about tyres I told the guy I don't want anything cheap , I want good tyres , I asked him for pirelli's , he said they were too expensive . he told me he would do me a good deal , when I asked what make they were he said triangle , I was none the wiser I will admit as I took his word for it they were a "good tyre" , but then I had never heard of them before , that's why I come on here and ask you guys .

I 100% agree with what most posters on here are saying , the only thing between you and the road are your tyres , there is no way I would skimp on tyres just to get on the road , as I said , I 'm not too familiar with brands yet but when I asked was told these were good :eek:

maybe he was just trying to get rid of the triangles !!!

shooter57 wrote: »
    hi folks , to be honest I am new to bmw and cars really , when I went to the garage to ask about tyres I told the guy I don't want anything cheap , I want good tyres , I asked him for pirelli's , he said they were too expensive . he told me he would do me a good deal , when I asked what make they were he said triangle , I was none the wiser I will admit as I took his word for it they were a "good tyre" , but then I had never heard of them before , that's why I come on here and ask you guys .

I 100% agree with what most posters on here are saying , the only thing between you and the road are your tyres , there is no way I would skimp on tyres just to get on the road , as I said , I 'm not too familiar with brands yet but when I asked was told these were good :eek:

Those lads must make more margin on the cheaper tyres, its the same with a guy i used to use, no matter what i asked for he was trying to sell me accelera, to put on an M3 once!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭shooter57

I reckon they're not able to shift the cheaper tyres , so if they think someone is none the wiser they will push them on you .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,234 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Cyrus wrote: »
    Those lads must make more margin on the cheaper tyres, its the same with a guy i used to use, no matter what i asked for he was trying to sell me accelera, to put on an M3 once!

I was talking to a bloke a few weeks ago in a tire place and I asked about tires in the sort of €120ish range, and despite me making it very clear I wasnt interested in budget Chinese brands he kept pushing me towards Sunny, which I think was coming in at about 85-90. He mentioned a few tires in the price range I was interested in, and even after I expressed an interest in them he kept going back to trying to push the Sunnys. I lost patience with him in the end. I reckon he was either making a huge margin off Sunnys or he was just a complete moron...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Indricotherium

Why are you so willing to follow the advice of anonymous "enthusiasts" :rolleyes: on the internet, who have absolutely no dog in this fight, and ignore the advice of a man who sells tyres for a living, and could potentially be liable if he sold you a tyre that made your car dangerous? :confused:

As the posters here seem to reckon they will.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

There seems to be a fair few tyre fitters chancing their leg with that one "They'd be too expensive"

Went locally to get 2 new rear tyres, small place so didn't carry much stock, no surprise they didn't have an 225/40/18, and not even 2 matching tyres in a close size.

So he rings up another guy with a bigger outfit ~10 miles away, and the shíte talk on the phone... "Something nice and easy on the pocket he wants"
    - I never said that - starts faffing on about triangles for like €80 a corner fitted, more shíte for €115 fitted.

I asked him to get a price for continentals, goodyear and bridgestones - he wouldn't even ask the guy, he just said "they'd be awful expensive now...ya wouldn't want that" - After a bit of persuasion he asked about continentals in the following way

"Have ya any continentals there... but sure wouldn't they be around 200 or more per tyre"

Called over to the guys place - he priced new eagle f1 asymmetrics for €150 each.

So after all that, they were slightly more expensive than mid-brand tyres, not gold plated either!

djimi wrote: »
    I was talking to a bloke a few weeks ago in a tire place and I asked about tires in the sort of €120ish range, and despite me making it very clear I wasnt interested in budget Chinese brands he kept pushing me towards Sunny, which I think was coming in at about 85-90. He mentioned a few tires in the price range I was interested in, and even after I expressed an interest in them he kept going back to trying to push the Sunnys. I lost patience with him in the end. I reckon he was either making a huge margin off Sunnys or he was just a complete moron...

The real difference between a road tyre mad by sunny or triangle and one made by pirelli or michellin, is that you are paying a premium in order to have a tyre on your car that looks like the tyre on an F1 or WRC car.

That is what the price difference is.

Why are you so willing to follow the advice of anonymous "enthusiasts" :rolleyes: on the internet, who have absolutely no dog in this fight, and ignore the advice of a man who sells tyres for a living, and could potentially be liable if he sold you a tyre that made your car dangerous? :confused:

As the posters here seem to reckon they will.....
    The real difference between a road tyre mad by sunny or triangle and one made by pirelli or michellin, is that you are paying a premium in order to have a tyre on your car that looks like the tyre on an F1 or WRC car.

Of course thats exactly it, a road tyre that looks like a studded WRC tyre or a slick F1 tyre, thats what we all want,

Or maybe people are interested in important things like stopping distances in the dry and wet, grip when cornering, general safety

You sound a lot like one of the tyre guys mentioned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Paddy001

But WRC and F1 tyres look completely different, completely different writing, thread patterns, compund, they don't even resemble each other so that is a pretty moronic statement to make

Of course thats exactly it, a road tyre that looks like a studded WRC tyre or a slick F1 tyre, thats what we all want,

Or maybe people are interested in important things like stopping distances in the dry and wet, grip when cornering, general safety

You sound a lot like one of the tyre guys mentioned

Look, at this stage this should be in with the foglight debate.

I'm never going to accept that every tyre yard up and down the country is selling tyres that are dangerous.

I accept that in some circumstances, very powerful rear wheel drive cars, jeeps, etc... premium tyres are not just wise, they are required.

But if you're asking me to believe that in sue happy Ireland most of the tyres sold are causing accidents then no.

If I recall correctly you started a thread about this very subject some weeks back, and when you got over a hundred replies all saying pretty much the same thing about cheap Chinese tires you went about rubbishing everyone of them. Why do you find it so hard to accept what people are saying about these tires? Are you just trying to wind people up?

Paddy001 wrote: »
    But WRC and F1 tyres look completely different, completely different writing, thread patterns, compund, they don't even resemble each other so that is a pretty moronic statement to make

I'm referring to the branding on the tyres.

And I think you can take it easy throwing around the word moronic, if you are unable to understand the context of what I am saying.

If I recall correctly you started a thread about this very subject some weeks back, and when you got over a hundred replies all saying pretty much the same thing about cheap Chinese tires you went about rubbishing everyone of them. Why do you find it so hard to accept what people are saying about these tires? Are you just trying to wind people up?

I'm not, but there is no argument for it other than "people say" and links to youtube videos of less lads doing tests, who have set out with only one goal in mind, and that is to rubbish unbranded tyres.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_fallacies

Take your pick from that list. They are almost all covered in the thread I started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,647 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I reckon they're not able to shift the cheaper tyres , so if they think someone is none the wiser they will push them on you .

Quite the opposite actually. Average Joe generally comes into a tyre centre and just asks for tyres for his car, the cheaper the better in most cases. He/she generally doesn't care what brand they are or how good they are as long as they are cheap. These are usually the same people who need their mechanic or the NCT to advise them that their tyres need changing. :rolleyes: These days most tyre centres just stock what they can sell and make the most money off of quickly. If you want something from a premium brand you probably would have to order it. There is no point in buying stock that could be sitting there for ages unsold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

This is simply not true. These tyres will not cause a car to suddenly start driving like it's on ice.

All you will get from this board with regard to unbranded tyres is two classic un logical and bad arguments.

The first Is the classic "we're all into cars so we must know best and this is what we think"

The other will be an argument from authority, probably some clip from topgear or myth busters or some other such nonsense tv show in which an aged hatchback is sent into a flooded corner at 160 k's.

Neither of which is any way convincing.

There is no empirical test on tyres, as nissan doctor suggests, and I agree with him that there should be, and if there was I might have to change my tune.

But until there is I can only go with what I have observed; the majority of cars I come across have whatever tyre was cheapest to buy on the day on them, and the majority of cars get along fine with them.

You raise a good point though.

Until there is some sort of A-F rating system for tyres that is independently done (think energy rating for appliances), people are going to continue to buy ****e and tyre sellers are going to continue to pedal ****e tyres.

BX 19 wrote: »
    You raise a good point though.

Until there is some sort of A-F rating system for tyres that is independently done (think energy rating for appliances), people are going to continue to buy ****e and tyre sellers are going to continue to pedal ****e tyres.

100% agree with this and it is badly needed.

If only to shut me up. :)

I'm not, but there is no argument for it other than "people say" and links to youtube videos of less lads doing tests, who have set out with only one goal in mind, and that is to rubbish unbranded tyres.

Take your pick from that list. They are almost all covered in the thread I started.

There are several car magazines that do scientific tyre tests every year, often covering several categories, do you choose to ignore the findings?

You are rubbishing peoples first hand experience though, which I find to be a bit insulting quite frankly. Why do you find it so hard to accept that when the overwhelming majority are saying that from their experience the budget tires do not perform to anything like the level of the better tires, that there may be more to it than just hearsay and speculation?

Noone is rubbishing budget tires for any other reason than to share their experiences. The OP asked about putting Triangle tires on a RWD BMW, and the overwhelming response (from people who have done the same) is that it will lead to a less than satisfactory driving exprerience. Why do you find that so hard to accept?

Edit: seems I may have imagined that he said it was for a BMW... Either way the point still stands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,836 ✭✭✭Neilw

Neilw wrote: »
    Same story each time one of these ditchfinder threads is started.

There are always going to be closed minded people who can't be educated on the merits and increase in safety provided by better quality, or premium quality tyres. Its a scam to these people.

Seems my post was spot on lol.

You are rubbishing peoples first hand experience though, which I find to be a bit insulting quite frankly. Why do you find it so hard to accept that when the overwhelming majority are saying that from their experience the budget tires do not perform to anything like the level of the better tires, that there may be more to it than just hearsay and speculation?

Noone is rubbishing budget tires for any other reason than to share their experiences. The OP asked about putting Triangle tires on a RWD BMW, and the overwhelming response (from people who have done the same) is that it will lead to a less than satisfactory driving exprerience. Why do you find that so hard to accept?

Well in al fairness I did say that this situation is probably one of the ones where a premium tyre is needed.

Maybe it's coming across as rubbishing peoples personal opinion, but that's not my intention.

I think there probably is merit in questioning whether the sample group here "car enthusiasts who get a sense of enjoyment from driving" is relevant to people who are outside that group.

There are plenty of people who are 100% competent and safe drivers who get no enjoyment from it, and see their car as a way to get from one place to another.

I just think that the benefits of premium tyres are overstated (very much so) on this boards, versus unbranded or not premium branded tyres, when talking about day to day use by people who are not car enthusiasts.

It's analogous to using the brushwash in a petrol station. Most people on this board think it's a capital crime, but they still do great business, becasue they are good enough for most.

There are several car magazines that do scientific tyre tests every year, often covering several categories, do you choose to ignore the findings?

Given that magazines get a lot of their funding from advertising the very products they are testing, I do choose to ignore their findings. Funding advertising in magazines is one of the very things that makes premium tyres more expensive.

I would not ignore the findings of a body such as NCAP, should they decide to start testing tyres.

Well in al fairness I did say that this situation is probably one of the ones where a premium tyre is needed.

Maybe it's coming across as rubbishing peoples personal opinion, but that's not my intention.

I think there probably is merit in questioning whether the sample group here "car enthusiasts who get a sense of enjoyment from driving" is relevant to people who are outside that group.

There are plenty of people who are 100% competent and safe drivers who get no enjoyment from it, and see their car as a way to get from one place to another.

I just think that the benefits of premium tyres are overstated (very much so) on this boards, versus unbranded or not premium branded tyres, when talking about day to day use by people who are not car enthusiasts.

It's analogous to using the brushwash in a petrol station. Most people on this board think it's a capital crime, but they still do great business, becasue they are good enough for most.

The difference being that a brush wash will cover your car in scratches which is your own business, bad tyres will increase your stopping distances in the wet and in emergency situtations, dangerous to you and everyone around you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

I'm never going to accept that every tyre yard up and down the country is selling tyres that are dangerous.

Relatively dangerous, compared to the best brands.

Just like cars: a 2012 Merc with brake assist, ESP, ABS, yadda-yadda, airbags, belt tensioners, crumple zones, anti-submarining seats etc. etc. is a whole lot safer to drive than a 92 Fiat Cinquecento. But yards up and down the land will sell you that more dangerous car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Why should a premium tyre be better on one car, but not on another? Does it grip better or not? If yes, then it'll grip better on any car. More grip is safer than less grip.

Relatively dangerous, compared to the best brands.

Just like cars: a 2012 Merc with brake assist, ESP, ABS, yadda-yadda, airbags, belt tensioners, crumple zones, anti-submarining seats etc. etc. is a whole lot safer to drive than a 92 Fiat Cinquecento. But yards up and down the land will sell you that more dangerous car.

I think that the relative aspect is stretched on this forum though, due to the fact that most of the posters are all of the same mind on tyres.

Its a fair point that many people on here are car enthusiasts who would more into their cars and driving than the average motorist. But do you not think that these are the kind of people who might be in a better position to speak of such matters such as tires; that they might have seen more situations, on different models of cars and with different tires and who are in a better position to make a comparison?

Also do you not think that a driving enthusiast might not be in a better position to fully test the full capabilities of something like tires? For example, most motorists will not ever have to test the limits of their cars or tires. The majority of people may never have to do an emergency stop on a motorway in the wet, and therefore could go through the entire life of a set of Triangle tires without a problem. However, as many people in this thread and others on the subject have said, try stopping a car in the wet on a set of budget tires and the outcome is not likely to be pretty. Okay for 90% of people they may never have to test the limitations of their tires, but why would you want to risk being in the 10% who do need them to perform in an extreme situation, and find out firsthand the hard way why budget tires are not recommended?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭galwayjohn89

I think that the relative aspect is stretched on this forum though, due to the fact that most of the posters are all of the same mind on tyres.

I had Sunny tyres on a 1 litre Polo with no power and I got wheel spin in damp conditions. That is shocking. I'd hate to see them on a car with power.