Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

triangle tyres

• 03-05-2012 9:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭

hi folks whats your opinions on triangle tyres for a bmw , are they good quality ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Buy quality part worns over anything budget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,544 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I wouldn't put them on a silage pit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭shooter57

Saab Ed wrote: »
    No.

why not ? do you mind me asking ?

shooter57 wrote: »

The silage pit joke from above :p

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I wouldn't put them on a silage pit

thanks for info , any reason ?

That and you might end up dead if it rains.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

They are perfectly fine OP, just don't go rallying around corners or driving full speed at walls and such.

*just between ourselves, most of the regular posters on here are actually members of the board with the major tyre companies;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Circular ones FTW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,448 ✭✭✭ongarite

Avoid if at all possible especially on a RWD car.
    How much are they going for?

Where To wrote: »
    just don't go rallying around corners or driving full speed at walls and such.

... or slamming on in an emergency ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Premium car + cheap chinese tyres = typical Irish motorist:rolleyes:

Having said that, the likes of those tyres are not suitable on any car, premium or not.

Summarised nicely about el cheapo tyres

http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Article/Autocar-Tyre-Test-Budget-Tyre-Performance.htm

Go buy part worn dunlops/conti/verdstein if your cash conscious

That and you might end up dead if it rains.

:eek: so I take it they are bad quality , was offered a set brand new , fitted for 300e .

*just between ourselves, most of the regular posters on here are actually members of the board with the major tyre companies;)

Actually most of the regular poster here can feel what their car is doing on the road....and couldn't fathom why people cheap out on the only thing that keeps you and your car on the road!

BX 19 wrote: »
    Summarised nicely about el cheapo tyres

http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Article/Autocar-Tyre-Test-Budget-Tyre-Performance.htm

Go buy part worn dunlops/conti/verdstein if your cash conscious
    Nice comment from that article:
    I have 2 triangle tyres 225 55 16 on my e39 bmw and they have no grip in the wet and not that good even when its dry i have 6000miles done and will have to replace them again with a good brand name this time they are worst tyres i have ever put on a car i wudnt buy them for my wheel barrow now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,544 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

They're made from a very hard plasticy compound which doesn't grip which means your breaking distances areincreased, your abs will cut In all the time as the tires don't grip, you will lose grip on the back end meaning gung-Ho arse out moments on roundabouts, and most of all - that moment when you need the car to behave like a bmw it'll do something unexpected and you'll hit someone/thing

:eek: so I take it they are bad quality , was offered a set brand new , fitted for 300e .

I once bought a a car with 4 new triangle tyres on it. I changed them all after a couple of days so bad was the quality of these tyres. Just dangerous, no grip in the wet or even worse, in the dry :eek: Crowning moment of hilarity was myself, herself and the kids full bore broadside on a roundabout in bone dry conditions at about 15 mph.

This is why

Actually most of the regular poster here can feel what their car is doing on the road....and couldn't fathom why people cheap out on the only thing that keeps you and your car on the road!
    Would you be willing to take the pepsi challenge?

Michelins v an Event/Hifly combi?:D

We've tried this on a few 'experts'. Results are mixed to say the least.

Would you be willing to take the pepsi challenge?

Michelins v an Event/Hifly combi?:D

We've tried this on a few 'experts'. Results are mixed to say the least.

I've driven thousands of cars on pretty much every type of tyre in the vast majority of conditions and am well aware of the differences.

When you drive your car in different conditions do you test your grip levels on different surfaces or just go a bit slower in the wet and a bit faster in the dry?

thanks for the info guys , had googled them for info about quality but couldn't find anything on them . Guess I'll be giving them a miss so .

Don't mind me, I'm just playing devil's advocate here.

However, I don't think Chinese tyres are that much worse than branded tyres as some would have us believe.

I've seen Sunnys go where Dunlop snow tyres wouldn't.

I've also seen Sunnys go over ditches where other tyres haven't.

Bad tyres? maybe
    Bad road conditions? maybe
    Bad drivers? maybe
    Combination of all three? Definitely

thanks for the info guys , had googled them for info about quality but couldn't find anything on them . Guess I'll be giving them a miss so .

If I were you I'd be starting at the likes of Hankook, Kumho, Vredestein and working up towards the established premium brands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

300 fitted ? id say good tires would cost around same. its 75 a corner, .... expensive ,,, in that range youd get some better tires. shop around. there is a lot companies online offer not bad prices for good name tires.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

OP what is the size?

Bad tyres? maybe
    Bad road conditions? maybe
    Bad drivers? maybe
    Combination of all three? Definitely

I'd agree 100% with that.

But consider also that if you remove bad tyres from your above scenario, that's 1/3 less chance of an issue, so why wouldn't you?(meant generally, not you personally)

IMO if you don't have grip then your suspension, brakes, handling, bonnet badge or whatever else, don't matter a damm.

OP what is the size?

18/225/45

Mar4ix wrote: »
    300 fitted ? id say good tires would cost around same. its 75 a corner, .... expensive ,,, in that range youd get some better tires. shop around. there is a lot companies online offer not bad prices for good name tires.

Very difficult to say a tyre is expensive unless you know what size it is.

Edit: 225/45/18 above so €75 a corner for that size should be ringing alarm bells.

IMO if you don't have grip then your suspension, brakes, handling, bonnet badge or whatever else, don't matter a damm.

And yet its so often over looked and compromised because of price. Always baffles me to see people spending 10/20/30 grand or more on a car and then save 20 or 30 quid a corner by buying crap tyres. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,726 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

OP, today I was quoted €340 for a full set of Toyo's in Hanover Tyres, I ended up going for a set of part worn Pirellis with a great thread left for €145 all in. Shop around and always look for premium bands, it's worth it.

18/225/45

You are looking at 400 pounds sterling for a set of 4 of average/good tyre brand Falken 452.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

18/225/45

yepp... thats the the expensive size .... descent qulity tire would cost 150 ish and up for corner. if op money tight, consider get cheaper size wheels...

And yet its so often over looked and compromised because of price. Always baffles me to see people spending 10/20/30 grand or more on a car and then save 20 or 30 quid a corner by buying crap tyres. :confused:

Sure only today, 09 Audi a6 avant in for two tyres, 2.7tdi, leather, nav, automatic tailgate, factory s-line, 18" factory alloys, Worn Pirelli P-zero's removed.........4 sunny's fitted.

Its very tempting to point out to these people how reasonably priced tyres are for a fiesta:rolleyes:

CianRyan wrote: »
    OP, today I was quoted €340 for a full set of Toyo's in Hanover Tyres, I ended up going for a set of part worn Pirellis with a great thread left for €145 all in. Shop around and always look for premium bands, it's worth it.

did you get that quote in Tallaght ?

True that, but is a badly maintained car on premium tyres safer than a well maintained car on cheapo tyres?

Dunno why I'm standing up for them here, I'm a Goodyear fanboy meself:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Indricotherium

This is the usual guff being talked about tyres on this board.

If the motor enthusiasts on this were to be believed 90% of the cars in Ireland would be aquaplaning towards a ditch near you right now.

The truth is, these tyres are 100% acceptable for 99.999% of the situations a law abiding and reasonable driver will find himself in.

Admittedly if you want to feck your car into a corner on the Sally gap in the lashing rain at 160 k's you might start to notice a difference.

Go for the triangles. A grand tyre. Never a days hassle with them.

A little bit loud if I were to criticise them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Paddy001

If the motor enthusiasts on this were to be believed 90% of the cars in Ireland would be aquaplaning towards a ditch near you right now.

The truth is, these tyres are 100% acceptable for 99.999% of the situations a law abiding and reasonable driver will find himself in.

Admittedly if you want to feck your car into a corner on the Sally gap in the lashing rain at 160 k's you might start to notice a difference.

I'm an ordinary road user with an ordinary car, been through many different brands of tyre. I found Pirelli to be rubbish and very soft on wear, Firestone acceptable on all terms, but Michelin far exceed any other I've had. I've had many cheaper ones ranging from Kormoran to Strada and they were bad, found Kumho to be good though and reasonably priced. They are certainly acceptable - as in they are black and round but I think you're being a bit extreme, there is a fair difference in them even in normal driving, especially in the wet.

did you get that quote in Tallaght ?

Yep, got the part worns in AutoDepo Tyres on the Belgard Road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭focus_mad

OP Triangles are budget budget.. In future try get part worn tyres of a good brand. I picked up two continentals for a decent price off Tyreland.

Its never been done to my knowledge, but I would love to see someone compile a report of the tyres brands fitted to any cars involved in 'single vehicle accidents'.....I know what my money would be on and I'd be certain my money would be safe too:rolleyes:

To repeat my opinion on comments like above, if you think they are ok in normal conditions, then you are either very lucky to have avoided situations requiring grip or you simply don't understand the feedback from your car.

CianRyan wrote: »
    Yep, got the part worns in AutoDepo Tyres on the Belgard Road.

price sounds good for the pirelli's , whereabouts is that on belgard road , near halford's?

Not too far past it.
    If you know where Belgard Market is, there's a slip road into Cookstown Industrial Estate just past it. If you turn up there it's right in the little courtyard to your right, along with Bargain Town and a few others. Just opened there recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭SpannerMonkey

@OP they really are the most basic Tyre on the market , i remember seeing a review by a British car magazine last year that questioned whether they should be legally sold in the UK they were that bad , said that once it rains the car becomes uncontrollable and quite dangerous , and gave them the lowest rating they had ever given on one of their tests .
    with you having a BMW which is rear wheel drive you really don't want to be putting these tyres on the car .
    cheap alternatives that are very decent would be Uniroyal , Hankook ,Kumho ,Falken , BF Goodrich ,Cooper even GT radial or federal would be a huge step up from triangle .

or get Part worn premium tyres like michelin, pirelli, goodyear etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Wheelnut

18/225/45

Should that car not be on runflats?

Wheelnut wrote: »

No need, all run flats do is run flat. Otherwise, they're heavy and noisy and there's nothing about the wheels that says they have to use run flats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Wheelnut wrote: »

A certain type of tyre coming as standard doesn't mean anything else can't be used.

Runflats are more expensive and provide a much harsher ride quality, especially with 18", and more often than not the "benefit" of runflats is never used during their life on a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,479 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I paid €130 a corner for 2 x 225/40/r18 and €190 a corner for 2 x 255/35/r18 - Vredestein Ultrac Sessantas on my 3 Series. They are almost a premium brand tyre and online reviews are very good. There is no way I would put cheap ****e rubber on any car, not to mind a rwd one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭fitzeyboy.

bazz26 wrote: »
    I paid €130 a corner for 2 x 225/40/r18 and €190 a corner for 2 x 255/35/r18 - Vredestein Ultrac Sessantas on my 3 Series. They are almost a premium brand tyre and online reviews are very good. There is no way I would put cheap ****e rubber on any car, not to mind a rwd one.

I have the same on mine. the previous tyres were some cheap Chinese crap I Cant even remember the name of. The difference in grip level is astronomical. Unless you like going around roundabouts sideways as soon as it rains put some decent rubber on the car.