Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Chuck_Norris

pred racer wrote: »
    I was just thinking what a motors garage would look like:p

I can see a load of folks sitting around a car arguing about what was wrong with it and Nissan Doc, Row and george dalton sitting like judges, telling us what was actually wrong with it:D

A few jobs in this garage would be

RJ receptionist, good luck to anyone who wants to argue about their bill
    MM, car wash
    Test Transmission, exhaust dept
    SH, spoiler dept
    Dgt, engine removal
    Gary and lightening, race team
    Colm mcm and matt simms, R&D
    Gollywog........photography;)
    Me 166man and Stheno in the alfa dept (obviously with fcuck all to do;) )
    Lots of folk in the vw and bmw dept, flat oot!
    bubblewrap.....no clue

Any more nominations for positions in ths new enterprise? :pac:

I've just seen this now. I would like to nominate myself as the Comaint Resolution Department.

Customer: I have a complaint to make.
    RJ: No problem. I'll just pass you over to my collegue......Chuck Norris. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

so how is your beemer going ,lad? she is still quick?

Oh yes indeed :D That rattle is being sorted next week! My mechanic did quite a bit of research into it and he's fairly certain that it'll be easy enough. We'll see about that!

I took it for a blast last night, and I'll tell ya one thing, the noise from the engine is actually heavenly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Oh yes indeed :D That rattle is being sorted next week! My mechanic did quite a bit of research into it and he's fairly certain that it'll be easy enough. We'll see about that!

I took it for a blast last night, and I'll tell ya one thing, the noise from the engine is actually heavenly!

nah, i am telling ya, that damn thing sounds sexy from outside. i did not had a chance to sit in passanger seat, because you are a racist bastard. :pac:

Yeah because a loud, metallic ticking noise is sexy haha maybe if you're a robot!

I told you last week, I hate Lithucorkians!! Shower of šūdas bastards! :P

Yeah because a loud, metallic ticking noise is sexy haha maybe if you're a robot!

I told you last week, I hate Lithucorkians!! Shower of šūdas bastards! :P

that sound must be a lot worse inside, then outside.

as for lithuanians. did you merry that gold digger already? did she took half of your beemer?! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

I was just thinking what a motors garage would look like:p

I can see a load of folks sitting around a car arguing about what was wrong with it and Nissan Doc, Row and george dalton sitting like judges, telling us what was actually wrong with it:D

A few jobs in this garage would be

RJ receptionist, good luck to anyone who wants to argue about their bill
    MM, car wash
    Test Transmission, exhaust dept
    SH, spoiler dept
    Dgt, engine removal
    Gary and lightening, race team
    Colm mcm and matt simms, R&D
    Gollywog........photography;)
    Me 166man and Stheno in the alfa dept (obviously with fcuck all to do;) )
    Lots of folk in the vw and bmw dept, flat oot!
    bubblewrap.....no clue

Any more nominations for positions in ths new enterprise? :pac:

I've just seen this now. I would like to nominate myself as the Comaint Resolution Department.

Customer: I have a complaint to make.
    RJ: No problem. I'll just pass you over to my collegue......Chuck Norris. :pac:
    I'd rather take on Norris than have to face down RJ tbh!

Can I be in charge of the topless calenders in the jacks?

MugMugs wrote: »

RoverJames doesn't call the wrong number. You answer the wrong phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Thanks to George Dalton for fitting my new brake discs!
    Its only now I see how bad they were, it was one thing I didnt like about the car, now they are awesome! Great service, great price. (i know that sounds a bit like ebay feedback:p) highly reccomended:cool:

Edit: my youngest daughter wasnt too impressed with the loaner car, I'm raising a badge snob :)

Your filthy Alfa is visible in the advert for the black 08 Passat. MM would beat you with the handle of his DA!

that sound must be a lot worse inside, then outside.

as for lithuanians. did you merry that gold digger already? did she took half of your beemer?! :D

You can't hear it at all when the windows are up, even with no stereo on but everyone else can hear it and it's embarrassing!

She has her own car so she can layyyv my car alone!

Your filthy Alfa is visible in the advert for the black 08 Passat. MM would beat you with the handle of his DA!

Well spotted :D

And would you look at the gorgeous S4 beside it!

I have to stand up for MM here. He's not racist.......he hates everyone equally! :pac:

You can't hear it at all when the windows are up, even with no stereo on but everyone else can hear it and it's embarrassing!

She has her own car so she can layyyv my car alone!

That is one of the petrol head curses. You think it sounds so bad, that people around 5km range can hear it and thinking " look at that idiot, his car is falling apart, what a loser". In reality no one hears or cares. :D

like my sticky tappet :)

RoverJames wrote: »

Try roaring into town tractor style......

That is one of the petrol head curses. You think it sounds so bad, that people around 5km range can hear it and thinking " look at that idiot, his car is falling apart, what a loser". In reality no one hears or cares. :D

I don't THINK it sounds bad, I KNOW it does....there's a difference!

At least someone empathizes with me :D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

MugMugs wrote: »

No topless calenders :D
    I don't THINK it sounds bad, I KNOW it does....there's a difference!

At least someone empathizes with me :D

RJ is just practising for his receptionist role :)

It's fake empathy :)

Stheno wrote: »

No topless calenders :D

Nudie calendars it is so!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Thats my car allright! I could tell you it was clean when I left home, but it'd be a lie:D

And thats me and my youngest daughter just after getting out of the green punto. Well spotted

Edit: I hope my car didnt catch any reliability problems off that vw :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

Stuck the offroad suspension in my newly aquired van today.

And while I was at it, also was checking out things like the state of my brakepads. Especially, since the brake pad sensor is bust.
    383532_10151127763838682_186254923_n.jpg
    Now that's impressive. The disc has seperated from the center piece.

Obviously, I'm changing that in the morning. Have to change the ceased caliper and the pads, too. I can't imagine, how on earth the previous owner could drive around with that for ages.

The rear shocks of the van were also dead. And if I say dead, I mean dead dead.

/M

Thats my car allright! I could tell you it was clean when I left home, but it'd be a lie:D

And thats me and my youngest daughter just after getting out of the green punto. Well spotted

Edit: I hope my car didnt catch any reliability problems off that vw :)

That looks like one of the reliable ones. Face lift and common rail are good points I'd imagine! Plus from use not so long ago it doesn't leave the place unless it's good to go!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Hiring out a compressor to work one of these bad boys
    Chicago-Pneumatic-CP5000-lg.jpg

Yes, with extended anvil :D:D:D

I don't know what I love using more, the consaw or inch airgun :cool:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

dgt wrote: »
    Hiring out a compressor to work one of these bad boys
    Chicago-Pneumatic-CP5000-lg.jpg

Yes, with extended anvil :D:D:D

I don't know what I love using more, the consaw or inch airgun :cool:

Jaysus lads, who let him out :eek:

Stheno wrote: »

It's fake empathy :)

I used to work in sales, can turn it on and off :D

i bet it was mostly in OFF position. :D

:D SH, did you read what our new garage is going to do to your car?

.... not when commission was concerned ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Try roaring into town tractor style......

You haven't heard anything until you have heard the suspension on my Alfa. Squeeking like there's no tomorrow. I use the Alfa ''roar'' to drown it out!

That 10 D Passat that George has for sale I really like, it's got a lovely spec on it and looks suitably classy. :cool:

166man wrote: »
    You haven't heard anything until you have heard the suspension on my Alfa. Squeeking like there's no tomorrow. I use the Alfa ''roar''

Or an alfa needing a new belt or variator :)

166man wrote: »
    You haven't heard anything until you have heard the suspension on my Alfa. Squeeking like there's no tomorrow. I use the Alfa ''roar'' to drown it out!

That 10 D Passat that George has for sale I really like, it's got a lovely spec on it and looks suitably classy. :cool:

Squeaking? High miles on it or age?

With me the colder mornings are eating away at me when I turn the key. Was driving a petrol for a week and it really brought it home...