Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

..........blaming on a wastegate rattling :p

If you're serious that's a nightmare of a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

CianRyan wrote: »
    Eh, a bit nicer than that.
    Hints, it's got twin turbos. :pac:

27836501.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

Stheno wrote: »
    Marlow promoted to chief receptionist to filter the real customers versus the DAYSUL ones?

Trust me. You don't want me anywhere near the reception. You'd get no customers at all then :)

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Nah it just sounds like one, which he's blaming on a wastegate rattling :p

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

pred racer wrote: »
    Company cars all round boss?

NO, unlimited fag breaks should be enough for you not to mention the nespresso machine, and bubblewrap there to make you tea?
    Nah it just sounds like one, which he's blaming on a wastegate rattling :p
    Eh, a bit nicer than that.
    Hints, it's got twin turbos. :pac:
    Still can't remember, know feck all about BMWs, he did send me pictures.
    Ohhhh dear! I can hear the roars all the way from Thurles! :D

More justification for me being the boss, the staff would work so much harder to prove me an idiot :D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Marlow wrote: »
    Trust me. You don't want me anywhere near the reception. You'd get no customers at all then :)

/M

Ah you are a few post behind :)

166man wrote: »
    Can I be head of the Alfa department? Standing there consoling other Alfa drivers who arrive in with suspension that had sh1t itself?

MCM can bring the Shepherds pie and conzy the pink muffins...:pac:

Then myself and Gary can go out on our daily rounds declamping the sh1t out of every car we see with a ncps clamp...:D

No you and RJ would argue far too much, pred is head of the alfa department and the official go between for you and RJ

You can be head of declamping as you'll have feck all to do in the alfa department?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

NO, unlimited fag breaks should be enough for you not to mention the nespresso machine, and bubblewrap there to make you tea?

Still can't remember, know feck all about BMWs, he did send me pictures.

More justification for me being the boss, the staff would work so much harder to prove me an idiot :D

It's a grey 3 series, COME ONE!

Can I be head of the Alfa department? Standing there consoling other Alfa drivers who arrive in with suspension that had sh1t itself?

MCM can bring the Shepherds pie and conzy the pink muffins...:pac:

Then myself and Gary can go out on our daily rounds declamping the sh1t out of every car we see with a ncps clamp...:D

Ssshhhhh, the alfa dept is just for us to work on our cars using garage parts;)
    Say nuthin to the boss!

"yeah another black 159 in today, who'd a thought it"

Ah you are a few post behind :)

Shift happens. :p

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Feck that, they'll all be bloody diesels :pac:
    RoverJames wrote: »

If you're serious that's a nightmare of a job.

He is serious but it's the rear turbo, not the front one. The front one is the one that's very hard to get to but the rear one can be got at very easily from underneath ;)

I'll claim milage, thank you very much. I like to drive my own and I like a variety.

/M

.... you got them covered on the warranty though anyway :)

I did indeed and for this very reason :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Apparently in MM's own words, the warranty fix is bmw updating the software causing a decrease in power...

He's going with the other option...

It's a grey 3 series, COME ONE!

335i! I couldn't remember was it a 325 or 335 then I saw sense?
    Ssshhhhh, the alfa dept is just for us to work on our cars using garage parts;)
    Say nuthin to the boss!

"yeah another black 159 in today, who'd a thought it"

If yis don't keep my gtv in tip top condition and argue with me, there will be consequences!

You'll have no time anyway to fix cars, you'll spend all your time negotiating between RJ and 166!
    I'll claim milage, thank you very much. I like to drive my own and I like a variety.

/M

No mileage, why would you need mileage?

Apparently in MM's own words, the warranty fix is bmw updating the software causing a decrease in power...

He's going with the other option...

Ehm, no. The BMW warranty is long out. It's the Mapfre warranty I got when I bought the car that has the turbos included ;)

The software causes the decrease because it makes the wastegates move further from their seals on the turbo and stop them vibrating and causing the rattling sound. They are originally meant to seal tight in order to reduce lag at low revs. The fact that the actuator rod is loose means that there is too much slack on the wastegates in order to keep them closed with the vacuum created under normal operation.

Although, a remap and that BMW software update included would just sort everything out very easily :D

No mileage, why would you need mileage?

There's plenty of scenarios where work outside the garage is needed. :) Otherwise there would also be no need for company cars.

/M

Feck that, they'll all be bloody diesels :pac:

All i ever wanted was a company car, now I have one, its a diesel clio van and its in paris:rolleyes:

He is serious but it's the rear turbo, not the front one. The front one is the one that's very hard to get to but the rear one can be got at very easily from underneath ;)[/QUOTE]

Most of the best things can:p

All i ever wanted was a company car, now I have one, its a diesel clio van and its in paris:rolleyes:

70% of all cars in France are diesel. Fairly normal there.

/M

/M

99% of cars here are all diesel, used not be so normal :pac:

/M

That doesnt make it any better to drive though

Edit: off to me bed, someone lock up the garage and clean out dgt's box before ye go :)

There's no issue with diesel. Ask the few that have heard my Touring after I had the ecotune exhaust system in it. Saw it yesterday and I'm still not sure, if it was a good idea to sell it. Also a proper diesel is proper torquy.

I've driven low crap diesels though, that are utterly useless. Like a base spec Pug 308 HDI diesel. What a pile of crap.

Of course, when it comes to performance driving, very few diesels will hack it. The 5500 rpm redline of 535d is usable, even on a track. Anything less is useless.

I have both diesel and petrol cars and they have each their advantages. It depends on the purpose and circumstances.

/M

There's plenty of scenarios where work outside the garage is needed. :) Otherwise there would also be no need for company cars.

/M

Take a customers car. Just don't abuse it mileage wise?

I get ****e mileage in my current work did over 400 miles this week all work related and I get €100 :(

Edit: off to me bed, someone lock up the garage and clean out dgt's box before ye go :)

Did anyone feed and water dgt?

There's no issue with diesel. Ask the few that have heard my Touring after I had the ecotune exhaust system in it. Saw it yesterday and I'm still not sure, if it was a good idea to sell it. Also a proper diesel is proper torquy.

I've driven low crap diesels though, that are utterly useless. Like a base spec Pug 308 HDI diesel. What a pile of crap.

Of course, when it comes to performance driving, very few diesels will hack it. The 5500 rpm redline of 535d is usable, even on a track. Anything less is useless.

I have both diesel and petrol cars and they have each their advantages. It depends on the purpose and circumstances.

/M

I drive a diesel here too, its diesel clio vans I have a problem with;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

/M

It seems like you're taking this very seriously, it's all just a bit of banter...:)

I've had a couple of diesels, great for high mileage driving, I think longingly back to them when I do 400 miles in three days and spend a fortune :)

Depends on the purpose, I was just engaging in the usual forum joking about DAYSULS

Compared to my current car, I'd never drive a diesel, that said I'd never drive a 1.4 Octavia petrol either :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Speaking of 1.4 petrol Octavia's, I wonder what is/has been the worst petrol engine made of the last decade... Thinking of all the cars you have been in...

I'd say the Opel Corsa 1.0 petrol is the single worst petrol engine that I can think of right now, what think ye?

Speaking of 1.4 petrol Octavia's, I wonder what is/has been the worst petrol engine made of the last decade... Thinking of all the cars you have been in...

I'd say the Opel Corsa 1.0 petrol is the single worst petrol engine that I can think of right now, what think ye?

The 1.4 Octavia in it's early years.

My mother had one, my car at the time died and I ended up in the Dublin Mountains in the Octavia, sweet Jebus, it was a wreck getting up that hill, I'll never get in one again, I'd rather walk.

On another note, I'd the best laugh ever with our garage fantasy this evening, was seriously fun (Did I mention RJ was dressed in a lovely 50's halterneck dress?) (sorry RJ)

I laughed myself silly.

Night lads :)

On another note, I'd the best laugh ever with our garage fantasy this evening, was seriously fun (Did I mention RJ was dressed in a lovely 50's halterneck dress?) (sorry RJ)

I laughed myself silly.

Night lads :)

Fantasy?! :eek::confused:

There I was halfway through my resignation letter! DAMN IT!