Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭cgal093

If anyone has a MK4 golf estate for sale can you pm me? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

cgal093 wrote: »
    Would ye all believe me if I told ye I sold the Golf? :pac:

Limerickman; I've got some photos to put up tomorrow of it!

Your some man to shift the motors!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

gollywog wrote: »
    Your some man to shift the motors!

Yeah, bitta help!

Lol, I'll gladly take that fine Mazda of yours and leave it outside my house with a for sale sign on the roof, be gone within the day.....probably stolen though :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Mrs Nissan Doctor just told me she wants to get these for her car!!

http://carlashes.com/

I've just died a little:(

I almost crashed yesterday thanks to one of these!!!

I drove by and there was old corsa parked on the gravel. When I came near it I sow those damn eye lashes!!!! Wtf?!?!?!

Anyway lads. I got money transferred to visa today. I am buying alloys today after work.
    I am scraping the 15x8 idea now as it is going to be too much hassle. :(

So I am between the Rota grid V silver with polished lip 15x7, or rota RB gunmetal with polished lip 15x7

Sorry I can't show pictures of those, as I am on te phone. No need of "rota are **** wheels" please. I am in a hurry and very limited budget so I can't afford Audi A5 wheels etc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

I have Rota Circuit 8 rims on the MX5 in 16"

15" would ride better, 16" is too harsh even with the suspension turned to its softest setting. Live and learn :-/

They're great wheels though - they look enough like the standard 94-on Mazda wheel to suit the car 'automatically'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,835 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Would ye all believe me if I told ye I sold the Golf? :pac:

Limerickman; I've got some photos to put up tomorrow of it!

You are Wayne Molloy!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Quick question people....

Diesel catalyst, required for the NCT? Or is it still just a smoke test for a 1998 car?

And how do I tell if the turbo is going...? :eek:

Got an absolutely mint 97 Polo with only 60k on the clock today. New clutch and everything. Asking €300 and I got it for..........€160!!!!

dgt wrote: »
    Quick question people....

Diesel catalyst, required for the NCT? Or is it still just a smoke test for a 1998 car?

And how do I tell if the turbo is going...? :eek:
    The cat does little to nothing in a diesel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Ah fcuk. Had a driving lesson at 10am this morning, I slept in and missed it. I was Looking forward to it since last last wednesday. Very dissapointed.. :(

sold a corsa there to someone :D nice wad of 100 euro notes! got €420 for it

What happens to the log books? Like you bought the golf, yesterday? The sold it today. Did you get the log book very quickly or something. Because I thought a logbook took about 2 or 3 weeks to arrive in the post to a buyer?

Hmmm talking about giving Irish business a chance...

Filled in form in Irish seller website on wheels and tyres I want to buy. ( they don't have normal and simple: add to the cart and enter visa number... )
    Did that around 12:30 and still haven't heard a thing from them yet...
    I am now in cinema to see batman. If still no contact today I am just going to driftworks uk and ordering it there. A bit more expensive, but at least some sort of contact...

What happens to the log books? Like you bought the golf, yesterday? The sold it today. Did you get the log book very quickly or something. Because I thought a logbook took about 2 or 3 weeks to arrive in the post to a buyer?

I've gotten logbooks into the hand so far, I take down my name, address, mobile number, landline and car reg and give it to them so they know its safe. If someone didn't want to hand it over thats no problem and I won't sell it until the logbook arrives.

I would never, ever give out the logbook with a car.

I've gotten logbooks into the hand so far, I take down my name, address, mobile number, landline and car reg and give it to them so they know its safe. If someone didn't want to hand it over thats no problem and I won't sell it until the logbook arrives.

I would never, ever give out the logbook with a car.

Ah I see. you know what your at so. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

RoverJames wrote: »
    The cat does little to nothing in a diesel.

The 406 has cleaner smoke from the rear (if you can call it that :pac:) than with the cat. It was welded on the wrong way and clogged up! :( so it got the chop :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

The self owned Irish business folk have that problem of answering their work phone with a "Hello" and then making you sound out to be stupid when you ask is this "company x"

Anywho, alternator sorted, €80.

The annoying this is it failed because there was diesel in it, pretty sure that would have been my own fault from changing the the fuel filter myself.

Very annoying the two things that have gone wrong with the car in four months/5,000 miles have been my own fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Alot of the times when I give Irish business a chance they go and let themselves down. I have emailed 4 places about a gearbox rebuild and not ONE has got back to me. Its not like I am asking them to rebuild a Veyron gearbox its a standard 5 speed manual box :mad:

You usually get the "if you are serious you will just use the phone" thrown back in your face.. Strange, seems companies elsewhere can type just fine... :pac:

Great day today, sold 3 cars today and 1 last night. I'm off to buy a rake load of cheap yokes now! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 The_Swad_Lad

I used to live in England but when I moved back to ireland I had to change my car reg plate I forget my English reg numbers and I would like to know what they were is there any websites that I could type in the Irish reg plate to get the English reg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

The self owned Irish business folk have that problem of answering their work phone with a "Hello" and then making you sound out to be stupid when you ask is this "company x"

Anywho, alternator sorted, €80.

The annoying this is it failed because there was diesel in it, pretty sure that would have been my own fault from changing the the fuel filter myself.

Very annoying the two things that have gone wrong with the car in four months/5,000 miles have been my own fault.

I would be annoyed too, but slightly satisfied that there were no inherent problems with the car;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Ahh jacked after work today, got myself 4 cans of my fav beer :)

859396120_4c14151ab2.jpg

+Auld lad is taking my ma for a spin in the ST in abit, i hope it doesn't eat them :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Good Polish beer that stuff. They sell it in bottles in Adli - works out cheaper than the cans in my local Centra.

Right. Just finished watching the batman and omg it made me jizz in my pants, lads.

Now on the business. No phone call, no email, no answer from pms in one of the enthusiast website where they got a trader.
    So I wasted a whole day now. I am putting my order with uk company tonight. Sorry lads, I am always for Irish first, but this is just a piss taker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

Right. Just finished watching the batman and omg it made me jizz in my pants, lads.

Now on the business. No phone call, no email, no answer from pms in one of the enthusiast website where they got a trader.
    So I wasted a whole day now. I am putting my order with uk company tonight. Sorry lads, I am always for Irish first, but this is just a piss taker.

Totally understandable IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

I used to live in England but when I moved back to ireland I had to change my car reg plate I forget my English reg numbers and I would like to know what they were is there any websites that I could type in the Irish reg plate to get the English reg

Yes but not for free. Some of the Irish Car Check reports will tell you the UK reg number too if the car had one, check Mywheels.ie and Cartell.ie etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

<Ollie> wrote: »
    Good Polish beer that stuff. They sell it in bottles in Adli - works out cheaper than the cans in my local Centra.

I prefer cans personally although it is still good out of a bottle.

I used to love Stella Artois like 8-9 years ago out of a can until they started macrobrewing it in the UK and watering it down, you can actually taste the fish bladder, it's utter crap and Tyskie has gone down the same route recently :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    I prefer cans personally although it is still good out of a bottle.

I used to love Stella Artois like 8-9 years ago out of a can until they started macrobrewing it in the UK and watering it down, you can actually taste the fish bladder, it's utter crap and Tyskie has gone down the same route recently :(

I really don't like Stella.

All this drink talk is making me thirsty, so off to the fridge.. some German bottled stuff I got in Aldi and not bad at all.