Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

which parts is saying something about stretch?

sorry, english is not my first language and some of that stuff is not " thick foreigner" friendly.

Part 5 of Tyre Fitment. Protrudes beyond bodywork is what you're looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

aha, cheers lads. looks like they can be really pissy about it so...

looks like wise thing would be stick to 15x7, but i really wanted 15x8...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Why not go for the 15x8 and then come NCT time you can just change back to whatever wheels are on it now?

166man wrote: »
    Why not go for the 15x8 and then come NCT time you can just change back to whatever wheels are on it now?

well. i sow one of my rims to have a crack on one spike! :eek: so i dont know if those even pass nct anymore. i need alloys asap sorted out now, while misses and me on holidays.

looks like i found a nice set of 15x7 which look nice. will be perfect fit too. no hassle, no problems...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I failed my nct because my rear wheels stuck out too far.

Lol, sorted :P

379735_10150931203110176_1961827416_n.jpg

even worse now lads... i just gave scooby keys to misses and she is off to the shop with her sister, driving it for the first time...

feck... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

even worse now lads... i just gave scooby keys to misses and she is off to the shop with her sister, driving it for the first time...

feck... :pac:

I thought you were smarter than that :eek:

car is back home... loks like still in one piece. thx feck for that!

now i am between 2 designs of wheels. cant decide which one! :pac:
    still got time untill transfer of money to visa will kick in...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭cgal093

Bought a MK4 Golf with 1 months test left for €320 :D

Its a 1.4 with a TDi badge on the back..

cgal093 wrote: »
    Bought a MK4 Golf with 1 months test left for €320 :D

Its a 1.4 with a TDi badge on the back..

LOL

The last sub 500 Mk4 Golf I bought absolutely broke my heart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Lol 1.4 TDI Nuremburg special

LOL

The last sub 500 Mk4 Golf I bought absolutely broke my heart.

Ah, tbh I'll probably drive the feck out of it and get rid of it for buttons in a few months so I don't care!

Put up a pic!

Yeah, I'll do that! :)

Alternator went in the Jag, absolute pain the hole to get it out! Now to see tomorrow what the damage will be to fix it...

Shouldn't be too much, diode pack and reg are small money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

In fairness if its anything like your last 2-3 cars in the past week you'll have it sold tomorrow and have something else, haha.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Shouldn't be too much, diode pack and reg are small money.

Bearing seems fine in it anyway.

I washed it while it's in it's sick state, looks better now :L

dar83 wrote: »
    In fairness if its anything like your last 2-3 cars in the past week you'll have it sold tomorrow and have something else, haha.

Ah no, I'm holding onto this for a while. I'll be doing well if I have it by Friday :pac:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3734289

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

I never had a problem with this, my Audi S8 had 10" wheels all round and was in the NCT many many times (they loved to see it back I guess) and this was never mentioned. The 10"ers stuck out a tiny amount, but I had stretched tyres on it (which is the root of this look, back in Germany and Poland, legal compliance).

Oh god i need to see pictures of an S8 on 10" wheels :p

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3734289

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    Oh god i need to see pictures of an S8 on 10" wheels :p

10" wide...

Matt Simis wrote: »
    10" wide...

DTlsw.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Matt Simis wrote: »
    10" wide...

I'd hazard a guess at that being a joke, though I have been known to misinterpret comments. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Mrs Nissan Doctor just told me she wants to get these for her car!!

http://carlashes.com/

I've just died a little:(

CianRyan wrote: »
    I'd hazard a guess at that being a joke, though I have been known to misinterpret comments. ;)

You trying to instigate something ? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Mrs Nissan Doctor just told me she wants to get these for her car!!

http://carlashes.com/

I've just died a little:(

I gave out to one of my mates for just this.
    She wanted to get one of those hipster moustaches for the car too... NO!
    RoverJames wrote: »
    You trying to instigate something ? :P

Playing on an earlier disagreement. :D

Would ye all believe me if I told ye I sold the Golf? :pac:

Limerickman; I've got some photos to put up tomorrow of it!