Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

just got the results of my PLC, 6 distinctions, 2 merits! :D so so relieved, on to W.I.T. i go :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

gollywog wrote: »
    Out of interest, what were you quoted on a golf gti or focus St? I'm 26 with 7 yrs NCB and i cant get a quote under a thousand :-\

29 5 years ncb, €538 fully comp+€47 ncb protection 123.ie

Same for both cars, will ring to see if i can get cheaper before i view in afew days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

166man wrote: »
    Ah now in fairness a few things happened:

Saab Ed started a silly thread yesterday and is still being mauled for it.

Conzy got himself some new shoes and a new face.

RJ took down another poster over a my car is better than your car debate,

Lastly Alanstrainor took some nice pics of his new motor.

You forgot red small engines jap scrap :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Conzy those plastic plates look pure sh1te on your car and really take from it. Go wY and order a set of pressed metal plates, they need not have the German font but they would make the car...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

OSI wrote: »
    I got a quote of less than a grand from Aviva for Fully Comp on the GTI at 24 with just 3 yrs NCB. But then I had to add the girlfriend of course :mad:

Ya i was thinking that, like how are my quotes so expensive???

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    29 5 years ncb, €538 fully comp+€47 ncb protection 123.ie

Same for both cars, will ring to see if i can get cheaper before i view in afew days

Thats very good! If my insurance wasnt so mad for me compared to 500 on my 2.0tdi id have one right now :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

conzymaher wrote: »
    99551.jpg

Click here for backstory :p

Nice, looks great! And you managed to get MM and CM to do some work:eek:

With just a little more work, it'll look as good as an alfa:cool:

Thats very good! If my insurance wasnt so mad for me compared to 500 on my 2.0tdi id have one right now :mad:

GTI's arent that cheap really atm unless you are willing to settle for a 05

I had an original budget of €11,500 for a nice 07 one but due to the fact i just started a new job max i can spend on a car is €7500 so looking at ST's instead

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    GTI's arent that cheap really atm unless you are willing to settle for a 05

I had an original budget of €11,500 for a nice 07 one but due to the fact i just started a new job max i can spend on a car is €7500 so looking at ST's instead

Ah well i know that there not the cheapest but tbh when thats what you have your heart set on, feck all else will do really.... you know?? Im happy with my car until whenever the gti comes along so im in a grand position anyhow :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Conzy those plastic plates look pure sh1te on your car and really take from it. Go wY and order a set of pressed metal plates, they need not have the German font but they would make the car...

I agree totally,pressed metal all the way - german plates are done to death and generally for knackers at this stage :D

Is A very nice GTI on donedeal for €8,950 and owner doesn't seem to want to budge on price, pity as it's the only one enar my current pricerange i really liked

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

-Corkie- wrote: »

Yeah I was never happy with the pressed german plates I had so I went back to the irish plates, I think I will get a nice set of irish pressed plates, any recommendations? I hate plates that look a bit off when they dont have the font 100%

Found a pic of the car taken the day I got it in the same spot.

106c5.jpg

4c121.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

pred racer wrote: »
    Nice, looks great! And you managed to get MM and CM to do some work:eek:

With just a little more work, it'll look as good as an alfa:cool:

Lad, I can tell you, it's always ME doing the work ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Eireplates do the standard pressed ones Conzy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

anyway. i was shoping on saturday so i picked up this in halfords. I am not very good at brands when it comes to car washing stuff, but i guess it should be still better then rain water :D.
    i cant do anything with it as its pissing rain today too. :(

fa4f9a46.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

tossy wrote: »
    I agree totally,pressed metal all the way - german plates are done to death and generally for knackers at this stage :D

i love the way when loads of people begin to like something that a small crowd used to like it becomes done to death and "for knackers".

i like German plates, i've had them on every car i've had bar my current and genuinely haven't put them on because people will say they're knacker plates!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

anyway. i was shoping on saturday so i picked up this in halfords. I am not very good at brands when it comes to car washing stuff, but i guess it should be still better then rain water :D.
    i cant do anything with it as its pissing rain today too. :(

Whats the fluffy yokes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,739 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

i love the way when loads of people begin to like something that a small crowd used to like it becomes done to death and "for knackers".

i like German plates, i've had them on every car i've had bar my current and genuinely haven't put them on because people will say they're knacker plates!
    There's hipsters in everything. Car hipsters liked German plates before they were used in Germany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Yeah I was never happy with the pressed german plates I had so I went back to the irish plates, I think I will get a nice set of irish pressed plates, any recommendations? I hate plates that look a bit off when they dont have the font 100%

106c5.jpg

4c121.jpg

Looking very well Conzy... I like the new bumper. Not sure whether the wheels suit it though, I'd say it looks well in the flesh. I think the standard MV2's withth new bumper would look sweet. No offence intended at all though man, I think it's a beautiful car.

And I think the wheels make it! Opinions eh?! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Me too, I normally despise black/dark wheels on a black/dark car but on Conzy's BMW they look class.

draffodx wrote: »

Me too, I normally despise black/dark wheels on a black/dark car but on Conzy's BMW they look class.

Ya it looks like somethin a ninja would drive, its really cool lookin! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

My van broke down a few weeks ago, head blown, so we decided to take the plunge and buy a mpv for family and id take our audi avant, anyway i searched county wide for a decent mpv and found nothing' and ones that were ok had serious problems garages said they would sort' aaannnyway i ended up buying a cheap run around to keep me on road for mean time' a peugeot partner car' 2004 1.4 petrol' its done 150k miles ' bodywork is nearly perfect , paid €1200 with 2 years nct and 2 new tyres' The wife doesnt like it and all my buddies think its as ugly as hell but im well chuffed' it drives really well. What do you people think??
    Did i get robbed' or did i find a bargain' im really not sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

My van broke down a few weeks ago, head blown, so we decided to take the plunge and buy a mpv for family and id take our audi avant, anyway i searched county wide for a decent mpv and found nothing' and ones that were ok had serious problems garages said they would sort' aaannnyway i ended up buying a cheap run around to keep me on road for mean time' a peugeot partner car' 2004 1.4 petrol' its done 150k miles ' bodywork is nearly perfect , paid €1200 with 2 years nct and 2 new tyres' The wife doesnt like it and all my buddies think its as ugly as hell but im well chuffed' it drives really well. What do you people think??
    Did i get robbed' or did i find a bargain' im really not sure

I think you win the random interjection of the year award anyway! :D

If it runs well and you think you'll get the 2 years out of it, then it's €600 a year for it and as you say, it keeps you on the road in the meantime. :)

I went for standard pressed plates with the black surround deleted for a cleaner look - just some food for thought.

Ah now G man calm down lol,we both know that the majority of cars running German plates these days are been driven by 'Red lad' who used to have a civic but the building site closed and he got 'Charlene' from the cruise up the pole so now he drives a 'felter A4 with a baby seat in the back,as a result the NnnnnnGardai are taking more notice of cars with German plates and it's all gone pete tong :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Ah now G man calm down lol,we both know that the majority of cars running German plates these days are been driven by 'Red lad' who used to have a civic but the building site closed and he got 'Charlene' from the cruise up the pole so now he drives a 'felter A4 with a baby seat in the back,as a result the NnnnnnGardai are taking more notice of cars with German plates and it's all gone pete tong :D

Brilliant. :D Laughing away to myself on the Luas...

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

draffodx wrote: »
    Not sure whether the wheels suit it though, I'd say it looks well in the flesh. I think the standard MV2's withth new bumper would look sweet. No offence intended at all though man, I think it's a beautiful car.

I get you, I was so uncertain about them and when they were first fitted I just thought they were going to look too dark and a bit scanger.

But the colour of the car along with the M Sport bumper and smoked lights I think it just pulls it off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

But that doesn't make them any worse looking though, does it?

@Conzy, still prefer the old wheels, but she's looking mighty fine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Rang all 4 cut out points while trying to take out a ball joint.

I don't know my own strength :pac:

But that doesn't make them any worse looking though, does it?

@Conzy, still prefer the old wheels, but she's looking mighty fine!

No it doesn't but the are played out,you are kind of agreeing with me by not putting yours on :D