Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Women's Mini Marathon 2012

• 18-04-2012 11:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭

(if anyone has details, post them below and I'll add them here later)

( the rules are clear - this event is for women only)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭jennyq

I'm wondering if anyone has done this before (as far as I know the route doesn't change but here is a link to the map) and could advise on what the route is like - are they any long inclines or things like that? It's my first 10km and where I've been training is mostly flat, so I want to be prepared!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

It's relatively flat as 10k's go, very slight incline up Nutley, little bump to climb over Belfield bridge and pretty flat for the last 4k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭bambera

+1 on what beepbeep said. I had done all my running on a threadmill before my first womens mini so i did find a small struggle going up nutley (wouldnt bat an eyelid going up it now) but there's such a great athmosphere on the day it really helps push you along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 SeeMeRun

Here is a simple little interactive map of the route. Zoom/click/pan to see the place, water stations etc. I took the route details from the same pdf posted above..

http://www.cs.nuim.ie/~rjacob/SeeMeRun/flora/

Opens fine on latest version of chrome/firefox

Hope to have a real-time tracking with StreetView images in time for the race.

Will be testing it during the Samsung Night Run in order to have it up and running for the Mini Marathon.

Should look something like this: http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=199322850184195&set=a.190168194432994.41277.189419051174575&type=1

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5 tammywilson52

Never heard about Women's Mini Marathon anytime. Hopefully it would be fun having a mini marathon. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    It's relatively flat as 10k's go, very slight incline up Nutley, little bump to climb over Belfield bridge and pretty flat for the last 4k.

How would you know? Did you run it in drag last year? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

How would you know? Did you run it in drag last year? ;)

BeepBeep67 = Assistant Course Director ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭zooming

Hi, all
    Im getting nervous! I have signed up for this years run and its squeaky bum time!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭HardyEustace

jennyq wrote: »
    I'm wondering if anyone has done this before (as far as I know the route doesn't change but here is a link to the map) and could advise on what the route is like - are they any long inclines or things like that? It's my first 10km and where I've been training is mostly flat, so I want to be prepared!

If you have trained then get there early and get up the front of the runners section. Not so near that you're in the middle of the elites but you'll have a fiarly good idea from looking around you if you're in the rigth spot - how lean people are, how many club singlets, are they wearing small amounts of lycra or a large anorack. It will be FULL of walkers even though its meant to be the runners section. Its very frustrating to spend your first 3k and lots of energy battling through 5-linked-across walkers when you ahve trained for it!

Enjoy the race. First one I ever did and I never looked back. :)

It will be incredibly congested so I'd actulaly suggest signing up for a smaller race a week or two afterwards so you can guage your "real" race time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Dlaes

Thanks for the info Ray

Im hoping to do this in 70 mins, any advice be greatly recieved! This is my first 10k ever..gulp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

RayCun wrote: »

( the rules are clear - this event is for women only)

I accept your challenge ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭rasher_m

If you finished the Great Ireland Run in 53 minutes, what time could you potentially finish the Womens mini marathon?

Thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭huskerdu

rasher_m wrote: »
    If you finished the Great Ireland Run in 53 minutes, what time could you potentially finish the Womens mini marathon?

Thanks in advance

They are both 10K races, so it would depend on you. #

There are probably minor differences in the number of hills and the amount of congestion, but I wouldn't have thought it was all that big a difference.

How hard did you find the GIR ?
    Do you think you can run faster ?
    Have you done much training since ?

I am wondering if any experienced runners could answer a question for me?
    I ran the Great Ireland Run in 53 mins and Im wondering from this time, what time I could potentially finish the Womens Mini Marathon?

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I am wondering if any experienced runners could answer a question for me?
    I ran the Great Ireland Run in 53 mins and Im wondering from this time, what time I could potentially finish the Womens Mini Marathon?

Thanks!
    Flatter course, get there early and get close to the front (this is ridiculously important for this race) - probably 50-51 mins assuming you've been training consistently since then.

thx, i was thinking about the same ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,051 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

huskerdu wrote: »
    They are both 10K races, so it would depend on you. #

There are probably minor differences in the number of hills and the amount of congestion, but I wouldn't have thought it was all that big a difference.

How hard did you find the GIR ?
    Do you think you can run faster ?
    Have you done much training since ?

The GIR and MM are vastly different in terms of course difficulty!!! I've heard (and I'd well believe) that the GIR is the most difficult 10K you'll do, certainly around the Dublin area. The MM on the other hand, is virtually flat, and on wide open roads. As long as you get away and get a half clear run at it you should be able to improve a good bit on your time. How much though I've no idea as I'm still a relative novice at 10Ks (and a whole pile slower than 53 minutes!) - but I've done both more than once and there is NO comparison between the courses :D

As for congestion - the MM has about 5 times the amount of entrants, but is much better organised IMO. As long as you're not in the walkers "pen" which stretches back to halfway down Leeson Street AFAIK, then the starting pens are really well organised in my experience. Having said that, I've started both times I've done it in the "fast joggers" section, got a fairly good run at it, plodded along at my own sweet pace - and found myself overtaking walkers (who were obviously only walkers) halfway along the Merrion Road! Either they joined in halfway along, or started with the elites or something.

Anyway, regardless of times, the MM is just the most brilliant atmosphere and experience, so I'd just take it for what it is - if you want to compete with yourself for times I'd find a different one to do, with lower entrant numbers.

ETA - the post to which I responded has disappeared in the time that I spent typing this..... but the gist of it still stands. IMO.

Im hoping someone can help me, I normally do my running first thing in the morning, so this 3pm start will be new to me! What would you advise in terms of eating? I was thinking about my usual porridge for breakfast and maybe poached eggs on toast or a sandwich around 1pm..would this be ok? Im a bit concerned that I will be over full!!! But then again I dont want to be hungry either...

zooming wrote: »
    Im hoping someone can help me, I normally do my running first thing in the morning, so this 3pm start will be new to me! What would you advise in terms of eating? I was thinking about my usual porridge for breakfast and maybe poached eggs on toast or a sandwich around 1pm..would this be ok? Im a bit concerned that I will be over full!!! But then again I dont want to be hungry either...

sounds grand, dont worry too much about the food....its only 10km not a marathon. eat what you said there and maybe a banana around 2.30. main thing is not to eat within an hour before the event and to hydrate, if the weather is like previous years then you will need plenty of water.

Rasher_m is right, don't worry too much about it.

Your plan of porridge for breakfast and a light lunch is a good one. I would avoid eggs, they are protein based and take a long time to digest but it is a very personal thing - what is right for me won't necessarily be right for you.

I find an empty stomach much easier to run on.

You could do a trial run this weekend. Have a light lunch and go for a run 2 hours later and see how you feel.

Thanks guys! I normally do my long runs on a Sunday morning and have 2 digestive biscuits and a banana with coffee, so I guess I dont need alot, save myself for after!!

Im getting slightly concerned about this heatwave!!! Any advice? I was thinking would it be a good idea to take a sports drink with me, I usually take a running bottle with me full of water but that is for first thing in the morning runs not 3pm!!.. I might tale a lucozade sport out on Sunday and see how i get on, i think there are water stops at 4k and 6k?

zooming wrote: »
    Im getting slightly concerned about this heatwave!!! Any advice? I was thinking would it be a good idea to take a sports drink with me, I usually take a running bottle with me full of water but that is for first thing in the morning runs not 3pm!!.. I might tale a lucozade sport out on Sunday and see how i get on, i think there are water stops at 4k and 6k?

Just make sure you hydrate the day before and the day of the race. There are two water stations plus fire men hosing you down and also kids along the route hanging outside their gardens with garden hoses. make sure you have light clothes on and plenty of sun cream and youll be grand.

Thanks!!! I aim to do this in 1hr and 9 mins, fingers crossed! I know I wont be the fastest but am looking forward to it. I have never done this before, so its all new to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭bambera

Good luck to all the ladies taking part in this today.

Looks like it's gonna be a nice day for it. Make sure to stay hydrated!

If you have trained then get there early and get up the front of the runners section. Not so near that you're in the middle of the elites but you'll have a fiarly good idea from looking around you if you're in the rigth spot - how lean people are, how many club singlets, are they wearing small amounts of lycra or a large anorack. It will be FULL of walkers even though its meant to be the runners section. Its very frustrating to spend your first 3k and lots of energy battling through 5-linked-across walkers when you ahve trained for it!

Enjoy the race. First one I ever did and I never looked back. :)

It will be incredibly congested so I'd actulaly suggest signing up for a smaller race a week or two afterwards so you can guage your "real" race time.

Haven't been checking this thread and really regretting it now - I was somewhere in the middle of the joggers section starting off and my time has definitely suffered from it. Literally half of the crowd starting in the joggers section were walkers. Spent the first 5km weaving in and out of them, extremely frustrating! I don't have a problem with someone having to stop and walk after a few km for a break but most of these people clearly had no intention of doing any jogging, I have no idea why they were registered for that section in the first place. A bit disappointed, but managed to run the whole thing in hotter conditions than I was used to and it was my first 10km so I'm relatively happy. I'm signed up for the Docklands 8km in a couple of weeks so should get a better idea of time then, albeit at a shorter distance.

Don't think I'd do the MM again next year after the experience, unless I could be sure I'd be at the very start of the joggers - it was very tiring and annoying having to jump up and down off the footpath to get around walkers. Might stick to races where there's less likelihood of ridiculous numbers of walkers in a jogging section!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

Haven't been checking this thread and really regretting it now - I was somewhere in the middle of the joggers section starting off and my time has definitely suffered from it. Literally half of the crowd starting in the joggers section were walkers. Spent the first 5km weaving in and out of them, extremely frustrating! I don't have a problem with someone having to stop and walk after a few km for a break but most of these people clearly had no intention of doing any jogging, I have no idea why they were registered for that section in the first place. A bit disappointed, but managed to run the whole thing in hotter conditions than I was used to and it was my first 10km so I'm relatively happy. I'm signed up for the Docklands 8km in a couple of weeks so should get a better idea of time then, albeit at a shorter distance.

Don't think I'd do the MM again next year after the experience, unless I could be sure I'd be at the very start of the joggers - it was very tiring and annoying having to jump up and down off the footpath to get around walkers. Might stick to races where there's less likelihood of ridiculous numbers of walkers in a jogging section!

Any large race you are going to have a similar problem unless you are in the elite enclosure.

Happens every year and its very frustrating.

I haven't run it myself for the last two years as a result.
    I think they have a runners section, which is not for elites but for runners with a previous chip time. If you did well enough to get into that , its a lot better,

However, if you have caught the bug and keep running, there are lots of smaller races out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

From a spectators perspective, if you're in the top 300-400, you have a good clear run on the route, so approximately sub 50 minute target. After that unfortunately, you're in the mix with the walkers and run/walkers and are probably better off just enjoying the experience, and chasing your PB on another day.

well funny you should say that, i was in the first few hundred and yes once you get through the first km it is a lot easier but i also passed walkers and ran around them at about 5 to 7 km. they obviously joined the race half way through and didnt bother with the 10km.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Out of 40,000 only 300-400 under 50 minutes?? :eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

well funny you should say that, i was in the first few hundred and yes once you get through the first km it is a lot easier but i also passed walkers and ran around them at about 5 to 7 km. they obviously joined the race half way through and didnt bother with the 10km.
    Actually, quite a few women started a good while before the official race start (probably 30mins - 1 hour). That's probably who you encountered at the 5k-7k mark. Unfortunately, there's nothing the race organizers can do about people who don't obey the basic rules.
    pconn062 wrote:
    Out of 40,000 only 300-400 under 50 minutes??
    For most participants, it's not a race. More of an achievement. 300-400 under 50 mins is my guess. Could be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭plodder

I'd say it was okay for people in the sections you needed to show a qualifying time for. But anyone could enter the joggers or walkers section, and it only takes a small number at the front to slow it down for everyone behind. The numbers are quite mind boggling really. After 35 minutes, the first km was still choc a bloc, but the winner had already crossed the line :)

huskerdu wrote: »
    Happens every year and its very frustrating.

I haven't run it myself for the last two years as a result.
    I think they have a runners section, which is not for elites but for runners with a previous chip time. If you did well enough to get into that , its a lot better,

However, if you have caught the bug and keep running, there are lots of smaller races out there.

When I started out I was just aiming to be able to finish the thing, but after training for a few months I had like you say caught the bug and starting taking it a bit more seriously!. Even though I'm still very slow as runners/joggers go I'll definitely keep it up! I'm a bit off getting into the runners section for the MM, and to get into the fast joggers section you need to do under 70 mins in a previous MM, which I had a small chance of reaching yesterday but that was gone with all the congestion.

Like people have said, I think for anyone trying to get a decent time who doesn't qualify for the earlier categories it's not the race to do it in. There's just too many people taking it casually and disregarding the fact that it is a race at the end of the day. I saw a couple of people pushing buggies, a total injury hazard, and smoking at the joggers starting section. I've also heard from others that there were people who broke off at some point to skip a few km in the middle and rejoined at a later point, probably another reason there were still lots of walkers at the later stages. It's disappointing that people who just want to walk it casually for their charities can't consider other people (who may also be fundraising) who want to achieve a bit more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭macinalli

Actually, quite a few women started a good while before the official race start (probably 30mins - 1 hour). That's probably who you encountered at the 5k-7k mark. Unfortunately, there's nothing the race organizers can do about people who don't obey the basic rules.

I was wondering about this! I was near the finish line and there were people finishing alongside the sub 50 min runners who looked incapable of running 50 metres, never mind 50 minutes!

It really is a bizarre event though. An impressive front end of the field (and a super run by Linda Byrne) followed by all sorts of mayhem behind them. And most of them enjoying the mayhem.

pconn062 wrote:
    Out of 40,000 only 300-400 under 50 minutes??
    For most participants, it's not a race. More of an achievement. 300-400 under 50 mins is my guess. Could be wrong.[/Quote]

Id say you're right there...if even 300-400

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

pconn062 wrote: »
    Out of 40,000 only 300-400 under 50 minutes?? :eek::eek:
    Well last year that was the case. They have changed the website maybe because of the abuse they got on here last year ?. But then again its not a race tbh for 90% of people.

Searching last years results with generic irish names because I can't get a full list. http://apps.florawomensminimarathon.ie/past-results/?YearSearch=2011&searchname=deirdre&racenumber=&DoSearch=1#results I presume you got 382 or there abouts under 50 mins. I presume it was 40K last year also. The numbers speak for themselves. I think if you are not going to check last years times for a race of this size then thats the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

fantastic time by Linda Byrne 33.30:eek: , really annoying the way you need to know the number or name of competitors in previous yrs to check results !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Marthastew

Congrats to all who took part yesterday and as has already been said, Keep Running, sign up for more races as soon as possible.:D
    I started running four years ago but yesterday was my first time running the MM.
    I was lucky enough to start up front with a time from a previous race so my experience was very different to most.
    The organisation was perfect and I really enjoyed it, my report (warning, it's very long) can be found here

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056509699&page=24

As Krusty says it really is only a race for the first 500 and then it's mayhem.
    Love it or hate it around €10m was raised for very worthy charities yesterday

macinalli wrote: »

I wouldnt count on them all being early starters, ive been reading the mini marathon comments on facebook and theres loads of giving out about cheating and going under the tape before dcu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

macinalli wrote: »

theres loads of giving out about cheating and going under the tape before dcu.

That happens every year. Only fooling themselves really!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

Liveline is covering this today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Heard this morning that some people actually start before the official start in order to get back home earlier, maybe this was also part of it.

edit: Just read Krustys post saying the same.

I'm actually a bit peeved about my time. I got 53.48 in Great Ireland Run with loads of hills to contend with so I thought Id get under the 50 mins. I ended up feeling wrecked doing it and only getting 52 mins into the bargain. IS this what I should rea;istically been looking at?

Maybe the crowds and slow runners slowed you down. Maybe you are really good at running up hills and they didn't slow you down in the GIR. It was nearly 2 minutes faster, that's not bad.

Sometimes you have a faster day and you don't know why.

53/52 minutes are good times. Keep training, there are plenty of races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭HardyEustace

You'd be surprised how much weaving through crowds and waiting around can tire you out.

And sometimes you're the pidgeon, other days you're the statue. Good days/bad days. Don't let it discourage you.

Wtih regard to people starting early - thats been going on for years. A pal of mine was running with the elites a few years ago and said for the first two miles they were dodging smokers with bags of monster munch (gotta love the cliches ;)) walking along or clambering over the barriers headfirst into the elites.

As I've said before, great event, a lot of brilliant positives. My first running race. But not a race for runners IMHO. If you can't get into the running pen then I'd turn off the garmin and organise to walk or slow jog it with someone for whom doing a 10k race is a big deal and who would like a bit of support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

I was on Leeson St. bridge yesterday and there was a great atmosphere before the race. For most women, it's about raising money for a good cause and a day out with their mates. The event itself is almost incidental. You definitely wouldn't go there looking for a PB.
    I was also made aware of a category that I didn't know existed when one women asked me where the elite joggers started from :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭footing

The only figure you can get from the WMM organising committee is the alleged amount of money raised for charidee. Have very mixed feelings about this.
    Surely promoting physical activity among women and girls is a laudable end in itself?
    Why is raising money for charity so often linked with doing some sort of physical activity badly?
    Why have we so many charities, often raising money for the same cause (and all with a CEO, office staff, rent and overheads to pay)?
    Marthastew wrote: »
    Congrats to all who took part yesterday and as has already been said, Keep Running, sign up for more races as soon as possible.:D
    I started running four years ago but yesterday was my first time running the MM.
    I was lucky enough to start up front with a time from a previous race so my experience was very different to most.
    The organisation was perfect and I really enjoyed it, my report (warning, it's very long) can be found here

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056509699&page=24

As Krusty says it really is only a race for the first 500 and then it's mayhem.
    Love it or hate it around €10m was raised for very worthy charities yesterday

Got the results today and wasn't as disappointed with my time as I expected - did 1:15, which was only a minute short of my best time in practice. Means I definitely would have gotten my best time yet (if not quite up to the fast jogger level yet) if it wasn't for the walkers in the way, but oh well, nothing to be done about it! Just thankful I wasn't one of the unlucky few who got injured tripping over buggies/walkers in the jogging section. I only started running at the end of February so I'm quite happy. I've already signed up for the Docklands 8km in a couple of weeks and the Great Pink Run (10k) in September so hopefully a bit less chaos at those :) Any tips from the more experienced out there appreciated!