Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Anti-Social Network-victims of trolling

• 20-03-2012 2:08am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭

Just watched this show on BBC3.

It's basically about internet trolls and what drives them to do what they do and the consequences their actions have on people. It gets very serious as people have killed themselves over trolling and cyber bulling.

I have never heard of RIP trolls until after watching this and to be honest i was genuinely shocked. They basically leave nasty comments on deceased peoples facebook accounts, My Space profiles and Twitter etc..

I can't understand this to be honest i mean what could somebody get out of this kind of thing?

I have never been a fan of putting up tributes for dead friends, relatives etc on the internet as i just think it's asking for trouble.

My question is this, how do you feel about tribute profiles for deceased people and the people that troll them?

Have you ever been a victim of this type of trolling or no of anyone who has and how do you feel in general about internet trolls?

Or if you have seen the show just comment your thoughts on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭massdebater

Nice try OP, but I'm not falling for that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭Big Johnson

Whats a troll?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

In before "Get over it, it's just the Internet". Personally I think the blame should be directed at the pricks who carry on with this kind of venom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

As much as I love the net in many ways, there is a nasty side to it that can't be denied.

There are some real asses in the world and sadly the veil of anonymity the internet brings allows those people to show the worst of themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

That kind of stuff isn't trolling, trolling is an art.

Dudess wrote: »
    In before "Get over it, it's just the Internet". Personally I think the blame should be directed at the pricks who carry on with this kind of venom.

Victim blaming on the net? Never! :pac: Anyone who sides with a troll like the ones described in the OP should be ashamed of themselves.

Millicent wrote: »
    Victim blaming on the net? Never! :pac: Anyone who sides with a troll like the ones described in the OP should be ashamed of themselves.

How is telling someone to get over something the same as blaming them?

amacachi wrote: »
    That kind of stuff isn't trolling, trolling is an art.

True. Good trolling is bloody funny. "An hero" and stuff like that is pathetic and seriously lacking in skill or imagination.

People saying "it's only the internet--get over it" when people are genuinely being bullied are victim blaming by trying to imply someone is over-sensitive or too touchy.

Well it's shifting responsibility from the actual offenders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Just watched this show on BBC3.

It's basically about internet trolls and what drives them to do what they do and the consequences their actions have on people. It gets very serious as people have killed themselves over trolling and cyber bulling.

I have never heard of RIP trolls until after watching this and to be honest i was genuinely shocked. They basically leave nasty comments on deceased peoples facebook accounts, My Space profiles and Twitter etc..

I can't understand this to be honest i mean what could somebody get out of this kind of thing?

I have never been a fan of putting up tributes for dead friends, relatives etc on the internet as i just think it's asking for trouble.

My question is this, how do you feel about tribute profiles for deceased people and the people that troll them?

Have you ever been a victim of this type of trolling or no of anyone who has and how do you feel in general about internet trolls?

Or if you have seen the show just comment your thoughts on it.

You've never been here for the celebrity RIP threads. Pretty despicable some of the comments you'll find here.

Problems like this are much closer to home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

There was a ten year old from my area who committed suicide because her classmates harassed her everyday. When a local news channel ran a story, the posted the video on their website, and I remember co-workers discussing how these bullies were still sending messages after it was reported that she had committed suicide.

http://illinoishomepage.net/fulltext/?nxd_id=310257

True. Good trolling is bloody funny. "An hero" and stuff like that is pathetic and seriously lacking in skill or imagination.
    Aye, the stuff with surprise fisting or old people orgies is just annoying to have associated with one's IP.
    People saying "it's only the internet--get over it" when people are genuinely being bullied are victim blaming by trying to imply someone is over-sensitive or too touchy.
    If one wished to read into like that, yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

I thought trolling was fun untill I encountered these guys, whatever happened to pretending you loved the catholic church or felt Kenny Dalgleish should be sacked for a laugh . These RIP lads are depraved.
    Disgrace to trolling.

Well it's shifting responsibility from the actual offenders.

No it isn't. It doesn't address responsibility at all.

Aye, the stuff with surprise fisting or old people orgies is just annoying to have associated with one's IP.

It reminds me of that one mate everyone has who when everyone is taking the piss and having a laugh has to go that one step too far and wreck the craic for everyone else.
    If one wished to read into like that, yes.

There's no other way to read it really. People like Phoebe Prince or that gay teenager in America who killed himself after being bullied on Facebook don't need to be told to "get over it--it's only the internet". The people doing the bullying need to be told to cop the fuck on instead.

No it isn't. It doesn't address responsibility at all.

Have you ever been bullied, amacachi? (Genuine question; not meaning to be dismissive or anything.)

Whatever form bullying takes, being told to get over it implies that it's your fault for being too sensitive and not the fault of the bully who's acting the dick in the first place.

There's no other way to read it really. People like Phoebe Prince or that gay teenager in America who killed himself after being bullied on Facebook don't need to be told to "get over it--it's only the internet". The people doing the bullying need to be told to cop the fuck on instead.

Sure go on, I'll bite for the craic. Had she gotten over it would she be dead?

The opposite to "get over it" is "don't get over it". The people being dicks are being dicks, people still have to get over bad stuff that happens to them or there wouldn't be many people reaching their teens.

Have you ever been bullied, amacachi? (Genuine question; not meaning to be dismissive or anything.)

Very much so. I didn't take any implication of me being at fault when I was told that I still had to go to school.

Sure go on, I'll bite for the craic. Had she gotten over it would she be dead?

The opposite to "get over it" is "don't get over it". The people being dicks are being dicks, people still have to get over bad stuff that happens to them or there wouldn't be many people reaching their teens.

Aye, but you recognise that for some people that's easier said than done? Obviously, in the case of Phoebe Prince, she had other difficulties going on (move abroad, new school etc.) that meant she was in a more fragile state than others might have been. Being told to "get over it" wouldn't have helped her in the slightest but probably have made her feel worse.
    Very much so. I didn't take any implication of me being at fault when I was told that I still had to go to school.

Sorry to hear that. Being told you still have to go to school though is not the same as being told to just get over it.

Well nobody remotely suggested something as drastic as not going to school, but "Get over it, you're being too sensitive" is of course shifting blame to the target. And doesn't address the bullies, just let's them carry on their merry way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

He kept switching from calling them trolls and trolling to trols and trol-ing.
    Aside from that, he seemed like an alright dude, Richard Bacon.

Perhaps he was trolling me? Wp sir.
    That kind of stuff isn't trolling, trolling is a art.

FYP

The opposite to "Get over it" is "Let's tackle the little sh1ts" I'd have thought...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Naomi00

I saw this programme too.

There was another one on BBC Panorama a few weeks ago where a girl was bullied by some of her own friends on formspring on Facebook and committed suicide by jumping in front of a train. Then a total stranger made Facebook pages about her and made memes out of her photos, trolled on her RIP page and stuff. They found out who he was and he went to jail I think.

Naomi00 wrote: »

There was another one on BBC Panorama a few weeks ago where a girl was bullied by some of her own friends on formspring on Facebook and committed suicide by jumping in front of a train. Then a total stranger made Facebook pages about her and made memes out of her photos, trolled on her RIP page and stuff. They found out who he was and he went to jail I think.

That's seriously fucked up.

Aye, but you recognise that for some people that's easier said than done? Obviously, in the case of Phoebe Prince, she had other difficulties going on (move abroad, new school etc.) that meant she was in a more fragile state than others might have been. Being told to "get over it" wouldn't have helped her in the slightest but probably have made her feel worse.
    So tell her not to get over it?
    Sorry to hear that. Being told you still have to go to school though is not the same as being told to just get over it.
    What's the alternative to getting over it?
    Well nobody remotely suggested something as drastic as not going to school, but "Get over it, you're being too sensitive" is of course shifting blame to the target. And doesn't address the bullies, just let's them carry on their merry way.
    Again, you're reading into something in a way it's generally not intended.

The opposite to "Get over it" is "Let's tackle the little sh1ts" I'd have thought...

In a school setting one still has to face them day in and day out. There's no simple way of tackling it and it keeps going on.

Getting over what someone else does and tackling/punishing them for it aren't mutually exclusive, I'd've said the opposite if anything.

If someone gets that upset by people on the net (although it should be remembered these bullies can also be known to the victim in real life) perhaps they ARE hypersensitive, but that doesn't mitigate the primary need for the bullies to be reined in.
    People are different and have varying degrees of sensitivity. And bullying isn't just an everyday reality of life, as if it's something about which to be complacent - it's something that should be actively prevented, with harsh consequences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

Naomi00 wrote: »

I Think the show was more about cyber bulling rather than trolling, however i suppose it's a fine line and the term troll can be used loosely.

So tell her not to get over it?

What's the alternative to getting over it?

Again, you're reading into something in a way it's generally not intended.

When you say "get over it", what do you imagine the person is going to do with that? Think to themselves, "Oh. Perhaps I was wrong to get upset over those eejits. I should just stop being bothered by it"? It doesn't work like that for most.

People do need to get over it, that's fair enough, but being told to do so is probably not going to help achieve that aim, don't you think?

Even if it's not intended, it's how it could be perceived by the victim in that situation.

When you say "get over it", what do you imagine the person is going to do with that? Think to themselves, "Oh. Perhaps I was wrong to get upset over those eejits. I should just stop being bothered by it"? It doesn't work like that for most.

People do need to get over it, that's fair enough, but being told to do so is probably not going to help achieve that aim, don't you think?

Even if it's not intended, it's how it could be perceived by the victim in that situation.

It's their problem if they're reading into something completely incorrectly.

Would it not be a fault in communication on both sides? Perhaps the person whose post they're reading into could phrase it better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

Would it not be a fault in communication on both sides? Perhaps the person whose post they're reading into could phrase it better?

Earlier in the thread I was told that's it's an obvious insinuation.

Well take for example the article Aguila just linked to. In that, a teenager posted messages on dead teenage girls' memorial pages saying things like "I can't get out of my coffin, I have scratched my nails to the bone" to a grieving mother on Mother's Day. Do you think that mother would benefit from being told to "get over it"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

Anyone with that level of sociopathic disregard for another person and (particularly in wake of suicide) that persons family has, needless to say, very serious issues.

Consider though, that in many secondary schools everywhere, a lot of this stuff is exactly the same as what you would see a small minority of cúntbags do to someone, but here made more public by having been done on the internet.

The worst of this kind of stuff happens much less overtly, is much more prevalent and damaging, and much more often is given a blind eye.

Well take for example the article Aguila just linked to. In that, a teenager posted messages on dead teenage girls' memorial pages saying things like "I can't get out of my coffin, I have scratched my nails to the bone" to a grieving mother on Mother's Day. Do you think that mother would benefit from being told to "get over it"?

Better to pay hundreds or thousands on therapy to eventually be told to "let go" instead? Exact same message.

Maybe I've just selected my friends very, very wisely and they're the only people who can handle honesty and straightforward advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

It is.It is directly nuanced to apportion blame for hypersensitivity to the victim. It's a matter of language. If you hada genuine interest in helping the victim to "get over it", you would say something along the lines of, "Don't mind those cnuts, they're just cnuts, and unfortunately we all have to deal with bullies and cnuts in this world.It's sad but you can't let the bullying cnuts get you down cos then they win." Saying "get over it" is just the next step of bullying.

It is.It is directly nuanced to apportion blame for hypersensitivity to the victim. It's a matter of language. If you hada genuine interest in helping the victim to "get over it", you would say something along the lines of, "Don't mind those cnuts, they're just cnuts, and unfortunately we all have to deal with bullies and cnuts in this world.It's sad but you can't let the bullying cnuts get you down cos then they win."

Followed by "Don't let go of it, don't get over it, here's 4 turtles and a rat suit so you can get revenge some day."?

I really can't believe that people can read so bloody much into "get over it".

Better to pay hundreds or thousands on therapy to eventually be told to "let go" instead? Exact same message.

Maybe I've just selected my friends very, very wisely and they're the only people who can handle honesty and straightforward advice.

I'm not precious--I can take honesty. However, phrasing is important and I try to be conscious of that when I deal with other people. If it will save someone being hurt further, why not be careful of how you phrase things in a way like AskMyChocolate suggested?

And "let go" is not the same message as "get over it". Not by a long shot.

Followed by "Don't let go of it, don't get over it, here's 4 turtles and a rat suit so you can get revenge some day."?

I really can't believe that people can read so bloody much into "get over it".

If this many people are reading the same thing into it, surely that's a sign that not everyone perceives the phrase as you do?

ETA: "Get over it" is dismissive whether you intend it to be or not.

I'm not precious--I can take honesty. However, phrasing is important and I try to be conscious of that when I deal with other people. If it will save someone being hurt further, why not be careful of how you phrase things in a way like AskMyChocolate suggested?

And "let go" is not the same message as "get over it". Not by a long shot.
    So now we've gotten to the point where the person saying "get over it" is just phrasing it badly with no intended insinuation. I always thought it was the person making the statement who insinuated something so are you agreeing with what I said earlier?

If this many people are reading the same thing into it, surely that's a sign that not everyone perceives the phrase as you do?

ETA: "Get over it" is dismissive whether you intend it to be or not.

How many people? Like I said, I've obviously chosen my friends very wisely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

So now we've gotten to the point where the person saying "get over it" is just phrasing it badly with no intended insinuation. I always thought it was the person making the statement who insinuated something so are you agreeing with what I said earlier?

Surely you can see that no-one is agreeing with what you said. By your logic it's perfectly acceptable to say to someone who's just been mugged "Oh get up y'soft sh1te and stop crying like a baby". After all what other option have they? Stay on the ground?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Its all funny really . And at the end of the day , theyre just words.

I'm not sure. You're kind of talking in circles. It depends on the person, really. While you may not mean to insinuate anything, saying "get over it" usually has an implied judgement. I don't understand why you wouldn't just err on the side of caution to spare someone's feelings? Surely it's not that big a deal to phrase yourself differently?
    How many people? Like I said, I've obviously chosen my friends very wisely.

Quite a few. And good for you. What has that to do with being careful with your language? So your friends are thick-skinned. Not everyone is.

Not really but since you seem to look up to Eric Cartman, there's probably no point in explaining where it's not funny.

Surely you can see that no-one is agreeing with what you said. By your logic it's perfectly acceptable to say to someone who's just been mugged "Oh get up y'soft sh1te and stop crying like a baby". After all what other option have they? Stay on the ground?
    Yeah maybe spit on them as well. Sweet Jesus.
    I'm not sure You're kind of talking in circles. It depends on the person, really. While you may not mean to insinuate anything, saying "get over it" usually has an implied judgement. I don't understand why you wouldn't just err on the side of caution to spare someone's feelings? Surely it's not that big a deal to phrase yourself differently?
    Inferred, not implied. Crucial difference.
    Quite a few. And good for you. What has that to do with being careful with your language? So your friends are thick-skinned. Not everyone is.
    The only way I'd spend time with people who needed their hand held and 15 sentences said when a couple would suffice would be if it were paid employment. Luckily such an industry exists. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit