Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Secularism on RTE's "the Frontline" tomorrow

rte in "omg catholics are being repressed" shocker

not watching it but sounds like the usual stuff

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Pat's doing okay.

We haven't got to that ominous looking panel yet, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

swiftblade wrote: »
    Ahh, I see they filled the audience with the usual idiots. Well done RTE, well done.
    In fairness they've had 2 Atheists and 2 goons speak so far - balanced enough!

• Moderators Posts: 52,023 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

one of the audience said we're moving away from "a religiously neutral country." :confused:

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Ivana Bacik doing well

Enter David Quinn.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭omerin

Christ (sorry for the religious reference) why is Biffo wearing a necklace :eek: or would that be an ecumenical matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Think i'll watch on the Player tomorrow. Too buzzed after that Arsenal match :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Am I the only one who thinks that the priest is being the most reasonable of the religious guests?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭swiftblade

That women from Drogheda scared me.

That Islamic guy didn't really get the whole secular thing.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,458 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

Pat: "So what do you think about the two gay guys next to you -- they don't have horns".

Nice one, Pat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

That crazy lady with her "My Schooool!!! It's MY school!!" WTF does she really think she owns the school because her kids go there?

I'd hate to be her kids if they don't really believe or if they were hiding the fact they were gay from her...:eek: there's gonna be some epic arguments in that household!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,184 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

reminds me of a caller on a radio show being asked by the presenter (may have been pat kenny) if he'd shake hands with david norris (who was dialled in on another line); after some humming and hawing, the caller decided that on balance, he'd rather not.
    norris piped up with 'i'm not contagious, you know'.

a texter sent in "you can't have morality without religion". :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Why do I get the feeling reading this that RTE will be accused of "liberal bias" again?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭lynski

WTF is up with David Quinn? is he a special needs adult or something?
    the integrated schools in Yugoslavia did not help one bit after things broke down there?
    HELLO, reality here, Mr. Quinn. I have your check.

Oh, Paul Rowe, I am so thankful for you and Educate Together everyday.
    My children, to paraphrase the wonderful Mr. Lennon, live their life with 'no heaven,.... no hell below us; above us only sky' because there is no God, no hell, no guilt, no sin in their world.

koth wrote: »
    a texter sent in "you can't have morality without religion". :rolleyes:

Yeah that made me laugh a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,574 ✭✭✭quad_red

Watching this program would make ye thing Christians only have 10% schools.

And not the other way around.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,458 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

lynski wrote: »
    WTF is up with David Quinn? is he a special needs adult or something? the integrated schools in Yugoslavia did not help one bit after things broke down there?
    Mr Quinn is presumably unaware of what the Orthodox Church got up to during the secessionist wars of Yugoslavia.

david quinn continuing to peddle the myth of faith schools achieving better grades from students. Pity he fails to mention the policies on admissions that make sure they get those grades.

Is it just me or do Ivana and David look a bit like brother and sister?

Well that was strangely refreshing. And nobody even mentioned Stalin or Pol Pot!

Best quote was definitely
    'I don't think my religion should be forced on anyone but I think my children should be brought up catholics'
    AAAAAAAAAH! YOU STUPID BACKWARDS LADY!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

reminds me of a caller on a radio show being asked by the presenter (may have been pat kenny) if he'd shake hands with david norris (who was dialled in on another line); after some humming and hawing, the caller decided that on balance, he'd rather not.
    norris piped up with 'i'm not contagious, you know'.

Hepatitis isn't contagious? :S

Missed this tonight, worth watching? Don't feel like a load of facepalming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭CerebralCortex

amacachi wrote: »

No it's excruciating. The average intelligence of the room was well average, not even Michael Nugent could bring it up. I don't know where the man gets the will to stop himself from saying "YOU'RE ALL SO ****ING STUPID!!!!"

amacachi wrote: »

You didn't miss much, just the usual backwards and forwards nonsense and plenty of talk about "aggressive secularism".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭therewillbe

WTF,Church of the most over zealous throw me some change church or whatever by some Nigerians,Sound like a scam!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Dades wrote: »
    Well that was strangely refreshing. And nobody even mentioned Stalin or Pol Pot!

hey, that's a sign of progress IMO.

I look forward to Kevin Myers' opinion piece this week:
    "I can't stand atheists, but those secularists are a great bunch of lads..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭smokingman

First time I've seen that Quinn fellow - is it just me or does he look a bit like the ex-head of the BNP in England?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭gawker

If I got anything from that show tonight, it's that many people still do not understand what "secular" means and what a secular state entails. Some seemed to think it involves taking away their rights, failing to see it protects their rights whilst also protecting the rights of minorities who do not believe the same malarkey as them.

Love the fact the Muslim and the Christians will both be campaigning together against gay marriage despite the fact they both think the other is going to hell. What a funny world we live in. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭lynski

I really really cant understand why religious object to civil marriages for anyone. What am I missing? what do they have to do with it?
    it is a civil matter. They have nothing to say when the law imposes a punishment for stealing, even though they also have a punishment for stealing. Does the law's punishment of stealing mean that the church's punishment means less?