Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man Rape

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

Did you read the entire post?There was no going back into a relationship. this was their first encounter. All a bit casual and in my opinion does more to harm genuine victims of the crime. Accusations of rape are very serious.

Saying 'you weren't raped' is also very serious and should not be thrown around. She forced herself on him. He said no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Saying 'you weren't raped' is also very serious and should not be thrown around. She forced herself on him. He said no.

Read down his post some more where he talks about man on man rape. See how his attitude changes. I don't believe he was a victim here, not a bit.

lastlaugh wrote: »
    Consent doesn't necessarily need to be given if it is between a couple I reckon.

I wouldn't imagine many blokes explicitly say "will we have sex now, can I get your consent please?" before having sex.
    Maybe some do take advantage of their partner being drunk and fire away regardless but wouldn't be classified as rape in a strict sense of the word.

If you happened accross a very drunk girl somewhere and took advantage, that's a different scenario entirely and would be rape...

Jesus :eek:. Attitudes in this country need to be severely changed.

Yes consent needs to be given between a couple, NO he doesn't need to say 'Can I have your consent', people know from actions, body movements, verbal responses if a person wants to have sex. If the person fends them off, or says No, this is NOT giving them their consent.

"Maybe some do take advantage of their partner being drunk and fire away regardless but wouldn't be classified as rape in a strict sense of the word."

Again jesus. This is what we're dealing with when overcoming attitudes in this country.
    'Firing way regardless'. That is rape!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Sonic the Large Cock

Man rape is impossible, just think about, unless you (the man) gets turned on then you (the man) aint gonna get a boner, so if you are being raped it s highly unlikely u will get a boner and if you do get one then you are sort consenting to the sex. thats a man been raped by a woman covered. of course she could use some sort of fake cock and ride you that way up the back passage which would mean she is a complete freak. then ya have the male man rape which of course we all know from American History X is quite unpleasant.

yes wasted 5 minutes of work there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Man rape is impossible, just think about, unless you (the man) gets turned on then you (the man) aint gonna get a boner, so if you are being raped it s highly unlikely u will get a boner and if you do get one then you are sort consenting to the sex. thats a man been raped by a woman covered. of course she could use some sort of fake cock and ride you that way up the back passage which would mean she is a complete freak. then ya have the male man rape which of course we all know from American History X is quite unpleasant.

You obviously know nothing of rape. Involuntary sexual arousal is a regular and traumatic aspect of rape.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Sonic the Large Cock

Millicent wrote: »
    You obviously know nothing of rape. Involuntary sexual arousal is a regular and traumatic aspect of rape.

maybe in Columbia, are you from Columbia??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

That's complete BS. Did you know that women can become sexually aroused during rape and even orgasm? Does that make it ok?? No it doesn't, not by any means, so why should it be different for men? Your post is extremely ignorant.

Yes. Yes I am. What does that even mean?! :confused:

Read down his post some more where he talks about man on man rape. See how his attitude changes. I don't believe he was a victim here, not a bit.

To be honest Micky Dolenz, and I'm saying this in the nicest way possible, it's not up to you to say to some-one if they were raped or not, especially when they may be confused themselves.

If a woman came on here and said that she said No to her boyfriend once, but her boyfriend forced himself on her and then she was confused and she went out with him anyway, would any of us say 'that's not rape'.

No we wouldn't and just because it's not as common the other way around, people should be mindful of everyone's feelings on here.

I'm not picking on you, but I just think you should be more mindful of what you say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

With a woman the internal reaction is involuntary, a man can get an involuntary erection, as through my life I have gotten some in awkward places, but to have sex friction is needed, so unless I was tied down and bounced upon and also it takes a certain amount of concentration to maintain the erection, so it is not going to happen if I am not complicit.

Banned, re reg.

44leto wrote: »
    With a woman the internal reaction is involuntary, a man can get an involuntary erection, as through my life I have gotten some in awkward places, but to have sex friction is needed, so unless I was tied down and bounced upon and also it takes a certain amount of concentration to maintain the erection, so it is not going to happen if I am not complicit.

That's just you though. Not all women have involuntary orgasm; not all men cannot have one. Good link here on the matter (relating to men).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

To the people saying rape is the worst thing that can happen to you;

Don't be so ridiculous and over dramatic, I don't think ken bigley's family would agree with you. Try having your limbs slowly cut off and see if your opinion is the same.

Don't be so ridiculous and over dramatic, I don't think ken bigley's ( I think that's his nam) family would agree with you. Try having your limbs slowly cut off and see if your opinion is the same.

Homelessness here isn't all that bad because there are people starving in Africa...

To be honest Micky Dolenz, and I'm saying this in the nicest way possible, it's not up to you to say to some-one if they were raped or not, especially when they may be confused themselves.

If a woman came on here and said that she said No to her boyfriend once, but her boyfriend forced himself on her and then she was confused and she went out with him anyway, would any of us say 'that's not rape'.

No we wouldn't and just because it's not as common the other way around, people should be mindful of everyone's feelings on here.

I'm not picking on you, but I just think you should be more mindful of what you say.

I take on board what you say.

If another person, male or female tells a story, it would be taken on it's own merit.

I still don't believe he is a victim of a sexual assault and that his partner of 3 years is a rapist.

I take on board what you say.

If another person, male or female tells a story, it would be taken on it's own merit.

I still don't believe he is a victim of a sexual assault and that his partner of 3 years is a rapist.

What about the context I was talking about though?

Don't be so ridiculous and over dramatic, I don't think ken bigley's ( I think that's his nam) family would agree with you. Try having your limbs slowly cut off and see if your opinion is the same.

Homelessness here isn't all that bad because there are people starving in Africa...

Homelessness is bad regardless of what happens in Africa.

But rape is less bad because at least you're not having limbs chopped off you?

Jesus, people's real colours are really starting to show on this thread. I never knew all these awful opinions were lurking.

How DARE you say 'don't be over dramatic'. How dare you!.

Have you not read statistics about so many girls committing suicide after being raped, because they can't bear to live with it.

I suggest you read Bill Zeller's story of his lifetime of suffering after being raped, and why he ended up commiting suicide:
    http://gizmodo.com/5726667/the-agonizing-last-words-of-bill-zeller

I just can't actually fathom that some-one would come on here and say don't be overly dramatic, I can't actually believe it, when there are rape victims on here.
    Sad, sad state of affairs in attitudes in today's society.

That's just you though. Not all women have involuntary orgasm; not all men cannot have one. Good link here on the matter (relating to men).

I read that and to be frank I think it is rubbish, even if I was overdosed with viagra by angelina Jolie if I did not want to have sex it wouldn't happen.

But rape is less bad because at least you're not having limbs chopped off you?

If someone says homelessness is the worst thing that can happen someone my reply is cop on don't be over dramatic.

If someone says rape is the worst thing that can happen someone my reply is cop on don't be so over dramatic.

Both are obviously not even any where close to the worst thing that can happen someone.

I read that and to be frank I think it is rubbish, even if I was overdosed with viagra by angelina Jolie if I did not want to have sex it wouldn't happen.

Why is it rubbish? Because it doesn't correlate with your own experience? That doesn't make it rubbish; that just makes it not true of you (you presume).

Jesus, people's real colours are really starting to show on this thread. I never knew all these awful opinions were lurking.

How DARE you say 'don't be over dramatic'. How dare you!.

Have you not read statistics about so many girls committing suicide after being raped, because they can't bear to live with it.

I suggest you read Bill Zeller's story of his lifetime of suffering after being raped, and why he ended up commiting suicide:
    http://gizmodo.com/5726667/the-agonizing-last-words-of-bill-zeller

I just can't actually fathom that some-one would come on here and say don't be overly dramatic, I can't actually believe it, when there are rape victims on here.
    Sad, sad state of affairs in attitudes in today's society.

Saying rape is the worst thing that can happen someone is obviously not true. How can any sane person disagree with that.

If someone says homelessness is the worst thing that can happen someone my reply is cop on don't be over dramatic.

If someone says rape is the worst thing that can happen someone my reply is cop on don't be so over dramatic.

Both are obviously not even any where close to the worst thing that can happen someone.

One if the worst things then. Does that suit the pedantry?

Why is it rubbish? Because it doesn't correlate with your own experience? That doesn't make it rubbish; that just makes it not true of you (you presume).

I assume my sexual response is similar to most men, there just has to be a willingness on some level with men. A woman when raped is invaded so it doesn't matter to the rapist whether she is turned on involuntary or not.

Saying rape is the worst thing that can happen someone is obviously not true. How can any sane person disagree with that.

I'm about to get banned from here but it will be so worth it. I don't want to enter into this conversation with you.

Imagine having the absolute insensitivity to come onto a thread where rape victims are talking and saying 'it's not the worst thing that could happen to you'.

No matter what you thought, did you think it was right to say it on here for people to read who have been through hell?

You're a f$cking idiot with no thought for others.

I assume my sexual response is similar to most men, there just has to be a willingness on some level with men. A woman when raped is invaded so it doesn't matter to the rapist whether she is turned on involuntary or not.

But that's all it is--an assumption. There's a wealth of material out there on involuntary sexual response. Just because it doesn't sound right to you, doesn't make it wrong.

And even if there is a willingness on the part of men, it would be purely mechanical, an automatic response to outside stimuli. It has nothing to do with emotional or conscious willingness or consent on the part of the man.

I'm about to get banned from here but it will be so worth it. I don't want to enter into this conversation with you.

Imagine having the absolute insensitivity to come onto a thread where rape victims are talking and saying 'it's not the worst thing that could happen to you'.

No matter what you thought, did you think it was right to say it on here for people to read who have been through hell?

You're a f$cking idiot with no thought for others.

No where did I ever say rape wasn't horrendous. Everyone thinks rape is horrendous. It's like saying the sky is blue.

But that's all it is--an assumption. There's a wealth of material out there on involuntary sexual response. Just because it doesn't sound right to you, doesn't make it wrong.

And even if there is a willingness on the part of men, it would be purely mechanical, an automatic response to outside stimuli. It has nothing to do with emotional or conscious willingness or consent on the part of the man.

I don't believe it, you are also implying that a man has no control over his sexual response which is complete rubbish. Outside stimulus is important but if you are not turned on it wont happen, all you have to do "is think about the baseball".

The worst story i heard was from a friend of mine who is a garda. He got called out to an attack. It was a stag night , all the lads decided to handcuff the drunk groom to be to some gates and leave him thinking it was funny.whilst hand cuffed 2 guys came along and had their way with him. I dont know what happened to him or how he got over that.