Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dentists as Drs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭First Aid Ireland

Do vets call themselves "Dr" too?

It's not something I object to, though I find it a little curious. any vets and dentists that i know don't refer to themselves as "Dr" though, but I wonder do they lose a competitive edge in terms of marketing, ie if a customer has a choice between a "Dr" dentist or a "Mr/Ms" dentist, will they think the "Dr" is more highly qualified? that would be my only concern.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

The way i see it - if Gillian McKeith gets to call herself Doctor, then pretty much anyone else can

• Registered Users Posts: 325 ✭✭tvc15

Medical doctors refer to themselves ad 'Dr.' (until they become a consultant) even though they do not have a doctorate which is not correct but has always happened and would be very confusing if it didn’t to be honest so I guess they get a free pass.

Why would a dentist call themselves ‘Dr.’? I haven’t a clue, if they want to then why not nurses and physiotherapists and radiographers and veterinary assistants etc. none of them are doctors either

tvc15 wrote: »
    Medical doctors refer to themselves ad 'Dr.' (until they become a consultant)

consultants are still called "Dr".

some are called Mr, because they're surgeons, and historically surgeons in Ireland and the UK call themselves "Mr."

But the "Dr" Vs "Mr" thing in medicine isn't a question of seniority, it's an issue of what specialty you're in. For example, the most experienced cardiologists and neurologists in the country, for example, would still be called "Dr" unless they're professors. While some very junior surgical trainees would be called "Mr". There's very little to read into it, though a lot of people think that a doctor who's now a "Mr" must be very high ranking, which isn't always true.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭digzy

bureau2009 wrote: »
    Back to dentists calling themselves "Doctor".

My view is that this is a status issue, and dentists want to have this prestigious title. After all, anyone can be called "Mr", even me!

What I'm not happy about is why this practise is allowed AT ALL.

I can remember this issue being discussed 30 YEARS ago. My understanding is that the Dental Council have stated that only dentists with doctorates should use the title "Doctor".

It's an indication of the way we do business in Ireland that this practise is allowed to continue for a lifetime either officially or unoffically.

I am not impressed.

I knew when I saw this topic it wouldn't be long before there'd be a post like the one above.Nice to see opinion guy wading in too......im just waiting for the arrival of marti08:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,240 ✭✭✭Oral Surgeon

digzy wrote: »
    I knew when I saw this topic it wouldn't be long before there'd be a post like the one above.Nice to see opinion guy wading in too......im just waiting for the arrival of marti08:rolleyes:

No that Troll is banned

Didn't realise i had a fan club. Have I said anything particularly controversial here ? Fitz and I just had the crack that's all

Nah, your name makes you sound more controversial than you are...:)

hahaha very good:D
    In retrospect its not a name I'd chose again

• Moderators Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Big_G

A medical 'doctor' is correctly called a physician or surgeon. This is where the confusion arises. A doctor is anyone who is learned. Doctor comes from the word docere meaning to teach, straight from Wikipedia. This whole argument is absolutely meaningless. Some people are more comfortable if you use the honorific on your letter head because they think you know what you are about. The honorific is increasingly meaningless anyway with chiropractors, optometrists, podiatrists and a famous 'nutritionist' using it.

This irritates some small people because they think it is confusing that dentists call use the honorific. That's just silly.

The degree I was awarded is a science degree but I was also awarded an honorary bachelor of arts in science I think because of the bologna convention grey area. So two degrees, but the second one is pretty meaningless.

I agree with Fitz that this is a non issue at the bottom of the list of regulatory issues. Probably behind application of tooth jewellery by non dentists. IE not a big deal.

Also let's keep this on topic please. A new thread is required for questions about other things. Thanks.

i wonder if there were two dentists on one street, and one was called "Dr. Ima Toothpuller" and the other was called "Mr. Ima Toothpuller", would the public think the first guy was more qualified?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,936 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

i wonder if there were two dentists on one street, and one was called "Dr. Ima Toothpuller" and the other was called "Mr. Ima Toothpuller", would the public think the first guy was more qualified?

the torment that must be going through their head when they battle with these quandaries..

Well it may not be an important issue for you, but I think it's a reasonable question to ask. i don't know if you're implying that the public shouldn't worry about how qualified their dentist is, but people like to be informed.

Maybe it confuses nobody. But I don't think it's unreasonable to ask the question.

Well it may not be an important issue for you, but I think it's a reasonable question to ask. i don't know if you're implying that the public shouldn't worry about how qualified their dentist is, but people like to be informed.

Maybe it confuses nobody. But I don't think it's unreasonable to ask the question.

Dr or Mr/Miss/Mrs has no implication on how qualified a GDP is. what matters is if their qualification is acceptable to the dental council. that is the only thing that the public should be worried about, not some petty little thing like this, and that is what it is.

and for the record, i mean GDP, as in the general dentist who does routine stuff all day. anyone with further qualifications that can affect their title is likely to have specialised.

Come on, what are the chances??:D

Dr or Mr/Miss/Mrs has no implication on how qualified a GDP is. what matters is if their qualification is acceptable to the dental council. that is the only thing that the public should be worried about, not some petty little thing like this, and that is what it is.

and for the record, i mean GDP, as in the general dentist who does routine stuff all day. anyone with further qualifications that can affect their title is likely to have specialised.

Yea we both know what the dental council thinks. My question is about what the public think. And not what the public SHOULD think, from a dentist's perspective.

Come on, what are the chances??:D

Fair point. of course their names aren't going to be identical. But the point I was making was that, all things being equal, does the title influence the public? I think it might. But that's not based on any kind of evidence.

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭bureau2009

It's interesting to note that the prevailing tone of responses is "This doesn't matter, it's a minor issue, don't worry about it, let's talk about something else".

That makes me wonder - why?

And looking at the current Golden Pages there are a massive number of dental practitioners using the title of "Doctor"............yet only a handful of dentists have doctorate qualifications..........

bureau2009 wrote: »
    It's interesting to note that the prevailing tone of responses is "This doesn't matter, it's a minor issue, don't worry about it, let's talk about something else".

That makes me wonder - why?

And looking at the current Golden Pages there are a massive number of dental practitioners using the title of "Doctor"............yet only a handful of dentists have doctorate qualifications..........

really??? really???

because it makes no difference.
    toodles.

/unsubscribes.

Fair point. of course their names aren't going to be identical. But the point I was making was that, all things being equal, does the title influence the public? I think it might. But that's not based on any kind of evidence.

As I said before, I have Mr on my door, website and business cards as I think that dentistry is more surgical and oral surgery more surgical again...

Despite this I have patients call me Mr, Dr..... I always introduce myself by my first name and insist on being called by my first name as it builds trust and doesn't make me feel old....

I don't think that it influences the public significantly as there are bigger carrots and sticks to do that, price, website, recommendations or criticisms...

ah lads, please stop feeding the trolls.................:rolleyes::rolleyes:

As I said before, I have Mr on my door, website and business cards as I think that dentistry is more surgical and oral surgery more surgical again...

Despite this I have patients call me Mr, Dr..... I always introduce myself by my first name and insist on being called by my first name as it builds trust and doesn't make me feel old....

I don't think that it influences the public significantly as there are bigger carrots and sticks to do that, price, website, recommendations or criticisms...

i think that's an entirely reasonable answer, and not sure why there's such resistance, by other, to the question being asked.

The only reason I ask is because it would probably have influenced me more than anything else, if i didn't know better. But if you guys reckon cost and word of mouth are bigger determinants of custom, then that's fair enough.

I just think the confusion over Dr/Mr in the medical profession means that this *might* be a bigger issue than some realise.

ah lads, please stop feeding the trolls.................:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Sorry Dr Digzy:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,538 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

These fellows have been masquerading as a doctor for years outrageous.
    251px-Versions_of_the_Doctor.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 26 Clinical Dental tech

Dont forget DR Fox.

He's neither a doctor or a Fox!

being serious i don't think the public care if they are being treated by a Dr or a Mr,Ms or Mrs as long as they have access to affordable, high quality oral health care.

Dont forget DR Fox.

being serious i don't think the public care if they are being treated by a Dr or a Mr,Ms or Mrs as long as they have access to affordable, high quality oral health care.

Seems to me many people go by word of mouth for things like choosing a dentist to attend. Would the dentists amongst us agree ?

• Registered Users Posts: 26 Clinical Dental tech

The best advertisement is a personal recommendation

• Registered Users Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭harpsman

Dont forget DR Fox.

Hes now done an Andrew Cole on it and likes to be called "Neil Fox"

• Registered Users Posts: 609 ✭✭✭fulladapipes

As I started this thread, I might jump back in here again.

I went to the dentist (first time in 12 years) last week, and had a very positive experience indeed. Things have moved on a lot thankfully.

I went to this dentist as the first place I booked tried to charge me €40 for the PPS check-up which according to the Dept of Social Protection manager I called, said should be free. That dentist couldn't even get his maths right - he told me they charge €70 for a checkup and as they only receive €33 from the state, he had to charge me the balance of €40. I hope he's better at dentistry than maths.

That left a bad taste, and so I picked the lady near me and she was terribly nice and professional.

What's practice out there in dentist-land I wonder - do people charge/get charged for the PPS 'free' checkup?

FdP

no!

as regards the title of the thread, the only time i've heard the dr term used was in the college when we all refered to the supervisors as dr...
    It was the 'norm' when i started and i doubt it's altered since. if you were a student on continuous assessment would you chance a 'could you look at this paddy' to your supervisor. i'm sure the supervisors felt a bit ridiculous but for some it may have boosted their egos.
    my diagnosis
    now ffs you've got your 'free' exam, you've been given very accurate info re the dr thing.......
    my treatment plan
    cop on and find another crusade:eek:

i cant believe i got sucked into this shoite..........apologies oral surgeon i'm a complete hypocrite:mad: