Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sprinter Sacre

1234568»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

As per the forum charter, if you've any problems with a post and/or modding, please PM the mods rather than posting on thread. Also, please don't insult other users in your posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

rossom wrote: »

I think it's safe to say that everyone will agree on here that one of the most identifiable traits of SS is his extraordinary jumping and how he attacks and sails over his fences. He didn't do that on his reappearance either, as he was frequently driven into fences by Geraghty.

His last Champion Chase win he didnt jump all that great, he got in close to a good few of them iirc. I honestly think its buying money of he turns up in March.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

Gringo180 wrote: »
    His last Champion Chase win he didnt jump all that great, he got in close to a good few of them iirc. I honestly think its buying money of he turns up in March.

He got in close but he wasn't cajoled into a good number of them. That's the big difference in my eyes.

rossom wrote: »
    He got in close but he wasn't cajoled into a good number of them. That's the big difference in my eyes.

I think the telling thing was that SS was still cantering when DB was getting pushed along, Fehily gave him a good few smacks and when he went by SS Geraghty didnt do much on him only push him out, he wasnt even shown the whip. You would think that the pace they went and the heavy ground would have done SS especially it been his first proper race shy of 2 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭Meath Centre Forward

How can you say it's buying money after that run? Fair enough, you might be a fan of the horse since day one and fair enough you think he'll win. And yes there's a good chance he will win. There's loads of people who'll back him but the kind of confidence you are showing is seriously misplaced confidence in my opinion. You even acknowledge there's a doubt he'll even show up yet despite this you are still so confident that it's buying money. Hmmm. Is there a contradiction there?

Anything can happen in the space of 7 weeks, the amount of horses that get injured in the run up to the festival. Take Dodging Bullets out of that race last week and everybody would be raving about him, he would of beat Twinlight by a few lengths on the bridle and be 1/3 for the Champion Chase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Anything can happen in the space of 7 weeks, the amount of horses that get injured in the run up to the festival. Take Dodging Bullets out of that race last week and everybody would be raving about him, he would of beat Twinlight by a few lengths on the bridle and be 1/3 for the Champion Chase.

Oh so by buying money you mean the 'without Dodging Bullets and the number of horses rated better than Twinlight market'???

I'm in the camp that thinks he can still win by the way. But nobody can say it's buying money, even those closest to the horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭nobody told me

Ye he'd be 1/3 alright. Classic!!

So one of the greatest chasers of all time comes back from 600 days off and wins in a canter from Twinlight and last years Champion Chase runner up and he wouldnt be odds on?

Oh so by buying money you mean the 'without Dodging Bullets and the number of horses rated better than Twinlight market'???

I'm in the camp that thinks he can still win by the way. But nobody can say it's buying money, even those closest to the horse.

Buying money = I think he will win. Its a figure of speech.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,297 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Just as likely Sprinter Sacre will bounce as improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Huntley

Huntley wrote: »
    Nobody would prefer to say Sprinter Sacre showed all his attributes of old yesterday more than myself. He ran a fine comeback race for any other horse. In terms of what he was capable of there was plenty lacking from that performance. Taking an extra half stride at fences, being cajoled along and reaching for his fences. That isn't him. If he pinged every fence and then blew up two out it would have been more encouraging than what was evident yesterday. He just plugged along really in the finish and it all seemed very ordinary from a horse that would have had these dead and buried turning in. The exuberance was lacking which was probably the most worrying aspect.

It's a mark of how good he was that he could run a stone and a half below his best and still possibly win a Champion Chase. I'll be surprised if he is in training next year.

Not too surprising to see him pulled up today, he just doesn't have it in the tank anymore but that's ok. He was formidable in his pomp, races where he humiliated good horses who have gone on to achieve plenty of graded wins. Any talk of keeping him in training is futile and he'll likely get a deserved retirement now. He was worth every ounce of his rating and there won't be a horse that will match it anytime soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,297 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

I think he probably was a bit over rated ratings wise and wonder how he would have gotten on in the Moscow Flyer, Azertyuiop, Well Chief golden era.

Awful pity he got the heart problem because he certainly didnt win enough considering the talent he had.

Same thing with Denman, he might never have been beaten over fences if the heart problem never happened.

mdwexford wrote: »
    I think he probably was a bit over rated ratings wise and wonder how he would have gotten on in the Moscow Flyer, Azertyuiop, Well Chief golden era.

All great Champions but I dont think they would of lived with Sprinter at the top of his game, only Master Minded at his very best could of gave him a race over 2 miles imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Shemale

Was over at the festival yesterday and he looked spot on, he was on his toes and looked ready to do himself justice, unfortunately he didn't travel at all and the exuberant jumping wasn't there.

It's a real real shame and I think he will now be retired, was hoping he would be back close to his mark and banging heads with Un De Sceaux next year.

In terms of his rating, I think he was a better horse than Masterminded and his Champion Chase was one of the best performances I have ever seen to beat a top 2 miler that far on the bridle was beyond remarkable.

Anyway for what it's worth here is a video of the great horse passing the stands for probably the last time pre race on his way to the start.

Gregk961 wrote: »
    To be honest I hope SDG wins just to quote a few of the ridiculous opinions in the last few posts. He's no Sprinter Sacre but come on he was one of the best chasers in the UK last year. Calling the horse rubbish, even if exaggerated, is silly talk.
    Shemale wrote: »
    I have absolute disdain for this excuse of a horse.

The only way he wins is a pile of injuries before or during the race, and/or the top few in the market fall. Lets hope they all make it, would love if Mullins would step a novice up.

By all means bump this post, god forbid he wins, but with no hard luck stories the three I have named will be in front of him and possibly a few more.
    jimjamcos wrote: »
    I really don't fancy the horse but Shemale, your dislike for him is on a whole other level. Don't know if I'd be predicting 3 horses to finish ahead of him tbh..
    Imo, Bullets is still improving, Uxizandre is still improving, Sprinter can easily find at least 7lbs plus we could expect maybe one or two at bigger prices to run a big race. His old rating would see him struggle and I cant seeing him improving after being out so long with a leg.

I just hate mediocre horses winning the big races, handicaps are all about it but not the big ones.

The intention was not to derail the thread so I wont comment further on the porse until after the CC.
    zpehtsfd wrote: »
    This is the most open CC in years and anyone talking with conviction is talking through their pocket. imo.

Best on boards lads :cool:

I hope people that backed the porse didn't lose too much and some people had a few bob on Dodging Bullets, Uxi was pure class in the Ryanair too. Real shame Sprinter wasn't right yesterday.

It's great we have a new crack 2 miler and he is from this side of the water, hopefully he stays sound and gives us a few more years of joy.

I won't be posting further on SDG, just wanted to get a nudge in!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,101 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

mailburner wrote: »
    Sacre the lay of t he entire meeting
    Be interesting to see what price it goes off
    Big drifter I reckon

lol, that bump was coming shemale :pac:

Backed sdg and with the injury I do regret it, when falling behind mr mole I thought my bet was gone but after the chepstow win I thought he had a great chance
    I did however win what I lost on sdg by laying ss (almost)

I think folks backing ss were just as crazy though

don't think I'll back one again if there's any doubt whatsoever at this meeting

mailburner wrote: »
    lol, that bump was coming shemale :pac:

Backed sdg and with the injury I do regret it, when falling behind mr mole I thought my bet was gone but after the chepstow win I thought he had a great chance
    I did however win what I lost on sdg by laying ss (almost)

I think folks backing ss were just as crazy though

don't think I'll back one again if there's any doubt whatsoever at this meeting

Had to be done as I was bullish on SDG and The New One being place lays :D

I am done with ante post now, had quite a bit on Sprinter, ante post and on the day, till can't believe how poor he was, I thought he should be able to match his Ascot run at the very least, sad to say he is most likely being retired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

One of the greatest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Ben Gadot

Going out on top, that's what I like to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

A shame but what a horse! Best I've seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭madmoose

The best jumps horse i have ever seen, the way he came back last year was incredible.

Terrible news after Vautour.

Not looking good for Simonsig :(

Sadly, confirmed broken leg, why is it never the **** / middle of the road horses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Glenjamin360

Mod edit: <snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭idnkph

SS was THE best looking horse to ever have a race course. Great champion. Enjoy retirement.

madmoose wrote: »
    The best jumps horse i have ever seen, the way he came back last year was incredible.

He wasnt even near the horse he once was last season. Makes him all the more special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

Please don't insult other users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Taxes

I think Constitution Hill is the most talented horse I’ve seen since a peak Sprinter Sacre. I hope he stays sound.