Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline Thread (15/02/2012 to 01/05/2012)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,969 ✭✭✭✭syklops

There should also be a "Mary from Clontarf, your point please".

• Registered Users Posts: 71,654 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

A few more, Lapin:

''Keep The Faith''
    ''Noel V. Ginnity''
    ''We are where we are''
    ''Ben Dunne, you're a man of your word''

• Registered Users Posts: 10,268 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

You missed out on the "Hello?" after 1 second of silence.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭sudzs

And what about the "'eens"?? As in breakeen, drinkeen, mortgage-een..."

well.... maybe not mortgage-een... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

sudzs wrote: »
    And what about the "'eens"?? As in breakeen, drinkeen, mortgage-een..."

well.... maybe not mortgage-een... :rolleyes:

An -een added to any of the ones mentioned above gives you golden-double-extra-super-bonus points. Collect 40 of these and you go into the monthly draw for a Toyota Starlet courtesy of Lyons Minstrels.

Bonus points also when "the truly great......." is placed as a prefix before

Brush Shiels
    Doc Savage
    Syl Fox

and any of the other gobsh1tes on the last Friday of each month.

bijapos wrote: »
    Bonus points also when "the truly great......." is placed as a suffix before

Brush Shiels
    Doc Savage
    Syl Fox

and any of the other gobsh1tes on the last Friday of each month.

And the likes of Harry Crosbie.

• Registered Users Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Stripey Cat

I think we should get extra points for noticing gratuitous mentions of Gay Byrne; Bono and how great U2 is; Ballyfermot and the roundabouts thereof; and the eucharistic congress of 1932, or whenever it was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭nosey guy

My own particular bingo card bankers are...

"whats your difference?"

"you cant say that"

"what frame did you put on it?"

longs silence over 3 secs,for effect, after caller tells their story..

"eta ,atm,psa,doa...."

So Greyhound collected all the bins. :) No doubt there will be many Greyhound customers ringing in to complain! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Euromillions type jackpot if Joe ever says

"The wonderful, wonderful, truly great Shane O'Curry" :pac::pac:

Duffy will be claiming victory..watch this..

Joe is sounding very impatient. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Lapin wrote: »
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSLXTDq99bd0CJvru3W5yom3j15UYguu-abmotNr-tUFUQTIod_

YOUR BINGO CARD FOR
    THE NEW THREAD ! ! !

Well Done

Fair Play

Are you there Mary ?

John in Cork…

Stay there Mary...

Back after these...

Clontarf / Ballyfermot

Before you phoned me Joe…

As I said to your researcher Joe…

Are you there Joe?

Ok, Ok, Ok, Ok, Ok Ok...

In this day and age Joe…

I’m a Single Parent Joe…

The Guvurmint Joe…

The Wonderful…

Sonny Knowles

Marian Finnucane

Moore Street

Uncle Gaybo

RTÉ Real Player

Post Office Staff

Prolinged deep sigh followed by...

Sinn Fein

Ryanair

Portugal

AIB

Greyhound

Children’s Allowance,

Pray

Petal

God

Mary

€408,000

Mind Yourself

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS5TZcgdGqLaPWsNL_I_QOivQIPOqFtnDgJdMBegp2nF509DURI

No "Wendy's Whistle Stop Cafe".....:(

I turned off Guns and Roses Greatest Hits to turn this stuff on. Be worth it Joe, or I am getting help.

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Anyone taking bets on how long it takes for this artistic display to be vandalized in some way?

I hate saying that as I went to college in Limerick for 5 years and I genuinely like the city, but I just see this as somewhat inevitable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

Why is this guy so deserving?

I know it sounds cruel but tis guy will be forgotten in jig time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

What's new?

He's an ill mannered overbearing oaf all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

Thats what happens when your an arrogant spoofer..cant wait to get hie own snide comment in.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

Sugesstions to add to the card:
    When referring to the excessive public service pensions, and the fact that these "pensioners" are entitled to a pension from a relatively young age, he immediately tacks on "may he/she live many long years" (esp when talking about an FFer).

When a caller refers to anyone in the public service, he interjects with a "and they are all wonderful people who do a great service".

Basically, add any time where he trips over himself not to offend anyone that might possibly sue. Damian is a whoer for this - that lad is so noncomittal it's a wonder he gets out of bed of a morning.

Anyone taking bets on how long it takes for this artistic display to be vandalized in some way?

I hate saying that as I went to college in Limerick for 5 years and I genuinely like the city, but I just see this as somewhat inevitable.

Just dont make whatever it is out of brass..it will be gone as fast as you can say jimmney cricket!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I wouldnt be hugely confident that Barry Doyle wont get off on appeal.. He retracted his apology, yet the defence was still allowed to see the footage and judge for themselves.. And this seemed to be a fairly significant piece of evidence that convinced the jury...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

"Noel Fitzgerald, sorry, I'm reading it out here." (i.e. it's the fkn researcher's fault, not mine)

• Registered Users Posts: 43,024 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Bad start for this caller

I bet that mobile was joe duffys

Duffy gets the guys name wrong..says nothing..no sorry no nothing..the guy really has no class.

Joe if there's a crayon there would ya ever stop scribbling with it! :rolleyes:

buzzzzzzz

2 seconds of silence...

"Is that ok now?"

"Yea".buzzzzzzzz

nosey guy wrote: »
    Duffy gets the guys name wrong..says nothing..no sorry no nothing..the guy really has no class.

His very tone smacks of impatience and condescension

duffy desperately trying not to fall asleep...oh he woke up now!

bullets bullets ..

• Registered Users Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Stripey Cat

The cops and the media don't care about gangland crime, as long as the criminals are shooting at each other.

How many times have you heard the dismissive phrase "the deceased was known to the gardaí"?

This laissez faire attitude has allowed a culture to grow up of criminals settling disputes with guns.

The same police and media who have so little to say about this are horrified when civilians are, inevitably, caught in the crossfire.