Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stalking

• Registered Users Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

You can get your provider to block the number for you, I know because someone I know had issues with someone texting them wierd messages.

They had to put it in writing, the number and why they wanted it blocked etc. and send it to the providers address, can take a while as you would imagine. Although things may have changed now as that was a couple of years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

later10 wrote: »
    I have to say my first thought reading this thread was that you were probably taking it too seriously, and someone just had a little crush on you.

But what you've described there is excessive.

Does this person know you use boards? Are you identifiable on here? If so, this thread should really send off a strong message that you're not interested!
    I have no idea if they use boards tbh.
    I have no photos or anything on here, well except the odd one I've PMed to a few posters.
    The people who have their photos in that photo thread should be a bit worried!
    I recently ignored their facebook friend request.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Assuming you know the number the text messages are originating from, use an anonymiser to send as many messages as you want - and as viciously abusive as you can think of - to the pest.:):)

http://txtemnow.com/

http://textforfree.net/

http://www.sendanonymoussms.com/

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Is there more than one person or what's the reason you're using "them" instead of "he" or "she"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,419 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

They'll tell you to stop wasting police time but at least when your mangled corpse is found, 5ex tortured to death, there'll be a limited pool of suspects which will be of enormous help to investigating officers.

They will not tell him this, he has the calls and txts to prove it's happening.
    They will contact the person who is harassing him and if he is willing to make an official complaint they will prosecute.

hondasam wrote: »
    what phone have you? you can block selected numbers.

Is there any point if this person knows where you live?
    You need to report it if it is this serious, gardai will take it serious if there is loads of calls and txts.
    I have an iPhone 3G, the **** one! :pac:
    How do I do this. They never block their number when the ring me at least, not that I answer private numbers anyway!

They know the area I'm from that's it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,419 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I have an iPhone 3G, the **** one! :pac:
    How do I do this. They never block their number when the ring me at least, not that I answer private numbers anyway!

They know the area I'm from that's it.

You have the option to block this number. You can do this yourself.
    Ted they can follow you home, it's not that difficult to find where someone lives.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Definitely tell them that if they call you again you're going to the cops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,920 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Has anyone ever had, well basically it's beginning to seem like stalking.
    I'm getting constant texts every day. They ring my phone time and time again and then text me asking why I never answer. I've explained to them 3 times now in person. I'm receiving very weird messages of poetry. I've been followed to a nightclub. It's getting beyond obsessive. I was woken up in the middle of the night last night at 4am with phone calls.
    I don't want to have to change my number but I might have to. Luckily they don't know my exact address.
    What can you do in these situations? I'm really getting sick of it.

Well la de da.. look who is mr fancy with his lady stalker. Where's Panda's lady stalker? Why have I no stalker? :mad:

On a serious note, women who don't understand you aren't interested are a pain in the hole :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

The people who have their photos in that photo thread should be a bit worried!
    Heh! Half the people in that thread were looking for stalkers, the other half were looking for stalkees:pac:

Well la de da.. look who is mr fancy with his lady stalker. Where's Panda's lady stalker? Why have I no stalker? :mad:

On a serious note, women who don't understand you aren't interested are a pain in the hole :mad:
    It's actually funny you say that! I'm going to send you a PM about something.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Maybe ya should tell them that you are blocking the number, and say that if they try to contact you that you will report it straight away.

If they are going that crazy texting etc. It's inevitable that they will get infuriated if your number stops working, and will try to contact you another way.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭OhMSGlive

Send them a text saying "Do not contact me again." If they persist, go to the Gardaí about it. This is harassment and they'll take you seriously about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,000 ✭✭✭Wossack

OhMSGlive wrote: »
    Send them a text saying "Do not contact me again." If they persist, go to the Gardaí about it. This is harassment and they'll take you seriously about it.

Not if its a girl...

They'll just say 'Niiiiceee', in a sleezy voice :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Could we get a little more info? Is it a girl that's shimmying up drain pipes and snaking around your house like MGS style?
    Was there ever a thing there, be honest.
    Are you getting a serious vibe off this person?
    And this will sound bad but are they hot? People that know or at least think they're attractive tend not to think they're acting as crazy with this type of behavior stuff. And if they are then well done, sort of.
    It's a bit of a tease to give some juice like this without the details. I'm sure you can keep in anonymous enough. Think about it this way, if they're on boards then they're probably already stalking your account.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,602 ✭✭✭Feisar

Shryke wrote: »
    Could we get a little more info? Is it a girl that's shimmying up drain pipes and snaking around your house like MGS style?
    Was there ever a thing there, be honest.
    Are you getting a serious vibe off this person?
    And this will sound bad but are they hot? People that know or at least think they're attractive tend not to think they're acting as crazy with this type of behavior stuff. And if they are then well done, sort of.
    It's a bit of a tease to give some juice like this without the details. I'm sure you can keep in anonymous enough. Think about it this way, if they're on boards then they're probably already stalking your account.

Yea, there's usually more to these things than the OP is letting on, no offence!

Feisar: Jaysus yer one is annoying me again.

Friend: That's cause you shagged her all weekend.

Feisar: :o

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭Unavailable for Comment

You should definitely change your number and tell everyone that you want to contact you again what your new number is so that your life can go on.

Then, rather than letting your old number go to waste, text the stalker that you want them to leave you voice mails rather than inpersonal text messages and have your old phone number divert to a premium rate number that you own.

Every so often send them a text asking for more details.

Profit!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

I had this happen with an ex, but much worse.

Your phone provider will block the number ( I had to block mobile and landline), block them from facebook etc, blacklist their email address.... anything you can think of.

Make sure your friends are aware of whats going on in case they start following you. Be prepared, they may start messaging your friends / new people they suspect you are seeing.

If all else fails (as it did for me, when the calls were coming off a new private number and a fake fb was set up to harass me), go to the Garda Station. I was lucky and had a lovely sympathetic gard. They'll advise you to keep a record of all incidents for a month - so maybe start that now anyway?

I still get odd blip of contact (8 months after it started, 4 months since I reported it) but not as bad and very rarely.

......or you know, blast them with piss.

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭VagnerLove

make sure you lock your windows.

I was watching that film ENOUGH with J-Lo in it and ffs, that chap got in her gaf no bother. moved all around America and still couldn't get away from the mad bastard.

you know what he said, OP?

"if I can't have you, no one can!"

he said that as he strangled her, OP.

food for thought imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

Wossack wrote: »
    Not if its a girl...

They'll just say 'Niiiiceee', in a sleezy voice :(

To be a member of the Gardaí, a pre-requisite is to act like Joey from friends :pac:

On a serious note, I really hope you didn't get treated like that?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,000 ✭✭✭Wossack

Feeona wrote: »
    To be a member of the Gardaí, a pre-requisite is to act like Joey from friends :pac:

On a serious note, I really hope you didn't get treated like that?

Hah nah, was going for the southpark reference, but Ill take what I can get :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Feeona wrote: »
    More like Pat Shortt really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

just kiss her but be like a slobbering dog while doing it and eat garlic before hand.... also fart and beltch just as you go to kiss her, she'll soon stop stalking ya.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Crazy bitches need lovin' too. Go on, its Valentines

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I met them on a night out, met up for a while, then I decided to leave it at that, explained this to them on 3 separate occasion after being guilt tripped by text messages.
    Report them to the Gardai.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

Wish I had a stalker tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭mysteries1984

......or you know, blast them with piss.

+1 to this.

OP, I had a similar situation with an ex a couple of years ago. Here's my advice, and what I wish I did myself.

Don't wait for it to get worse. Go to the Gardai. Don't wait for him to make a photo of you like this one which I got emailed shortly after we broke up without any explanation. I've removed my face, I value my privacy, but you get the idea.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

VagnerLove wrote: »
    make sure you lock your windows.

For some reason I read that as "make sure you lick your windows" and thought, "Yip, that's our Teddy!!" :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 453 ✭✭gypsy_rose

+1 to this.

OP, I had a similar situation with an ex a couple of years ago. Here's my advice, and what I wish I did myself.

Don't wait for it to get worse. Go to the Gardai. Don't wait for him to make a photo of you like this one which I got emailed shortly after we broke up without any explanation. I've removed my face, I value my privacy, but you get the idea.

Oh. My. God. What a psycho. I hope he's left you alone.

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭mysteries1984

gypsy_rose wrote: »
    Oh. My. God. What a psycho. I hope he's left you alone.

Eventually, yeah, but I bumped into him in town when I was of course dressed as Wally for that record-breaking thing in Merrion Square a while ago...anyway he did, I had to block his emails, calls, get a friend to send him emails for me, get the housemates to open any post addressed to me, that sort of thing, but it's all good now :)