Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hunters Wives

• 08-02-2012 1:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭

On receipt of the good news that my second gun application was granted I rang home to see if it was in the post, but somehow I noticed the missus wasn't as happy about this news as I was.... :confused:

Got me thinking, how do your other half's find been married to us shooting / hunting enthusiasts? My kids love the idea of coming out hunting rabbits with me, this gets to her even more :D she cant see why I'm so obsessed with shooting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

Just treat them like mushrooms< keep them in the dark and feed them ****e<i made the mistake of telling her one day how i killed the squirells i trapped< i think she was still crying an hour later :D Remember everything you shoot dies straight away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

just explain to her that guns are like handbags and shoes you can only use one at a time and they are for different occasions ;)
    i'm lucky my missus will come shooting anytime she has her own springer and goes beating without me regularly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭J. Ramone

I thought this was a photo thread!

While I'm here, just remember one gun looks just like another so it's the same gun you always had!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Lads,

While light hearted lets remember that we have a good number of female members here. Two of which i know, and they shoot, but their husbands do not.

Thanks.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Farmlife

Ezridax wrote: »
    Lads,

While light hearted lets remember that we have a good number of female members here. Two of which i know, and they shoot, but their husbands do not.

Thanks.
    rgugliel wrote: »
    Got me thinking, how do your other half's find been married to us shooting / hunting enthusiasts?

And that is why i choose my words carefully :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

landkeeper wrote: »
    just explain to her that guns are like handbags and shoes you can only use one at a time and they are for different occasions ;)
    i'm lucky my missus will come shooting anytime she has her own springer and goes beating without me regularly

il take one of them if there going !:D

my own missus does enjoy clay shooting or target with a rifle but the idea of killing , just not in her unless it me !:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭rabbit assassin

My missus hates to see me coming home with any animals. Before she met me she was very anti shooting as she saw it as cruel and sick (as many uneducated people do) She still cringes when she see's rabbits or pheasants hanging in the parlour :P One time I had my game bag outside the back door with my boots and she rang me from the car wanting me to move it as she couldnt pass it going in the door :confused:

Also, she saw the receipt from a new gun I bought last week....lets just say if looks could kill :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭steyrman2

Start as you mean to go on if you want a rifle,shotgun,scope or anything else if you can afford it get it thats my motto this thing of asking can i get it dont work if you work hard and want a few toys get them keep it simple lads life is hard enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

hahahahahahahaha memories!!!!
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055960621

Since then im on my 3rd gun with my fourth application in:rolleyes: I remember when i got the shotgun after the hmr, i didnt tell her because she still wasnt interested and one day she asked was i shooting closer to home than usual because she could never hear the bangs before:D haha fun conversation!

The guns were stored at mine after a while too but they have since moved to a permanent location that has cctv and monitored alarm because iv neither on mine so its safer over all and im happy with that.

My little lad is gun MAD! everytime i come in now from shooting he gets my cleaning kit and has to help:p and mammy doesnt even bat an eyelid.

So in short she came around, eventually!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭session savage

My missus thinks I only have one 'gun' :cool:
    Her father was always into hunting in a big way so its normal for her. The way she sees it I could be out drinking instead of lamping! She dont mind at all.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

My missus hates to see me coming home with any animals. Before she met me she was very anti shooting as she saw it as cruel and sick (as many uneducated people do) She still cringes when she see's rabbits or pheasants hanging in the parlour :P One time I had my game bag outside the back door with my boots and she rang me from the car wanting me to move it as she couldnt pass it going in the door :confused:

Also, she saw the receipt from a new gun I bought last week....lets just say if looks could kill :eek:
    Ah school boy error always hide the receipts and try pay for everything in cash, thats what they do!!!!!! the one i always get is "my ma bought me this" :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

I'd love to teach my missus to shoot, but sometimes I think it might be counter productive :eek:
    she read too many detective novels for my liking :o

when she let me buy a new gun, its usually because she wants something new her self like a hand bag

besides I've also caught her using the same explaination that I often use
    "sure I had that auld thing for years"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭RICHIE.39

Am waiting on the licence permission but did shoot rabbit years ago. back then my girlfriend(now wife) used to enjoy goin with me. she was a great shot and didn't mind the gutting and cleaning side of things. After nearly nine years since stopping she's as excited as me about getting back at it. and can't wait to get the kids at it too. boys six and eight. just right me thinks. ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

my missus is brilliant ,comes from hunting an shooting stock,so no problems with guns,gear mucky gear footprints and paws on the floor,me and jessy head off,i just shoot and bring the game home and herself and daughter do the rest im just blessed with her she,s worth her weight in gold:D:D:D:D:D:D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Thankfully herself has a very open mind on these matters - just as long as she doesn't have to view any of the handy work by me or my 3 amigos;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

I tell the mrs that I'm going lamping friday night, shooting saturday and again all day Sunday and I'm taking Wednesday off to go shooting all day again and there's no point in getting in a tizzy over it because she's only upsetting herself!:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭meathshooter1

My missus shoots herself only target .she is a very good shot,had her own .308 &.22 .she is taken a break from shooting a the moment new baby but will Be back.helps a lot no greif over shooting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

My gf loves going shooting, cant get enough of it, gets bit upset when I tell her it's a guy's only day :rolleyes:

More than capable with a shotgun, has been stalking with a few times, always see something when she's there so she thinks she's goodluck. She's yet to shoot a deer but can shoot 1" groups at 100 yds with the 6.5 no bother at all :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

My girlfriend wants me to get a deer rifle, and wants to do some shooting herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Ziggieire

My missus does not mind as long as i do the skinning and gutting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 mr.pricket

My missus dont mind at all has no choice really lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭vixdname

Have to say, my missus is grand about it.
    She doesnt like the look of dead rabbits or deer when I come home with them though, so I keep them outof sight out of mind as much as possible.
    That is unless I get an extra rabbit or two and I give them as a treat to each of my hounds.
    Tis funny to see the missus reaction when she calls the two dogs for their grub and they trot around the corner of the house with a bunny sideways hanging out of both sides of their mounts bouncing away !
    They're delighted, shes disgusted !
    As far as the rifles are concerned, shes knows I have a small rilfe (.22LR) and a big riflle (.270 Win).
    She doesnt know what I paid for them or anything else thankfully, now I have to try and convince her I paid €2000 for some kind of 4x4 which was advertised for €3500 in Donedeal !!!!!!!!!

vixdname wrote: »
    She doesnt know what I paid for them or anything else thankfully, now I have to try and convince her I paid €2000 for some kind of 4x4 which was advertised for €3500 in Donedeal !!!!!!!!!

HA HA I'm the very same... sure my Tikka T3 rifle only cost me 250 euro ..... ha ha honest :P
    I dont think she knows how much I paid for anything from bullets to wellies, this shooting malarky is right cheap sure :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

When it comes to my shooting and my wife......well it was all said before and revolves around a "need to know basis" Its not the shooting that would be the complaint but balancing shooting and hunting with the home life. I have a 5 year old that tends to like "show and tell" in school and on a number of occasions she has bursted out to teacher that Daddy shot 3 foxes or got two pheasants..... my wife blushes and says something like ,,,he loves photography.

Doesnt want dead things lying about but would taste not necessarily eat game. Kids are opposite and I tend not to get any game meat if I cook it cause its eaten before Im finished chefing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭walsh.peter

My Wife is pretty good to be fair . When we started to go out she knew my Dad was into clay shooting. So i told her to go shooting with him at the range when we went to stay with them. She liked it and my Dad was delighted.
    Hense a few years on when i got my own guns she was really quite good about it.
    Daughter is three and she knows when Daddy is going out shooting as i see nothing wrong with it and would rather she be aware of it then trying to hide it from her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,082 ✭✭✭BadGirl

I am one of the aforementioned 'Hunters Wives' :D and some of you may recognise me from the Game recipes and tips thread as i look for recipes to cook what he brings home!

It doesn't bother me in the slightest that he shoots, he has 2 shotguns and a rifle, goes hunting regularly and clays twice a week. The kids usually like to pose for a photo with whatever kill he brings home, and when eating the meat, they know where it comes from.

Generally hubby does the rough skinning and cleaning and butchering and i do the rest, although it would not bother me to do more of it, am not squeamish in the slightest. And also doesn't bother me when our gundog gets a bit either :D

I don't like muddy footprints if i have just washed the floors but then, who would? :D He just leaves the boots outside then or carries them in.....

One of his mates would LOVE to shoot but his wife has categorically said NO to any guns being in the house.... This attitude really puzzles me.... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭robdsherlock

my other half was and is kind of against killing, unless its for food but she also doesn't like guns either, i took her out one day with the dogs down the feilds and she didn't mind the shooting then so maybe she is coming around to it. also iv being going on about wanting to get a rifle for ages now so she will be expecting one when the money comes for one:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

my missus is brilliant ,comes from hunting an shooting stock,so no problems with guns,gear mucky gear footprints and paws on the floor,me and jessy head off,i just shoot and bring the game home and herself and daughter do the rest im just blessed with her she,s worth her weight in gold:D:D:D:D:D:D;)
    some of us arent as lucky as you phesantstalker , im married to a maternially crazed gorilla that hates anything to do with shooting , ......having a bad week:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Farmlife

BadGirl wrote: »
    One of his mates would LOVE to shoot but his wife has categorically said NO to any guns being in the house.... This attitude really puzzles me.... :confused:

I was told that knowing there was something capable of killing someone inside the house made her uncomfortable..... This was said at the dinner table whilst she held a steak knife, pointing that out ended that argument :D

She's come around a bit since then, still have yet to bring a kill back into the house tho ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

t2 my apologies and sypathies to you lad ,my ex was very same, im just blessed that after the chats about likes an hobbies with my now wife ,i knew i landed on my feet,and now my daughter is very interested in all aspects of hunting from the shot to the pot:D:D:D its just the luck of the draw some women accept it or have brothers ,dads etc that shoot and some just cant stand it full stop:( yet thy happily cook and munch plastic wrapped processed crap from supermarkets!:mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭declan1980

My girlfriend didn't like the idea of it at first, but she's ok about it now. She'll ask me how I got on when I go out, but doesn't want to see any thing or know the gory details.
    She has eaten some pheasant and venison that my ma cooked, and thought it was nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

BadGirl wrote: »
    I am one of the aforementioned 'Hunters Wives' :D and some of you may recognise me from the Game recipes and tips thread as i look for recipes to cook what he brings home!

It doesn't bother me in the slightest that he shoots, he has 2 shotguns and a rifle, goes hunting regularly and clays twice a week. The kids usually like to pose for a photo with whatever kill he brings home, and when eating the meat, they know where it comes from.

Generally hubby does the rough skinning and cleaning and butchering and i do the rest, although it would not bother me to do more of it, am not squeamish in the slightest. And also doesn't bother me when our gundog gets a bit either :D

I don't like muddy footprints if i have just washed the floors but then, who would? :D He just leaves the boots outside then or carries them in.....

Have you any sisters?? ;)
    Jokes aside my other half Is a Vegetarion but knows from day 1 I shoot & eat game. No issue with it & took the time to ask questions & educate herself, to the point she sees the hypocracy in those that are anti but indulge in leather goods, steaks etc
    However as she respects my interests & gives me No BS for it I don't leave it hanging in places she has to look at it out of respect.
    For someone to deny you the right to take up a hobby screams to me of Control Freak & you'd have bigger problems. what ever makes your other happy within reason & logic should prevail. Dictating hobbies such as hunting has an ironic touch as it has that 'Bunny Boiler' flavor to it!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭brianfrancis45

My wife was a bit off about the whole shooting thing initially and would always make comments to me like '' the poor bunny rabbit'' or '' how can you even think about eating Bambi'' etc.. etc..
    One day i was telling my youngest lad that it was a fact that if you only ate rabbit and nothing else , the weight would fall off you and if you kept eating only rabbit you would eventually die as rabbit meat is almost pure protein with only a trace of fat. I was then also telling him that venison was one of the lowest fat meats you can eat. The wife's ear cocked up and she chips in with '' don't be telling the lad stupid things now ! '' I said
    '' but its true - if you don't believe me get yourself on the 'puter and check it out for yourself. ''

She did and what a transformation ! Since then every rabbit or bit of venison that comes in the door is greeted with '' Thanks love - THAT WILL WORK WONDERS FOR ME DIET'' . So much for her previous ''anti'' rants ....

And they say that the way to a man's heart is through his stomach....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

i wonder if i fed my one just rabbits.......mmmm;);)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,082 ✭✭✭BadGirl

Have you any sisters?? ;)

1, but unfortunately, she's as bad as some of the wives talked about here, you'd be better off with what you have..... :P
    i wonder if i fed my one just rabbits.......mmmm;);)

Cheeky!!!! :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

johngalway wrote: »
    My girlfriend wants me to get a deer rifle, and wants to do some shooting herself.

I'd take her advice if I were you John,
    There is plenty of deer shooting aroung Galway being 3rd in total for last years cull.
    I'm sure you have been on a stalk so you know what its all about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭sikastag

sorry to get off the point a little,

4gun, where did you get that figure? what was 1st? Wicklow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

4gun wrote: »
    I'd take her advice if I were you John,
    There is plenty of deer shooting aroung Galway being 3rd in total for last years cull.
    I'm sure you have been on a stalk so you know what its all about

I will 4gun, .223 will have to be sold to make up the price though :(

Never been on a stalk actually :eek: , but been called a sneaky f****r more than once so I may be somewhat qualified already :p

How hard can it be :confused:

(famous last words)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭650gs

I brought the other half hunting once she nearly S**T herselfshit.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭endasmail

some of us arent as lucky as you phesantstalker , im married to a maternially crazed gorilla that hates anything to do with shooting , ......having a bad week:D:D

when your wife figures out how to read through your past posts
    you are f**cked
    trust me ,lesson learned from experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭Rangi

Mine is fine about it,she's done a bit of shooting in various places since she met me,although not at anything living.
    I took her to Scotland for a long weekend a few years back,we stayed at my ex's place,and me and her hubby spent the weekend stalking. One of the days we got back just in time to get the girls in the car and down to the pub for the kick off of a Scotland 6 nations match. We sat them at a table further from us and sent them a steak pie and chips(each). The 2 of us got slaughtered(as did Scotland naturally). Her friends weren't at all impressed,especially as the date was Feb 14th,but she seemed happy enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Rangi wrote: »
    Mine is fine about it,she's done a bit of shooting in various places since she met me,although not at anything living.
    I took her to Scotland for a long weekend a few years back,we stayed at my ex's place,and me and her hubby spent the weekend stalking. One of the days we got back just in time to get the girls in the car and down to the pub for the kick off of a Scotland 6 nations match. We sat them at a table further from us and sent them a steak pie and chips(each). The 2 of us got slaughtered(as did Scotland naturally). Her friends weren't at all impressed,especially as the date was Feb 14th,but she seemed happy enough.

She sounds a very understanding lady overall! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭Rangi

Have to admit I am very lucky with her,she tolerates a lot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭fodda

Rangi wrote: »
    Have to admit I am very lucky with her,she tolerates a lot!

Famous last words:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭robbie mars

Went to look at a shotty the other night with one of the mates didn't tell her self and came home she found out hasn't spoke to me since bliss probably in the dog house till the weekend its great all picture no sound what more could a man ask for :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Went to look at a shotty the other night with one of the mates didn't tell her self and came home she found out hasn't spoke to me since bliss probably in the dog house till the weekend its great all picture no sound what more could a man ask for :D:D:D
    I tend to get alot more shootin done when in the dog house :)

Must resist urge to go home and pick a fight..... It is friday after all!

I always know if im annoying herself, shell just turn around and say "shouldnt you be out shooting".. class.:)

sikastag wrote: »
    sorry to get off the point a little,

4gun, where did you get that figure? what was 1st? Wicklow?

going by the cull figures for each county if I remember correct

johngalway wrote: »
    I will 4gun, .223 will have to be sold to make up the price though :(

Never been on a stalk actually :eek: , but been called a sneaky f****r more than once so I may be somewhat qualified already :p

How hard can it be :confused:

well a good 243 will get you the best of both worlds, keep yer sheep safe and fill yer freezer

If no one offers you a day out in Galway, you are welcome to come to Kerry for a look around

There no problem finding the deer, its getting them to stay still long enough 's the trouble :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Woodcock man

I was reading a book lately and saw this brilliant quote:

"My biggest fear in life is that when i die my wife will sell all my shooting gear for the price i said i paid for it"

WCM:):)