Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Dunphy describes Ireland as a Kip, a Dump.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 444 ✭✭RainbowRose81

amacachi wrote: »
    It's funny how foreign people go to Britain for treatment while British people like to go to Malta and Eastern Europe for treatment. It's as though people are just never happy.

Well what I was saying is that I know someone who went to India when they were traveling, they got sick there and they received efficient hospital treatment and care without waiting and it is free to all in their government hospitals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

Well what I was saying is that I know someone who went to India when they were traveling, they got sick there and they received efficient hospital treatment and care without waiting and it is free to all in their government hospitals.

You should have told your friend to tell that to the millions of poor people living in squats and suffering from disease, how many thousands of street children have died in India?

Na, you should have gotten your friend to do a seance and contact Mother Teresa and told her she and her nun friends should never have bothered or continue to bother to give aid to thousands of kids in India, sure hospital care is free to all and is efficient!

You should have told your friend to tell that to the millions of poor people living in squats and suffering from disease, how many thousands of street children have died in India?

Na, you should have gotten your friend to do a seance and contact Mother Teresa and told her she and her nun friends should never have bothered or continue to bother to give aid to thousands of kids in India, sure hospital care is free to all and is efficient!

Well I was just pointing out what my friend told me. In an underdeveloped country with 1 billion people it is obvious there is going to be a very large variety of major types of problems, the main ones are poverty and corruption but at least if you are actually sick there you can get looked after regardless if you are homeless etc. What does 'na' mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Cool Mo D

Well I was just pointing out what my friend told me. In an underdeveloped country with 1 billion people it is obvious there is going to be a very large variety of major types of problems, the main ones are poverty and corruption but at least if you are actually sick there you can get looked after regardless if you are homeless etc. What does 'na' mean?

No you won't. If you are poor and sick in India, you will die on the street, most likely. India has a national health system, but diseases that haven't been major problems in Ireland for 50 years, like TB, are still killing millions in India. A child is 25 times more likely to die before they reach their 5th birthday in India compared to Ireland.

Western people go to India because doctors wages are low, and regulation is lax, so private medical treatment is a lot cheaper there than here. It's the same reason there was a fad for going to Eastern Europe for major dental work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Not to mention you're far more likely to get sick with their appalling sanitation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

I don't think it would be fair to judge a whole country by one coke-snorting, alcoholic, convicted drink-driver, erstwhile third-rate footballer and failed clown, who nevertheless and inexplicably makes a lot of money by running the place down at every opportunity. Not even the fact that he lives here and does a lot to pollute the climate of opinion among the more oligophrenic segment of the population comes close to making Ireland a "kip".:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Pacifist Pigeon

Was he correct to describe our little country as a dump?

Yes. I find it hard to metaphorically compare it to anything other than a rotten old dump.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Inverse to the power of one!

Ireland.......

Start out with a Beautiful woman, the venus of your minds eye....then:
    1. Add a Tallafornia Accent
    2. Cake her in fake tan, there is no sun.
    3. Add credit card debt with an interest rate so high it'll be a weight around her neck for the rest of her life. Her kids won't inherit anything due to the equity on the house been sold off.
    4. Add an insufferable father who's a religious gombeen who still dictates the rules in her life.
    5. An ex who beat the crap out of her.
    6. Insufferable children whose sense of entitlement has them think pocket money is for life.
    7. House staff who think they should be paid more than the house staff of all the surrounding houses in the neighborhood.
    8. A set of restrictive house rules that all attempts to do things better are slapped down.
    9. A thousand sheds in the garden unused.
    10. A overbearing priest who still calls around despite been caught sexually abusing the younger siblings.
    11. An inability to assert herself in the face of all this.

Ireland is a fúcking amazing country, too bad we're busy ruining it for each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,461 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    I don't think it would be fair to judge a whole country by one coke-snorting, alcoholic, convicted drink-driver, erstwhile third-rate footballer and failed clown, who nevertheless and inexplicably makes a lot of money by running the place down at every opportunity. Not even the fact that he lives here and does a lot to pollute the climate of opinion among the more oligophrenic segment of the population comes close to making Ireland a "kip".:rolleyes::rolleyes:

You're being generous here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Kinetic Eye

Eamon Dunphy in "trying to stir up controversy and wind people up" shocker.

Cool Mo D wrote: »
    No you won't. If you are poor and sick in India, you will die on the street, most likely. India has a national health system, but diseases that haven't been major problems in Ireland for 50 years, like TB, are still killing millions in India. A child is 25 times more likely to die before they reach their 5th birthday in India compared to Ireland.

Western people go to India because doctors wages are low, and regulation is lax, so private medical treatment is a lot cheaper there than here. It's the same reason there was a fad for going to Eastern Europe for major dental work.

So my friend that went there, was she just telling lies? she didn't have health insurance by the way.

Most diseases are caused by poverty and the poor water and sanitation. India and other poor countries are often forgotten because most aid goes to countries in Africa and has been since 1960s

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Where, when?

Source please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Ireland is not a kip. It's a beautiful country and the people are great but it doesn't work. It's been broken by idiocy, greed and incompotence and will remain like that for the forseeable future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Lapin wrote: »
    Where, when?

Source please.

He said it during his Late Late show appearance last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭couldntthink

India and other poor countries are often forgotten because most aid goes to countries in Africa and has been since 1960s

Damn Africans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

He's right about the 'school teachers running the country'. People who used to teach kids in a classroom trying to negotiate with economic geniuses in Brussels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭stevedublin

[*]House staff who think they should be paid more than the house staff of all the surrounding houses in the neighborhood.

House staff? :eek:
    In Ireland?
    Do you live in Killiney?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Care to give us the name of this third world country?

Sligo?:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

well, It's a Kip and a Dump with two halves.......

......the 'Havs', and the 'Have-Nots'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

Hold on a second Eamon. We need to take each country on its merits there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

So my friend that went there, was she just telling lies? she didn't have health insurance by the way.

Most diseases are caused by poverty and the poor water and sanitation. India and other poor countries are often forgotten because most aid goes to countries in Africa and has been since 1960s

There are in fact more poor people in India than the whole African continent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Don Booker

I think RT was pretty disgusted - but then he's not out feeding the homeless at night as Eamon often is. I know it shocked some people but on the streets it's a different color of kettle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Yeap it's a kip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭gigino

Its just that we as a people are not capable of self-governance, and have been sucking at the t*t of other countries ( eg U.K.,EEC, EC ) for too long.
    As a tourist recently commented in a travel article, anything decent was built here by the British - our architecture, harbours, universities, legal system, lighthouses, railways etc. There are some train journeys now in Ireland which take longer than 95 years ago. We have spoilt the countryside with bungalow bliss and ghost estates and squandered borrowed money and structural funds and CAP payments and all the other handouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭Caraville

I don't know, I mean yes it has it's faults and yes we are going through a particularly difficult time in our country's history. But I still love the place. Maybe it's just because almost all of my friends and family are here, and home is where the heart is etc.

I'm a teacher, not permanent and only on part time hours. I know how hard it can be to afford things, not just personally but also I see students every day who are coming from homes that have virtually nothing. But even those students come to a warm safe place in school, and we help them in whatever way we can like giving them free books and uniforms so that their families can keep their money for food.

I posted here recently about places to see in Ireland before you die, and I still maintain that despite everything, we live in one of the most beautiful and unique countries in the world. Yes, politically we need massive reform, and yes, people are suffering from events in the past that were not of their own doing. But we don't suffer with war, famine, extreme weather conditions, dictatorship, ethnic cleansing, poor treatment of women etc. I can completely understand why people may feel disillusioned with things as they are now, but as for describing Ireland as some sort of wasteland? No, I really don't see it as that.

I didn't see Dunphy on the Late Late Show and don't know what he said word for word. But if he did describe Ireland as a kip, I would ask why this is the case.

And in answering my own question, I would suggest that the reason Ireland is such a kip is because its citizens have allowed themselves to be raped, plundered, shagged, and fúcked up the ass by a succession of vested interests in the the civil service, dodgy businessmen, churches and politicians of all persuasions.

If any other nation want lessons in how to screw its own people - look no further than Ireland.

Its one thing we're fúcking world class at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Wattle wrote: »
    Ireland is not a kip. It's a beautiful country and the people are great but it doesn't work. It's been broken by idiocy, greed and incompotence and will remain like that for the forseeable future.

...stick in nepotism, cronyism, and a 'let the devil take the hindmost' attitude and that's probably the complete list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Park Royal

One mans kip can be another mans heaven......

of course far of fields are usually greener....

until you get there and see the cows have crapped in it too...(usually)

the world is so small now , its much easier to go see and decide yourself...

so where might Dunphy take himself to..????

Or will he do like most people will do whinge and whinge but in his case try

make some money out of whinging....

Its an insipid D class celebrity who does not cause a stir now and again.....

just to keep his persona fresh....( hardly fresh in his case but re-energised

perhaps.....in his case)...his agent may have told him to speak out and cause

a flap.....

Like Enda , some people may find things in kip order, others will

not....despite FF , the regulator, Central Bank , Developers et all crashing the

economy.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

gigino wrote: »
    Its just that we as a people are not capable of self-governance, and have been sucking at the t*t of other countries ( eg U.K.,EEC, EC ) for too long.
    As a tourist recently commented in a travel article, anything decent was built here by the British - our architecture, harbours, universities, legal system, lighthouses, railways etc. There are some train journeys now in Ireland which take longer than 95 years ago. We have spoilt the countryside with bungalow bliss and ghost estates and squandered borrowed money and structural funds and CAP payments and all the other handouts.
    In the unlikely event that you can reach your hands far enough up your hole to find your head and pull it out, do yourself a big favour and pick up a history book laddie.

Why is it that posters making these sorts of comments can also usually be found thanking keithAFC and posting anti-Irish noddytalk in the usual threads?

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    In the unlikely event that you can reach your hands far enough up your hole to find your head and pull it out, do yourself a big favour and pick up a history book laddie.

Why is it that posters making these sorts of comments can also usually be found thanking keithAFC and posting anti-Irish noddytalk in the usual threads?

And in the unlikely event that you ever escape from cloud cuckoo land without your rose tinted glasses, you might just happen to notice that Gigino hit the nail firmly on the head.