Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

beef price tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,886 ✭✭✭mf240

Anto_Meath wrote: »
    It like the lad going in Paddy Power, I will win the next bet and that will make up for the losses......

I learned myself but it took me 20 years :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,225 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

mf240 wrote: »
    While they are supported by off farm income and bfp they will continue to gamble.

TBH an awful lot are full time fellas. From what I see most part-time lads seel there weanlings if in suckler's or are in calf to store.

As well you have alot of 50-100 day finisher's but sure let them at it until they finally cop on

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Fireside Solicitor

Few full time lads near me. They’re all the same view this year it will be different! I think it is the fear of letting the shed empty that keeps them at it. Long winter with no cattle in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 971 ✭✭✭leoch

I think its lads are addicted to buying cattle aswell ....its like ur a great or big fella buying all the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭I says

leoch wrote: »
    I think its lads are addicted to buying cattle aswell ....its like ur a great or big fella buying all the time

Lads are used to the same system or get in a rut buying cattle be it the overspending on the ones for the fields beside the road.
    The grass is growing over the ditches I need cattle of any make, shape or price.
    Convenience by overpaying from a dealer.
    The ones that can’t add and lorry meal in cattle because they’ve always done it just so cattle KO over 450kgs.
    The headage payment farmer doesn’t matter just buy to keep the tax man happy.
    The ones whose wife’s wages are keeping the show on the road.
    Find a system to suit yourself this new mart on line while finish the dealers I think. You can buy online now while herself is watching coronation street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,090 ✭✭✭kk.man

I see that fillet steak in Supervalu is 34.99 per kilo prior to this week announcements of offers.

That is pure greed and the mark up verses the beef price of prime cattle is way off quilter. These outrages beef prices should be exposed by farm organisations in these times giving that supermarkets are creaming in profits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,498 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

kk.man wrote: »
    I see that fillet steak in Supervalu is 34.99 per kilo prior to this week announcements of offers.

That is pure greed and the mark up verses the beef price of prime cattle is way off quilter. These outrages beef prices should be exposed by farm organisations in these times giving that supermarkets are creaming in profits.

I see Beef Plan trying to close a factory over the weekend, price of beef will be the least of our worries if they succeed

wrangler wrote: »
    I see Beef Plan trying to close a factory over the weekend, price of beef will be the least of our worries if they succeed

There should be no one trying to close a factory at present. The supermarkets are the profiteers now. IMO that fillet was priced at 34.99 for the last number of weeks as beef price was dropping like a stone. Factories harping on about not being able to shift expensive cuts.

I know it's a small part of the carcass but that's just gluttony at a time when every element of society is suffering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Duke92

There should be no one trying to close a factory at present. The supermarkets are the profiteers now. IMO that fillet was priced at 34.99 for the last number of weeks as beef price was dropping like a stone. Factories harping on about not being able to shift expensive cuts.

I know it's a small part of the carcass but that's just gluttony at a time when every element of society is suffering.

Super valu €24 for fillet
    Heard another they were selling striplion for €10 a kg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Provisional Beef plan or the continuity Beef Plan?

They can't sell the expensive cuts .that's supposed to be what the APS Is for

Jjameson wrote: »
    I seen that. The wording and style of writing in that letter did look a bit similar to some of the beef plan ranting? Would it be possible that it’s not written by a Liffey meats employee?

Apparently they've told the guards and Fran Mc nulty
    It was posted by a person that has been vocal fo a while now

They can't sell the expensive cuts .that's supposed to be what the APS Is for

I heard that from them but if a large supermarket chain is able to retail the most expensive cut at 35 per kg for the last number of weeks it must be a. Confident of getting it shifted and b. Shifting fresh meat is not a gamble hence the use of the term fresh.

The “I can’t believe it’s not beef plan” easy spread real beefplan!

A letter was sent to a chap who is a bit on a covid 19 guru on Facebook. Kristopher Sheckleton. I can’t share link but it supposed to be from a disgruntled fearful Liffey meats employee blowing a whistle on serious breaches of public health.

But the language, wording and punctuation look a little familiar. Hard to know.

Liffey meats responds

https://www.northernsound.ie/liffey-meats-responds-calls-false-claims-staff-welfare/?fbclid=IwAR11z64zLKr-fRWZQAxrpVpv9esaxRCq5GVZQJ8_lTeXpouiJ5k8aD5uYgE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

Base of 345 floating about freely and an increased demand in cows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,268 ✭✭✭Good loser

Totally irrelevant (to the beef farmer) what they charge - the price for producers is set by the export price (published weekly be Bord Bia) as 90% of our beef is exported.

Supervalu were €20.99 for rib eye yesterday - 2 steaks for €11.75.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,268 ✭✭✭Good loser

It down to as simple as this processors will not give winter contracts as long as finishers are willing to take the risk . I think it was in the autumn of 2004 that with slaughter premium going after Christmas that Foyle meats promised a base of a pound/lb or 2.8/kg minimum after Christmas. At the time the beef price was sub 90p/lb or below 2.5/kg. All producers matched it within 2-3 weeks. 10-15 years ago chicken producers were going broke. They looked for contracts. Processors stated it could not happen. Producers closed down sheds as it was not paying and within a year producers put the present system in place where the producer is paid a fixed cost/bird to cover his costs.

In reality it should not matter whether you are sending in 10, a hundred or a thousand. Well over 50% of cattle going for slaughter are finished by lads killing less than 20-30 cattle/year. Lads have to just stop gambling.

My contact told me during the week beef would have been €4 to €4.20 around now if it was not for the virus. Also that cattle are very scarce and that the factories are putting all types of cattle into their feedlots.
    For what it's worth!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,414 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

11 bulls just coming on 16mts.
    R=3 @ €3.40 + vat.
    KO @ 452kg average.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

There must be a bit of demand coming from somewhere. On indo yesterday that they are keener for stock.

Good loser wrote: »
    My contact told me during the week beef would have been €4 to €4.20 around now if it was not for the virus. Also that cattle are very scarce and that the factories are putting all types of cattle into their feedlots.
    For what it's worth!!

Lots of lads with cattle in sheds that were due to finish end of May/June left them back out to grass especially cows. While animals that were storish have thrived these hotish cattle left out since 3-4 weeks ago may have suffered setbacks. We might get 4/kg yet in the next 6-8 weeks. If cattle are scarce any bit if a hold now will raise them 30c/kg

As well with low prices lads at grass will have been slow to start to feed ration. Cattle to be killed in early June would want to be on it now

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭morphy87

Lots of lads with cattle in sheds that were due to finish end of May/June left them back out to grass especially cows. While animals that were storish have thrived these hotish cattle left out since 3-4 weeks ago may have suffered setbacks. We might get 4/kg yet in the next 6-8 weeks. If cattle are scarce any bit if a hold now will raise them 30c/kg

I know two men that had over80 cows to go each, both let them out on grass 3 weeks ago, if a lot of cattle were grazed instead of finished out of the will this cause a back log at the end of the year? If 4 Euro is got this year it would be great considering how things went the last few weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭memorystick

Should I be optimistic? Started feeding a batch of Fr this week

morphy87 wrote: »
    I know two men that had over80 cows to go each, both let them out on grass 3 weeks ago, if a lot of cattle were grazed instead of finished out of the will this cause a back log at the end of the year? If 4 Euro is got this year it would be great considering how things went the last few weeks

Lot of cattle killed already this year. Numbers are supposed to be 60-80K less than last year. Might not be the glut lads think either.

I had the same taught myself but I am reluctant

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

There are reasons to be optimistic but ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Dickie10

A lot more chance of €3/kg than 4. sure i suppose they can keep on hacking away at the beef price , nothing anyone can do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Duke92

There will be no more cuts until early June perhaps?

You’d wonder what’s going on with guys buying stores
    Kilkenny Mart was nuts the prices that were paid and I don’t think there was one classy animal in it

Duke92 wrote: »
    Kilkenny Mart was nuts the prices that were paid and I don’t think there was one classy animal in it

Fellas will tell you a shed never pays. a lot of these lads think there is huge work feeding a few cattle over the winter. Last Autumn after a GAA meeting a local lad that was after selling a few Cattle that he had all summer. He is a self employed professional. There were AA yearling bullocks and left a bit with a 100 euro after marts costs.

There was a few fellas says that was the year that was in it. I just said that I try not to have any animal inside the gate that is not leaving at least 200 euro ''net margin''. The guy that is a profession said you mean ''gross margin''.

I explained that no I ment net margin as I wanted cattle that would leave over 500 euro minimum in 12 months between buying and selling to achieve that margin. There was a few eyebrows raised when I told them I was doing it too. As a friend of mine says too many farmers at ''monkey see monkey do''

All it takes is to have a system in place

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

Duke92 wrote: »

Summer grazing is a zero margin game and always was. Think you have to be prepared for at least one winter to make anything off them.

As I suspected, processors wouldn't keep killing if there was any risk...... they're not fools.

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/meat-plant-clusters-not-a-food-safety-concern-fsai/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,837 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Not worried about the product having contamination, it won't. Leave anything aside for 72 hours and the virus is dead. It's the workers. A small cluster in any operation is acceptable and expected.
    I equally care if their Irish, Brazilian or East Timoresean.