Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

beef price tracker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

blue5000 wrote: »
    I think that's the only reason for the price drop;)

Feed lots to fill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,422 ✭✭✭tanko

blue5000 wrote: »
    I think that's the only reason for the price drop;)

Don't worry, I'm sure the competition authority will be in straight away to investigate why all the different processors have dropped their prices by the same amount at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

tanko wrote: »
    Don't worry, I'm sure the competition authority will be in straight away to investigate why all the different processors have dropped their prices by the same amount at the same time.

Yea you all know who are complaining to the CA already about it :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,713 ✭✭✭50HX

bit out of touch with prices at the moment

what would ye think that a CHx cow easily 750kg with 2month old twin heifer calves at foot make at the mart

i'm thinking ~2k for the 3 of them
    cow would make ~1200 and say 400 a piece for the 2 calves

am i way out on the prices???

should i factory the cow myself and let the calves off to the mart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,136 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Probably worth a touch more. What age is the cow?

cow is 13 - bless her - brings a serious calf every year but time for the road;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Got quoted 5c over base today cattle are scarce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭Cassidy2

I said wrote: »
    Got quoted 5c over base today cattle are scarce

What was the base?

50HX wrote: »

what would ye think that a CHx cow easily 750kg with 2month old twin heifer calves at foot make at the mart

Do not know what the calves are worth. it may be wort while splitting them. Saw cows that weight making 1350+ last week. These could have been killed or were capable of further feeding as well. Cows may only have been 10 or 11 years old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

as a unit 2200/2300

thanks for the replies

split them and ended up bringing the calves home - wrong day to sell them

cow @800kg made 1360 - happy with that

thanks for the replies

What were you getting for calves?

twin heifers- 550 for the 2

to be fair one of them is v average but the other is in good shape for 3mnths- i'll stick both of em on nuts now and let em off on aftergrass with the other weanlings in a week or so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

thanks for the replies

Jaysus. I'm very glad I factoried my one!

Kovu wrote: »

Orange ch cow in Kk well fleshed still only an R grade 820kg €1720

simx wrote: »
    Orange ch cow in Kk well fleshed still only an R grade 820kg €1720

Will ya whist with your sensible comments! :D

Kovu wrote: »

well done.....what weight and price did you get??

She KO'd at 400. Seriously underestimated her weight. Price was 3.9. But she was sucking a calf to two weeks before.

Them good contenintal cow lots of lads fail to realize there ability to put on Flesh and weight. THey will kill a bit over 50% alot of the time compared to Fresians that will only kill 45%. Processors compete for them giving prices that are comparable to younger stock prices especially if you have a few. Alot will grade U as well if well finished.

One lads tells me he slaughters cows at 10 years of age regardless. His thinking on it is that if a cow is to go wrong it will be the first two times she calves and after 10 years of age. He culls anything that gioves an issue in the first two calvings. This gives him a culling rate of about 20% . The way he looks at it all these cows come into about 25% more than a finished heifer.

€4 flat o&p bullocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,482 ✭✭✭epfff

Under or over age

epfff wrote: »
    Under or over age

All overage

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Them good contenintal cow lots of lads fail to realize there ability to put on Flesh and weight. THey will kill a bit over 50% alot of the time compared to Fresians that will only kill 45%. Processors compete for them giving prices that are comparable to younger stock prices especially if you have a few. Alot will grade U as well if well finished.

One lads tells me he slaughters cows at 10 years of age regardless. His thinking on it is that if a cow is to go wrong it will be the first two times she calves and after 10 years of age. He culls anything that gioves an issue in the first two calvings. This gives him a culling rate of about 20% . The way he looks at it all these cows come into about 25% more than a finished heifer.
    That's a good policy there. Lot better than taking a chance and having to pay to send to knackery. If lads sat down for half an hour and analyzed what went to the knackery in a year they'd be a lot wiser.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

I see the indivdual that that designed the grid system want to change the pricing structure again.

Won it just cheapen the greater majority of prime beef carcasses for the processers given than the far greater percentage of prime cattle grade o- or worse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭welton john

Willfarman wrote: »
    I see the indivdual that that designed the grid system want to change the pricing structure again.

Won it just cheapen the greater majority of prime beef carcasses for the processers given than the far greater percentage of prime cattle grade o- or worse?

Was looking at that too,would it not level up the playing field for the suckler man producing quality weanlings & stores as price difference at the minute doesnt justify costs.Or will the factories just be more inclined to source the cheaper cattle rather than the U's ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

The grading machines should be consistent and calibrated independently to the abattoirs
    first and foremost!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,660 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Willfarman wrote: »
    The grading machines should be consistent and calibrated independently to the abattoirs
    first and foremost!
    + 1 and a pet hate of mine.
    I cannot understand why NSAI (National Standards Authority) an approved body, are not responsible for the authenticity and accuracy of meat factory grading machines.

Beef back next week.but be a strong seller/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,713 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Cassidy2 wrote: »
    Beef back next week.but be a strong seller/
    have you EVER posted a positive post

whelan2 wrote: »
    have you EVER posted a positive post

Do you want the Truth or Lies? You tell me