Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dash cam saves your ass (no Roundabout stuff please :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

rizzodun wrote: »
    From the UK, one lucky guy.

Holy brown pants batman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Bloody hellfire that big transit just gets batted aside. Slow reactions from the driver, bad show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭gutteruu

Van driver handled that really well. Didn't over compensate. Seems as if he knew it was coming though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

He's very lucky he wasn't pulling a full load behind him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

From watching the video the guy videoing was also not reading ahead and the van you can see swerving ahead of the truck that hit the trailer, but was lucky to move across that is one dangerous stretch with no hard shoulder.

Any motorway or dual carriageway should have to have a shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,278 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Back home one morning last week, bright morning sunlight blinded me badly. Luckily slowed down immediately.

And actually I saw even less than you can see on that video.

00:19

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

If this thread has taught me one thing it's to NEVER drive in Russia!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,683 ✭✭✭✭wonski

joujoujou wrote: »
    Back home one morning last week, bright morning sunlight blinded me badly. Luckily slowed down immediately.

And actually I saw even less than you can see on that video.

00:19

Sunglasses is a must sometimes. Not sure if it would help in that case...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,278 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

wonski wrote: »
    Sunglasses is a must sometimes.
    I had them on. :)
    Not sure if it would help in that case...
    No difference at all. :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

If sunglasses, then polarised, anything else is nowhere near as good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Sunglasses is a must sometimes. Not sure if it would help in that case...

2dvpj5i.jpg

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,284 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Came across this one today on 22 words.

And not a single f*ck was given that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Fecking hell!! the calmness of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Stoners and cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

SpaceTime wrote: »

I drove in Russia and Lithuania...and it's ten times worse than these videos.

I'd agree with you there BMJD, Poland I've driven in many times as well. On the motorways they are quite good - dont stay in the fast lane for no reason etc and they have a decent speed limit of 140km/h. However, the moment you get onto their normal roads all hell breaks loose.
    Trucks overtaking on blind bends or on hills, cars acting the same. Extremely dangerous.
    Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia almost all the same driving standards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

BMJD wrote: »
    I drove in Russia and Lithuania...and it's ten times worse than these videos.

You can see that with the way these lads and lasses drive when they come here to live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

SpaceTime wrote: »
    It's taught me to only drive a tank if I ever go over there. Everyone stops of a tank :pac: :P

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,015 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

the_syco wrote: »
    . Everyone stops of a tank :pac: :P
    And if they don't, well, it won't be your problem :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

Did someone just ask for more Russian dashcam videos?

How about 3?

Little more from the way home.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,015 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

MarkR wrote: »
    Did the taxi driver sh1t himself when he ran that red :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dh0011

CramCycle wrote: »
    Did the taxi driver sh1t himself when he ran that red :P

Perhaps. I reckoned he drove like that as the turtle's head was out. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

dh0011 wrote: »

Those type are fairly generic. You would get them cheaper on ebay.
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/IR-Car-DVR-Dash-Cam-Camera-Road-Video-Recorder-Night-Vision-270-monitor-6LED-/300869897224?pt=UK_CCTV&hash=item460d3e4c08

They are OK but factor in an SD card . They work fine as a safety cam to keep you free of blame. Plenty of reviews online

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dh0011

thanks brokenarms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭rocky

MarkR wrote: »

Is it a general rule, but here in Galway there's 4 seconds after lights going red to going green for the other cars... Doesn't make it ok to jump red lights, but did you see the clips in Russia? if you're not stopping on amber, you get t-boned...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,789 ✭✭✭✭josip

rocky wrote: »
    Is it a general rule, but here in Galway there's 4 seconds after lights going red to going green for the other cars... Doesn't make it ok to jump red lights, but did you see the clips in Russia? if you're not stopping on amber, you get t-boned...

Isn't that also the reason why in Ireland we haven't adopted the Red-Orange-Green sequence of lights as used in the UK?
    I read somewhere and was told by a County Engineer that because we are a nation of "ambler gamblers" that if people were ready to move off on green, here there would be a lot more accidents.

Mind you, I'm not aware of many other countries having a Red, Orange, Green sequence. Are the British more low abiding on amber than other countries?

Russians are mad. And taxi drivers. Wonder what a russian cab driver is like?

josip wrote: »
    Isn't that also the reason why in Ireland we haven't adopted the Red-Orange-Green sequence of lights as used in the UK?
    I read somewhere and was told by a County Engineer that because we are a nation of "ambler gamblers" that if people were ready to move off on green, here there would be a lot more accidents.

Mind you, I'm not aware of many other countries having a Red, Orange, Green sequence. Are the British more low abiding on amber than other countries?

In Poland, Germany, Lithuania they have that sequence.
    Italy, I believe France as well have the Irish sequence. I believe the States also have our sequence