Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dash cam saves your ass (no Roundabout stuff please :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

rocky wrote: »
    Same roundabout, watch the red volvo
    Dunno what the local lane markings are but it would seem he's in the correct lane for someone taking the third exit. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭projectgtr

DeepBlue wrote: »
    Dunno what the local lane markings are but it would seem he's in the correct lane for someone taking the third exit. :confused:

but still looks like hes indicating right to continue around the roundabout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭sentient_6

DeepBlue wrote: »

There are no road markings. The exit is straight on so left lane. This is exactly the problem. Some drivers are up to date with rules of the road, some are not but think they're doing it correct going by out of date standards, & most just close their eyes & hope for the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭BohsCeltic

sentient_6 wrote: »
    There are no road markings. The exit is straight on so left lane. This is exactly the problem. Some drivers are up to date with rules of the road, some are not but think they're doing it correct going by out of date standards, & most just close their eyes & hope for the best.

It's not though, it's the third exit and nearly at a right angle to the start of the roundabout, I would have taken the right lane

BohsCeltic wrote: »
    It's not though, it's the third exit and nearly at a right angle to the start of the roundabout, I would have taken the right lane

What are you on about? I'm very familiar with that particular roundabout & that exit is straight on. The exit number is utterly & completely irrelevant.

That's the straightest right turn i've ever seen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭rocky

this is the roundabout we were coming from 8 o'clock and exiting at 2.

BohsCeltic wrote: »
    That's the straightest right turn i've ever seen

You have me rightly confused now. I'm not sure why i'm bothering with someone who doesn't know what a right angle is anyway.

In case it isnt obvious enough from rockys post:

2dj6jxz.jpg

And a link to the UPDATED rules of the road, see page 129:
    http://www.rotr.ie/rules-of-the-road-eng.pdf

You have me rightly confused now. I'm not sure why i'm bothering with someone who doesn't know what a right angle is anyway.

In case it isnt obvious enough from rockys post:

2dj6jxz.jpg

And a link to the UPDATED rules of the road, see page 129:
    http://www.rotr.ie/rules-of-the-road-eng.pdf

I don't know the road, from looking the video only the exit does not appear to be straight ahead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭AfterDusk

Here's some of the drivers I've encountered over the last week. Getting so sick of people who are either: a) in their own little world in their vehicle & completely oblivious to just how dangerous they are; or b) those that simply don't give a sh1t3 about anyone else on the road.

Not only was this one in completely the wrong lane (should have been in the slip road off to the left), she wasn't even aware I was beside her until I used the horn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

AfterDusk wrote: »
    Here's some of the drivers I've encountered over the last week. Getting so sick of people who are either: a) in their own little world in their vehicle & completely oblivious to just how dangerous they are; or b) those that simply don't give a sh1t3 about anyone else on the road.

Not only was this one in completely the wrong lane (should have been in the slip road off to the left), she wasn't even aware I was beside her until I used the horn.

What happened at number 3 of your last video? seemed like a normal shoping car park to me, did the first car hit you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

What happened at number 3 of your last video? seemed like a normal shoping car park to me, did the first car hit you?

If I'm correct, there's a one way system in that car park, both cars went the wrong way around it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭AfterDusk

The estate reversed without looking - can't really see it in the video, so actually kinda pointless me uploading it :p

And then the last clown going the wrong way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭DipStick McSwindler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,541 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

lads, can we get past Cinios driving skills or otherwise, this thread isn't a 'rate my driving and pick holes in everything I do' thread.

I've cleaned up the thread, but any further attacks will be dealt with appropriately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

Over 5 minutes of video from Russia to pick holes in, enjoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

wow that russian one was hilarious
    Im never driving there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Taylor365

There's about 40-50 different car crash compilations from eastern Europe on youtube. Think the channel is actually called car crash compilation.

A good reminder of how easy it is to put your life in danger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

That outrageous, he was going ridiculously fast though

I love the way he wasn't fased in the slightest, as soon as the car was out of the way he was straight back flat out.

Can't blame the car driver really, yer man was covering a K every 15 seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

RustyNut wrote: »
    I love the way he wasn't fased in the slightest, as soon as the car was out of the way he was straight back flat out.

Can't blame the car driver really, yer man was covering a K every 15 seconds.

240km/h.
    Wasn't it in Germany?
    If so, then car driver should definitely expect it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Taylor365

Look in wing mirror.

See/hear bike approaching at speed.

Move out in front of bike.

Yup, great move.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Taylor365 wrote: »
    Look in wing mirror.

See/hear bike approaching at speed.

Move out in front of bike.

Yup, great move.
    Not trying to absolve the car driver but a bike approaching at that speed would sound more like an aeroplane overhead than a fellow road user.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,283 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Back to some local stuff. Not a motorist this time.

Guy should be forced to wear mittens! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭robfahy

This a frequent sight on the Headford Road roundabout in Galway. Cars not just running lights that have gone red, but 3-4 cars going through after the lights have changed. I waited a second or two after my light was green before moving off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,224 ✭✭✭Going Forward

robfahy wrote: »
    This a frequent sight on the Headford Road roundabout in Galway. Cars not just running lights that have gone red, but 3-4 cars going through after the lights have changed. I waited a second or two after my light was green before moving off.

What camera do you use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

Get yourself a banger, insure it and then pull straight out when the lights go green ;)

Awful stuff, your right, I see it ever time I'm in Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭Barrel

Shane_ef wrote: »
    Get yourself a banger, insure it and then pull straight out when the lights go green ;)

Awful stuff, your right, I see it ever time I'm in Galway

A green light does not mean "GO" it means proceed with caution

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Barrel wrote: »
    A green light does not mean "GO" it means proceed with caution

Yep, but a stop light doesn't mean "ah shure 'tis grand, 3-4 more cars be alright"
    If you run a red light and hit someone who crossed on green, you will impress no-one in court with that horsesh*t defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,570 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Right of way doesn't imply try to crash if you would be technically in the right...