Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dash cam saves your ass (no Roundabout stuff please :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

housetypeb wrote: »
    Have to now accept I was wrong based on this ordance survey map.
    I see now what Tallon has been saying all along.
    The road after the wall and before the turn into the estate to the left is a driveway, so I should have waited for her to pass before joining the main road..
    There are no stop signs, difference in road surface or road markings after the station wall.
    Me maxima culpa.

There's no need to burn my license, we all live and learn and luckily nobody got hurt.
    robbie7730 wrote: »
    Before the wall, after the wall, its all the same, he is still on the car park exit road.
    :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Dead Ed wrote: »
    Came across an impatient fella in a transit earlier:

I don't even....

If speeds were a bit higher, this could easily end up in one of those russian crash compilations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭bar32

Two way street, that you have to cross HER side of the road to get where you wanted to go, YOU ARE WRONG.

I will back this up, my wife got t-boned by a van doing the same as you. His insurance said he was wrong.

I can see your argument and Tallon's. I agree with yere logic but not yere interpretation. Both the OP and I would view the stretch of tarmac from the gate of the station to the main road that he finally turns right on as a road in itself, with a left turn into an estate before the main road. There is no yield sign to say otherwise from our point of view. Therefore the woman pulled across the OP's lane and was in the wrong. Again I go back to what way you/we interpret the road layout. The stretch of tarmac is fairly straight out towards the main road. I understand that this doesn't automatically imply that you are still on the same road. I hope that we don't drive around with our heads buried in an ordnance survey map. As Tallon said, driving slowly and anticipating the worst is the best bet. I probably would have done the exact same as the OP tbh. Who else would have? Don't bull**** yereselves either.

Edited to say: By interpretation I mean in real-time in the car. Obviously if you interpret the OS map there is only 1 interpretation!! I'm wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

CiniO wrote: »
    If speeds were a bit higher, this could easily end up in one of those russian crash compilations.
    Hah, that's the first thing I thought about when the swearing subsided!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

housetypeb wrote: »

Have to now accept I was wrong based on this ordance survey map.
    I see now what Tallon has been saying all along.
    The road after the wall and before the turn into the estate to the left is a driveway, so I should have waited for her to pass before joining the main road..
    There are no stop signs, difference in road surface or road markings after the station wall.
    Me maxima culpa.

There's no need to burn my license, we all live and learn and luckily nobody got hurt.
    You legend, fair play for admitting! Takes a bigger person to do that!

Osi ftw :D

You don't need road markings, the wall signifies its an entrance so whatever road is after that has right of way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

Tallon wrote: »

Osi ftw :D

We dont need osi. The car park road is not even marked on bing or google maps in the road format.

Anyway, its clearly a car park entrance/driveway when seen from above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Came across an impatient fella in a transit earlier:

I don't even....

\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\clarehall, I see this sort of thing there all the time, and cars speeding out of that mini roundabout after the garage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,855 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Other driver definitely had right of way if that's the spot!

Tallon wrote: »
    Looking at that make's me even more baffled by all the people insisting the OP was right :eek:

There's absolutely no doubt that OP was meant to give way to other car.

What's more interesting though, is what in case the other car was not entering the estate, but coming out of it? OP coming from the same way as on the video.

Who would have right of way then?

I say that in that case it would be OP, as I said before that's a junction of roads of equal importance, so OP would be on the right side and therefore would have right of way.

But surely argument that OP was coming out of gate and therefore joining the road might make some sense as well (however I wouldn't opt for this option).

There's absolutely no doubt that OP was meant to give way to other car.

What's more interesting though, is what in case the other car was not entering the estate, but coming out of it? OP coming from the same way as on the video.

Who would have right of way then?

I say that in that case it would be OP, as I said before that's a junction of roads of equal importance, so OP would be on the right side and therefore would have right of way.

But surely argument that OP was coming out of gate and therefore joining the road might make some sense as well (however I wouldn't opt for this option).
    If she was coming 'out' of the estate, she would still have right of way... The garage is an Entrance / Exit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,855 ✭✭✭✭cormie

It's not really a 3 way junction, the cois caol road starts as soon as you come off the main road and the entrance is only an entrance/exit and would be akin to someone coming out of their driveway as the driver is going either direction in the middle of the estate.

Anyone have any recommendations for a dash cam that would work with 24V?

Every single one with this

Thanks! Problem is truck doesn't have lighter socket. Do ye reckon that converter could be wired into trucks radio power?

Of course. Just cut the wire between converter and plug and solder it into radio power wires. Also would be wise to put a f.e. 5A fuse in between.

Of course. Just cut the wire between converter and socket and solder it into radio power wires. Also would be wise to put a f.e. 5A fuse in between.
    Thanks, CiniO! ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 82 ✭✭aman23

Hah, that's the first thing I thought about when the swearing subsided!

you were lucky he didn't have the caravan with him! but well spotted by you, and you were quick to apply the anchors

Have a look at this fool in the Santa Fe towing a trailer! Two lanes entering a roundabout, so he decides to come up between the two lanes, and drive on the white line through the roundabout. Cant really see it in the vid, but they also decided pretty late that they were coming off at the exit.

This is the junction in question:
    http://maps.google.ie/?ll=53.38505,-6.402551&spn=0.003673,0.009645&t=m&z=17&layer=c&cbll=53.385158,-6.402532&panoid=ZO-2ZxACCbic6PZHGZKgMg&cbp=12,340.48,,0,11.81

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

i thought it looked familiar! :)

that roundabout bugs the fcuk out of me. :(

technically speaking as there's 2 lanes in and 2 lanes out when you are going straight on, you should be able to use both lanes to go straight on, but the left hand lane becomes a bus lane the other side of the pedestrian traffic lights (stupidly placed almost right on top of the roundabout on all exits) which means you need to get into the right hand lane pretty quickly after coming off the roundabout if you aren't already. but then, coming from the opposite direction the left hand lane is left turn only onto the R843 heading towards coolmine ind. estate meaning you should only be in the right hand lane if you are going straight on (which a lot of people just ignore and like to cut everyone else up coming off the other side).

there just always seems to be a disparity at that roundabout between what you'd normally do at your average roundabout, what the ROTR say you should do given the layout of the lanes, signs & road markings and what people actually do on it. :(

/canofworms :pac:

vibe666 wrote: »
    i thought it looked familiar! :)

that roundabout bugs the fcuk out of me. :(

technically speaking as there's 2 lanes in and 2 lanes out when you are going straight on, you should be able to use both lanes to go straight on, but the left hand lane becomes a bus lane the other side of the pedestrian traffic lights (stupidly placed almost right on top of the roundabout on all exits) which means you need to get into the right hand lane pretty quickly after coming off the roundabout if you aren't already. but then, coming from the opposite direction the left hand lane is left turn only onto the R843 heading towards coolmine ind. estate meaning you should only be in the right hand lane if you are going straight on (which a lot of people just ignore and like to cut everyone else up coming off the other side).
    /canofworms :pac:
    Agree 100%. The roundabout is a mess. Normally, if I'm going straight I'll stay in the right lane. The only reason I stayed in left lane in the video was because the bus lane is a 7-7 Mon-Sat, so I continued down the bus lane after coming off roundabout. Constantly see cars going straight when the should go left coming from other direction (actually got a video on the dash cam yesterday). I flashed a car for doing it before, and the driver looked at me like I was in the wrong.

As for the lights coming off the roundabout, who ever decided to put them there needs to be sacked (if the haven't already). Coming from the other direction, they are fine, but coming off the roundabout, they're too close. Its a nightmare when you get a truck in one of the lanes at a busy time, traffic gets bad, very quickly!

I'd say the fella in front of me and the Skoda to the right of the Santa Fe got quite a shock when they looked right/left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭AfterDusk

From a couple of weeks back. Title speaks for itself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

Don't know if these were scumbags or just nutters, but driving the wrong way against traffic on the Quays was a bit daft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

franksm wrote: »
    Don't know if these were scumbags or just nutters, but driving the wrong way against traffic on the Quays was a bit daft

Unmarked Garda car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

Unmarked Garda car?

Doubt it, 2001 and Diesel, didn't think they would have an 11 year old car on fleet and a diesel rather than petrol...

The picture quality is outstanding, I guess the light was particularly good that day though. What camera is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Doubt it, 2001 and Diesel, didn't think they would have an 11 year old car on fleet and a diesel rather than petrol...

The picture quality is outstanding, I guess the light was particularly good that day though. What camera is that?

Should have copped the alloy wheels....it was never gonna be one..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

Should have copped the alloy wheels....it was never gonna be one..:D

That's a Blackvue 400 camera -quality is superb, although at night time it falters a bit - seems to get blinded by headlights.

That Mondeo - it has 5 people in it, some in hoodies, and they're laughing as they drive past. They knew exactly what they were up to, I bet.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

franksm wrote: »

Well I spot a hoodie in the passenger seat...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭deandean

Anyone with a Blackvue 400 having a problem with the system time?

Mine goes funny whenever power is wurned off. Date is AOK +- 1 day but time is all over the place. The unit doesn't pick up GPS time when it locks onto GPS, which is a pain. There is a utility to set the system time which works fine..until next power loss. Region is set to Ireland :confused:

Other than the time, the unit is working great.

[edit] aha, apparently there's a bug in firmware rev 1.39 that's to blame.