Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spawn Trapping Mumbo Jumbo

• Registered Users Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

High killstreaks don't count if you got it by spawn trapping, imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 185 ✭✭Spike2010

TBF anyone who plays Dom and takes 2 flags to win is kinda spawn trapping anyway no? The Xbox lads i've played with beast in Kill Confirmed aswell as Dom, Demo etc. So they don't just "Spawn Trap" Anyway IMO whoever bought the Game can play it as they see fit.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Magill wrote: »
    High killstreaks don't count if you got it by spawn trapping, imo.

Cossax wrote: »
    Unless you were there, like I was, I think you should refrain from making any observations on how Happi kicked the oppositions' asses.

This.

I know you'll say you haven't said it directly but you're certainly suggesting it.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

depends on how you're doing it imo, if you actually protecting flags and bomb sites and not just positioning yourself in a spot you know people will spawn and bombarding them with grenades for kills then its a fair tactic.

I guarantee you not one person who disagrees with spawn trapping has ever seen an enemy player out of their spawn and though "I'll let this guy cap a flag to swing the balance back so I dont feel so bad for spawn trapping these noobs"

mowing over another team is great craic :pac: and if you're on the recieving end then hey, camp for a streak, try get out of the trap and change your tactics, people who just run out of areas they know are well guarded are just being idiotic. like the idiots who file out like lemmings of C flag on Highrise, go UNDER the building you morons stop feeding the guy on the chopper pad kills!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    What's pathetic is thinking spawn trapping takes any bit of skill at all.

What's pathetic is begrudging someone for having a better killstreak than you.

With your previous posts you seem to be a bit of a WUM (thanks Everlast for reminding me of this one).
    You'll notice I've edited my post regards the 47 streak.

And lol @ calling me the wum and you posting the trolling pics, jog on mate.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Editing your post in this case means nothing. In your head you still think he spawn trapped/camped to get that. You only amended your post so people would stop pulling you up on something you know nothing about

• Registered Users Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

Quoted from someone on another forum but reflects my views so I said I'd post it here
    To be honest, spawn trapping is what separates a group of semi-competent players (and I'm using this very liberally here) from players who drool on their keyboards/controllers/whatever/. If you're playing, say, domination, spawn trapping helps ensure that the opponent is spawning directly in front of you and not all over the place like some retarded free-for-all lobby (assuming some mouth breather doesn't say, "GUYS IMH ELPING LOL" and try and rush the spawn trapped flag, flipping the god damned spawn).

This debate should not confuse spawn-trapping and spawn-camping, the latter is a Demo issue due to game design. Spawns never flip or move in that

Spike2010 wrote: »
    TBF anyone who plays Dom and takes 2 flags to win is kinda spawn trapping anyway no? The Xbox lads i've played with beast in Kill Confirmed aswell as Dom, Demo etc. So they don't just "Spawn Trap" Anyway IMO whoever bought the Game can play it as they see fit.

Personally, i don't care how some1 plays the game.. but this thread is on spawn trapping.. and thats my opinion on people who go out of their way to spawn trap. Not directed at anyone in particular from here. Its just "camping" as a team, end of.

Editing your post in this case means nothing. In your head you still think he spawn trapped/camped to get that. You only amended your post so people would stop pulling you up on something you know nothing about
    I don't think he spawn trapped as cossax has claimed otherwise and I believe him,

Don't care if he camped or not, the subject of the title is spawn trapping, which I'm aware he hasn't done and I apologise to him.

However, that doesn't change the fact spawn trapping is a cheap way of getting kills.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭yimrsg

Without having a clear definition of what spawn trapping is (and for a majority concensus) this debate is destined to go around in circles before the inevitable mod intervention of a thread mercy kill.

yimrsg wrote: »
    Without having a clear definition of what spawn trapping is (and for a majority concensus) this debate is destined to go around in circles before the inevitable mod intervention of a thread mercy kill.
    What's your definition of it?

Maybe we're all getting mixed up?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

How would people feel about this definition?
    Controlling 60-80% of the map in the aim of ensuring the enemy team spawns only in the remaining 20-40% thus making it easier to predict enemy location and as a result make it easier to maximize kills and minimize deaths.

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭OriginalTom

Surely you mean it's a way for good players to get easy kills? It's the bad players who get spawn trapped in the first place. Duh.

wtf-gif.2529

• Registered Users Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭yimrsg

What's your definition of it?

Maybe we're all getting mixed up?

I'd base it on average life, so if you spawn and die within 3 or 4 seconds.

I split the blame 3 ways:
    1. opposition team for doing it,
    2. the games designers for not fixing it and
    3. our own team for not countering it.

Played a game last night against an organised team on domination and they didn't spawn trap us (mw3's spawns are too random) but they definitely picked and stayed the most advantagous areas in the map. Simply put they controlled the map better and won .

Once a spawn trap happens it requires little effort and brings in huge rewards. You can replace the underlined part with the blackbird from blackops, the recon drone from mw3, the chopper in cod4, camping, head-glitching etc, oma/dc/noobtube so there are plenty of other things which are overpowered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭TheLynx

I believe spawn trapping is a tactic of the good players, you have to put in time to learn the spawn points of the other team on the map and be good enough to trap them,

I find that spawn trapping is less relevant on mw3 due to the random nature of spawns compared to mw2 where it was predictable

Bad players are the ones that get spawn trapped

• Registered Users Posts: 563 ✭✭✭ugglasdav

if your playing demo, and your in a full party against a load of randoms, the only thing you can really do is spawn trap, your not going to tell your team mates to back off and let them plant, your also not going to sit back towards the middle of the map and wait for them either

But where is the enjoyment of killing them after four seconds over and over again, I mean I know you can get high KS's, but it's not challenging really, is it?

TheLynx wrote: »
    I believe spawn trapping is a tactic of the good players, you have to put in time to learn the spawn points of the other team on the map and be good enough to trap them,

I find that spawn trapping is less relevant on mw3 due to the random nature of spawns compared to mw2 where it was predictable

Not really tho... any party can spawn trap as long as they're not complete donkeys. I certainly wouldn't consider everyone who is capable of spawn trapping a "good" player, most of them are probably pretty bad if they're not grouped up. most of the time you'll end up vs a team of randomers anyway and we all know how good most randomers are !

If you're talking about spawn trapping decent, organised players.. i might agree with your post. But you aren't and I don't.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭GEasy

ugglasdav wrote: »
    if your playing demo, and your in a full party against a load of randoms, the only thing you can really do is spawn trap, your not going to tell your team mates to back off and let them plant, your also not going to sit back towards the middle of the map and wait for them either

But then you wouldn't get the three rounds for your choppers and dogs! :p

I don't think it takes any sort of real skill to spawn trap. Once you have a full / partially full party it's pretty easy.
    I remember many times coming up against these 'beasts' judging by their stats (4+ KD ratios) in the pre game lobbies before going into a demo match. Needless to say they weren't very good and duly left after we got fast plant off.

I'm honestly a tad surprised about the stance some of the posters here are taking to the whole kill whoring demo debate. I've obviously misjudged a lot of people!

Spawn trapping is insanely boring in a public environment. If you're playing in a full party against a group of completely random players, you have no excuse to spawn trap to the point where they can't even move out of spawn.

Surely the excitement of being a 'good' player is winning convincingly and quickly, rather than quite literally shooting fish in a barrel?

Also, to then boast about having such a high k/d and killstreak as a result of spawn trapping is just so pathetic. The amount of times I've lone wolfed against full parties trying to spawn trap and just ruined their day is unbelievable.

The problem is that anyone who spawn traps thinks they're semi decent, but as soon as they face another player of a similar or better standard they are immediately on the back foot.

Competitive spawn trapping is different, you're actually playing against players who are communicating and aren't complete drips. Video below is evidence for that, from ECL2, Flame Retardant get H2K in the nasty Havana spawn trap but only after an age of having to force them into it and great gun skill.

View from about 2:20 onwards to see what I mean:

http://youtu.be/qCdM2K2-u-w

• Registered Users Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Thomasheen

I'd be the guy to run in and flip a spawn trap. I just cant sit back and pick people off because it's as dull as sitting in a corner to me. I've gotten angry messages from "pros" before for wrecking thier spawn trap whereas I dont care if I die I just want to kill lots of people

• Registered Users Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

I'm so insecure about being called an MLG spawn-trapping camper that I find a nice corner of the map and go AFK for the whole match so that the other team can win :)

fjsanchez wrote: »
    I'm so insecure about being called an MLG spawn-trapping camper that I find a nice corner of the map and go AFK for the whole match so that the other team can win :)

I know you're comment is written in an ironic fashion, but if anyone ever actually does what MLG Call of Duty, you'll see that there Spawn Trapping is essentially Spawn Minding. Being aware of the other team's spawn points and having dedicated slayers to slow them down off respawn is crucial to competitive play.

My worst experience at LAN was being completely shut out for about 90 seconds by 2 players on Summit, CTF, playing against LLL (Professional Dutch Team) where I just could not leave my spawn. They weren't standing behind me knifing me as I spawned or shooting me the second I spawned, they were simply not allowing me to gain map control which takes a lot of skill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭Socialist_Pig

WUM (thanks Everlast for reminding me of this one).

Its also a small town some where in africa iirc:pac:

spawn trapping is crap when you are on the recieving end of it.

Only realy started playing demolition and domination in BLOPS and now mw3.It doesnt happen all that often.

Having said that,if I get thrown into a game where its 36 to 170 and im spawn trapped I will quit.The other side of the coin is if i've been there from the start of the game I'll suck it up like a b1tch.

In fairness think some one posted a vid on the megab1tch thread where somebody got 90+kills by basically aiming at an empty space and waited for people to spawn(a bit like when a tac insert is used).Thats bad form and to me is a using an exploit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭Socialist_Pig

TheLynx wrote: »

From your previous posts in the CoD forum I dont think you move from where you spawn anyway irrespective of your team being spawned trapped:pac:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 6,331 Mod ✭✭✭✭PerrinV2

So with all this talk of spawn trapping I thought I'd go to onto black ops for a game of demo.
    Lo and behold 1st game in I come up against the [Dark] clan,I had a feeling where this was going and sure enough they set about the spawn trap.
    1st round we're defending and they're attempting the spawn trap and they get most of the team(I manage to sneak out on the sly).1 minute in...............actually this story is way too long suffice to say we won the 1st round,they call in their killstreaks 2nd round but we plant both sites.
    They feck off before they blow.
    Douchebags as they were hosting too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Creasy_bear

From your previous posts in the CoD forum I dont think you move from where you spawn anyway irrespective of your team being spawned trapped:pac:

Headshot!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 6,331 Mod ✭✭✭✭PerrinV2

Caught up to the dark clan again,one of their clans had left,got put on their teams for a few games while they spawn trapped(i went browsing the net).Finally got put against them.......they leave the lobby

• Registered Users Posts: 54,006 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Headshot!

What?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

Headshot wrote: »
    What?

I think he means he scored a Headshot with the comment. :p