Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sayings.....Rural/Regional even Funny!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭red bull

A tall girl " she'd ate hay outta a loft"

• Registered Users Posts: 817 ✭✭✭shar01

We were talking last night about stuff my grand-dad would say.

Not sure if it's a Limerick thing but when you'd ask him where was he going he'd say "I'm going to Ardagh for chaff, will you follow me with the bag."

• Registered Users Posts: 10,707 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Any one familiar with the expression 'to turn inside out'. I used it a bit recently to describe an animal that got better looking after being sick for a while. Got some funny reactions when I used it. I thought it would be very common.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Any one familiar with the expression 'to turn inside out'. I used it a bit recently to describe an animal that got better looking after being sick for a while. Got some funny reactions when I used it. I thought it would be very common.

Yeah hear one or two using it usually referring to fields getting slurry etc.
    Jaysus the field was turned inside out after the pig slurry.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Yea we'd use turn inside out of an animal under a bit of a fail suddenly got back thriving. Like after a worm dose or that.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,019 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

2 good ones I heard over Christmas were 'out the gap' for finishing work. as in 'come 5 o clock I'm out the gap'!

And 'elected' meaning you're made up. E.g. If you bought those shares before thw price went up then you're elected.

• Registered Users Posts: 352 ✭✭Snowfire

I asked a fella lately how he was. He replied “ah pulling the devil by the tail “. Haven’t a clue what it means or how he actually was..

• Registered Users Posts: 29,197 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Snowfire wrote: »
    I asked a fella lately how he was. He replied “ah pulling the devil by the tail “. Haven’t a clue what it means or how he actually was..
    A lad that worked here years ago used to say that to us and put the terrors up us, he also used to tell us the boogie man would take us away

• Registered Users Posts: 24,378 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

It means ya have the devil by the tail so that you know where he is at all times.

Usually means you're tempting fate/low on funds in the bank round here.

Means your doing ok around here as you know where the devil is

• Registered Users Posts: 20,019 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Reggie. wrote: »

It means ya have the devil by the tail so that you know where he is at all times.
    Having a tiger by the tail mens you know there the tiger is but it could turn on you. I always took pulling the devil by the tail to mean the same thing. E.g. changing your arm and it's going grand for now.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Having a tiger by the tail mens you know there the tiger is but it could turn on you. I always took pulling the devil by the tail to mean the same thing. E.g. changing your arm and it's going grand for now.

Same with "are ya busy" and the reply "Keeping the wolf from the door sure"

• Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭MeTheMan

Reply to 'How's things?'

Hanging on like a loose button.

One I heard years ago in the pub when two lads had a bit of a falling out.

Lad one: I'll kick the sh1t outa ya.

Lad two: You wouldnt kick with pain ya cnut ya.

The laughing stopped the disagreement there.

MeTheMan wrote: »
    Reply to 'How's things?'

Hanging on like a loose button.

One I heard years ago in the pub when two lads had a bit of a falling out.

Lad one: I'll kick the sh1t outa ya.

Lad two: You wouldnt kick with pain ya cnut ya.

The laughing stopped the disagreement there.

Or ya wouldn't kick your way outta a wet paper bag

• Registered Users Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭zetecescort

You wouldn't bate snow off a rope or you wouldn't bate eggs with a hammer

Ya wouldn't kick a hot coal off your foot.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭Grueller

Same with "are ya busy" and the reply "Keeping the wolf from the door sure"

Asked my mechanic this same question recently, seriously laid back man.
    Are ya busy Joe?
    Sure I could be if I wanted to.

Thought it was a great reply.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

You wouldn't bate snow off a rope or you wouldn't bate eggs with a hammer

You wouldn't keep $hit away from a sick turkey is a favourite of the oul boy.

• Registered Users Posts: 616 ✭✭✭Jeju

About lazy people.... Laziness they will never offend

• Registered Users Posts: 2,317 ✭✭✭razor8

The local priest was visiting a sick persons house where the outlook wasn’t looking good. In the middle of a prayer he says do you denounce the devil and all his work...... when a person in the room announces “this isn’t the time to be making any enemies”

A sleepy pig never refused a spud. Heard that from the AI man yesterday after I told him that young bull of ours could be too lazy to bull cows :D

• Registered Users Posts: 10,707 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Two I heard on the tv series Hardy Bucks. From the same character.

'If there was work in the bed, he'd sleep on the floor.'

'You should see the one he's with now. She'd tear up the floor boards looking for pipe.'

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭Grueller

Two I heard on the tv series Hardy Bucks. From the same character.

'If there was work in the bed, he'd sleep on the floor.'

'You should see the one he's with now. She'd tear up the floor boards looking for pipe.'

Often heard the 1st one but the second one is class.

That's the craic she said with her leg above on the table.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

Can someone explain!?

• Registered Users Posts: 975 ✭✭✭decky1

warfie35 wrote: »
    yer man is so safe he'd mind mice at a cross roads for ya

or sneeky 'he shave a sleeping mouse':D

a bad tradesman [insert trade] if he's ever hung for being a plasterer he'll die innocent'

as cute as a Wet Fox.

A bad footballer' he would'nt get a kick in a horse box'