Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day - Part II

• Registered Users Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

RoverJames wrote: »
    I used to think that too, wait 'till your 31 :(
    Bah kids these days, ye have it all so easy, I remember a time when if I wanted to change the channel on tv, I had to get up off the couch
    v240gltse wrote: »
    here you go , no tax or nct and bad pic of car but for 300e may be worth a look :
    linky
    brendan

bad picture brendan cant see jack in that and if it doesnt have nct or tax for at least 2-3 months then its a no go.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,201 ✭✭✭ongarite

Fiat Siecento for €850:
    Full?id=9364228

Fiat Punto for €1300. New clutch, long NCT, open to offers.
    Full?id=9363765

Former bangernomics, worth more for parts?
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2816745

• Registered Users Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭Mad_Mike

I suppose this would qualify
    €500 and 5 months NCT

Full?id=9365103

Nice for €500 with 7 months NCT and timing belt just done. 1.4 engine also
    Full?id=9363488

1998 Alfa Romeo 156, 1.8ltr, 102000 miles, Nct till August 2012
    €450

Full?id=9362909

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

• Registered Users Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭hdowney

dgt wrote: »

the arse on that car :D

• Registered Users Posts: 14 gonso

2000 Mitsubishi Colt (I rang and he said he'd take €600)

Looks clean enough too

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2871404

• Registered Users Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

dgt wrote: »

Unless you were going to get classic insurance, clean it up and only take it out the odd Sunday, that car is pretty much useless.
    A waste of 500 lids really without a test. Well, if you could afford the tax, fuel and costs to get it a test, fair play.
    I know its cheap, but there is a good reason.
    Not really BNomics imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Perfect for the Euro Scene boys. Talk about blank canvas :D

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2841535

View2-9232054.jpeg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Chuck was taken

Saab Ed wrote: »

View2-9232054.jpeg

Seen that up a good while ago..Could be something wrong with it?

• Registered Users Posts: 634 ✭✭✭JustLen

If I was looking for a runaround. few quid off the askin would make it even sweeter
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2874839

• Registered Users Posts: 4,973 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

This is actually pretty good price, the guy dosent relize its a 5 door but hey.
    http://www.adverts.ie/car/honda/civic/honda-civic-1-6-for-sale/852988

its a rare enough model, the SE if I am not mistaken and was the redesign before Honda went into Spaceship land.

Saab Ed wrote: »

View2-9232054.jpeg
    Jesus I'm nearly tempted!!
    I'm always looking for something different

• Registered Users Posts: 23,264 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I dont get it at all. Why all the interest in that thing?

• Registered Users Posts: 64,794 ✭✭✭✭unkel

mickdw wrote: »
    I dont get it at all. Why all the interest in that thing?

You could put your own stickers on it and look like Delboy? :confused:

cadaliac wrote: »
    Unless you were going to get classic insurance, clean it up and only take it out the odd Sunday, that car is pretty much useless.
    A waste of 500 lids really without a test. Well, if you could afford the tax, fuel and costs to get it a test, fair play.
    I know its cheap, but there is a good reason.
    Not really BNomics imo.

For someone like myself, who collects luxobarges, it's a viable option. Granted not practical or cheap to run but if I had the room and spare cash I'd snap that up. It's a lot of car for not a lot of money ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭cson

Out of interest, would you lads recommend a bangernomics car as a first car?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

cson wrote: »

I'd say majority of folk here has had a banger as a first car, unless your the 1%, go for it

My first car was free and my first insured car I assembled myself :pac:

Keep watching out in this thread for Fiestas, crackin little car they are and often go for peanuts :)

The reason I ask is I'll be buying in September-ish and whilst I'd love one of the Saab/Volvo luxobarges and could afford the tax on them unfortunately the €10k or so insurance they'd likely quote a 24yr old I can't afford. [Out of interest, I imagine if something goes wrong with that type of car they cost a fortune to put right, well the parts would be more expensive anyway?]

I'd rather have something different than a cheapie reliable Festy but the options appear limited :P

starting out small is a wise move cson, you can get handy at driving, keep your costs low and learn a bit about the car, at the end of the day you have the ability to get from A to B which is what it's all about really. If your out to impress the lads and lassies pulling up in a big luxobarge one week, and the next week they hear its fell apart on you, it dont look good :pac:, safe bet is a corrolla they're handy, cheap to keep running and aren't extra loaded for insurance. The 1.3 pre 97 are a great yoke but get a good mechanic whom you trust to suss one out for you, so you'll have trouble free cheap motoring.

There's a lot of options out there, keep looking over the next while and see where you are.

Cheers padma, should mention that I'm not new to the game, have 5 years named experience so hopefully that'd count in my favour.

ah sure, you'll be grand so, it will hold to you when it comes to your first insurance. tbh, insurance aint that bad I've been on the cheap with cars the past 6 years or so and always under a grand. Always bought through people I knew in the trade who set me right. The one time I didn't I ended up with a lemon which thought me what to look out for ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,730 ✭✭✭E39MSport

padma wrote: »
    I'd say majority of folk here has had a banger as a first car, unless your the 1%, go for it

Brand new civic :p

Planted it in a wall week 1 :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭barura

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2814305

View2-9124127.jpeg

VW Polo Estate. Handy yokes for moving stuff around. Knock the price down to about 700 and it'd be a sweet deal. At least for me... If I had money. :o

And a nice 626 for 445euro with a years NCT.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2609874

View2-8271966.jpeg

The Polo was a token thing by the way. :)

The reason I ask is I'll be buying in September-ish and whilst I'd love one of the Saab/Volvo luxobarges and could afford the tax on them unfortunately the €10k or so insurance they'd likely quote a 24yr old I can't afford. [Out of interest, I imagine if something goes wrong with that type of car they cost a fortune to put right, well the parts would be more expensive anyway?]

I'd rather have something different than a cheapie reliable Festy but the options appear limited :P
    Cheers padma, should mention that I'm not new to the game, have 5 years named experience so hopefully that'd count in my favour.

If you have a full license and 5 years named driver experience a policy on a Saab or Volvo 2.0 wouldn't be so bad me thinks.
    Regarding costing a fortune to put right, it depends what goes wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,201 ✭✭✭ongarite

Jag X-Type for €999. No tax or NCT, could be dodgy (probably is..)
    Full?id=9380793

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

wonder what the crack with the jag is?