Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day - Part II

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

-Chris- wrote: »
    For explanation of weirdness, read the first post... :D

...and there goes my chance of having started the biggest thread on boards evvah ...

...sniff :D

• Registered Users Posts: 23,264 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Saab Ed wrote: »
    A real good honest looking old skool luxo barge. Cheap too ....

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2861698

View2-9316963.jpeg
    That looks like a serious bargain. Looks clean and original

• Registered Users Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

All banger, very little nomics.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2862474

• Registered Users Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭tinofapples

I Was VB wrote: »

Oh yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭flazio

At that price I'd nearly run a reg check with the Guards first.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,186 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

flazio wrote: »

At that price I'd nearly run a reg check with the Guards first.

Does look very cheap but plenty of them cars going for slightly more money, theres little demand at all for these cars now so I'd say the chap just wants rid of in a short space of time, it is an almost 13 year old car at the end of the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭barura

Those cars are very comfy! Nice one. Probably get it for 7 if you haggle the tax if it has none.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I would touch one of those, apparently the electrics were veerryy bad until much later in the 00's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭barura

I would touch one of those, apparently the electrics were veerryy bad until much later in the 00's.
    I've a spare ECU etc for one knocking around in a friends yard though. :) And actually a whole donor car actually....

• Registered Users Posts: 7,877 ✭✭✭patrickc

03 saab 95, 2.2td

150,000 miles, FSH, leather etc €1950.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2827118

yummy apart from the tax.

Full?id=9170718

• Registered Users Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

saxo and corolla are now gone, ok fess up who was it?
    Merc looks very nice imo, but no mention of nct or tax

• Registered Users Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭brembo26

kupus wrote: »
    saxo and corolla are now gone, ok fess up who was it?
    Merc looks very nice imo, but no mention of nct or tax

knew well that saxo would shift fairly handy

• Registered Users Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

barura wrote: »
    I've a spare ECU etc for one knocking around in a friends yard though. :) And actually a whole donor car actually....

You should go for it. Get the electrics fixed up and nct'd and you could make a grand on it. That's provided that the ecu numbers match with your buddy's ecu. If not you are looking at aprox €300 fro replacement ecu, key, barrel and steering lock set.
    That should be your last resort though when fixing the electrics.
    I doubt he would let the car go for €700 though.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

98 Honda Prelude 2.0l
    View2-9311635.jpeg
    tax 04/12 :) nct 11/12, :):) fully serviced, full electric, sport suspenssion, new tyres, cluch, gearbox, timing belt, breakes,discs, pistons,ignition switch, drive perfect, very clean.

4 months of tax, and a nearly a years nct.......All for the low price of 850..
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2860400

heres the link for same car, old ad though. a price drop of 350 0_0
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2755012

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

sold..........queer value.......:D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,095 ✭✭✭johndaman66

MidlandsM wrote: »
    sold..........queer value.......:D

Hmmm, on the face of it maybe. I wonder though if it could end up being a bottomless money pit. As Limerick Man mentions and have heard a few times before the electrics are known to be a problem area and expensive to rectify. Curiosity killed the cat, I went onto 123.ie and got a quote of less than 500 for myself for TPF&T, was pleasantly surprised

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Chuck was taken

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2866695

Nice car but tax is worth a couple of hundred..

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 23,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

All the Saab love around these parts recently makes me want one!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

All the Saab love around these parts recently makes me want one!

Get yourself an Alfa first! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 265 ✭✭markens2

Yeah buy an Alfa 166 2.5 V6. I know a fella who'll do ya a good deal. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 265 ✭✭markens2

Am I allowed to post a link to my own ad?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 23,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

markens2 wrote: »
    Am I allowed to post a link to my own ad?

Nope.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭brembo26

If the bollix hasnt been screw out of it:

96 Hatch Corolla

1fc1c1c2db5852e08ffc380475e26336d9d2f282858063ad4c771660eb6ac58f.jpg

NCT Until Aug 2012

Buy it for €500 easily?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

€350 realistically

• Registered Users Posts: 73,382 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

If it was a saloon, maybe

A 3 door hatch with coloured bumpers will always make that bit more.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

brembo26 wrote: »

1fc1c1c2db5852e08ffc380475e26336d9d2f282858063ad4c771660eb6ac58f.jpg

Who took the photos, Michael J. Fox?

• Registered Users Posts: 539 ✭✭✭but43r

Nope.

I'll do it then.
    Looks like a very straight car.
    Very reasonably priced @800 euro too.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,186 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

€1000, no mention of NCT though, pity she isn't an auto...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2848686

Full?id=9261693

• Registered Users Posts: 73,382 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Is that Camry an import?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭Mad_Mike

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2866695

Nice car but tax is worth a couple of hundred..

Just spotted near the bottom
    picture is off google, actual pictures of the car will go on tomorrow