Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day - Part II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

If you dont mind the tax. Offer a grand, you'd buy it around there ....

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4303731

View2-16235845.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Seweryn

RoverJames wrote: »
    if engine wasn't running to have the gauges reading the key would be in pos 2 so battery light would be illuminated too along with oil pressure light and the oil pressure gauge would be at the bottom.
    There is no oil pressure light in that car ;).

Non working rev counter in that car is usually a very easy fault to fix.

Seweryn wrote: »
    There is no oil pressure light in that car ;).

Non working rev counter in that car is usually a very easy fault to fix.

Apologies, I meant the oil level light.
    Often its the ovP relay that has failed but regardless it was the fault I was wondering had people spotted.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Saab Ed wrote: »
    No I am not nuts :p Think about it. Some Fuchs alloys and a loud exhaust it'll play the part. Keep it for years as a rolling project adding more and more mods as you go. Probably insuarble as a classic by now and tax is only 1.6. While you wont get the cost of the mods back, the reality is this machine (if kept fairly right) will never be worth any less. Left field entry into cool,retro bangernomics with the added bonus of 20 minutes free parking (loading bay) everywhere you go :D ....

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4311484

View2-16272285.jpeg
    Now yer talking! I'd happily use that as a daily! Nice find!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭flazio

No I am not nuts :p Think about it. Some Fuchs alloys and a loud exhaust it'll play the part. Keep it for years as a rolling project adding more and more mods as you go. Probably insuarble as a classic by now and tax is only 1.6. While you wont get the cost of the mods back, the reality is this machine (if kept fairly right) will never be worth any less. Left field entry into cool,retro bangernomics with the added bonus of 20 minutes free parking (loading bay) everywhere you go :D ....

View2-16272285.jpeg
    I could see that been converted to a camper.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

flazio wrote: »
    I could see that been converted to a camper.
    A serious amount of work needed for a half decent one. Would it be worth it?

Spotted this the day you posted it Saab Ed and mentioned it to the brother who has been after a Jag as a weekend toy for a while. He's currently en-route to Dublin from Limerick to pick it up. A nice early Xmas present for himself. Thanks for this great find. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭flazio

MugMugs wrote: »
    A serious amount of work needed for a half decent one. Would it be worth it?
    As mentioned above, any mods would be for the owners own consumption rather then any resale value, now I'm no expert on this, but VW campers are seriously collectable so , you never know, work around keeping the double cab, and you could have quite a unique piece.

• Registered Users Posts: 396 ✭✭Hailhail1967

166man wrote: »
    You have gotta be kidding.

Not at all, having owned two of them, I wouldn't make the same mistake again. I also must have been blind when I bought them.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Just don't crash in one :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Barry Barry

2002 Mitsubishi Carisma 1.3, 1 owner, NCT until 7/13 and taxed until 4/13 for €1150
    View2?id=16273622
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4311763

1999 SAAB 95 estate, NCT until 5/13 for €650
    View2-16274375.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4311931

2001 BMW 728i, only 80k, full service history, NCT until 6/13 for €1950
    View2-16035655.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4262015

2002 Rover 75 1.8, with heated leather, ad says 'just passed NCT' but its taxed until 7/13 for €1450
    View2-16274101.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4311871

shaaane wrote: »
    Spotted this the day you posted it Saab Ed and mentioned it to the brother who has been after a Jag as a weekend toy for a while. He's currently en-route to Dublin from Limerick to pick it up. A nice early Xmas present for himself. Thanks for this great find. :)

Love it. Delighted. Lots of pics now when he brings it home.

More humble Bangernomics here. Get a couple of quid off, drive it for 2 years, sell it for near enough the same. Whats not to like except for the fact that its the most booooooring car in the world :p

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4313441

View2-16282067.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

No I am not nuts :p Think about it. ....

Nice find and at a good price (if it turns out to be a goodun)

The major enemy of these yokes is rust and this one looks like it had at least one beauty overspray if not more, so you'd want to inspect it fairly closely before you commit.

Most technical parts and spares can still be got fairly readily ...bodywork on the other hand can be very expensive

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/3481707

90' 190D with test until 2014 for €1100

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭fl4pj4ck

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/3481707

90' 190D with test until 2014 for €1100

I wonder how it's possible

• Registered Users Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

fl4pj4ck wrote: »

Got the test done 2 months early?

• Registered Users Posts: 73,384 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

fl4pj4ck wrote: »

Test due feb 2013, did it 3 months early.

That fella lives up the road from me, he always has a few mercs knocking around. He was in a thread in the classic cars section earlier in the year about an old orange merc

• Registered Users Posts: 384 ✭✭Dermo123

RoverJames wrote: »
    Apologies, I meant the oil level light.
    Often its the ovP relay that has failed but regardless it was the fault I was wondering had people spotted.

The other issue is that the rev counter has a red line of 6000rpm... a bit high for a diesel. Converted in the past???

• Registered Users Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Dermo123 wrote: »
    The other issue is that the rev counter has a red line of 6000rpm... a bit high for a diesel. Converted in the past???

I spotted that too, it does seem a tad high for a ancient diesel. Should be round 4000ish rpm no?

• Registered Users Posts: 73,384 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Could be new clocks too

2002 Alfa 156 2.4 diesel, taxed until 1/13 and tested until 8/13. €800

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4314317

• Closed Accounts Posts: 656 ✭✭✭bobin fudge

I really like that bmw 7 series and a few others posted on here recently ,so far been able to resist but im getting weaker by the day

Great spot :)
    The 250d I had, same year as that one, only had the mph range to 120mph so as mentioned the clocks in that yoke aren't the factory fitted ones. 6000rpm and redline and clocked to 140mph, no need for that in a 250d :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Not at all, having owned two of them, I wouldn't make the same mistake again. I also must have been blind when I bought them.

Doesn't make it worth 500 quid. :) You must have been very blind to buy two of them, I think they're a fantastic looking car.

The other issue is that the rev counter has a redline of 6000rpm... a bit high for a diesel. Converted in the past???
    It is the other way round. If you find one with a red line on the rev counter, you can be sure that the cluster is from a petrol model.

These M-B Diesels are the only Diesel engines I know of that have no rev redline. They rev up to 5,150 rpm and up to 5,450 rpm in the later 4V/cyl. variants.

Seweryn wrote: »
    It is the other way round. If you find one with a red line on the rev counter, you can be sure that the cluster is from a petrol model.

These M-B Diesels are the only Diesel engines I know of that have no rev redline. They rev up to 5,150 rpm and up to 5,450 rpm in the later 4V/cyl. variants.
    Upss... I had a look at the photos again and yes, the rev counter (possibly the whole cluster) is from a petrol model.
    Here it is how it should looks like:

44-12050415698253.jpg

.... probably no heater plug light on the dash of the yoke in Galway so :)

01 Peugeot 406 hdi with years test, 120k on the clock and receipt fot timing belt and water pump €1100
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3904024