Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day - Part II

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 23,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

166man wrote: »
    Another one for the Beemer fans here..

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4080943

I'd love this yoke... Bag it for €900 and spend a few quid getting it back to it's best and keep it for the next 10-15 years until it's nearly a classic..

It's a V12 7er with 6 months NCT for a grand like....:eek::cool:

:cool::cool:

Love the original alloys, looks great. I want:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,531 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

2ndcoming wrote: »
    Here, have a car. No great fan of Renaults but at 1000 with 6 months NCT this is a cheap car.

http://www.adverts.ie/car/renault/laguna/2003-renault-laguna-for-sale/2284981

I really hate adverts for this sort of sh1te
    aido_d97 asked a question 07/11/2012 2:00 pm (4 hours ago):
    Hi.Would you swap?

djbrendan90 says 07/11/2012 2:19 pm (4 hours ago):
    what have you got

aido_d97 asked a question 07/11/2012 2:36 pm (4 hours ago):
    @djbrendan90 passat 98 plus acer aspire pc or 32 inch hdmi plasma

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

:cool::cool:

Love the original alloys, looks great. I want:cool:

Ah sure you'd want anything with a BMW badge on it these days....:D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,095 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Here, have a car. No great fan of Renaults but at 1000 with 6 months NCT this is a cheap car.

Would the top end Laguna model have leater upholstry I would have thought? Even in 1.6 guise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭barura

Beep beep. I like these Polos, cheap to run, etc. It's got 4 doors, piece of piss to park and taxed + Nct for 6 months.

Grab it for 450 and its pretty good motoring, in my honest opinion.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4143437

But hey, why listen to me?

Here, have a jap ****box for your troubles then.

1.3 "bulletproof" engine, NCT for 4 months. 500eur

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4125856

View2-15364073.jpeg

And from France a rather sparse, but nice looking 206 with NCT til next april. 500 notes.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4146072

View2-15461377.jpeg

But for nice driving, I would go for this Renault Laguna. 420, test til April...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4145785

View2-15459945.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Bigus

Seriously lads, I don't see how anything economically sound can be construed out of an 18 year old BMW 730, you will pay more on a year's tax than the car will ever be worth and that's before you even take in juice and repairs. If you want to see what a 7 series is like, go for a test drive or lease one for a month, either option makes more sense economically.

You could make a lovely sitting room suite with the napa leather seats 12 v electrics and all
    consisting of 2 armchairs plus a 3 seater a la top gear.

Then you could use the engine as a lovely base for a cool coffee table ,

sell off the other parts for more than the asking price

, is this not economically sound :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

fl4pj4ck wrote: »
    obviously you are confused what "bangernomics" mean

No, I think bangernomics means any functional car, with test and preferrably tax that can be bought for small money, kept for a year max and sold on for what you paid for it, or as close as possible.

I think there needs to be a second thread for badge fanboys who want to drive the 20 year old version of a car they can't afford.

To use a football analogy, it's a bit like signing Roberto Baggio for £1m cause he would have cost 10 times that 20 years ago. I'd say buying a decent championship striker for the same money, giving him a chance and if it doesn't work out flogging him back to the Championship for £800k would be a bit more economically wise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭barura

To use a football analogy, it's a bit like signing Roberto Baggio for £1m cause he would have cost 10 times that 20 years ago. I'd say buying a decent championship striker for the same money, giving him a chance and if it doesn't work out flogging him back to the Championship for £800k would be a bit more economically wise.

But you're missing the point that its the experience of the car, or in your analogy, the person, that makes it worthwhile.

It's not a perfect world, I admit, but I like the idea of getting a car and driving it into the ground. Maybe that makes me a nihilist actually... Hmm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

That 03 Laguna, I wouldn't go near it especially with that spartan interior.... I wouldn't go for one again. Full stop.

This is a much better prospect:
    NCT till Sept, 1395

Full-15336764.jpeg
    Not flawless but a damn sight better!
    barura wrote: »

But for nice driving, I would go for this......

I would go for this :pac:

NCT till Jan, 900

I wonder what it could be....
    Full-15359285.jpeg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

Bigus wrote: »
    You could make a lovely sitting room suite with the napa leather seats 12 v electrics and all

Then you could use the engine as a lovely base for a cool coffee table ,

sell off the other parts for more than the asking price

, is this not economically sound :confused:

stolen from top gear! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 11,531 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Scortho wrote: »
    stolen from top gear! :D
    Bigus wrote: »

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

whoops didnt see that...apologies Bigus:o

• Registered Users Posts: 4,164 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Would the top end Laguna model have leater upholstry I would have thought? Even in 1.6 guise
    Top end should have full leather, sunroof, 17" alloys and possibly sat-nav.

The mid-range model had the all round electric windows so the only thing it really has is the digital air-con. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

padma wrote: »
    150 quid, small bit of nct, good for anyone needing a car to use til they get the new 13 reg in http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4145679

already gone. Someone got a good deal methinks.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

520 for 900e with a NCT till 07.2013
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4097772
    Full-15225443.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

the girlfriends Polo sold today anyway for 550!

• Registered Users Posts: 73,431 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

• Registered Users Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭high horse

colm_mcm wrote: »

Looks really shiny but that's because it's wet

• Registered Users Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭HungryJoey

Rang up about this this morning but it was sold :( Need a second car for work that is cheap.

01 seat arosa
    €500
    NCT TILL 1/13 AND TAXED 5/13
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4143403

• Registered Users Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭HungryJoey

high horse wrote: »
    Looks really shiny but that's because it's wet

That shine could easily be retained with a decent polish and sealant/wax. Looks clean, I like the S3 alloys. I spent months looking for a set for mine a few years back.

Edit: the passenger wheel looks destroyed :(

Nct'd till feb 2012 for 500e
    Full-15443211.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4142300

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Remmy wrote: »

Dgt should buy that and stick it together with the one he already has..:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

166man wrote: »
    Dgt should buy that and stick it together with the one he already has..:D

Meh, I already have a Marea front on the van ;) That thing doesn't even have polys!!!

Yes, it looks like a banger but for 500e with a nct till june not too bad.
    Full-14762535.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4007947

• Registered Users Posts: 873 ✭✭✭spiggotpaddy

• Registered Users Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭W123-80's

3 Estates to consider.

Leather. Low miles. Nct till August '13.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4129917

View2-15384927.jpeg

Leather. NCT till Sept '13.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4128079

View2-15375521.jpeg

Leather. Big miles. Tax & Test.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3851898

View2-14018594.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 73,431 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Jaysus, if it wasn't for the tax, that is300 would be class!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭coolisin

Colm beat me too it!!
    That actually would be a great buy. Other then the tax I wonder what the running costs are like on that can't be much more of a drinker then the is200!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,726 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Wasn't there something about that IS300 not so long ago?

Or was that an Is200 estate?

Edit: Spidey senses

VEHICLE STATUS ENQUIRY DETAILS
    VEHICLE
    Vehicle Registration Number 03D53892
    Vehicle Details LEXUS / OTHER
    Change Of Vehicle Ownership
    Transferred to an Individual on :

Notified on : 19/09/2012

25/09/2012
    Vehicle Registration Certificate
    Most recent Vehicle Registration Certificate issued on : 26/09/2012