Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day - Part II

• Registered Users Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

scamalert wrote: »
    never understood how someone could like alfa most disgusting looking yokes ever square box with fog lights on the bonnet,no shape no style in them especially the older ones yack.Now i dont have anything against types like spider or GT models but anything Japanese is better then alpha.sry for off topic :(

For real dude?

Beautiful looking cars inside and out IMO. Handle real good and more get-up-and-go than most other cars in the same class. What's not to like bar the reliability and that is only an issue if the car is not looked after properly.

Find me a Jap car in the same class as say a 147 or 156 that gives as much and isn't as boring as watching paint dry.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,382 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

The alfa in the pic is a zillion times nicer looking than that supra.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    The alfa in the pic is a zillion times nicer looking than that supra.

Gajillion times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Sigourney

Sacramento wrote: »
    Gajillion times.

Megajillionbazillion.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Vego

Saab Ed wrote: »
    Lots of nice extras, 165 horses, interior space of a small holiday home and a decent test to boot. Not everyones cup of tea but for a grand !!!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3501266

Full-12349106.jpeg

interested in something like this but its too much car for that price has to be something quite wrong with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Vego wrote: »
    interested in something like this but its too much car for that price has to be something quite wrong with it

Id say its priced fairly for a Renault.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

never understood how someone could like alfa most disgusting looking yokes ever square box with fog lights on the bonnet,no shape no style in them especially the older ones yack.Now i dont have anything against types like spider or GT models but anything Japanese is better then alpha.sry for off topic :(

I am really lost for words but your username says it all.

Alfa's couldn't be less square if they tried. :rolleyes:

Edit: What do you drive out of interest Mr Scamalert?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Vego

Max Power1 wrote: »
    Id say its priced fairly for a Renault.

that bad huh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I know what you drive so....

trolling%20magnet%20car.jpg

I'm very disappointed with all this pro jap anti Alfa nonsense. You all stick to your side, we'll stick to ours. And leave us alone

CianRyan wrote: »

Yep, I'll have the better looking, more powerful and better handling Japanese box.

Why compare a Supra to a GTV when it was the Celica that was the direct competitor?

Having owned a 3SGE powered Celica and having driven one or two GTVs over the years I reckon the GTV would be niftier in the handling department and probably faster too. Nicer interior too.

The GTV is better looking too, than both the Supra and Celica.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭barura

Coradoba with 2 months NCT for 395, could be worth a punt.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3383903

View2-11793331.jpeg

EDIT: Er, just realised thats 31 days old. My donedeal is on a time machine, don't mind me. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭barura

Boring Jap stuff maybe, but a good deal at less than 500 and tax til November + a long NCT.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3470006

View2-12202923.jpeg

(If the tax is actually there, confusing advert.)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭W123-80's

Clean and honest looking Avensis. Bit of Tax. 1 year test.
    Ya'll still get €3-400 for it in a year.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3492543

View2-12307612.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

W123-80's wrote: »
    Tax, Test & Timing belt.
    Diesel.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3411479

1.8 petrol :confused:

Try knock a ton off it though and happy motoring

1.8 petrol :confused:

Try knock a ton off it though and happy motoring

Dunno why I said Diesel. I think the D9 (whatever that refers too) threw me.

Anyway, knock a few quid off as you say, and happy days.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

Tis the model code (D9) :)

Like W123 :p

Tis the model code (D9) :)

Like W123 :p

Ah.. Cheers.:o

• Registered Users Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭BronsonTB

Lol..Yep D9 is the model - Maybe I'll leave that off if it's confusing...As it is a petrol engine....Good to see boardies spotting a bargin when they see one! :P

And yep...it could be got for a few euro off that asking price! ;)

D9 model is just the facelift model of a D8 so might be getting too techy for some...

www.sligowhiplash.com - 3rd & 4th Aug '24 (Confirmed!)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,264 ✭✭✭alias no.9

RoverJames wrote: »
    Having owned a 3SGE powered Celica and having driven one or two GTVs over the years I reckon the GTV would be niftier in the handling department and probably faster too. Nicer interior too.

On the facelift model only from late 98 on. The original interior could give any '90s jap interior a run for its money.

W123-80's wrote: »
    Dunno why I said Diesel. I think the D9 (whatever that refers too) threw me.

Anyway, knock a few quid off as you say, and happy days.

Sure here's a bit of education for people not in the know...

2 types:
    D8
    Front
    PEUG0136.jpg?aspect=Default
    Rear
    20101013002521_S2.jpg

D9
    Front
    38786094001_large.jpg
    Rear
    277724dsc00350.jpg

Differences include range of engines (id diesels to commonrail and euro2 to euro 3 nonsense for example) electrical differences (d9 is more computerised) and visual differences such as a smooth boot and different tail lights on a d9.

Some very d8's were d9's under the bonnet and electrically. For example, you might see a d8 with a HDi lump under the bonnet. Informally called a d8.5

Let's not get into pre multiplexed and multiplexed models (d9)!

dgt wrote: »
    Sure here's a bit of education for people not in the know...

2 types:
    D8
    Front
    PEUG0136.jpg?aspect=Default
    Rear
    20101013002521_S2.jpg

D9
    Front
    38786094001_large.jpg
    Rear
    277724dsc00350.jpg

Differences include range of engines (id diesels to commonrail and euro2 to euro 3 nonsense for example) electrical differences (d9 is more computerised) and visual differences such as a smooth boot and different tail lights on a d9.

Some very d8's were d9's under the bonnet and electrically. For example, you might see a d8 with a HDi lump under the bonnet. Informally called a d8.5

Let's not get into pre multiplexed and multiplexed models (d9)!

Jaysus you know your stuff, that is Nerd City levels of information. Fair play though!

alias no.9 wrote: »
    On the facelift model only from late 98 on. The original interior could give any '90s jap interior a run for its money.

2007_0414celica0002.jpg

2007_0414celica0003.jpg

2007_0414celica0001.jpg

I don't mind Jap interiors but that was my Celica, drab enough to be fair.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,382 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Bangeromics people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

but43r wrote: »
    UK reg and double the price of bangernomics budget :confused:

I didn't really think that one through!

Almost there with this

View2-11952934.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 11,477 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

JJJJNR wrote: »

Almost there with this

View2-11952934.jpeg

sadface_taxi_lg.jpg

JJJJNR wrote: »

Almost there with this

View2-11952934.jpeg

Lol @ ''Rover being a poor mans Jag''....:D

• Registered Users Posts: 64,793 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Great find, JJJJNR! These cars are very comfortable, nothing like it in the class / for that money.

166man wrote: »
    Jaysus you know your stuff, that is Nerd City levels of information. Fair play though!

You'd be surprised how quickly one learns facts when they have the car! :D

Back to my roots people :)

NCT till Jan, 450

A little tired and no tax but dammit a very straight looking car. Screw the high miles, these things just keep on going :)
    Full-12346438.jpeg

If only it were diesel, if only... :(

Nice little yoke, with 1 year test.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3519356

View2-12431550.jpeg

Accord with test & leather.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3083170

View2-10338922.jpeg