Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day - Part II

• Registered Users Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

No he's not, if he tells you it has a fault and you choose to drive it then anything that happens if your fault.

Would he not need to sell it for parts and not as a working car?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Would he not need to sell it for parts and not as a working car?

No, why? If a car has bald tyres its dangerous to drive, but certainly doesn't need to be sold for parts.

If the car has a major fault then you can collect it with a trailer if driving it as issue.

No, why? If a car has bald tyres its dangerous to drive, but certainly doesn't need to be sold for parts.

If the car has a major fault then you can collect it with a trailer if driving it as issue.

You're right. I was looking at as if the seller was saying it sometimes cuts out (when starting). I was thinking that if it cuts out at high speeds that it would be a dangerous fault but I suppose he has told the buyer that it cuts out in general.

• Registered Users Posts: 44 jaygile

RoverJames wrote: »
    I really like this model Celica :)

Full-11478701.jpeg

Confused and new here so forgive me if i'm out of line, but is this not a thread for bangers / wrecked cars? this one looks decent now in fairness!...In my opinion, if it's going to be a decent enough car as a post, at least it should have something wrong with it.................
    like this 5 Series.....

2164485_01_product_detail_large.jpg?1336492533

OUCH.

spotted here.... a very interesting description along with it to.

...... It's a thread for cheap cars, not wrecked cars.

• Registered Users Posts: 44 jaygile

ahhhhhh right, thanks :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

missed this cheap one...........

http://cars.donedeal.ie/sold/cars/3375737

but it's ok, here it is now .........with a new price!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3385565

he's a fast worker, it's now mechanically perfect, so he must have worked overnight to source, collect and fit a new gearbox .............fair play to him.......lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,864 ✭✭✭langdang

jaygile wrote: »
    Confused and new here so forgive me if i'm out of line, but is this not a thread for bangers / wrecked cars? this one looks decent now in fairness!...In my opinion, if it's going to be a decent enough car as a post, at least it should have something wrong with it.................
    like this 5 Series.....

http://www.buyandsell.ie/images/ads/08_05_2012/2164485_01_product_detail_large.jpg?1336492533

OUCH.

spotted here.... a very interesting description along with it to.

"I am the walrus"
    BigLebowski%252018-51-51-37.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭mitchaul

langdang wrote: »
    "I am the walrus"
    BigLebowski%252018-51-51-37.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

MidlandsM wrote: »
    missed this cheap one...........

http://cars.donedeal.ie/sold/cars/3375737

but it's ok, here it is now .........with a new price!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3385565

he's a fast worker, it's now mechanically perfect, so he must have worked overnight to source, collect and fit a new gearbox .............fair play to him.......lol

He even used the same search words! Can't turn on a fella for trying to make a few bob, but blatantly lying is just wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭barura

He even used the same search words! Can't turn on a fella for trying to make a few bob, but blatantly lying is just wrong.
    That ad does say "In good condition throughout,good driver,gearbox needing replacement but driving ok,can replace gearbox if required and nct aswell at a small cost."

Perhaps he got the gearbox and swapped it himself?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

barura wrote: »
    That ad does say "In good condition throughout,good driver,gearbox needing replacement but driving ok,can replace gearbox if required and nct aswell at a small cost."

Perhaps he got the gearbox and swapped it himself?

in less than a day? Maybe so! Why would he only add on 500 euro after fitting a new box? Surely to make money he'd put a new box and NCT it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

in less than a day? Maybe so! Why would he only add on 500 euro after fitting a new box? Surely to make money he'd put a new box and NCT it.

Seeing as a Multipla is a widened Bravo, my record for a clutch job by myself is 3 hours... Fairly straight foreward, rear gearbox mount is a pita if caked in muck but it is doable :) plus those boxes, the C513.513 iirc, are fairly similar to a 1.2 box (as the 1.4 used either this box or the newer one) so plentiful supply of gearboxes :)

But not worth cracking an extra €400 on!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

no chance its got a new box ............he's just one of those chancers out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭analfabets

My first time posting from phone

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3402259

Was looking at it few minutes ago. It's an Aero, no rattle or leaks. Harman Kardon sound, heated and ventilated seats etc. must be the best equipped on the market at the moment. He was taking 650€ for it but I walked away. Could be a good buy for somebody

analfabets wrote: »
    My first time posting from phone

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3402259

Was looking at it few minutes ago. It's an Aero, no rattle or leaks. Harman Kardon sound, heated and ventilated seats etc. must be the best equipped on the market at the moment. He was taking 650€ for it but I walked away. Could be a good buy for somebody
    2.3 terbo, full leder interier and elekrik seats
    oh dear...

That would have put me off right away.

oh dear...

That would have put me off right away.

Tis the car you'd be buying, not getting the chap to write a book.

• Registered Users Posts: 64,775 ✭✭✭✭unkel

He was taking 650€ for it but I walked away. Could be a good buy for somebody

You walked away :eek:

Was there anything wrong with it? Was there service history? If no and yes, it's an absolute bargain!

• Registered Users Posts: 73,382 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

This is bangeromics
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3331941

01 Tino with a years test for €590

01 Galant 2.0 (love that bumper!)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3361044

€750

Jaaaaaaag X Type 2.1 for a grand.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3403391

Tis the car you'd be buying, not getting the chap to write a book.

I went to see a car. A nice 2001 Avensis with full service history. The advert was poorly written and he got the year wrong. The lad who was selling it said he bought it of his auntie but couldn't get insured and had been caught driving it so had to sell it. He sounded like the sort of person in the ad above but his story made sense so I had a look.
    I went round to see it and he had put a screw through the glovebox handle because it err, fell off and their was a pair of tights wrapped round the air filter because it "rattled a bit".

You can tell a lot about the car by the advert.

In that case it just looks like english isn't the sellers first language. Not a reason not to buy it.

I went to see a car. A nice 2001 Avensis with full service history. The advert was poorly written and he got the year wrong. The lad who was selling it said he bought it of his auntie but couldn't get insured and had been caught driving it so had to sell it. He sounded like the sort of person in the ad above but his story made sense so I had a look.
    I went round to see it and he had put a screw through the glovebox handle because it err, fell off and their was a pair of tights wrapped round the air filter because it "rattled a bit".

You can tell a lot about the car by the advert.

One swallow doesn't make a summer and all that ;)

unkel wrote: »
    He was taking 650€ for it but I walked away. Could be a good buy for somebody

You walked away :eek:

Was there anything wrong with it? Was there service history? If no and yes, it's an absolute bargain!

It was a quite tired. Needed new set of tyres, one headlight is fogged up from inside. Climate display needs replacement, famous hot air trough rear air vents, paintwork is quite shabby but most importantly I nearly pressed the accelerator to the floor and it wasn't near as quick as I would Expect Aero to be. I have owned 9-5 Griffin with only 200bhp and it was quicker. It was slower than E39 523i. So I think it will need new turbo. No smoke or rattling however.
    Oh there was no jack or wheel brace either and it will need good wallet.

and it will need good wallet.
    Never a truer word said

It was ......................

It's w@nked so basically :)

It was ......................

It's w@nked so basically :)

Yes. I guess you could say so.
    No history either.
    Funny about the wallet :)

• Registered Users Posts: 64,775 ✭✭✭✭unkel

I have owned 9-5 Griffin with only 200bhp and it was quicker. It was slower than E39 523i. So I think it will need new turbo.

You're probably on the ball there. 2.3 with not much help from the turbo will be slow.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Right lads my first go at bangernomics let me know how I do.
    1fc1c1c2db5852e08ffc380475e26336d796c01a0aefae5a8a5ba0673a3ac17f.jpg
    01 Nissan Primera €650, NCT until Sep 2013, no tax but supposedly in good nick.
    http://www.adverts.ie/car/nissan/primera/2001-nissan-primera-for-sale/1674166