Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good on you Rachel Allen

• 03-01-2012 9:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭

http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/tv-radio/celeb-chef-rachel-allenrsquos-fair-game-in-facebook-hunt-pic-2977697.html

Chef Rachel Allen has attracted some pretty nasty comments on her FB page after she posted about doing some shooting and cooking of a few pheasant. I say fair play to her. The anti's are a nasty bunch with such bile directed at Rachel and her family. One poster told her to turn the gun on herself, another said karma will come to her and her family in 2012!!!
    Is there no limit to what these people are allowed say and get away with?
    I'm pretty sure if it were said to them, they wouldnt be slow about calling the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

At this time there are 51 comments on Rachel's FB page about that Photo. not all bad.

http://www.facebook.com/#!/rachelallencook

So lets get behind Rachel, give her some support, and post some "good shooting and well done comments" to her there.

Is there no limit to what these people are allowed say and get away with?
    I'm pretty sure if it were said to them, they wouldnt be slow about calling the guards.

I would think some are motivated to post such comments due to Rachel's Ballymaloe house links.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭wirehairmax

No Clive, not all bad comments. BTW anybody know where are RISE these days? Was it just set up protect the Ward crowd on their ponies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

And here's a link to her 'Game terrine with celeriac remoulade' recipe

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=76288897&postcount=227

Is Rachel hot or wot :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

ya fair play to her pity more celebs wouldnt do the same as i guarantee you theres lots of them that shoot just look at the royals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

Good on ya Rachel. If we saw more of this type of cooking on irish television maybe more people would appreciate what we have all around us, and maybe even get to understand country pursuits a little better. Keep up the good work girl;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭coolhandspan

She is entitled under Irish Law to shoot on St Stephens Day. Totally ridiculous comments on facebook. ANIMAL MURDERER. Really over the top stuff. A line must be drawn in the sand, back off all country sports. no more concessions should be given on hunting, fishing etc unless agreed by participants. people with no idea making all the rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭moby30

It would be good to see afew more high profile chefs support hunting especially to show people where food actually comes from. Im always amazed by people who fly off the handle when they hear you shot something and fed your family with it but cant see anything wrong with the chicken you buy in the supermarket or the quarter pounder you buy in Mc Donalds. Its just pure ignorance just like the comments about her new jeep and especially her family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

If you take the pro- and anti-hunting argument out of it for a second, absolutely nothing excuses the vile comments being left for Rachel Allen and her family on that page. It's amazing how brave people can be when they're posting from the preceived safety of their computers.

Rachel Allen is a chef. She regularly cooks meat. Where on earth do those eejits think she gets that meat from? If anything the hunting of her own food is safer, cleaner and a heck of a lot more environmentally friendly than taking something off a shelf that was battery farmed and fed all manner of crap. Free-range wild meat in the purest sense.

What utter small-minded cretins those horrible people are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

g'em wrote: »
    If you take the pro- and anti-hunting argument out of it for a second, absolutely nothing excuses the vile comments being left for Rachel Allen and her family on that page. It's amazing how brave people can be when they're posting from the preceived safety of their computers.

Rachel Allen is a chef. She regularly cooks meat. Where on earth do those eejits think she gets that meat from? If anything the hunting of her own food is safer, cleaner and a heck of a lot more environmentally friendly than taking something off a shelf that was battery farmed and fed all manner of crap. Free-range wild meat in the purest sense.

Well said!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Mod note: Lots of posts deleted. It's not required for you to be a hunter to post in Hunting; but discussion of whether or not hunting itself is ethical is off-topic and is not allowed (it's perfectly legal, it isn't murder and frankly after several years of trainwreck after trainwreck of threads "discussing" the topic - which inevitably descended into shouting and namecalling and other crap - we banned the topic).

For that reason, comments about the ethics of Rachel Allen hunting are out.

Comments about her family are also right out -- rule one of the shooting forums' charter is to be civil, which the kind of comments that were posted were most definitely not. Some responses to those comments were also deleted - sorry folks, but next time, hit the report.gif button and report the trolling, don't respond to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Surely if she is cooking it, it is perfectly acceptable to all?
    kill,cook,eat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭extremetaz

marginally off topic - and I'm not all that up to speed on game regs but it looks like she's got 2 hen pheasents among the bag there... are there times that hens can be shot? or am I getting something else wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

g'em wrote: »

Sad thing about it is that there are people who are on boards who encouraged people to comment via their fb pages which they are entitled to do yet they will post on boards they are not anti hunting. Its a small country with the net esp when you post things publicly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

extremetaz wrote: »
    marginally off topic - and I'm not all that up to speed on game regs but it looks like she's got 2 hen pheasents among the bag there... are there times that hens can be shot? or am I getting something else wrong?

Yes they can be shot under licence, if you rear over a certain no of birds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

hen pheasants can be legally shot on licence from npws where they are reared for release

Anyone listening to Joe Duffy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Hunter21

moby30 wrote: »

No but do explain for us :D

Only barely caught the end of it. I hope to get it on the player later on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭LB6

BTW-you can only see the relatively negative posts left up on her page now. There was a serious culling of the nasty posts there before Christmas.

Didn't get the whole thing so don't know the guys name but an animal rights representative was on about this subject. Didn't do himself any favours in my opinion. However the last caller should be named and shamed as he claimed to be a shooter for over forty years and knows everything there is to know about shooting and gave it up because it was cruel and that NOBODY shoots game to eat it- only for sport. I don't believe for one minute he ever was a hunter but nobody should be allowed to make such irrisponsible statements.

LB6 wrote: »
    BTW-you can only see the relatively negative posts left up on her page now. There was a serious culling of the nasty posts there before Christmas.
    Those posts should have been saved and the Gardai called about some of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

Well done Rachel. I am 100% behind her;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭LB6

I'd agree with ya kermi - but it just sounds so wrong! lol

LB6 wrote: »

There were worse comments than the ones that are still public? Fanatical to say the least. I dont know that much about the whole ''anti'' movement but it only takes one nutter to go too far and hurt somebody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Not even if you paid me to do so. Life's way too short to listen to gombeens like Duffy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭SasQuatch88

I shtuck a comment down supportin her.. why not, shes not doing anything wrong...

Its hotting up on FB and the Independent. There is now a FB page against Ballymaloe house. Some John Carmody fella(ANTI) is also supposed to be on the George Hook programme at 4:30pm today as well. Wonder how balanced that will be? Where are the NARGC, CAI, WDAI, RISE etc?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Am off to locate the RISE page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Am off to locate the RISE page.

I live in Rural Ireland and RISE don't speak for me, and thousands upon thousands like me, your man John Carmody has a point to make though

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Some right nasty stuff posted beyond.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

- Listening to the right hook - God help me.

More closet f****** communists.

All I'm hearing is about her '11 jeep, she made her own money from working hard, bloody begrudgers. Piss off to Cuba.

Heheheheee That was actually worth listening to, yer man got a good pasting :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Double Barrel

Moby
    You are right, that has to be one of the oldest canards in the book.
    He should be named and shamed.

Didn't get the whole thing so don't know the guys name but an animal rights representative was on about this subject. Didn't do himself any favours in my opinion. However the last caller should be named and shamed as he claimed to be a shooter for over forty years and knows everything there is to know about shooting and gave it up because it was cruel and that NOBODY shoots game to eat it- only for sport. I don't believe for one minute he ever was a hunter but nobody should be allowed to make such irrisponsible statements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭session savage

ARAN are going to be on matt Cooper today at 5.30. this could get interesting :)

And theres going to be a boycott/protest against ballymaloe country house on sunday 8th jan at 12-2pm..... maybe we should all turn up in our pigeon camo and break out a barbeque and start cooking rabbit, duck, pheasant, snipe, teal, venison etc etc..... would be class :)

ARAN are going to be on matt Cooper today at 5.30. this could get interesting :)

And theres going to be a boycott/protest against ballymaloe country house on sunday 8th jan at 12-2pm..... maybe we should all turn up in our pigeon camo and break out a barbeque and start cooking rabbit, duck, pheasant, snipe, teal, venison etc etc..... would be class :)
    That's a brilliant idea. I'd be up for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭sincere113

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Why are all these flutes on the radio today??:mad: - has the silly season started earlier then ususal:confused::(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

sincere113 wrote: »

Feck, It's bad enough having to listen to that tosser during RTEs' rugby coverage ....do you seriously think I deliberately tune into him on pod cast to hear him bashing another sport he knows feckall about :eek:

:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭premiercad

Just finished listening to last word same old story ARAN came of very extremist and NARGC could have done a lot better overall fair play to Rachel.;)

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Why are all these flutes on the radio today??:mad: - has the silly season started earlier then ususal:confused::(
    Waiting for people to turn up giving out the the cruel hunters have been hunting silly out of season...
    People who never go to Ballymaloe are now going to pretend they do so they can boycott it:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

4gun wrote: »
    Feck, It's bad enough having to listen to that tosser during RTEs' rugby coverage ....do you seriously think I deliberately tune into him on pod cast to hear him bashing another sport he knows feckall about :eek:

:D:D

George isn't on it, someone is filling in for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

it was just covered on matt cooper and yer man from the nargc the scallon lad was doing well till the end he got a bit hot headed and told the anti to go have a ham sandwich

stooping to there stupid level doesnt help matters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭blackstairsboy

I heard the end of the interview on Matt Cooper on Today FM. Yer man that was protesting talked some awful sh**e but the representative from the NARGC done well in fairness to him.
    Had to laugh at the NARGC rep telling the vegan to go eat a ham sandwich and calm down!:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

The nicest meal I ever had out in this country was a hunters grill at Ballymaloe house.:)

PS: Is Rachael Allen there fulltime now?? - I must drop in again so she can meet one of her biggest fans:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭Constab2

Media giving Mr Carmody far too much air time,the guy isn't credible by any stretch of the imagination,Sensationalist language being used ,the guy just wants his 15 minutes of fame, most reasonable minded people will see him (Carmody)for what he is,NARGC spokesman should'nt have made the comment about sandwich though showed frustration on his part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Cassidy28

There will probably be a ban on pheasant shooting now thanks to Mrs Carmoodys
    idiotic preaching :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Constab2 wrote: »
    Media giving Mr Carmody far too much air time,the guy isn't credible by any stretch of the imagination,Sensationalist language being used ,the guy just wants his 15 minutes of fame, most reasonable minded people will see him (Carmody)for what he is,NARGC spokesman should'nt have made the comment about sandwich though showed frustration on his part.

Oh dont worry too much about ol John"Streaker" Carmody as he was known here in Limerick for ages,he is from down here:).His antics of getting into his birthday suit to protest with a bunch of nude females is wearing thin and hasnt the startling effect anymore as it used to have.
    Same bloke that tried to paw Enda Kenny on the campaign trail with his red painted hands in Cork. He is a exhibitionist and noisey and camp about his belifs.Dont give him any PR and he will go away.

BTW if you want to comment on this on Facebook you have to have either an accoount or sign in

Not Blooddy likely do I want a facebook account.:p

Anyway what great FREE PR for Rachel and her cookery course.Well done and good shooting.:D
    Although would somone pass a HEADS UP onto Rachel from somone in the personal minding busisness??NOT a good idea to leave your CAR REG PLATE nicely in clear for everyone to see on Facebook!!:eek::eek::rolleyes:
    Dont want to give the anti fieldsport terrorists a chink that they can attack do we??;) Not that these morons could amount more than brakefluiding the paintwork,or at worst burning it out somplace.But there is always the possibility of the lone nutter out there doing somthing much worse!!:(

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭Shoot2kill

I'm fcuking there anyway! Boo Yah.... Dogs the whole lot!

We should support this woman, after all she's supporting our/her sport!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Only heard The Last Word part of this "story" today. Didn't realise there was such a fuss.

The anti fella was appalling on The Last Word. The main part of his argument seem to be that pheasants are shot, don't die from it and are rolled over by 2011 landrovers chasing the injured bird. Even herself was in stitches at that one. Deluded thinking and extremists like him need to be singled out for what they are.

Fair play to the NARGC guy. He came across very well - up til the ham sandwich comment which was a stupid thing to say albeit out of frustration.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Sparks wrote: »
    Comments about her family are also right out -- rule one of the shooting forums' charter is to be civil, which the kind of comments that were posted were most definitely not. Some responses to those comments were also deleted - sorry folks, but next time, hit the report.gif button and report the trolling, don't respond to it.

This has been ignored so more posts were removed.

There will not be any further warnings. Keep on topic or refrain from posting if you cannot do this.

Ez.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo