Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hip-Hop 2012

• Registered Users Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

DJ Drama was never on Shady
    your thinking of Green Latern

i could of swore he was man, did he not work for em on shade 45? i taught they had a bust up or something but that was prob green latern too. obviously have the 2 mixed up so :)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

i could of swore he was man, did he not work for em on shade 45? i taught they had a bust up or something but that was prob green latern too. obviously have the 2 mixed up so :)
    all true but it was Green Latern

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

A few recommend that havent had much exposure here.

Apollo Brown & O.C. - Trophies
    I was bumping this all day yesterday, excellent album, production is top notch and fits OC perfectly. This would probably be more suited to fans of Word...Life or Jewels. There are sone things that I love about this, all songs are 3 verses, 3 choruses, no features, battle(ish) rhymes. There is also an exceptional track praising The D.O.C. which caught me off guard.

Sundown X Chuuwee - The Adverntures of the Millenium Falcon (Epsiode 1)
    Chuuwee is my guy to watch, looking forward to his album. He teams up with Sundown who is no slouch and delivers a great album....free as well!
    Chuuwee also has another mixtape just released called 'Crown me king' (or somethign like that) that I need to listen to more.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

I saw on Twitter that Raekwon said that he has an album coming soon. I'm on my phone now so can't link.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

I saw on Twitter that Raekwon said that he has an album coming soon. I'm on my phone now so can't link.

My ears are burning ;)

Link

• Registered Users Posts: 7,341 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

Raekwon is my favourite wu tang member, I'll be interested to hear how this turns out.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Statik Selektah and Termanology '1982' is streaming for free on soundcloud:

http://soundcloud.com/clockworkmusic-2/sets/1982-statik-selektah-1/

This is a real good album. Term can go from being a great rapper on a track to being exceptional sometimes.

I'm still on my phone so can't link again but Big Boi said that his solo album is 80% done. He'll be back working with Andre when he releases that. It'll be great to hear some new Outkast music again.

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭Oleg Luzhny

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Statik Selektah and Termanology '1982' is streaming for free on soundcloud:

http://soundcloud.com/clockworkmusic-2/sets/1982-statik-selektah-1/

This is a real good album. Term can go from being a great rapper on a track to being exceptional sometimes.

Wasn't sure if it was going to be as good as the first one after hearing the songs that were leaked early but so far I'm very impressed, very good album.

Big Boi has changed the title of his next album to "Vicious Lies and Dangerous Rumors".

Also he has a song it that features Big K.R.I.T. and UGK (with a verse from Pimp C). Sounds very good.

• Registered Users Posts: 764 ✭✭✭horsebox09

Big Boi has changed the title of his next album to "Vicious Lies and Dangerous Rumors".

Also he has a song it that features Big K.R.I.T. and UGK (with a verse from Pimp C). Sounds very good.

That should be excellent, please let 3000 hop on this too :)

I've heard that the Big Krit album is streaming at the moment, dying to check that out

• Registered Users Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭weemcd

I'm still on my phone so can't link again but Big Boi said that his solo album is 80% done. He'll be back working with Andre when he releases that. It'll be great to hear some new Outkast music again.

Want to see three stacks back rapping for himself/Outkast, not like the features he is doing on other artist's very mediocre records. I've always liked OutKast, and preferred Big Boi to Andre in most cases. I've took a mad notion on listening to them recently tho (aquemini, southernplay and atliens twice a day minimum), Andre outshines Big Boi on the entire Aquemini album, and I say this as a huge big boi fan, it's classic verse after classic verse.

Personal fav offa southernplay:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

just finished krits debut, fairly good now i must say. Couple of bangers on it , some quality instrumentals, great balance to it and choice of ft's. "if i fall" ft melanie fiona, live from the underground and yea thats me are my standouts so far.

I think there was a trend starting to happen with new artists who were hugely successful on the mixtape scene only to struggle with their debuts for whatever reason , i.e j.cole went the commercial route etc but I think big k.r.i.t has successfully lived up to the hype of his mixtapes and has made a bit of a gem.

will it stand the test of time though, im not sure yet :)

here's the stream

http://www.npr.org/2012/05/27/153604174/first-listen-big-k-r-i-t-live-from-the-underground

P.O.S has confirmed a new album, release date and title:

9/18/12 - WE DONT EVEN LIVE HERE

Some upcoming mixtapes;
    May 28
    GLC – Cathedral
    Marques Houston – Battlefield America Soundtrack Mixtape Vol. 2
    Goons United By the New School – Club Bangers EP

May 29
    MCMF – I Can Rap

May 31
    Celeb Forever - Make Believers
    Gunplay – 106 & Snort: Freestyle Highdayz Vol. 1

June 1
    Ray Vicks – DGK

June 4
    Yung Berg – Chicago Redemption
    Azealia Banks – Fantastic

June 5
    SRH – No Big Deal

June 14
    Tito Lopez – The Hunger Game

June 15
    Shawty Lo – Million Dollar Man
    Jurrarri – Rubber Band Rrarri

June 16
    40 Glocc – Seedz of Makaveli

June 19
    Shawnna – She's Alive
    Scrilla – The Demonstration

June 26
    Infinite Starr – True Face

TBA
    Curren$y x Wiz Khalifa – Untitled
    YMCMB – Young Money
    Twista – Twista Reloaded
    Childish Gambino – Untitled
    Akon – Konkrete Jungle
    Big Sean, J. Cole, Meek Mill – Untitled
    Obie Trice – The Hangover
    Lloyd Banks – V6: The Gift
    Glasses Malone – GlassHouse
    Chris Brown x Tyga – Fan Of A Fan 2
    Rocko – Seeing Is Believing
    Juelz Santana – Reagan Era and Reagan Era Pt. 2
    Asher Roth – Is This Too Orange?
    Yung Berg – A.D.I.D.A.S. (All I Do Is Dream About Sex)
    Jeremih – Late Nights
    A$AP Ant – Back 2 Back
    Consequence – Curb Certified 2
    Chevy Woods – Gangland
    Freddie Gibbs x DJ Drama – Baby Face Killa
    Swizz Beatz – Limitless
    Big Sean – Untitled
    Jon Connor – The Best In the World
    (No) Malice – Hear Ye Him
    Fashawn – Champagne and Styrofoam Cups
    Crooked I – Psalm 82:6
    Ransom x DJ Drama – Winter’s Coming
    DOC – C.T.M.
    Mike Will – Est. In 1989
    Cam’ron – Killa Cam: The Gangster Side
    Freeway – Freedom of Speech
    Slim Dunkin & D-Bo – Block Illegal 2: My Brother's Keeper
    Drake & Rick Ross – Y.O.L.O.
    Lil Scrappy & Gru$tle Gang – Concorse G (hosted by DJ Smallz & Bigga Rankin)
    Yung Joc – Breakfast Club (hosted by DJ Smallz, DJ Fernando & DJ Dre)
    Birdman & Mack Maine – Billionaire Minds 2
    OJ Da Juiceman – 100/1000
    Tone Trump – The New Fresh Prince
    Troy Ave – Bricks In My Backpack 3
    Lil Lody – Last Of My Kind
    Cassidy – Get It In 3
    Slim Dunkin & D-Bo – Block Illegal 2: My Brother’s Keeper
    Yung Joc – Breakfast Club (hosted by DJ Smallz, DJ Nando & DJ Dre)
    Yung Berg – Mikkey & Mallory (hosted by DJ Smallz & DJ Whoo Kid)

Not much there that ticles my fancy except for Childish Gambino, Gibbs, Fashawn and Freeway.

Some upcoming mixtapes;

Not much there that ticles my fancy except for Childish Gambino, Gibbs, Fashawn and Freeway.

Here's the first leak from Gibbs' mixtape. Not nearly enough Gibbs on it, and too much TI for my liking. At least he's back rapping fast again though.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭jonneymendoza

Whens Nas album coming out?

July 17th i believe is the release date

• Registered Users Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

New Azealia Banks. Sick imo

• Registered Users Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭jonneymendoza

July 17th i believe is the release date

sweet. thanks mate

Video for "No Church In The Wild". I'd love to know how much this cost. It's pretty insane. Also there's an elephant in it. Always a sign of a good video. Would have liked to see Jigga or Kanye in it as well though.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,246 ✭✭✭conor.hogan.2

Is that Frank Ocean or Lupe on the hook?

Frank

ALBUM release dates:
    May 29
    Chuuwee - Wild Style
    Travis Porter - From Day 1

June 5
    Big K.R.I.T. - Live From the Underground
    Cam'ron and Vado - More Gunz Less Buttah
    Curren$y - The Stoned Immaculate
    Kool Keith - Love & Danger
    Ryan Leslie - Les Is More
    Bigg Jus (Company Flow) - Machines That Make Civilization Fun
    One Be Lo (as Rahlo) - K.I.C.K. P.U.S.H.
    Oh No - Ohnomite

June 12
    Azealia Banks - 1991 EP
    Diplo - Express Yourself EP
    Bow Wow - Underrated
    Slaughterhouse - welcome to: Our House
    Waka Flocka Flame - Triple F Life: Friends, Fans & Family
    Wordsworth - The Photo Album
    Spaceghostpurrp - Mysterious Phonk: The Chronicles of Spaceghostpurrp
    Oddisee - People Hear What They See
    Kid Ink - Up & Away
    Usher - Looking 4 Myself
    BURNTmd - Not So Black & White

June 19
    Del Tha Funkee Homosapien x Parallel Thought - Attractive Sin
    Pastor Troy - Outlaw
    Juvenile - Rejuvenation
    KNOiota - Kno Now Or Never

June 26
    DMX - Undisputed
    Eminem - Curtain Call: Hits (Import)
    Large Professor - Professor @ Large
    Maybach Music Group - Self Made Vol. 2
    ALTERPROD/ALTERBEATS Present - The French Revolution Compilation

July 2
    50 Cent - Untitled

July 3
    Chris Brown - Fortune

July 10
    Aesop Rock - Skelethon
    La Coka Nostra - Masters Of the Dark Arts

July 17
    French Montana - Excuse My French
    Nas - Life Is Good
    Madchild (Swollen Members) - Dope Sick

July 31
    Rick Ross - God Forgives, I Don't

August 14
    2 Chainz - Based On a T.R.U. Story
    The-Dream - Love IV MMXII
    Kreayshawn - Somethin' Bout Kreay

August 21
    DJ Khaled - Kiss The Ring

August 28
    Meek Mill - Dreams & Nightmares
    Wiz Khalifa - O.N.I.F.C.

September 4
    T.I. - Trouble Man

September 11
    Ludacris - Ludaversal
    Saigon - Bread and Circuses

September 18
    Skyzoo - A Dream Deferred
    Ne-Yo - R.E.D.
    October 2
    Bobby V - Dusk Till Dawn

Some potentially good albums coming up. I'm most looking forward to Chuuwee, Aesop Rock, Oddisee, Nas, Large Pro, Oh No, One Be Lo and Big Jus.

I was looking forward to Azelia Banks, but after hearing the snippets of the EP, not bothered now. She has taken the 212 sound which gave her some popularity and ran with that. Personally, I dont think that should be her sound.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,483 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Looking forward to La Coka Nostra. Will be interesting to see how Slaughterhouse turns out as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭Oleg Luzhny

The video for Reks-Autographs is out. Good video, certainly better than the "Sins" and the "Such A Showoff" videos.

A video for "Too Long" has also been released, the first video from the brilliant new 1982 album.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭Andy_rse

Aesop Rock - Skelethon - 10/7/12
    Brother Ali - Mourning In America And Dreaming In Color 21/8/12
    P.O.S. - We Don't Even Live Here 18/9/12

318238_10150927880643326_98269713325_9700133_1351882105_n.jpg

New Big Boi. Not certain to be from his next album. Probably won't make the cut. Theophilus London features.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭Dublin Red Devil

Anybody else heard about Iggy Azalea.

Female Rapper from Australia, Signed to T.I 's Grand Hustle

What do you guys think?

New Big Boi. Not certain to be from his next album. Probably won't make the cut. Theophilus London features.

Not really a fan of this, maybe it might grow on me. But for now it gets a thumbs down from me.
    Anybody else heard about Iggy Azalea.

Female Rapper from Australia, Signed to T.I 's Grand Hustle

What do you guys think?

She was also in XXL's 10 Freshman, but for I cannot figure out why......well apparently you can 'get' onto that list if you know the right people.....but that's for the conspiracy theories forum.

The only reason I think that she has gotten some popularity is partially for her rapping, more-so for her looks. I think that there is a hole in the market for a 'white-girl' rapper who is not Kreshawn and Iggy is in the right time and place to fill that void.

There are far better male and female rappers out there that merit discussion based on thier music and ability, rather than Iggy who is gaining popularity not really based on her music or ability.